Sad news! Prof. Dora Akunyili has passed on | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 7 June 2014

Sad news! Prof. Dora Akunyili has passed on

We've heard rumours of her death a few times before but unfortunately this time it's for real. Former Director General of NAFDAC and former Minister of Information Prof. Dora Akunyili has died. She died 10am today june 7th at the Indian hospital where she was taken to on May 11 to receive medical treatment after her health deteriorated.

Various reliable sources have confirmed her passing. She was only 59. So sad! May her soul rest in peace, Amen.

1,199 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   601 – 800 of 1199   Newer›   Newest»

May. Her soul rest in peace.

A rare gem. A legend. RIP Ma

I’m deeply shocked at d sudden death of dis woman.
May God give her eternal rest and may her soul rest in peace!

Oh my world my heart bleeds in tears

bonario's mum said...

May her soul rest in peace

so sad indeed. May her soul rest in perfect peace amen!

oh my God. May her soul rest in peace......

A star has fallen! We have lost a hero RIP ma'am

Rest in peace

May her soul rip graet woman

Oh my God! Is it actually true?

"We are born,we live and we die"

I never met her when she became famous but back in 1995 when no one knew this woman,I went on computer training course with her at UNTH Enugu where her husband worked as a Doctor for about a month. I remember this well because it was at this course that any of us including Dora had ever heard of the Internet. She was just a down to earth woman who later went on to bigger and better things. She will be surely missed.This is one of the rare times that a Nigerian leader had died and I feel sorry

Cynic*Igbo*Guy

My hero is gone! RIP to a Legend, a Hero and an Icon. A model to others. Thank you For your selflessness & bravery. wit & fearlessness. Nothing like a good name.. The greatest legacy!

May her soul RIP graet woman

Dem done kill am!

Lord have Mercy

Rest in the Lord ma :(

she came, she saw, and she conqured. Great woman. R.I.P Prof.

1st to comment....
RIP Dora you will be remembered as the enforcer of Nafdac reg number in naija

Alas! A giant has fallen. We salute u as u journey 2 d oda side. If we v politicians like u, naija wud be a better place. Rest in peace Prof. Just sayin... D curious1

Really sad! Rest in peace

Rest in d Lord the pride of African woman. You would never be forgotten d true Nigeria woman. The history of great Africa women is incomplete without you. Rest till we meet to part no more. We love you.

Very sad news. RIP Dora

Farewell woman of impact. We d people of naija hail u. Just sayin...D Curious1

Alas! A giant has fallen. We salute u as u journey 2 d oda side. If we v politicians like u, naija wud be a better place. Rest in peace Prof. Just sayin... D curious1

May her soul rest in peace *so sad*

Dis is realy sad news....RIP ma

So sad,you fought a good fight madam as the DG of NAFDAC.may God grant you eternal rest.

Josh Atuanya said...

Dike anaaaa

Daily diet tv said...

R.I.P Ma! Thank you for your contribution to humanity. SLEEP WELL!

Martins (GlossyMart Tech Gadgets 07037317400 or 08116202737) said...

A RARE GEM IS TRULLY GONE!! May her soul continue to REST IN PEACE!!

Eyes filled with tears. May her soul rip

So u still left us..upon d prayas I do pray concernin ur health...we'll foreva miss yhu..RIP

Hmmmmmmm So what????? Many women have died of the same ailment without getting treatment due to her and her cohorts corruption!!!!

RIP to you ma, even though your life was cut short, your name which you have boldly written in the sands of time cannot be bloated. It will forever be remember as the iron lady of NAFDAC who chose the path of integrity when every other person hands were eager to be stained with the oil of bribery, corruption and thievery, in this world where selfishness speaks and hatred is displayed with pride, your good works speaks. Adieu

Its a shame she had to die at this time..good people never seem to last. Sleep wel in the Lord Dora

sweetest gal! said...

Prof. Dora, I will miss u, we will miss u, Nigeria will miss you, you served your country well, may ur Gentle soul rest in perfect peace! Amen!

So bad,bt I pray dat de gud lord will grant her eternal rest Amen

RIP MA!wish i met u 1ce again.

