Sad news! Prof. Dora Akunyili has passed on | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 7 June 2014

Sad news! Prof. Dora Akunyili has passed on

We've heard rumours of her death a few times before but unfortunately this time it's for real. Former Director General of NAFDAC and former Minister of Information Prof. Dora Akunyili has died. She died 10am today june 7th at the Indian hospital where she was taken to on May 11 to receive medical treatment after her health deteriorated.

Various reliable sources have confirmed her passing. She was only 59. So sad! May her soul rest in peace, Amen.

1,199 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   801 – 1000 of 1199   Newer›   Newest»

What a shame that the fake drug dealers have finally eliminated her.

RIP ma

Are u sure Linda?

RIP ma'am

A great woman is gone. A woman who stands for truth. You re martyr. A pride to the nation and to all women. What happens to all ur awards which is over 600. You will always be remembered.RIP Mama NAFDAC

Am shocked.i admired her so much.another big loss

RIP Ma, u will be remembered as a great achiever. #Prof. Dora Akunyili

I am surprised at how devastated I am by this. Rest in peace Ma. You were one of the few good ones.

My role model ...may her soul rest in peace

May her soul rest in peace, you will be missed. You were a great fighter.

May her soul RIP!!!didn't want to believe it,so so sad.

Victor chukwuemerie said...

Wat a loss!.. Its rili so sad. R.I.P prof Dora.. Ur legacies surely, live on

The good people that will definitely make a change never live as long as the bad ones, may her soul rest in peace

May our Merciful Lord, have Mercy on you and receive u in His Heavenly Kingdom. Amen! U fought the fight but it was God's will at His time. May God give ur family and Nigerian strength to b able to carryon without you. Bye bye mother of our nation

Another role model has fallen.RIP!

NiKi Posh said...

So unfortunate. May her soul rest in peace.

She was only 59 with a room filled with awards and achievemnts mch more dan some dat lived 100yrs,she has made her mark in dis world,she was a gr8t achiever,I don't mourn her,I celebrate her,no b by to live like metusela bt wat hv u achieved? Rip gr8t woman

Mawe Prosper(@maweprosper) said...

amen,
maweprospa.blogspot.com

May her soul rest in perfect peace. God will comfort her husband nd children.

Sad good heads don't last long in politics most esp in 9ja.RIP ma

so sad may her soul and the souls of d faithful departed through d mercy of GOD rest in peace amen. she wasa GOD fearing woman.

Rip mrs Dora!!! May the Lord bless your soul

May her soul rest in peace. We have lost a rare gem. I sympathise with her family.

Ur life was well spent my strong woman, ur a role model indeed! Heaven will receive u wit pleasures... RIP Our Strong Woman, Nigeria will miss u

Can't hold bck d tears! RIP my true Icon, a legend, a beautiful soul, my hero, a woman fighter...... you are indeed a rare gem. U will surely bi missed! I bless God almighty for your soul.

May her soul rest in peace. Nigeria has loss a treasure

chantel said...

So sad 'weeps'.... RIP

may her soul rest in peace amen.

Very Sad..Rest in Peace

Amaka u.l said...

Rip dora.we gonna miss u

Cancer is so deadly! God have mercy,RIP MAMA!! #Roselle#

With a heavy heart, an uncontrolable tears. Am saying Rest in d bossom of ur creator Ma, its so painful dat Nigeria has lost anoda great icon. RIP Ma.

sleep on ma... sad! she came she saw she conquered....

Dayo A. said...

Linda, Good people no dey last, i don't know why, but we have some bad people that destroyed this country up till now they are still alive. i have my reservation about God's work at time. Dora, Nigeria Iron lady RIP.

Mama Nigeria, wat a lose you, but u conqured n hav set a pace for others to follow, some may be rejoicing dat there greatest threat has gone but I hope n pray that heaven is far rejoicing has it welcomes it faithful daughter.

may her soul rest in jesus , amen!! So sad.

