Ebola: US finally agrees to give Liberia experimental drug, ZMapp | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 12 August 2014

Ebola: US finally agrees to give Liberia experimental drug, ZMapp

The Liberian president, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, announced yesterday that their country is to receive sample doses of experimental drug, ZMapp to treat doctors infected with Ebola

A statement published on Mrs Sirleaf's website on Monday said the US had approved a request from Liberia to ship the medicine after a direct appeal to US President Barack Obama on Friday.

But spokesperson for the US Health and Human Services (HHS) Department said US authorities had simply assisted in connecting the Liberian government with the drug's manufacturer, insisting that the drug company had worked directly with the Liberian government.

Meanwhile the deaths from Ebola has passed the 1,000 mark. Late yesterday, the World Health Organization said 1,013 people have now died from Ebola.

94 comments:

Fantastic News. 1st2comment

So wen ar we getting same?

Thank God for dat! May God bless them! Pls remember Nigeria & other countries dat are affected too!

Its coming to Nigeria too ..it's a gradual process. God bles the US. Psalm 46:1. BishopDammy#

Tnk God... @last solution in sight!

orela said...

I know Nigerians would intensify their begging now.
...I weep for my country

One love yall.

Debby said...

God have mercy..........

Debby said...

God have mercy........

Debby said...

God have mercy.....

Debby said...

God have mercy.......

thank God,it will help to curb the spread.

Ebola Crisis and the way forward for Africa by Vincent Edward vincentedward@ieee.org

I am extremely surprise that most of my country fellows only got to know about the dreaded virus after a positive diagnosis was made on our home soil.

Ebola virus, Anthrax , smallpox , though deadly were leveraged upon in various laboratories scattered outside the shores of Africa to synthesis most of the existing biological warfare capabilities in existence today.

The weaponization of these viruses or agents led to the emergence of the various antidotes (eg the so called secret serum ) which is one out of numerous antidotes scattered across top European, middle east and Asia laboratories.

The west so quick to remind us that the virus was named after a Virus spread close to a river named Ebola in Congo former Zaire in 1976...But no on reminds us of the female American ethologist conducting an Ebola experiment or necropsy on a dead chimpanzee in a Tai forest in Cote d'Ivoire in 1994.She got herself infected in 1994. Numerous experiments and test are been carried out the soil of Africa daily with the awareness of our own authorities, which never be permissible in the west.

Many times we have had our so called rulers (no leaders , as Africa still have rulers and not leaders) importing radioactive waste from Europe and Asia to the detriment of their motherland and to their own gain.

If the USA can swiftly come to the rescue of two of her citizens and the Spanish did likewise.....then Africa is on her own...Mind you there are other nations like france, the UK.. all silent on a solution....The World health organisation no doubt is powerless.

Most of the developed nations are more scared of the antidotes getting into the wardrobe of their rivals that even the virus its self.

There's a school of thought that would argue that the antidote or so called secret serum have not been clinically approved. ...yet the only infected US citizens got the treatment. even when the death figures in Africa was climbing ....Please Tell us something NEW!

Lets see if pressure from concern world citizens would lead to a reconsideration of Africa getting the Antidotes ...Time would tell.

Some ignorant Nigerians were so gullible to the extend of having their morning bath with Salted water or Brime . Who knows , some may have given salt the place of sugar in their tea...all in the name of sms survival broadcast ...same for the kola nut myth.

The way forward...African leaders have got to realise that it is high time we started to be our own solutions .We need to be brave for our selves .We need to support neighboring African nations. We need to tell the success stories of those that survived the virus after weeks of been ill....Even though most cases of Ebola may end in fatality , we also have survivals who are well and back to their normal lives.

Wickedness and greed in leadership must cease .

Africa should liaise with developing nations like India,Pakistan and the likes of other developing nations , these countries are the reason why medicine remain cheap and sustainable in Africa.

Our nation have got lots of medical experts in Europe,Saudi Arabia etc...Its high time developing nations minimize dependence on the west and their likes.

