Nigerians own most houses on London’s most expensive street? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 2 June 2014

Nigerians own most houses on London’s most expensive street?

While speaking at the launch of his grassroots initiative to fight diabetes and high blood pressure on Saturday in Port Harcourt, Philanthropist and chairman of New Nation, Charles Dukwe said 70% of homes on London's most expensive area, Edgerton Crescent is owned by Nigerians. He said that UK citizens including international stars can't afford houses in that area because they are very expensive.
"There is a street in London; it is called Edgerton Crescent. Edgerton Crescent is the most expensive street in the world. Houses there are worth £3m to £4m. British celebrities that have money don’t buy houses on that street. They will tell you it is too expensive. But 70% of the houses there are owned by Nigerians" he said
Is this true? Any ex-governor's son/daughter who can verify this? *straightface*

133 comments:

This just gave me a high blood pressure.

I am related to a retired " Group General Manager in NNPC", in fact he has two houses in this street

Lindiway I've no doubt about this.
When you travel abroad on vacation or business trips. They conclude you have so much money on you to spend being a Nigerian. Not knowing not everyone has that opportunity to steal from the national treasury.

Linda if it's true,what you gonna do? I'm not surprised tho,this is all "they" know how to do.
Shygal

Is Charles just Noticing that there are Nigerians who can afford to buy Nigeria if ever we put it on sail? People Stilling Billions of Dollars from the Nigeria Govt. everyday and here he is talking about 3 to 4 Million BPD house.

PHEMMIE said...

Very Accurate, My dad own two houses in the street, but the problem is we lost the key and whites dont support breaking and entering *straightface*

winniekoko said...

I believe there Is nothing this our nefarious politicians can't afford.....they are all looters!!!!

DOBY DOBY said...

Believe me dis is true. . Somtyms I wish we can go bac to wen we wer ruled by whites.. al dis politicians only care abt demselves nd deir family to d extent dat d money dey left behind can sustain deir unborn generation

of course! mainly Nigerian thieves masked as politicians and their children... boasting as if majority of the rich Nigerians worked hard for their money. Robbing the nation blind. Nigeria will soon split. stupid people

Noone will answer your queshun ooo...lol

@BOBO_EDO said...

Hehehehehehe small thing... I believe it's true.

@Bobo_Edo

Those expenses houses in London are mostly owned by our Corrupt leaders in Nigeria.

VIA TECNO B3

PrinceofLIB said...

Hahaha...Lily it is o! Painfully true. Just the way Nigerians are the most extravagant spenders in Dubai...smh

B4 nko, money looting!

Hmmm, Nigeria my country since our oil no dey dry, I never see why our people ll stop buying expensive houses in abroad. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

a lot of Nigerians do own houses on that street but 70% is over exaggeration. A lot of foreigners live/ own house there not just Nigerians

Sure linda, I personally bought a houz dia during ma dad's 1 yr in seat as a governor

#umB/£ says so. .

Hmmmmmmmmm

Trust Nigerians, they don't want to be the last. Any which way is a way just to make a name, that is why we always land in trouble.

Na we be badt guys.

Linda u dey ask weather na true re u a leaner so before u don't know?? Abeg go meet onyx ur boy friend make we hear word jor..

Hmm . Have you ever driven past bishops avenue ?

Well who doesnt like enjoyment and besides i dont see anything wrong in having such a house in one of the coolest city in the world….

kunle said...

Linda, what do you expect. This can't be true. Though Nigerians value great Shelter but 70% is just a speculation.

senator said...

Am a son of a senator and my dad owes houses only in Nigeria and USA, I can proudly say he built them with his money not government money and he has no house in London

Yes it true, we own a house there and also in Victoria, I know a few Nigerian's too but it won't be fair if I name drop!

there's no biggie about this,go to miami,beverly hills,LA;rihanna side oh and u will know hw fa.it's just £3m.

Lool....straight face or bend face! Dat won't change d fact

Well, it's always a welcomed idea to acquire such things cuz it always appreciates. I'm an advocate of real estate business, it's one of the business I dream of and I pray for God's blessing to achieve that. However, in real estate so many factors has to be considered. Example I'm presently serving in the north and it's quite funny to see non Northerners (Igbos) still build houses here. The funny thing is an indigene will never buy that back from you once sold, they have more than enough and you end up selling for less than quarter of the price when the need be( Crisis) it probably doesn't relate to the topic but it's a pressing issue which the Igbos need to look into. Don't go developing other people's land, come back home and develop first before any other place. Charity they say begins at home. #MyTenCents.