NnamdiBiafra said...

it's a pity...but YES HER LOVE FOR NIGERIA KILLED HER...who ever that is against the chosen people of GOD (BIAFRA), who ever thinks nigeria and aganist Biafra is dead one way or the other....Linda I love you and you are Biafran, whether you like it or not Biafran Nation will be restored come Dec 31, 2015 else the whole country will be burnt down, it's a threat and warning, you can log on to www.radiobiafra.co or www.biafratelevision.co at 7am and 7pm daily Biafran time to listen and know what's happening...you Biafrans in Lagos thinking y'all are living large should better becareful and at alert....if you like post my comment, Nigeria is finished!!!

May her soul RIP

Adieu Prof Dora Akunyili

RIP ma'm you were an amazon!

Rip Dora Akunyili,life is vanity .

Prof smooth sailing

Rest in peace Ma'am. May you find rest in the bosom of Abraham. You have fought a good fight. You have left a good name behind. Adieu Ma!

RIP ma....chai*sad face*

may her gentle soul RIP

May her soul rest in peace...

Rip Ma

May her soul rest in peace. Amen. U were really a gem.

beckz said...

Oh my God, may her soul rest in peace

May her gentle soul rest in peace

amen o

Chai so sad. May her soul rest in peace.

RIP ma'am

mammy mi even if d whole world forget u in a jiffy,i will never forget u.....esp wat u did in Nafdac.... May God grant u enternal rest....u will forever live on our mind...love u alot mommy nafdac RIP..... Libers wat will u be remember for? From Golden princess

Bad Belle People... Them Don Use Bad Mouth Kill The Woman...May Her Gentle Soul Rest In Perfect Peace ! we have just lost a Martyr who fought for the masses. Role model and Icon #RIPDoraAkunyili

bookie said...

this is a very sad news. hia! she was one of the few women that served this nation wholeheartedly. may her soul rest in Peace

Y evils!!!!!

Rest in peace, to a very great woman, who stood for the truth, a woman of integrity, and helped stop the illegal manufacture and selling of fake drugs!!!Nigeria has indeed lost an icon, a great lioness, you are gone but your memory and legacy would never be diminished. You fought the good fight, you finished the course and you truly kept the faith!!!You came, You saw and You conquered, Rest in Peace, Mrs Dora Akunyili!!whizman

Rest in peace Dora.

Rest in peace my mentor.

Really sad...

vyc said...

Sad news! May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace. AMEN!

OMG. I taught it won't come to this, thought. she was getting better....may her gentle soul rest in d bosom of the lord...*sobbing profusely *

KAY....... said...

Chaiiii...... My former DG. I am going to miss u, nafdac is going miss u and Nigerians too are going to miss u. May God rest ur beautiful soul. R.I.P madam. Amen

RIP Ma.

So Sad!

kachi said...

Death is wicked, Rest In Peace.

Segun Asos said...

May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace!

Oh my goodness!!! Haaa! Dats very sadning. Ehya... I used to like dat woman so very much. She had bin an inspiration to so many girls/ladies/women out thr. May God grant her eternal rest

TTG said...

Oh my goodness!!! We've lost É‘ rare and dear gem. May her soul rest i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ peace

wat a sad news,may ha soul RIP.Amen.

RIP, MA'M

amen.

Seun Asos said...

May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace!

So sad. God knows best. Reest in peace ma.

such a sad news...may ha soul rest in peace.amen.

Rip 2 d dead.please post my comnt.

Its really sad hearing uve passed on. I am inconsolable. Goodnight Ma! Rest well, great warrior of our time. Bella

Wow... may her soul restnin peace IJN.
Bur... I gotta say dis: No matter how much u r so leaned and celebrated, a day is coming when all we have chased after here on earth will b left behind on earth!
VANITY UPON VANITY, ALL IS VANITY!!!

May her soul rest in peace

R.I.P

next of kin said...

May her soul rest in perfect peace

Hmmmm.... so very sad. May her soul rest in peace IJN.
However I need to state that no matter your social status, academic attainment and how much you are celebrated, we shall ALL return to the soil.
VANITY UPON VANITY, ALL IS VANITY!!!

she was and still is my role model....RIP...amen

so sad for a dedicated woman, good night Mama NAFDAC. may her soul rest in peace.

Rest In Peace Prof. (Mrs.) Dora Nkem Akunyili

Tee Gold said...

Awww so sad!may God console her family..RIP!!

NAOMI said...