Amaka sparkles said...

Amen. mummy may ur soul rest in peace.

RIP Ma

linda u shd post da passing away of emir of kano...his one of da biggest emirs to v ruled ..pay some tribute to him.as some of us ur northern readers r concerned

lawal rasheeda said...

may her soul rest in peace.

Rest in peace ma

Mama, you came,you saw and you conquered. may your soul rest in Abraham's bosoms. Amen

Ayi said...

May her Soul Rest In Peace!

They have killed her. May her soul rest in peace. She came, she saw and conquered.... Farewell Ma.

Rip

May her soul rest in GOds bossom... awww! I loved ds woman so much... she rili made me blv dat women have a say in ds world.. she made me blv dat we hv value and cn be noticed. May God grant u enternal rest.. adieu mama

beatrice said...

a painful exit,may her gentle soul Rest In Peace

isa uk said...

This is so heart breaking RIP ma

Peace perfect peace. I am in tears really. I hoped and expected she would conquer this illness. Alas it has come to this. At just 59. Brilliant, accomplished,smart, distinguished and pretty woman: beloved wife of Dr. Akunyili, mother of successful children, rest in peace.

Linda,dis one Wey you post just one story since morning,you never reach?

Mama, you came,you saw and you conquered. may your soul rest in Abraham's bosoms. Amen

awwwwwwwww. so painful.... may her soul rest in peace. Amen....

she will be remembered nd missed dearly

beatrice said...

may her gentle soul rest in peace,a painful exit

Rest in peace ma.ur legacy wouldn't b forgotten

awwwwwwwww. so painful.... may her soul rest in peace. Amen....

she will be remembered nd missed dearly

She was an icon,a legend,role model. May her soul rest in perfect peace.AMEN..,,

shidal... said...

Rip ma......may d Lord grant u eternal rest. .

jenniferkenneth said...

RIP wonderful woman bt I guess its african disease its nt medical

sad news indeed. RIP ma

Oh my God....am in tears as I write dis, STRONG woman Rest in Peace... I Miss U dearly

Signed: Emmanuel Chibueze Kanayo said...

Too sad a story. God knows it's not a natural death. but not to worry tho, she's resting in the bossom of the lord.

mike opara may her soul rest in peace

So sad....RIP prof..keep wonderin why u went into politics again wt all u hav acquired...those pple there r very delivesh I cn bet wt my p****ny dat these sickness is spiritural...is well wt ur soul...jee nke oma ezinne!!!!

What a loss! RIP!

francis said...

May her soul rest in peace. What a great loss

chiamaka said...

Rip Dora Akunliyi.

sad news indeed. May she rest in peace

Osinachi said...

It is a great pity. Rest in peace Ma'am and may God comfort your family.

dolly Eze said...

A great daughter of Nigeria who lived a worthy life and proved that women can depend on their brain power not bottom power... A great example for our wives, daughters and sisters

Nigeria has lost a rare gem, an Amazon. Dora stood for the truth and probably died for her unbending integrity too. May her soul rest in peace

tookuit said...

IJE UWA! RIP Madam.

May her gentle soul rest in peace. Crying wanna be like her wen I grow old

tookuit said...

IJE UWA! RIP Madam.

tookuit said...

IJE UWA! RIP Madam.

Wow,so sad to hear this, you know Nigeria is not a place, the only woman that stood for the right thing was poisoned to death.. So I advice don't carry naija issue for head,else you will die as well.. Is all about corruption and chop I chop.. May her soul rest in peace.

May God rest her soul

Kingston said...

Datz rili a sad one.
Sleep well,one of 9ja's greatest.

tookuit said...

IJE UWA! RIP Madam.

Oh a rare gem

sheba olamipo said...

may her gentle soul rest in perfect peace. may God guide and protect all that she left behind

Oh no....aunty Dora yyyy... My heart is bleeding I wish u stayd a lil longer..... OMG....som1 plz console me....

Rip Dora.

Bony bony said...

RIP sistet, mother nd friend

Bony bony said...

RIP sistet, mother nd friend

This is so sad,she was indeed a great woman,may her soul rest in perfect peace

RIP Agbara nwanyi....
Chukwu nabata gi n'obi ya!