So true lindiway...my dad owns 1.Fejik

Nigerians sabi chop monies no be money. Linda who are you expecting to answer your question? Funny you.

Nke ahu gbasara ha!

its alright......

The guy is talking nonsense. The most expensive street is Bishop's Avenue aka "Billionaire's row" and it's where Lakshmi Mittal, one of the Ecclestone daughters, Arab billionaires and Russian oligarchs live. Naija government officials can't even afford houses there. Just people like Adenuga and Dangote. The houses on that street cost £40-£100 million pounds, to even more than that. This £4 million pounds the man is calling, you can see ordinary 3 bedroom flat in knightsbridge for that amount. He doesn't know what he's talking about.

#King said...

Linda dis is sooo true..Nigerians own most of d houses..I gat two frnds staying in dis area..houses ova dia are soo expensive..#780m or even a billion.........................#KingOfKings

Hmmmm....na wa ooo...all our moni...God fight 4 us o.

TWITS said...

Linda, this info (from the man) is NOT accurate. The most expensive street in the world cannot boast of houses worth just 3-4 million of pounds, with due respect (cos dats stil a lotta mulla). However, there are numerous streets globally with houses worth several tens of millions of pounds..The facts are everywhere!

I very much doubt it I live in London and iv never heard such he should stop lying there jor

This is a good report but who are the owners of these houses businessmen or career (corrupt) politicians?

Off course this is true Linda n dis int even es sef! Na today????

Good thing, the value is gonna go down then.

I don't need a prophet b4 I believe, Naija is well corrupt ~Onahboy

Is egerton nd not edgerton akpamuuuu! You don't even know what you are talking about

I trust 9ja we dey represent, am proud of 9ja abeg

Honsylglobal.com : UK Global Online Financial Advisers said...

Proceeds of Corruption and Treasury looting.

Stupid thieves. Steal money from your country( nigeria) and take to invest in London and other foreign nations and you think you smart. This is part of the curse working against nigerian. Evil towards their own. You just have to know white man don't want your black monkey ass thouGh they smile in your face.

Joshtech said...

That where they embazzle all our crude oil money. CrookS politician.

£4m, most expensive ? You have to be joking. That's small money now. Abeg stop that joke. Where you put the Arabs, Chinese and Brazillians abeg?

Josh Atuanya said...

Yea,its true...wouldn't wanna mention names bu its true

Trust Nigerians with their life styles

I always get angry when people give wrong information. There are flats in London that cost 50 million pounds.. yes pound sterling.. and I'm talking about 3/4 bedroom flats... Folarunsho Alakija owns one in Knightsbridge. 4 million is a lot but it is kind of peanuts compared to some other houses. My dad bought a flat in 2007 for 2.5 million and today it is worth almost 12 million and it is not on egerton crescent. Theres a road in north london called bishop avenue where you can see houses that look like white house worth 20 million

How can Egerton crescent be Londons most expensive street. When some nigerians own luxury homes in Kensington palace gardens where a average house is around 19million pounds.

dilinger said...

Bishops Avenue is the most expensive street in london

Leecia Braimah said...

Weda is true or not d point dis guy is making is simple come and invest in ur country or more so,u can use dat money 2 help,d only joy I Ave is we all shall die 1day,d evil men do no longer live after dem,but live wit dem d law has change.

House r even mor cheaper dere dan Abuja soooo u guz shud stop lie

Den u don't live in London, check ur location well or maybe "I visited London nd neva lived".lier

ADULT JOKES said...

I own 70% of this houses owned by Nigerians there.

richbeth60 said...

Hmmmmmmmm

4m£ is nothing dude, my apartment in Dagenham East station is Worth more than that, even in canadan water 4 bedroom apartment is more that sum.

Diaris God in evrytin we are doing

Linda you sef for don carry do ya own research na. Biko this man na olodo, typical Naija man wey dey tok rubbish just to make una bloggers caRry am.

na true talk

Yes Nigerians are wealthy but all this man has stated is beer parlour talk and lies not facts at all. Egerton Cr is nt the most expensive whn there's The Bishop's Avenue And Kensington palace gardens with home ten times as costly

Amarachukwu said...

That's where they dump all our money but they shlD remember there is God oooo

Daily diet tv said...

Ummm.. it's we Nigerians that shut down most of the clubs here in the Uk so i kinna buy into this. Even offering for church.. na we dey put pass.