R.I.P

So sad!!! She was indeed a great woman, a legend, RIP

United Nation under codex has made it claire they are on a mission to reduce the population by over 3 Billion and they are doing it well with the help of our African ignorant leaders, RIP ma.

La na udo, woman of virtue, ma amazon.

RIP Madam, the good die young

Goziem said...

Chai chai chai! A big loss to Nigeria.May her soul rest in the lord

Ifeoluwa said...

Very sad. A great woman has passed on. RIP Dora Akunyili.

'MikuN said...

R.I.P ma'am

RIP great womaN! Wicked Men dey dis country o

RIP Madam, the good die young

7C62C1E7

Oge said...

May her soul rest in peace...it's a sad one

King said...

Rip - Return if Possible
A woman of great impact...
I just keep wondering why the Good always die, and the Bad are still living and doing their bad thing

Download Videos and Music online freely with Airtel Sim

They succeeded in killing her, RIP ma

what a lose

lizzie said...

oh my GOD we av lost sm 1 so unique & special oh death oh sickness why did u take Prof Dora away cryinnnnnn

Death is a message. It will be wise to remember that we came without and we will leave without nothing.

Vanity upon vanity... DO GOOD ,... iLE AYE ASAN

May God grant her gentle soul eternal rest.

Oyinlomo.....

OMG. Wat a loss. May her soul rest in peace

King Dave Anya said...

rest in perfect peace aunty Dora

May her soul rest in peace Amen

Omg, with all these awards and hardwork, so she still gave up. Death is inevitable, every soul shall taste death. May Allah grant her aljannah. Amin. Rip madam. I will personally declare one pot of ogbono soup for my street just to mark her wonderful job she has done while on earth.

Eeeh c watin wicked men take dis woman life play! Dis is indid a lesson 2 ALL u don't follow wicked men wit Notin eida u r in same Game wit dem or u follow God strong u just can't bi in btw , am sure dis wicked men kno demselvs n r hapi now dats she's gone, politicz Bastard GamE

RIP great womaN! Wicked Men dey dis country o

My dear u just said all ders is if only she lookd unto God n 4get abut wastin Money on Medicals cus its Obvious her sickness wasint Ordinary, wicked men indid

Rest in peace.

Rip.death is inevitable. GOD KNOWS BEST.

My prayer is dat 4 every great person dat has passed on, may God raise more not cos they can fill up d gap bt so dat good work will continue RIP ma'am

Rest in peace

God knows best! RIP

May ur soul rest in perfect peace dont mind those that can kill d body but can not kill d soul they hv sold tHeir soul 2 d devil.Aduei great legend of Nigeria

So so sad! I knew her chances were slim when I saw her last picture. May her soul rest in peace.
It's a call for us all to know that no matter the position we are, death is what is common to all and is inevitable

chelseakenny said...

See Awards.............Rest in peace ma'm

Pharm Chika said...

Rip Pharm. Prof Mrs. Dora, I will miss u as a pharmacist and a nigerian cos u brought sanity to our profession and ensured good health for all nigerian. U are a rare gem, rest in the bossom of God. Adieu

Doris said...

May her soul rest in peace.Amen.

Pourlh_G said...

A Golden woman..
A woman who doesn't mind stepping on toes to bring out a positive change.........RIP to a Rare Gem and the only Nigerian female politician i can say I'm proud of.

May the Lord grant ur soul eternal rest. Ur life saved life's.

jane said...

So sad, she was a great woman. She saved our country. Sleep on prof. Your legacy lives

You can carry last for Africa these days this woman. Sit up

blt said...

Wot a loss!! RIP

Oh my God. So sad. May God give her family the strength to bear this terrible loss.

So sad

Amen!

God bless you ma.......ure one of my Greatest mentors....God destroy all the enemies of a better Nigeria....God Bless Nigeria...!

May her soul rip

Very sad news.

So sad! May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace,Amen

RIP ma...... God knows best

Farewell great Amazon of Nigeria! your good works and bravery will forever live in the hearts of Nigerians and in the history of Nigeria. generations to come shall be inspired by you. rest in perfect peace!

May her gentle soul rest in peace. Is soo painful.....

Julie Best said...