* My R1.50c comment *

My God what a sad news.may her gentle soul rest in peace,what a great loose to nigeria.

May her soul rest in peace Amen #bright bravo#

Omg!

Tunsweet said...

ANYA IKENGA said...

Katsina Juju na wah! Or Ngige Juju! Undisclosed disease? May her soul rest in peace.

mimi said...

An icon bows out. RIP Prof #sacrifice

Such is life

RIP. Mo-1

Such is life

Naey said...

R.I.P to one of the Nation's strong women. May our good Lord accept your soul Cuz you have done well.

what a pity...

A true woman of virtue!who rendered Selfless service to us all!May her soul RIP.

Chaiii!!!! C awards. Diaz God oo......

May her soul rest in peace...

Rip ma rest in d bosssom of d lord.

Sir Vic said...

Rip.. we will miss u alot...

omalicha said...

its so so sad. After all the struggle, dis life sha.... May her soul rest in peace. #wemournher#

gentle video blog said...

Jezz!!! What a sad news...a great woman she is...May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace AMEN!!!

We lost a rare gem

RIP legend!!!

R.I.P....Prof.

Oh noooooo... This ar d ppl we need in dis country! RIP our amiable, visionary, outspoken, courageous, ever conscious meticulous DG. You ar among the few good thing to happen to us as a country. I pray the good lord receives ur soul... It is well JAY

na wa oo . where is my comment?

Iphie said...

RIP my role model! I miss u so much. may u find eternal rest!

After everytin dis woman went thru for dis country..... May her soul rest in perfect peace.... Don't knw y bad tins always happen to good pple.

Cmatthew said...

Very sad indeed. She saved the lives of many in her fight against fake drugs. May God gives her rest and her family the fortitude to bear the loss. ADA IGBO, gaa nkoma.

I have always been a secret lib reader but neva commented! but these sad demise broke me! Good ones dont last y? RIP ma!

Awww!!! R.I.P Mama, May your soul rest in perfect peace

RIP madam. God knows best.

Don't know what killed her still but I'm disappointed at the use of an Indian hospital for someone of her status.

80% of Nigerians that go to India either die in India or come back to Nigeria to die after treatment.

DADDYSWIFE said...

Chai!!,nnem naa nke oma,ka mkpuru obi gi zue ike na ndokwa

Finally they have killed this woman that served Nigeria with all her strenghth, may her gentle soul rest in Perfect peace,

ebonydoc said...

Sad! Wat a great loss! May her gentle soul RIP. Amen

win said...

Am saddened by this news. She made so much positive impact on our lives . most of us would probably be dead by now due to fake products especially foods and drugs if not for her prudence. May God grant her eternal rest and may her gentle soul rest in peace. Amen

Clef said...

RIP patriot and a heroine...ur gud deeds shall b crested on our flag of a new Nig

ifeoma amah said...

All these rumours would hv kill her before her time

Oh dear Dora. This is a sad day for me . May her gentle soul rest in peace and may God Almighty grant the family the fortitude to bear the loss.

Respect to a wonderful woman. RIP

This is really sad...R.I.P ma, your bravery and dedication to excellence will not be forgotten in a hurry *sobs*

A great woman is gone rest in peace ma

wat a tragedy.sad news

Chica said...

Adieu Our Beloved Amazon,Heroine, Icon,Jewel,Legend, Role Model.... Mother,Ezinne & Ada Ndi Igbo....
Pride of South East.... Rest In Peace Aunt Dorothy (Dora) Nkem Akunyili.

IJEOMA said...

an amazone, iron lady, diamond u 'll b greatly missed by nigerians.rip

Sammie said...

Rest in peace Dora..

ngozi elias said...

crying,wat a lyf.may her soul RIP.lyf is indeed short

Sad 1st to comment

Clef said...

RIP patriot and heroine...ur gud deeds shall b engraved on the stone tablet of the heroes and heroines of our new Nig

A selfless person who fought for the masses, until she could fight no more. R.I.P Ma

May her gentle soul RIP.. She really was passionate abt nigeria's development... Contrary to wat mst pple felt dat she attended d national for financial gain,I felt she did wat she did to contribute in her way to nigeria's progress.. We wud always love and never forget u MRS DORA

Owen said...