The foolish man acquire wealth and know not who is gonna spend it.

Linda, wait make I go knock for dem doors, the people wey go open door fit tell me shaa. I dey come oo.

Well that's true....Solomon....

Sale mot sail Wilson Omo'Cole

June 2, 2014 at 9:31 PM you just typed what I wanted to type hence I'll skip any further comments. Indeed Bish Ave is the most exp street a house there start at £40M

Yimu cos u lost d key mean u don't av access to ur own house ode better sit ur broke ass down and watch ur boss comment boy

After this one will claim he lives in America. We are not 'sailing' Nigeria to anywhere sha.

Linda dear! It's spelled "Egerton and not Edgerton"

Which one is via tecno B3 again? So that Linda will take special notice of you should she want to share money in December???
Copycats everywhere.

Let them continue stealing our money,enjoying the peoples money as if they worked hard for it,God dey oooo.very soon I knw n believe this country will split n there will be nothing like nigeria again. We r too big n too corrupt to be together.I pity hausa people na dem go suffer,Rep of biafra we got the money n the resources..oil everywhere... Abeg make we split make the oil do us biafrans..

Boko haram should go for politician and leave poor people alone

Yes! we got 2 expensive houses in that area and not a big deal....it is hard working money. Linda when next you are coming to London, let me know.

It is possible, if you put in account the trillions that go missing everyday from the national account! Why do you think these men want to die there? You think it is because of the food there?

He should have sent u to good schools instead of building those houses.

My thoughts exactly, Anon 9.31pm. Only £4m? That man was yarning dust.

its happens
it maybe
9ja love wide & large lifestyle

Josh Atuanya said...

Expenses houses kwa !!!

Bishops Avenue is the most expensive street in London! Femi Otedela has 2 houses there...as at 2004 bought them for 13 & 14 million pounds each,his wife renovated one with 2 million pounds too much money....

Reli vanity upon vanity all na six feet

Very true, u be my neighbor. Olboy me sef misplace keyoo.

I just became diabetic.

Let them own all the homes it just shows how backward and stupid they all have porous poverty mentality mindsets. Rubbish...

I wld have believed dis if it was said by another person. Bt since it came out from d mouth of dis so called charles dukwe I doubt it to a large extent.I wish u all know about dis man charles dukwe,he is just a ponzi scam specialist who have stolen money from a lot of poor nigerians....and dis cld b another means to advertise his name over d news...linda dis man stole a lot of money from d youths promising dem heaven and earth.investigate in2 New Nation and find out dat its a scam house propagating itself in nigeria and no body is doing anything .#straightface#

PURPLE said...

Lool, abeg make e come down o

Dis man have succeeded in decieving nigerians since d inception of dat his so called NEW NATION and he is still doing so, if not tell me why nigerians on social media wld just believe what dey hear without researching into it b4 comenting....I whish u all knew dis man called charles Dukwe .he is a 419er big time , so he can say anything to win d heart of people...I was a victim of his scam network...I can authentically tell u dat dis man is lieing...hell is waiting for u charles dukwe if u don't give ur life to christ...what shall it profit u if u gain d whole world bt loose ur soul..#natin#

Sale* stealing*

Linda are you sure he said the most expensive street or one of the most expensive.get the words right.

dilinger said...

Zip it Bona, when have u travelled abroad to know?? The fact that your only job is commenting on Linda blog does not mean that they are not opportunities in Nigeria. Not because Linda pays u 100k a year and Nokia gives u a new phone, u suddenly feel like u have travelled

Money the sense

Bonario pls shut up ur mouth..U are talking as if u ve travelled out before,abi no be u be dat bonario dat celebrated his birthday sum time ago wey Linda show us how u dey,with dat ur okirika trouser and shoe,u sure say u don go Lagos before??

Igbenedions get house there oh!

In fact I own an apartment there in edgerton

Dis is d problem I have with Igbo's. Limited streamlined mindset. What is wrong with building houses outside Igbo land? Is it not Nigeria? Are u not Nigerians? Are u frm Pluto?

Amy said...

Go back to your elementary school and learn how to spell, my friend.
*sale* not sail. (Where are they sailing to?)
*stealing* not stilling. (You don't spell as you pronounce).

Amy said...

Yet another one. *expensive* not expenses.

That's a bloody lie.

fine girl poor english said...

Linda wey dey talk.... like say u no go stil join ... me too get plans to buy house there na... ok u wan make i build house here make boko blow am? abi make fashola say na ontop his papa land.. oshi

Amy said...

