Ikeja City Mall shut down over new parking fee of N300 per hour | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 11 June 2012

Ikeja City Mall shut down over new parking fee of N300 per hour

All the stores in the N16 billion Ikeja City Mall located at Alausa, Ikeja, were all shut down today by their owners in protest against the new parking fee of N300 per hour implemented by the owners of the mall. Store owners are refusing to open their stores until the parking fees are either cancelled or reduced to an affordable rate, because they believe that the parking fee will chase away customers...which is true!

103 comments:

Will said...

Greedy nigerians,won't stop at nothing to break d backs of the common populace!

I know this is off topic but why aren't there no traffic lights in lagos ?? And why do places like ajegunle still exist?? Why isn't there 24/7 electricity and even tap running water?? Fashola should try harder now. I want my ghanain friends to eat their words lool they keep telling me my country is this and that, even my white teacher called naija a 15th world country. If we start from lagos atleast I can boast about lagos lool just wondering..

Michael says...
So if I go to the mall to buy tomatoes for 500 naira and go window shopping for a couple of hours which cost 600 naira, I will end up broke. These guys should wake up jor.

people should think about things before imposing on the masses the fee is too much considering the fact that people spend time there shopping. i think the fee should be totally removed thank you

Queen Esta said...

Dis is crazy!v.crazy!!

You will have to pay for parking ur car at the mall car park? Now that is just sad......why is everything so different in naija? na wa oh....

I honestly agree. From my personal experience the other day. I went into the mall, shoprite to be precise and before i could even finish wit the process of finding the aisle to pick up my Ariel, cutlery, cream, batt, then the the cue to pay, aaaaah Linda if you see as I de tear race to the kiosk ehen, I could not even look into any other store. If i didn't run, I so would have paid 300 for 2,500 naira shopping. That was soooo close

N100 is a better charge I must say

Cynthia said...

That is outrageous. Seriously #300 to park your car and shop. Pure nonsense.

Are they Ok?

But I was there about an hour ago and the shops were open with cars in the car park.

Haba!!!! D money is too much nah! If a woman goes to a shop to shop for cloth it will take her close to 2hrs to make up her mind on which outfit she wants so how much will she pay for parking?? Defintely they are creating bad market for the store owner. Abeg, here no be uk o!

NUBIAN QUEEN™ said...

agree with the fee being high but aren't they losing sales by shutting down the shops is there no other way to do this #confused.com

9jadeltapikin... 4 m D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ shouldn't charge anythng at all cos U̶̲̥̅̊ Α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ going in there Τ̅☺ buy somethng S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ y chargng U̶̲̥̅̊ 4 buyying, 4 m if dat s d case Ǧ☺☺ϑ bye Τ̅☺ ikeja shopping mail allroad leads Τ̅☺ lekki shoprite, goodies, ozone n co. =))º°˚˚˚°ºнaĦaнaº°˚˚˚°º‎​=))

aj_kelly said...

They don't have t̶̲̥̅̊ợ̣̣̇̇̇ charge people for parking their cars when D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ come t̶̲̥̅̊ợ̣̣̇̇̇ shop.Its advance thiefry α̲̅πϑ its only in lagos such tins happen,Lekki shoprite, u̶̲̥̅̊ better not ne thinking abt dat cos ur buiness will run down.NoNSENCE

This is insanely crazy!! That's 3days worth of parking at an International Airport in U.S

deekay said...

Chei!! That's not fair nau. I can understand charging parking fee if the minimum wage in Nigeria wasn't so shite! Some people working there might drive to work. So they will have to pay N300x8/9/10 hours?? Not fair.

Absolute Crap!!
Its bad enough that the place is not safe considering the news of stolen vehicles now i must pay N300 to shop at the MALL?!!!!!
This is crazy!

oracle said...

This is insanely crazy!! That's 3days worth of parking at an International Airport in U.S

Sunil said...

Wonder why they did not make underground parking. Real estate is expensive in Lagos. Space for parking is prob bigger than the mall itself.

Charge something like 100 N for 2 hours. Cars are big and take lots of space

Thank God I live near there. I'll simply walk. Thieves.

ifeoluwa said...

100 naira is way better than 300 that's too much n cud even drive away d costomers #myopinion

Nigerians are always importing something they have seen abroad and bastardising the concept to smithereens. Toll gates in Residential areas, mixed american and british road signage, gothic, tudor, russian and contemporary architecture on the same block, Arabian dome on a House of assembly that practices English Law, American sounding radio presenters on nigerian Radio, Nigerian university secret cults with Italian ranks such as capone, Blonde wigs on Black Lawyers, Per hour Ridiculous parking fees when a fixed flat rate would suffice to match the disposable income of the client base, Autonomous individual power generation in an Oil Rich state The LASTMA concept etc...the list is endless. In a study, Nigeria was described as a study in Contrasts and a city without elders. I couldn't even open my mouth to defend it without sounding like an utter moron cos the guy had pictures and slides. Which way forward my people. I just tire...