Using my darling Nation Nigeria as a case study , Our striking medical practitioners don't have guaranteed or documented life insurance from the governement to fight the dreaded virus.

I would like to call upon the Authorities of the declared affected nations to suspend all academic activities in schools , avoidable public gathering until an epidemic certainty is ruled out...I must emphasis, we are all stake holders.

We should endeavour to sensitize our citizens and also observe all necessary precautions.

Africa would come out stronger again......Don't discriminate or stigmatise against those infected.

Together , We shall overcome.......Long live Africa.

Oh thank God for the new development hope nigeria will seek for there own drugs

Debby said...

God have mercy.......

Debby said...

God have mercy........

Thank you USA.

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

There is still hope after all. Light at the end of the tunnel !!

Pls oh! D earlier d better.......nija need am too ooh......ebola no go see us IJN.

God is great, m so happy 4 dis

RHAPSODY OF REALITIES
TUESDAY, 12TH AUGUST, 2014.

TITLE: GET THE POWER WORKING…

And these signs shall follow them that believe; In my name shall they cast out devils… they shall lay hands on the sick, and they shall recover (Mark 16:17-18) 

The Lord Jesus never exaggerated; He spoke absolute reality. What He said in our opening verse is something you should consciously demonstrate or prove, knowing that the one who said it, never lied to anyone. You’re to lay hands on the sick to receive healing; you have the ability in the Name of Jesus.

The Lord Jesus will be remiss to ask you to do something you couldn’t do, or for which He hasn’t enabled you. He said in Matthew 10:8, “Heal the sick, cleanse the lepers, raise the dead, cast out devils….” This is for every believer in Christ; step out in faith and take healing and health to the people in your world, and in the regions beyond. Someone might however lament, “When I pray for people, they get healed, but when I get sick I’m not able to help myself.”

Many have found themselves in this dilemma. It’s similar to what happened to Elisha who was so anointed of God, but died sick. In 2 Kings 13:20-21, some men were about to bury a man when they spotted some raiders. Hastily, they tossed the corpse into the sepulcher that contained the remains of Elisha. As soon as the dead body came in contact with Elisha’s bones, the dead man came back to life (2 Kings 13:21). This happened long after Elisha was dead; his bones retained the anointing!

Though Elisha died sick, God’s power in him didn’t fail. We can conclude that it was Elisha that didn’t apply that power to his health. You’re supposed to apply the same authority Jesus gave you to heal the sick in your personal life. Christ the Healer lives in you; acknowledge this reality, and function with this consciousness every day. When you do, everything that’s not of God: sickness, poverty, death, lack, failure, depression, etc., will have no hold over you.

PRAYER
Dear Father, as I study the Word and meditate on the Spirit, your power is activated in me, causing your glory in my spirit to impact my physical body, producing health, strength, and vitality. I walk in victory today, and experience success in all I do, in Jesus’ Name. Amen.

FURTHER STUDY
2 Timothy 1:6
Wherefore I put thee in remembrance that thou stir up the gift of God, which is in thee by the putting on of my hands.

2 Corinthians 3:18
But we all, with open face beholding as in a glass the glory of the Lord, are changed into the same image from glory to glory, even as by the Spirit of the Lord.

1 Corinthians 14:4
He that speaketh in an unknown tongue edifieth himself; but he that prophesieth edifieth the church.

Romans 8:11
But if the Spirit of him that raised up Jesus from the dead dwell in you, he that raised up Christ from the dead shall also quicken your mortal bodies by his Spirit that dwelleth in you.

DAILY SCRIPTURE READING 
1 YEAR READING PLAN:
Romans 14:1-23-15:1-4;
Psalms 90-93

2 YEAR READING PLAN:
Philippians 2:1-11;
Isaiah 63

Good morning. Have a blessed day!

After the rain comes sunshine...make your own money today go to weeklyyouthpay.com/?ref180632

Tank God for dis improvemen, at least we'd hear little cases of death.

Naija shld get theirs soon too. Giant of Africa things

chibaby helen said...