How I wish this could not be true I love this woman she is one in a million.

So so sorry. We just lost a rare gem...Claribel thinking***

sad new indeed. may her gentle soul rest in peace...

Good people they say don't last
You may not have lasted here but Heaven remains your abode forever
The pains are gone
The sleepless nights are gone.
Your beloved husband is crying, your wonderful children are crying
Nigerians, Ndi Anambra, Ndi Agulu, Ndi Nanka
All of us are deep in tears.
Do we have to question God? NO!
Do we have to regret that you worked to save lives in Nigeria? NO.
You fought this sickness with faith, strength and with selfless love for humanity
On your sick bed you were so worried about the "Chibok girls"
You always refuted the rumor about your death.
You hoped of coming to meet us alive.
We are not crying because you died, we are crying because your selfless services and your kind of person is still needed in our nation Nigeria.
In your life time, each time you wanted to talk about " fake drugs" you always changed the looks on your face and your eyeballs always looked like they were fallen off.
Your were a disciplinarian, an activist, a dodged fighter, a hero, a quintessential of a true mother, wife, sister, Aunt, leader etc.
Just like Governor Peter Obi said after his visit to your hospital bed that hardly Nigerians prays for quick recovery of politicians, but you were the only one that the whole Nigeria irrespective of tribes came together and joined hands in praying for your quick recovery.
Even at your death, Nigerians all over the world are mourning the way they never did for any politician in Nigeria.
It's a verisimilitude of your good works. Your selfless services to them, and your positive qualities which they have not found in any Nigerian that attained your level for now.
Go and rest with The Lord. Now you are resting, the sickness is also resting as well as your family especially your husband Dr. Chike.
We will not question God.
Adieu Ezenwanyi, Nwanyi Anyi Ji Aga Mba, Nwanyi NAFDAC as some fondly calls u, A Hero, Nkem, Prof., Oji Okeosisi, Ugogbe Oyibo, Achalu Ugoo, Oma Obi Di Ya, Iru Ugogbe. A Martyr indeed you are.

Goodnight, till we meet to part no more.

By: Darlington Okikiola Ejesieme .

RIP ma. U were really a role model

Rest in Peace Prof, you have left a legacy behind that you will forever be remember for, we love you, but God God love the most. (Ibee)

Emi Nelson said...

May she rest in peace

RIP ma.u were really a role model

Foluke Dede said...

This is indeed sad news. She was one of those few Nigerians that helped us believe that a person can still bring about meaningful change in Nigeria. May her soul rest in perfect peace and may Almighty God grant her family and indeed the Nigerian nation the grace to bear the loss.

Desi said...

May her gentle soul rest in peace. My prayers go to the family and loved ones,may God grant them the fortitude to bear her loss

Adieu mama

Omotayoola said...

An icon we all know that is beloved by a lot of people for being truthful and just. But while serving us, we never knew she has her own problems hidden too, perhaps the ailment has been there for long, eating up from inside. How much do we ask how they are doing; “Those Who Care For Us”? I do not think people do realize that “the rich also cry”. She was really a great woman. Rest On Dora Akunyili #agreatlostforNigeria

At least she lived, and stood for something that made a great change. RIP

A life well spent.gud nite gud mum

Omotayoola said...

An icon we all know that is beloved by a lot of people for being truthful and just. But while serving us, we never knew she has her own problems hidden too, perhaps the ailment has been there for long, eating up from inside. How much do we ask how they are doing; “Those Who Care For Us”? I do not think people do realize that “the rich also cry”. She was really a great woman. Rest On Dora Akunyili #agreatlostforNigeria

Just like a dream.....RIP Prof Dora *sad*
#Ceejay

Cynthia G said...

Is so sudden Dora!but God knows better,you live a life of emulation,may good God grant you eternal rest and may the souls of all the faithful departed,through the mercy of God rest in peace ,Amen

TINOMECH said...

A rare Gem!! Oh!! What a loss!! RIP. Amen.

vivian said...

may her gentle soul rest in peace

R I p.

may her soul rest in peace

A rare gem is lost. Rip madam dora.

Dis is more dan SAD!!! Rest on legend

RIP Dora!!!! May ur gentle soul sleep tight.#temmy#

RIP life worthy to emulate

richardini said...

may her gentle soul rest in peace. This is a woman of great caliber which footprint can never be wipe off

winniekoko said...