Who needs Ikeja City Mall when i have my Yaba Market(at lesser prices). oshi oda ni ile pako...Begining of the end....They should have made the parking fee in dollars so we would know they want to erect a mall in the middle of Third mainland bridge...

Segun said...

But why is Nigeria like this? Why is the govt asleep? Except the govt is the thief in this case.

I support! They think it's the whole of Lagos they can bankrupt abi? Because all these people can give us on the island any useless price they want and we'll swallow it. I won't be surprised if Shoprite is behind this *hiss*

sakara said...

buffons ikeja mall administrators, ask anywhere outside ur country, its N100 per hour, some stores wleven give u parking tkt for 1hr or so if u shop wt them, thieves making money from poor people's sweat, u gys wl run down soon when ur shops start moving out

Somebody is trying to be funny. N300/hr to park? Ok now, shebi they will wash and wax d car on top dat money?

i say scrap the balderdash altogether...mstcheeew!

Linda, I hear d 3 boys dt were kidnapped by their driver hv been found. Pls confirm story.

Where else in the world do you pay for parking to visit the mall. Except of course in a situation where the car park is a"paying facility" that is separate from the mall and serves the general public.

The whole idea of a mall is to provide many retailers and hapefully an equally large number of customers an opportunity to interact in a single location. The attaraction being that the customers can do all/most of their shopping in one location.

Asking customers to pay to park their cars in order to patronise the mall is simply absurd and unconscionable. But that's the greed that attends business in these parts. No consideration is given to the fact that they are already collecting high rental fees from the retailers which earns them (retailers) the right to free parking for their prospective customers. SMH

Just because you can paay like 100naira per hour doesn't mean its OK for evrybody 2 pay. There should be no per hour charges! Its either dey charge a flat rate for d whole time u r parked while shopping or dey cancel it completely! 100naira per parking is more lik it, so wen u drive in,u r given ur pay slip, and hav 2 submit it 2 be clipped or cut wen u r done shopping n leaving d premises. Nigerians shud learn 2 stop extorting each other, the country is hard as it is already!

There shudnt b any charge jor?y shud I pay for patronizing u?so If a cinema comes der & pple r to watch a movie I wil have to pay again for parking?des pple r jxt greedy.

is the parking lot not within the shopping mall? why do you then ask customers to pay hourly? in fact people should avoid shopping there for at lest one week and lets see what will happened.

CC said...

Well the parking should be paid for to avoid the people who work at Alausa and environs parking their vehicles there for free all day and making parking unavailable for actual shoppers.

A simple solution, validated parking. If you are there to shop, take your parking stub to a store where you purchase something and they should stamp it for you or you provide a receipt to show s=you've shopped there that day. The store owners benefit from having only serious shoppers in the mall.

Even if na N5, i still do not agree
Pls they should fight them very well o, before they bring it to the Palms shopping mall.

pls i tink ppl shd just pack their cars outside if its safe becos for me i luv shopping

Parking fee at a mall? What is wrong with this "copy the wrong way" management? Greed.

This is absolute madness, how can we pay because we want to shop, what if the person is just window. Shopping, then he or she has to pay for packing. The management should do something about this because nigeian will stop going there to shop

Anon June 11, 2012 4:57 PM; when last did you go to Lagos. There are traffic lights all over.

A lot of people have sunk boreholes so have constant running water.

Re-Ajegunle, slums will always exist alongside urban areas.

i and my friend were there on Friday and the so called machine used for dictating the time spent was malfunctioning, i think they are crazy to think about something like that, do you have an idea how much those shop owners pay as rent for the shops????????? outrageous amount......... what is wrong with the government, 1st it was lekki express way and now it ikeja city mall very soon we will be paying toll gate fee to pass through the 3rd mainland bridge...............

Are you even yoruba? Are you from Lagos? Abeg go to your state govt and ask 'em to fix your state so you can be proud of that :) ... Your 'white teacher'???who says that in 2012??? SMDH and we wonder why Nigeria won't be great.

Naija suck ,parkin space shld b free cos na our money we go spend in d mall. Rubbish

If they ve to charge us for parking (which I will call inconsiderate) it should not be per hour. We just like collecting money at every oppotunity in naija. If am payin N200 to park, it should be for the whole day. Was there over the wkend, I had to rush cos if u ve spent everytin in ur bag at d mall n u don't ve money for ticket!!! Wahala!