She was a great Woman. Rest well Dora. R.I.P.

immaculate said...

God grant her Eternal Rest

She will be greatly missed May her soul rest in peace so sad

So sad. What a great woman

D DOCTOR said...

So disheartening that we lost such a rare gem in our country at this time when we need such people. One part of me just feels it wasn't a NORMAL DEATH. Like some will say "dem throw something at her". We do need Jesus in our country as leaders. May her souk rest in peace

Dee Tee said...

... Sad, another confab delegate dies. May her gentle soul rest in peace. Amen.. This 2014 hmm God have mercy

chaiii, so sadmay her gentle soul R.I.P.

She fought and lived well. A champion that won't be forgotten. Go well ma! Rest well ma!! Adieu ma!!!

Oh!so sad.May her soul rest in peace amen.

Jesus christ what a sad news. May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace. Amen

Dlapikin said...

I don't understand why nigerians go to india for treatment. India ranks below many african countries in healthcare in the world. I said it when they said she went there for treatment and I'm saying it again. You are better off in Benin, Morocco, Algeria, SA than india.

Sammie said...

RIP DORA...WAH A PAINFUL EXIT

She has made her mark and written her name with
letters of Gold in the sands of time. Living a hundred
yrs witout impart is like not living at all. My joy is that
u've made a mark and nô 1 i repeat nô 1 can fit in to
your shoes cos you where outstanding in all you did.
You sanitized the food & drugs sector witout fear or
favour. You did ur best irrespective of criticism and
treats to you life., but as it pleases your maker to call
you home at this time., who am i to question God.? I'll
rather thank God for the life you lived and also do my
best to live a good life bcos i don't knw tomorrow. Life
is full of uncertainty., we all knw our birthdays but
nobody knws his/her death day. I'll urge each and every
one to amend his/her way & turn to God for he is the
ultimate. I pray God to give the family the fortitude to
bear this irreparable loss in Jesus name amen! Rip
mama.. We all miss you & Nigëriä has lost another
great icon..

May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace

RIP Dora,,,,its better to leave this wicked world than suffer so much.....u did well for nigeria..u'll never be forgotten......sleep on Madam....

RIP Prof. Dora Akunyili. Ur and Landmark wil remain in our heart,we will miss u. Said by Amynwa

D only question on ma mind now is , if she had won d senetorial seat , would she had still passed on ?.....
S̶̲̥̅Æ ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ sad a news

Kai

Amen ....

RIP ma. Still think u shouldn't have contested for that senotarial seat but God knows de best. Thanks for ur contributions they will be rememberd as long we live .

She has made her mark and written her name with
letters of Gold in the sands of time. Living a hundred
yrs witout impart is like not living at all. My joy is that
u've made a mark and nô 1 i repeat nô 1 can fit in to
your shoes cos you where outstanding in all you did.
You sanitized the food & drugs sector witout fear or
favour. You did ur best irrespective of criticism and
treats to you life., but as it pleases your maker to call
you home at this time., who am i to question God.? I'll
rather thank God for the life you lived and also do my
best to live a good life bcos i don't knw tomorrow. Life
is full of uncertainty., we all knw our birthdays but
nobody knws his/her death day. I'll urge each and every
one to amend his/her way & turn to God for he is the
ultimate. I pray God to give the family the fortitude to
bear this irreparable loss in Jesus name amen! Rip
mama.. We all miss you & Nigëriä has lost another
great icon..

Samoyooyo said...

Chai, Chi ewere ehihie ji e! Mmiri amaa ehi n'anya. Oke osisi adawo. Uwa me e e! Ewuuuu! Efere nkuwa agbawasiala. Laa n'udo nwanyi oma. Rest in peace. D world is only but a market place. +Intears+

she was a mentor to me really feeling pained.Rip ma, c u in heaven..meg

So sad am in tears. RIP

Chi said...

R.I.P to Dora Akunyili. Ever wonder why good people die young?