Thank God, tnx to obama too, let den bring some to nigeria too then our joy wil be complete

This is a great move! I must commend the US government for its effort in fighting this epidemic, from developing the drug to making it available for countries like Liberia to have access to it. God bless America! Long live America!

I had a terrible dream last night around 4am. In that dream, I saw Nigerian christians passing through what Iraq christians are passing through. Firstly, a party ..(in dat dream) brought in some men dat voted for them to win. Later, D president made Nigeria an Islamic country. The Christians were persecuted.....beheaded...... Me personally in dat dream joined d Islamic group so as not to be killed & many ladies tooo. At a point, d christians that were locked up in a room ......to be killed d following day started singing an Igbo song......cant really recall d song but the song is a praise song....During dat time, a lady was teaching d new converts an Islamic song too....if u are slow to learn, they will take u to were d christians are..... at a point d person at my back touched me... immediately.....we saw a thick single line of blood up in d sky....d blood was dropping...& I woke up....I felt 3 people beside me....2 seated & one standing....immediately I opened my eyes, nobody was there again.... This dream is real.....my dear christians, pls b prayerful... & careful ........IPHIE

US SHUD ALSO ASSIST NAIJA WIT DIS DRUGS NA......... GEJ PRESSDAT BUTTON.
GDMONI LINDA ND LIBERS... AV A BLESSED DAY
.ZB

Debby said...

God have mercy upon us...........

Oga jona wat are u waitin 4 go and ask dem 4 de medicine osiso

TanK God,atlast I prayed it worked ooooooo,baba remember dose deadly disease belOngs 2 d egyptianS not 4 us Cos my Body nd blood generates frm d isrealites,Ebola is nt 4 Me nD my family...

**John Cena Mistress**

Alagbado-ode said...

Thank God for touching their hearts. Methink Ebola is their baby in d first instance. Maybe one of their satan inspired experiments animals gone out of control. It's just morally right for them to find and make available d antidotes. And this should send a message of caution to our so called over - westernised African leaders to take d interests of their citizens at heart before they keep allowing d developed world turn their natural eco-domain into scientific laboratory sites in return for stupid financial aids that they cannot otherwise allow in their own domains because when d come finally comes to the come we are always left on our own.

Nigeria should be given too na. #michelleegbegbedia@gmail.com

helen said...

so when are we having that serum in nigeria?

Lionheart said...

Thank God

I believe this is a welcome development, God dey.

In JESUS name the drug will work

God bless America! May God heal the land. My heart goes out to d families of the deceased. May God protect us all. Amen

So good to hear God help us too

Plz oooo and Nigeria too. We nid it more dan liberia

US pls give us the cure too ooo..after all dat nigga was an american-liberian citizen..nonsense

Thank God #bright bravo#

A succour to the mind.

Den y refusin Nigeria? Our president shld do somtin

Thank goodness

tuffcookiey said...

Good God we are in your hands..

tuffcookiey said...

Good God we are in your hands..

May God save us.
EBOLA GIST

Olameedey said...

Praise God!

PASCAL CONCEPT said...

Lord have Mercy

Great news.
I pray its the cure. #foreverhealthy

Ehhh linda only liberian ,what about nigeria? I mean the drugs. CHI.

God pls save us,we ave no one to turn to except u.grace b

Better.

Amablaze said...

Nice 1..buh dey shld giv it naija too ohh,we so need it.God help us all

Dts gud. God wil help oh. Gud luck!

finally!!! US

Thank God

Amaka said...

GEJ we don't need much in Nigeria, so far only 2 death n few infested. So beta ask 4 d Zmapp, if it means using d 1.9b dollars mapped out 4 Ebola. Put 2015 aside for just one week n tackle d issue of Ebola. If u get d drug pple will remember n vote 4 u come 2015. Let's do this b4 schools resume in September.

It seems this americans read your blog too.All the complaints and yabbing LIBers dished out here is enough to make them reconsider.That's good news!

Man Of God said...

Gud moves! Liberia must share that drug wit Nigeria cos they transferred the virus down here

Thank God they ve finally given out. There's hope for our country. LIB Princess!