Why the hell should anyone pay to park in a mall when you're going there to spend money. So when a cinema opens there every one watching a movie would pay almost a thousand naira just to park?!?! I don't blame them I blame the people who won't find an alternative place to shop

Why Should you be Charged For Car park at d Mall? Everything is diff in dat country

d charge is unrealistic nd dose imposin it re thieves, re d nt suppose to provide parkin space 4 d shop owners nd customers nd if dia xcuse is to reduce d populace dat go dere widout shoppin den d fare shld be a 100box nt a whole 3k dat can feed families for 2days or mor

Musiclover said...

Why are you people complaining. At Shoprite, Surulere you pay to use the frigging toilet!!! They have a dude and a desk inside the toilet collecting money and oh yeah, you get a ticket too!

Whoop Whoop!!!!

My country pple, this is not hear say. Lagos state,Tinubu, shoprite, fashola (10%) and some small small investors own dat place. But What i'll say is this,ur rent is already so high why on earth will parkn be high? Abi u wan make turnover in 1yr?

I understand dat parking will help reduce congestion but 300k common. It should even be N50. Assuming they made all dem level car parks ill get it

ronke said...

has it been increased to N300? cos i was there on sunday and d pamplet said d 1st 45mins was free and frm there N200 per hour... which by d way is still too expensive! couldnt even stop at steers to buy my fav ice cream cos my hubby said we must hurry *sadface*

One problem is that all the people kicked out of the Alausa car parks a few months back by Fashola have been using the mall to park for the day..... they should have a system where if you make a purchase in a store your parking is free.

All these yankee/jand people weh dey post for this blog tire me self. Dey too jobless. Your criteria for judging naija is what you read here. . . I no blame una. . .enjoyin the sweat of white man for centuries instead of comin bak to build your father land. . Una plus una children go loss for there. . . I live in enugu and there are traffic lights there includin several other cities in nigeria like calabar. Everythin does not have to be lagos. I dont like lagos either, its too rowdy for my liking includin london(nothin special)

Nonya said...

Thats like 2 dollars per hour? WTF. Mall owners sef wan buy plenty Range Rover. Kai. Naija

P said...

Im in full support of the fee. Most people go to d mall to take pictures and sight-see. If u really know what you are goin there to buy, 1 hour will be more than enough for u. Besides in england, we pay abt d same tin to park.

P said...

Y wld u wnt to stay in a mall for over an hour if u rnt watching a movie or eating/drinking? Na ur papa house???

Of course Ajegunle stil exists, lol

People pay to park at malls all over the world, how is this different?

That is criminal; after all customers come there to shop. Why would they put a fee of N300/HR?
To me that means you don't want people coming to shop, that's ridiculous.
In America here just a few malls require you to pay a certain amount which is really cheap...and if for some reason you can't find your receipt you pay a whole day's parking which is $9. So seriously N300/hr it too much.........There shouldn't be a fee at all. If there is let it be less...

hmmm said...

there are malls in america that charge about $1 for the first 2hours. That is reasonable. 100naira for 2 hours will be okay. But just curious, if they store owners close their shops, how does that affect the mall owners. Afterall the store owners have paid the rent for the their stores already and the parking is something new and not that the owners of the mall are alread making money from it...so not sure who will get hurt here...

9Ja no D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ try ooo...dz serz bullshit...® we goin 2 eva grow in dz country?so we ® nt xpected 2 go wif our cars dr or wot?m surprised boko haram ® nt hittin on d rite pple..#smh#

Na wa ooo, dis is a clear case dat shoprite management are from south african and ready to milk us dry and go back to dia country,
it is d rite of any shoppin mall to provide parking space Ƒor free,
Dis Nigeria sef has no government at all, Any SA bizness can start coping dis charging fee oo if we don't take action soon

Miss pepe said...

Only in Nigeria can this happen...it's so pathetic.why should sum1 even pay to park in a shopping mall..it's crazy in this part of d world mehn.

Where on earth does anyone pay to park in a shopping mall when you are going to patronise the f**'# mall?...I blame the shop owners for allowing the mall management impose a parking fee @ the first place. Ridiculous.

They have forgotten that city mall isn't d only place to get stuff in lagos by the time everyone goes elsewhere, nobody will tell dem b4 dey reduce d price!! Mtscheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeew!! Tomorrow now theyl say that its the govt dat are thiefs!! Rubbish!