So sad.she will b greatly missed. nuahall.wordpress.com/2014/06/07/zombie-government-a-k-a-sit-down-look-govenment/

Merciful God, this loss really touched me, how I prayed she wil pass this phase, God knows best may the good Lord console her family and us all Amen.

R.I.P Madam.

lakeside said...

Very sad. I admire her courage and intelligence. As a woman, she fought and won a challenge that even men could not dare. She was one of the few bright sparks in the recent installment of the continuous dark story of our nation Nigeria.
Her legacy has been established, we can only celebrate her life as an amazon. Dora lives on.
I hope the FG and Anambra Govt. will befittingly immortalize her.

So sad

R.I.P.Madam Dora.

RIP ma. Thnx u for everything

ha omashey o! ikudoro RIP ma

RIP ma. Thnx u for everything

May her soul rest in peaceooo I like this woman chai. CHI.

May her soul rest in peace... Amen. Good ones hardly last in dis world...

So sad. I am not happy to see this as your first post o.
Nigeria just lost a rare gen

Chaii so sad my. Her soul rest in peace

RIP Dr. Dora. You will surely be missed. A rare gem is gone!!!!!!

May her soul rest in the bossom of the Lord. She saved a lot of lives in Nigeria through her campaign during her glorious days in NAFDAC. As a minister of information, she was on top of her job too. Sleep on STRONG WOMAN.

onyi said...

Rest in peace

Wow!!! This is really a sad news. Your integrity and legacy shall live on forever. Good night madam Dora!!!

So dem don finally succeed? God dey see una. May her honest soul rest in peace.

RIP Maam... So Sad

May her gentle soul RIP!!! Such a sad news!! Naija in recent times no good news. I hope in no distant time we wud start hearing good news again. *sad mood*

So sad! She fought for the masses until she could fight no more!!! Rest in peace Dora Akunyili. A rare gem

Lady kim kim said...

Awwwww soo sad...RIP.#crying

Rip mam..am so sad.

What a great loss. I celebrate ur martyrdom even in death,an epitome of beauty,a strong and brave woman,even though you are gone,you can never be forgotten. You saved so many live and change a lot in this nation,you death is a painful loss to all and sundry but our consolation is in The Lord. Sweet is the remembrance of the righteous,even though you are young,i felicitate with your family for a life short but well spent. I pray your soul finds delight in the bossom of The Lord,and may the Almighty God grant ur husband and children the fortitude to bear the great and irreparable loss. Sleep on Dr. Dora Akunyili,we love you but God loves you More.....Ay

Oh my ......, so so sad. Wot a lost. I kno dat that her sickness was not ordinary. They just gav it a name. Oh may her gentle soul rest in perfect peace amen. Oh

Awwww crying, this iz just too sad, it hurt deeply, I neva believe this will happen so soon. She was my role model, a mother I cherish and respect alot. Indeed we just lost somtin worth more than word can express. Her death reminds me of lots of tinz. May ur soul rest in peace a true mother u were. Love u always my model Dora.. Late Prof. Dora Akunyili. Life did not defeat u. u came, U saw, U conquered. Rip Fomer NAFDAC Director General will always be remembered for her honesty, transparency & selfless services, she saved lots of life #Pharmacist #Administrator #Crusader #NigerianHero Good People | Great Nation.... Dora Akunyili, DIES.�� �� �� *crying* who will eva b like u again???...

May her soul rest in peace....she was one strong woman!

Philip Oche said...

Sad but true!

Rest in peace mummy.

She was a true Titan!!! It's a sad day, but she departs as a heroine and a legend. She will be missed but her name shall not be forgotten. Rest in Peace Prof. Dora Akunyili

RIP Ma'am!

SunnyBriggs. said...

RIP Dora.

Rest in peace mummy

Tracyomodon said...

Oh my God this is such a tragedy.May her soul rest in perfect peace in Jesus name.

So so so so Sad. Rip Prof Dora Akunyili.

Josephine Ejiogu said...

May her Soul Rist in Peace. Amen

Jessica law said...

Linda seriously am sad right now with dis news God I cant believe this I will miss her so much.

«Oldest ‹Older   601 – 800 of 1199   Newer› Newest»