Lagos State University graduates 80 year old man | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 13 June 2012

Lagos State University graduates 80 year old man

An 80year-old man, Pa Amodu Alimi, graduated with Bachelor's in Sociology at Lagos State University. The octogenarian gained admission into the university in 2007, and underwent a full-time course. He was among the 22,033 others who graduated recently.

23 comments:

redstar said...

Eh yah! One can achieve anything at any time or age,once you are determined

James said...

xD. Better late than never.

Janded said...

Good for him. truly inspirational

Eya Ayambem said...

Congratulations! There is no end to learning! No knowledge is wasted. I'm sure you have finally lived your dream of wearing that gown.Just like I will love to live my dream of running the biggest blog in Africa. yeah!

Who allowed d old bloke 2 step in2 d skool?? He's brain shud b dead at 80 and he shud b at d stage wr he is forgetful so how did he pass exams!
Abeg jare dis is rubbish! Its not like he can work aftr dat!! He's past his retirement and pension stage! So wat is d education for??
Billie jean

Congratulations 2 him...

hola.kenny@facebook.com said...

Education knows no age..its all about fufilment. Congrats Pops!

Is like you will never be old one day? Don't worry, u will know how it feels when someone talks about u like this when u get to ur old age! Bcuz karma is a bitch!!

Mr Anonymous 8:35 in as much as you are entitled to your opinions, you don't have to be negative now...it won't hurt to just be happy for the man!! Amy

ade said...

23,000 new graduates form one school nikan.
0 jobs added to the state
0 people retired because 0 pensions given...

countless lost jobs.
and lives..

O ga oooo

congrats to the graduates either way!!! hopefully ur country can treat u well

deekay said...

He for study something serious nau...mcheww!! Sociology...LMAO!! Anyways, congrats to him. Does he want to work or just have a degree before he dies?? Amazing how brain cells can still function at that age. Hope he had a fun time at uni...hehehe...campus parties and things lol. The old man at my uni used to go clubbing...bless.

Ofilispeaks.com said...

Awesome news! Make we see the guy pishure abeg.

@Billie jean if u don't have any nice comment KEEP YOUR FUCKING OPINION TO YOURSELF!!!

It is for self fulfillment, not for career motives,like myself,I dont mind getting a law degree at 50.

Billie Jean abi billie goat......youre daft!maybe its your kind that went to school jus to gain certificate and float your repulsive self to the labour market with your half baked degree.iv got good news for you; some people go to school to acquire knowledge.if you are even remotely educated,you will have respect for those who make effort to seek wisdom especially an old man like this

U are so insensitive, if he could do it why are u beefing. Am sure when u r 80yrs old u will be bed ridden but he's strong and wants to make sure he goes to sch.. He knws he can't work any more or get pension fee bt to fulfil he's desire in life is his piority

80 years old???? Hmm, na wa o. An achievement but not timely. We should try to do d right things at d right time

Billi Jean ur obviously shallow minded if not u wud no dat not everything is abt working or money.......somethings are abt personal achivment and self satisfaction u when finish sch early n working i presume wat if Godforbid smtin happens to u u think say ur certificate go save u ni? so if u cant encourage ppl shut the hell up n dnt call ppls dreams and achivments RUBBISH.....and u madam linda if u like no paste my comment o cos u nvr do.

well done baba my mums siter inlaw is 72 and she is in the middle of her biz admin bsc degree so it just shows age does not matter as long as you put your mid to it

Tolu 'Rogba said...

@ Billie Jean, Pa Amodu was a friend of my grandfather. They worked in LUTH together for years and he stays in Satellite town. He isn't an illiterate as you might think.He looks young for someone who is eighty. Negative comments aren't necessary. He loves school and he enjoys reading what is so bad about that?

Ken said...

So na to go NYSC na im go remain shebi? *lol*

cobinson said...

grandpa, congrats sir, no mind dem, dey are just beefing you. ask dem, how many of dem can actually defend the so-called cert. dey flaunt about today? yeye people, instead make una appr. d man, som of una are not only beefing but fishing him too. olodo people.

on a serious note, who told you he cant get employed. siddon there. majortiy dey civil service today wey don nearly reach hin age but refused to retire.
their SWAG? simple, constant dye, a selection of diet, periodic work-out at the gym by experts and some even go as far as having a ginger to occasionally swag with. so still in-doubt?

blestan said...

congrate papa i thank God u made it at last