I work with Lagos State Government at Alausa. Sometime early this year the head of service said that only service servants with car stickers will be allowed into the secretariat. The problem started when the Government did not produce enough car stickers for all civil servants with cars. Those of us that were not given the sticker had to resort in using shoprites parking lot, as the allotted car park did not have sufficient space for everyone; also visitor of the secretariat had so find an alternative spot as well.
When the management of shoprite notice the increase of cars their car park, they decide to cash in.
Did you know that the so called Ikeja shoprite use to be the daycare center for civil servant? It was said that one of our exgov sold it to himself. Your guess is as good as mine.
Anyway I we civil servant are smarter than that, if you want to get a parking space not better get to work before 9.00pm and don’t leave till 4pm. It is not even advice able to go with your car to supervise or monitor your duty because if you do you will not get a parking space when you get back.
As for shoprite Ikeja management. I guess I will find somewhere else to do my Friday shopping. I guess you can’t eat your cake and have it. I was good while it lasted.

The Mall management must certainly be south africans. All there coys in naija steal us blind. Check out their banks and all their charges and DSTV! Why should I go to shoprite for the discount when I would end up paying more when I add d parking lot fees. What about the food court. So customers can't stop to eat there! Who came up with this stupid idea?

What's wrong in saying white teacher? Considering I have asian and black teachers?? Soo how does me saying white teacher hinder nigeria from being great??? Omg ahahahah oh lord are u for real???? YES I am from lagos State!!! How does it answer the question?? I just feel embarrased because everyone makes fun of nigeria !! Especially africans()

Why should we come back and build our 'fatherland' ??? Okay take lagos for example, Am I fashola ?? Do I have access to funds ??? Okay why don't u start building ur fatherland ! Since its paining u like this! Now u are talking atleast I can tell my friends who say ur country has no single traffic light that enugu state, the coal city has traffic light! #gbam! There we go .. Nigeria is still backwards thoo I'm soo ashamed !! But I'm proud to be nigerian tho but still ashamed...

I swear I know how u feel!! I hardly reply to those who insult nigeria in my scool wait did I say insult? Say the truth about nigeria is what I meant jare lolz ohh well maybe in d next 50 years we will be smiling

Omg b! For real???? Lagos has traffic lights?? YES!!! Okkk fair enough fair enough!

Frank Diah said...

300 Naira, which is about 2 Euro, that is a big amout for a parking space for 1 hour, how much are the people receiving that he need to pay 2 Euro for parking, show some love to the common man, laws are not made for the rich alone, but for the poor too.

Souffle said...

I work at the Ikeja City Mall. Our customers are number one. The mall management do no care if we lose our customers to this new development. How many people can afford this new fee? When you shop, you educate, explore and have some fun. You socialise, network and even meet old friends. Thats the idea of a mall. Its sad that many cannot see the death of these instances. Its more sad for the store owners. All we ask is a lower flat rate.

You know what? I think they are looking for a way to recover some of the money they spent constructing the place & also to pay for tax fees lol.

Looool I lyke..u re such a Nigerian

ONONME says......
@anon5:53pm;I enjoyed reading your comment.
Insightfully fresh

They're just missing the point..

O ti o,they should continue with 300 naira charge, I THINK ITS fair, i'm even thinking they should make it flat rate 500 Naira. too many poor people are distorting the environment, they should leave the place for us BIG BOYS.
Long Live Shoprite!!

That is an abnormal rate for a developing country.

Olu-omo of d source said...

You didn't do justice to this piece by being anonymous,this is the most apt write-up i've read in a long while.Thank you

Ignite Ideas said...

The Shop Owners Should realise that anyone who can pay to park can pay will probably shop as opposed to having several browsers who don't shop, secondly the shop owners need a turnover of customers, before the parking fees many serious shoppers were discouraged from shopping, What the mall owners should do is to let shop owners give their customers a free parking ticket once they spend a minimum of N500 in their shops.

Limitless said...

Folks, I would like to agree with y'all as per parapo, but I'm afraid I'm constrained by the rationale. Defer your anger for a moment and you'll understand what's going on here. While I do not like the N300, this is a free market. In a free market, price is discovered (where demand and supply meet). This means that there is Price Competiton. E.g. Shoprite Ikeja will not throw Musa, the minimum wage aboki who owns a nearby kiosk out of work (just like Wal Mart) did in the US etc. Most of those who will patronise Shoprite Ikeja and not park there needlessly, while the rest of us will go elsewhere and shop, right? If it becomes uncompetitive for Shoprite Ikeja, then they'll review their parking. Selah. One love!...Limitless

Bruno...I'm not a dog! said...

