Dear LIB readers: My fiance has been with many of my friends, how do I handle it? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 6 June 2014

Dear LIB readers: My fiance has been with many of my friends, how do I handle it?

From a female LIB reader
I'm engaged to a man who has dated at least six of my friends. I've lived abroad since I was 16 and only returned to Nigeria last year. Apparently he's one of hottest bachelors on the Island and has been around and slept with a lot of these women. It was after we got engaged that I started to find out about all his exes. Some of them even made sure to tell me about their past tryst with him.
I'm worried that the man I am about to marry has slept with a lot of my friends. I don't know how to handle it or handle the girls. Anytime we are all together, it's always awkward or the girls act too familiar with him. It leaves me very uncomfortable. What should I do? I am definitely going ahead with the wedding, I just don't know how to handle the situation. Please advice.

214 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 214 of 214

Most times advice is what we need when we already know the answer but we don't wanna accept it. you're dating a yahoo boy and you expect him not to lie to you, someone who lies for a living. My contribution is that if your joy is being with the hottest guy on the island then there's a price you'll pay. enjoy it why it last.

My dear don't mind some of these libers . It is funny we all have baggages when entering a new relationship/marriage the only hiccup in yours is that your partners baggage leave in your vicinity. You must have exes who were friends to your friends. this is my advice, you have Four outcomes grouped in to stay or leave, both with positive and negative sides.
Stay
-ve you could be staying with a womaniser the rest of your life who would make you miserable.
+ve or you could be with a man who loves you enough to say good bye to his past way of life and start a family with someone he cherishes, isn't that a dream we ladies all harbour knowing we were the reason for a man's radical transformation.
Leave
+ve You could be leaving a monster /womaniser who would have caused you pain.
-ve or you could be leaving a great man who really loves you and would have made happy and fulfiled.
So you see you have a 50% chance of making a mistake either way. i suggest you PRAY AND FAST God is the only one that knows which of the above listed outcomes is yours.
Your true liber

My dear don't mind some of these libers . It is funny we all have baggages when entering a new relationship/marriage the only hiccup in yours is that your partners baggage leave in your vicinity. You must have exes who were friends to your friends. this is my advice, you have Four outcomes grouped in to stay or leave, both with positive and negative sides.
Stay
-ve you could be staying with a womaniser the rest of your life who would make you miserable.
+ve or you could be with a man who loves you enough to say good bye to his past way of life and start a family with someone he cherishes, isn't that a dream we ladies all harbour knowing we were the reason for a man's radical transformation.
Leave
+ve You could be leaving a monster /womaniser who would have caused you pain.
-ve or you could be leaving a great man who really loves you and would have made happy and fulfiled.
So you see you have a 50% chance of making a mistake either way. i suggest you PRAY AND FAST God is the only one that knows which of the above listed outcomes is yours.
Your true liber

Sorry

You will never b happy wit that dude, I can tell you. Look before you leap

DD said...

Excellent comment. Way too short jare.

DD said...

Thank you. He alone has slept with 6 or more girls in the same circle. Haba! He's an ashawo. Being randy isn't a praiseworthy xtic in anybody, whether single or married.

Forget abt him pls

First of all, u don't ask for an advice when u hv made up ur mind on what to do. May be dat is due to the level of ur maturity.
Well, there are many sides to dealing with d issue.
1. Does love really exist in this relationship? I mean frm both side.
2. I hope this is the past, what of now?. I believe every man or woman has a past. Who is he now? He has proposed to u now. How does he relate those his old friends.
3. Again are u sure that ur thinking is true? Some of ur so called friends may be lying to u. They just want u to give way so as to hv ur man.
4. And the most importantly, hv u discussed the issue with him?. Remember u ar his wife to be and not his girl friend or a piece of furniture. You will be his wife forever, for better for worse, till death do u part. Except u don't believe in Christian marriage.
5. Finally, Marriage SHOULD BE ENJOYED NOT ENDURED. THE FOUNDATION OF ANYTHING MATTERS IN LIFE. ONCE THE FOUNDATION IS FAULTY, THE HOUSE CANNOT STAND. MIND U ANY MARRIAGE WITHOUT CHRIST WILL ALWAYS BE IN CRISIS. BE WISE.
AND I PRAY MAY GOD HELP U.

Ewu, mumu, anuofiaaa! Stay there and be asking stupid questions don't go and marry yr husband until all those yr friends take him over imalu ife

Evans said...

Pls go on with your marriage,if you truly love him,you alone can change him. do u know if d one u will meet later will be worse than him,my dear think twice,don't let anybody destroy ur relationship.

Claire said...

If you have made up your mind to definitely marry him then what advise are you asking for? In law,we say' volenti non fit injuria'this means that anyone who knowingly and voluntarily consents to and takes a risk cannot complain of injury resulting from it.
I cannot for the life of me imagine being married to a man that has slept with half of my friends. Surely there are other men out there.
Claire.

He will never be faithful to you, you are walking in with open eyes. You will live the rest of your life insecure, sorry for you. Once a dog always a dog. I married one so I know, you will hate him when the time comes and wished you waited for a good guy.

â„“̊ wonder if these stories are real. Too fictitious.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 214 of 214   Newer› Newest»