She was a diligent woman! RIP ma!!...cry cry cry!

Oh God, Its a pity! RIP

May her soul rest in the lord Amen. Nigeria hero.

Oh Death! U are wicked. You hv taken away our genius, a rule model, our achiever, a woman of principle and courage. Sleep on my Prof. Adieu.

Hmmmm so sad to hear, may her soul rest in peace ooo. Na wa ooo preety, educated and sharp woman don die, its a pity. But d woman harsh too oo. I dai fear her.

OMG this is really sad...may her soul rest in peace.

Kelechi Paschal Ekechukwu said...

may her gentle rest in d bosom of d Lord, amen

sparkle said...

RIP, so sad

Dis is so so so so sad...Rip mama

Naija Report said...

Chai... She should have just rested insteaded of coming out and attending that stressful conferences. RIP Mrs Dora

A great role model has passed on. The woman with a brave heart! The woman with a lion's heart! I love u so much, may God grant u eternal rest. In the bosom of the Lord u will rest, Amen!

Xoxo sad...may d soul of d faithful departed rest in d peace of d LORD...Amen....RIP dora

Info Naija said...

RIP Dora... You were a Brave Woman. Thanks for the info Linda.

So Sad. It is well. My prayers go with the family.

may her soul rest in peace

Amen......... RIP mama NAFDAC

Damn!

May she rest on!

May her gentle soul rest in peace!

Ralph Nnanna said...

may her gentle soul rest in peace....her signature will for years remain in NAFDAC

Oh God! Why do the good not last while the evil ones live long to torment the poor? Perhaps they need the extra time to see if they will repent?

Adieu Madam. You had a great legacy and may our good Lord grant you peace... And may the foundation you laid at Nafdac be magnified.

May she rest in peace.

An heroine goes home! RIP DORA NKEM AKUNYILI......so sad, we lost a rare gem! July 14, 1954 - June 7, 2014! An amazon goes home!

CHIKITO said...

I AM SO SO REMINDED OF MY MORTALITY WITH THIS NEWS. PLS LET US LIVE HUMBLY AND CLOSER TO GOD COS IN THE END, THATS ALL THAT MATTERS. ALL DEGREES ARE CERTIFICATES, MADE OF PAPER. ALL AWARDS ARE PLAQUES MADE OF WOOD. MONEYY TOO, IS MAN MADE. WE ARE WORTH MORE THAN ANYTHING TO GOD COS WE ARE MADE OF A BODY, A SOUL AND A SPIRIT WHICH NO MAN CAN CREATE. LET'S BE KIND TO ALL MEN, EVEN AS CHRIST WANTS OF US SO THAT WE MAY STAND BEFORE HIM, UNASHAMED ON THE LAST DAY. ITS EASY TO BE CARRIED AWAY BY THE WORLD, THE CRAZE FOR MONEY,POWER, AMBITION AND ALL..BUT WITH HIS GRACE..HIS GRACE WILL SHOW THE WAY. ADIEU DORA, U LIVED WELL, THOUGH U WERE NOT DONE LIVING. MAY GOD BE WITH YOUR SOUL AS IT JOURNEYS BACK TO HIM.

PD said...

@Darlington....God bless u for this beautiful piece.The news of her death spoilt my day.May her gentle soul continue to rest in peace.

May r soul rest in perfect peace n may God give r families d fortitude 2 bear d loss IJN cos is a great loss 2 d entire Nigerians.

SHE FOUGHT THE GOOD FIGHT

...a well spent life.
She will be greatly missed for a long time.

So Dora is dead....
*sobs*
It must be a dream....
Someone pls wake me up....
*sobs*
OGod y?The good do not last.y?
My heart is terribly broken...
*sobs*

I dey hapi ooo. Dora Don Die(DDD)

RIP Ma.😓😢☹

After reading these comments am in tears....May her soul rest in God's bosom. ..

ifee said...

Rest in Peace.Nwanyidiroma. Amazon of inestimable value

Rest in peace,dora

«Oldest ‹Older   801 – 1000 of 1199   Newer› Newest»