YINXS said...

what about Nigeria?

America wants to control the world by all means.Pls how do we come about this Ebola in the first place?They said through Monkeys,apes animals etc,but are there no monkeys or animals in America?Maybe they re of different species.In fact they have more contacts with these animals than us.They practise bestiality(Having sex with animals),which is a taboo in Africa.The other time they said we should not eat chicken again because of flu,but i could remember when i was younger in the early 80s and 90s when you see any chicken exihibiting a strange symptons(KOLI) we killed the chicken instantly and eat it,nothing happened to us,why is it that now they are saying we cant eat bush meat,chicken and so on?Also anytime they want to discover any sickness,its always from Black African"s countries,why not Egypt,Libya,Tunisia,Algeria and so on?
The fact is that most of these so called researchers go into laboratories and prepare one virus,at the same time the ANTI VIRUS,then take flight to AFRICA,inject the animal they wanted and release the animal back into the forest,then a hunter killed the animal with excitement shared, eat among his family or sell it,then virus starts spreading,whereby the Americans have the Anti virus already,Then overnight they claimed to have found the solutions.
What we are experiencing now is called MENTAL SLAVERY.They say NO to Polygamy,which of AFRICAN TRADITION but YES to Homosexuality.Forget all these stories and aids they are given.It has been premeditated
So AFRICA,All that glitters is not gold,SHINE YOUR EYE!!

dee said...

American's are terrible and I hope the help is real n not worsen the situation....

So wetin Nigeria take get Head?Wetin Nigeria take offend America nah?

Finally derris lite at da end of da tunnel. E still dey remain HIV/AIDS...

Why won't they direct them to d manufacturer it must be in usa ,with their tricks of lootn africans

Good. I wonder when Africans will be able to take care of themselves.

#king said...

Good one..send it to naija abeg..............................#KingOfKings

wow..Thank God..at least it will reduce the date race.

American n Liberian govt shld beta send 2 Nigeria ASAP t'was ya very citizen dat brout it 2 us oooo

nigeria nko?

Thank God

Thanks US health organisation n d president for d approved Zmapp serum to liberia also pls approve for own for naija.

Thank God they changed their mind...

queenreigneth@gmail.com

Esty kudos said...

Thats Good news . Btw is only for d doctors?

#ZimappForNigeria

Thank God for that.
Madam linda, u wont talk about the mass failure in waec ehn, when u know ur blog plays a big role in it. *runs away*

Alagbado-ode said...

Thanks, Anon. 12.27am. One of d most thought - provoking posts I have read in recent time.

Rittyluv said...

Best comment!!!

these people *americans* kip foolin us black Africans anyways, thank God they ve agreed 2 send it 2 us.FJ CRUISE commenting via Nokia N78

Marshall Matters said...

strict quarantine laws should be enforced and the drugs should only be made available to only sick patients in quarantine facilities... just saying..

Thank God hope it will get to Nigeria soon

tnk God for U.S president...plz dey shuld remba Nigerians

Food for thought. Well said. God bless Nigeria.

Nice piece

GOD BLESS YOU! Vincent Edward ... WELL SAID

i hope africa will
just get out of this mess

Bro u have the ÉBOLA virus that's why u are seeing things. Please go for check up so that they can isolate you. Be a good citizen.

#ObamaGiveUsZmapp

Cianci said...

Africa it's high time you wake up from your slumber.

Best news so far

AGB said...

Brilliant piece brother. I get so angry and ashamed when I see people (more especially here on Linda's blog) asking the west to send vaccines over to West Africa. What stops us from finding our own vaccines? Are we not human beings like the other people who developed their own solutions. Africans (especially our leaders) need to realize that we're being serious burdens to the rest of the world as long as we keep waiting for other people to find solutions to our problems. That's the reason why no one would take black people to seriously yet. Until we (Africans) start to take responsibility for ourselves,I'm sorry to say all black people round the world would continue to be treated like shit covertly or openly.
God Bless Nigeria.