Do the management of the shopping mall really care for their customers( the shop owners) and their customer's customers? I thought customers service is about CARE, though not to the detriment of the management sha! I suggest they lower the fee, N300 per hour is too much, N50 is okay by me considering the crowd that comes to the mall

@ronke 7:32pm- you're an excellent idiot. Who cares if you weren't able to go to steers to buy your fav ice cream. Typical nigerian looking for little opportunity to shine.

metche said...

Am just wondering why such exorbitant price if at all they should charge. They do not charge for car packing in their Lekki mall. If at all they should do that, at least N100 for ur packing until u finish ur shopping.

The sage said...

Lolz. Seriously! They'd better wash and wax dat car!!

Nekky said...

anon 8:30. OMG,how daft and brainless can u be? wats wrong wv Ronke's comment dat will warrant you to call her an idiot? i'm sure u know her and u are jealous of her and her hubby.if e too pain u.hurry and go and jump into d lagoon. mscheeeeeew

left alone, they should not charge a kobo yeye useless people

to pee @ shoprite surulere is 5o naira , dey even hav a toll gate tingy sef i tot i was at lokoja park were its 10 naira to pee . na wa oh . shoprite abj try am 1st na una moni go loss .

And when I say this joke called Nigeria is cursed people will be talking rubbish. Schweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeew. Irreparable country

Lmao! Do dey ask u if u 1t 2 pee or poo so dey knw ow much 2 charge too! Na wa o! 1st we pay 2 use trolleys @ d airport, pay 2 use toilet, pay 2 park sef! Very soon we will pay 2 breath in oxygen!

@nekky 9:35am- its obvious you fell on your head as a child. What's my own with ronke & her hubby. Her comment was daft & senseless, just like you.

pls are they still on strike today?i hope so...i certainly wont be going there if they dont change it. 3oo is ridiculous. pls keep us updated on this one, Linda. thx.

Nigerians could be absurdly unpredictable...i mean this is just not right,it's another way of exploiting people. ordinarily,this should be free and if at all they want their prospective customers to pay for parking in the car park then it should'nt be more than N100 for maybe 3 to 4 hrs.

Nigerians could be absurdly unpredictable... i mean this is not fair,it's just a way of exploiting people. ordinarily it should be free but since the owners want their prospective customers to pay for parking in the car park then i think it shouldn't be more than N100 for 3 to 4 hrs.

I live in America and we pay to park at some malls.... I just think the charge is wayyy too much.... but i dont think there's anything wrong with it.... Things like parking fee's and tolls etc... are just supposed to help with maintenance... I vote that they should reduce the amount to something reasonable.... That's all!

Allegra said...

A number of shopping Malls charge for parking although the charges vary. Some give you the first two hours free and charge a nominal fee thereafter and some charge a flat rate for specified hours. It is the reality of shopping and it ensures some people do not just park there for an indefinite amount of time.

Very soon the politians in power (abuja and lagos) will start billing residents of lagos for breathing in natural air. We pay tax regularly (both direct and indirect taxes); we pay for water, toll-gate, car park, etc yet there are no infrastructures but diversion of public funds by the politicians.

The Palms has free parking. Same as City Mall. This charge at Ikeja Mall looks has a deva vu feeling (hmm... toll). Kind of lends credence to the rumour that it is owned by a particular somebody

If it's not ok by you. DOnt go there. That is how change will happen. When people take a stand

Its a mall n the essence of making it luk that gracious is for pple to appreciate n mke good memories of their visit.u in support cos u can't afford to pay. Bushymu!!!

Nekky said...

@anon1:12,please stop exhibiting ur senselessness and ur olodoism(if there's a word like that)how on earth is someone's comment about how the parking fee affected the time she would spent in d mall daft and senseless. i swear ur brain needs a software installation and immediate upgrade to the latest OS cos its obvious there's no atom of sense in dat empty can in ur mango head that u call a brain. i still maintain u know Ronke and u r jealous of her if not why pick on her? Rubbish.

My dear,they pay for mall parking not only in naija but also outside naija,jus dat the fee is much

its a pity dat we wud think of ripping ourselves off in our land.
God help us.

its a pity oh dat we shud rip ourselves off in our mother or father land
na wa oh.

But I am sorry oh, why should I pay for parking at a MALL??? WHY??? Even if you wanna charge for parking, a small fee of N50/hr should be good enough or even less. When I go shopping in everyother part of the world, at least in the US, parking is free nah...which kain life abi business be this? If we ask them what they are using the money for now, they will not be able to account for it oh! Awon oniranu jati jati!