*whether* and *learner*

Yup! It's very true I know like four prominent Nigerians that do have houses there but I won't mention names

Amy said...

Is he owing? *owns*

HOT-STEPER said...

Why are sm pple surprised at Charlse's assertion its very true,d $6 biillion meant for improvingr Power in ds country which OBASANJO Stole & syphoned & many odas of his loot without any quams,, won't dt alone be enof to buy d whole of Edgerton Cresent & Bishops Avenue join. OBJ is just one out of thousands-o so Leave matter abeg

Spoken well, but don't compare Adenuga to Dangote or even Mittal? It will surprise you that some northern nigerians personally own vast oil wells worth more than Dangote and Adenuga combined and yet they don't even make noise.

Last Bullet: Few select people own half if not all this country and there's really nothing Jonathan can or will do about it.

-Dick Simmons

Will u shut that trap u call a mouth?a senator and he built his house with his money..aw insensitive art thou? Poor guilible and boko-haramic creature! Truth be told, ur father steals!

Help me tell them. Bishops avenue is billionaires neighborhood. Egerton ko okoko ni

70% is a stretch. So not true.

This is from Guardian (UK) in January 2014 and please Bishop's Avenue isn't the most expensive street in London - "A Guardian investigation has revealed there are an estimated £350m worth of vacant properties on the most prestigious stretch of The Bishops Avenue in north London, which last year was ranked as the second most expensive street in Britain."

Someone mentioned Dagenham? Please don't insult better places with your comparison.

Nigerians aren't richer than the Russian Oligarchs, the Jews and even people like Sir Branson, Ashley and the Duke of Westminster.

Really! !! In this street? Wow!!! Speak your language instead no crime doing so. English is a lil problem for you

PHCtrends said...

I know Charles. His office in Port Harcourt was at rumuola road. He is a confused fool. Now he's sayin international stars can't afford 3 million pounds house?

Anonymous whoever, if you do not understand the context of my message then keep your opinions to yourself or better still read again before you comment ignorantly. Thank you.

Naija no dey carry last now....LOL

bunmi said...

That's not alot, houses in ikoyi cost more than that

even nixon town is about 1m pounds

Lola Idije said...

Where do they leave Bishop Avenue then?

Who ever come out with this false statement should go and do their research well.. it is a lie.. not the most expensive in the world.

My uncle has a massive house on that street and Edgerton has a lot of Nigerians in fact its made up f Nigerians and Arabs, any time I go visiting that's all I see.Although the street is highly secured and everybody minds their business strictly and you don't even hear a pin drop at all. Anyways I dont like the UK!

Your father is a thief,so the son of a thief is ?

Yeh Linda is right. Egerton Crescent of kensington and Chelsea borough in London has the most expensive properties in d world go ask d Queen of England !!!

3-4million means the houses are cheap. That will fetch a bedsit in 1 Hyde Park Corner.

NOT TRUE.
NOT THE MOST EXPENSIVE NEIGHBORHOOD IN LODNON AND CERTAINLY NOT IN THE UK OR IN THE WORLD. I DO AGREE, FROM WHAT I HAVE SEEN AND POEPLE I KNOW THAT NIGERIANS OWN ALOT OF EXPENSIVE HOMES IN LONDON.

David (dave_gino) said...

Hahahahaha. This just game me a good laugh. Linda, I go come give you kpomo and jollof rice for inside cell. Hehehe. Just messing around. Well, there's a tiny bit of truth inhere. It is true it's the most expensive street but 70% of the houses there are not owned by Nigerians, not even Africa. Except they don't use their name...

David (dave_gino) said...

Hahahahaha. Lol. Amy. I'm so glad we have English expert here on LIB. No more hard to read comments. Kinda funny though. Oya make corrrectioning on this my own...Hahahahaha.

Nigerians lives in Dagenham, the cheapest in london lol

LoL. Thanks anonymous 11:03. The unfortunate thing is that the original writer prob doesn't get it

lanre said...

Do you stay at okoko?

Guy a beg slow down with the English. U won make dictionaries begin attack u? Like seriously mehn commenting no be by force.

Lolz funny people dey won belong I av 4 houses in dat street oya kill urself

Actually linda is right the most expensive street in London is egerton street however the houses go for about £7million pounds, not for. Bishops avenue is actually the second most expensive street for about 5-6million. A quick google search would have told you that.