Farouk Lawan suspended | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 15 June 2012

Farouk Lawan suspended

Farouk Lawan was this morning suspended as chairman of the Federal House of Reps Committee on the probe of the management of fuel subsidy, as well chairman of the Education Committee, over the bribery alegations hanging on his neck.

He is currently in detention at the Force Headquarters, Abuja.

39 comments:

Lilspicer said...

We all know nutin wuld come out of dis ...nigeria dey same yesterday and maybe forever....otedola na badt guy oooo...choi(omo-iwo)says so...via blackberrybold:5

my comment don pain sum people die lmfaoooo

shameless people

How far can u run

Hw are d mighty fallen. One rep member dat won my admiration. Why diD you fall like this. Otedola shd b arrested too.

"...Lawan visited Otedola’s house on three different occasions over the bribe issue. On each occasion, he drove himself in a C class Mercedes Benz. Five video recordings, lasting an average of eight to 10 minutes each were made on each of those visits.
According to a source in the security services, on the first visit, he had lunch with Otedola where the amount to be paid was negotiated and eventually agreed on.

On his second visit, which was around 11 pm, he collected the first tranche of $250,000 and during the third visit when he came around 5.05 am, he collected the second tranche of $250,000. He was dressed in green buba and sokoto with a cap to match.
Later in the day at the plenary session after he had collected the second tranche, he got the House to clear Zenon as one of the companies that bought foreign exchange but did not import petroleum products.

“In the video, Lawan was clearly seen stuffing wads of dollar bills into his pocket, when his pocket was full, to the utter shock of all those who have seen the damning video, he removed his cap and concealed the remaining wads of dollar bills inside it and replaced the cap on his head.

“Nigerians will reel with laughter if they ever get to watch this video. It is on the one hand hilarious and on the other, shameful,” a source said.
Further investigations revealed that Lawan’s resort to stuffing the money in his pockets and cap was done to avoid arousing suspicion from Otedola’s domestic help who would have seen him entering the house empty handed and coming out carrying a bulging envelope.
However, unknown to him, a surveillance video camera carefully installed by the SSS was recording all his actions.

Chapter 1

1)  And it came to pass after these things, on the first day of the first month of the twelfth year after the second millennium, that king Jona son of Bele announced to the people saying; there is no money left in the royal treasury, and the future of the kingdom is in great danger.

2) Therefore, a measure of oil shall no longer sell for three scores of silver and seven, but shall now be seven scores of silver and one. But the people grumbled aloud, and said unto another, what shall it profit our king to gain all these oil money and lose his throne?

3) For it is appointed unto him to reign but once, and after this prison, for many are the atrocities which he has committed.

4)  So they said unto the king, eat thou thy food in peace in the palace, and surround thou thyself with thine women, only touch not our oil price and do thy people no harm.

5) But the king would not listen, and said unto himself, I know my people, they shall only grumble for a while and soon they shall forget.

6) But the people would not forget, for the burden was too much for them to bear, and they said; now unto him that is able to increase the price of oil exceeding abundantly above all that his people can bear or think, according to the greed which worketh in him;

7) Unto him be curses in the streets by the masses throughout all ages, protests without end.

So they took to the streets and gave the land no peace, and there was no going out or coming in throughout the kingdom for two weeks, and the king feared greatly and said to himself, surely these people shall overturn me if I answer them not.

9) So he called the head of the labourers unto the palace, and gave him bags of gold, that he mayest turn off the wrath of the people against the king.

Chapter 2

1) So the king assembled the people and said unto them; a measure of oil shall no longer be seven scores of silver and one, but shall now be four scores of silver, one dozen and five, to this your leaders have agreed. Praise me now therefore for I am a benevolent king.

2) And after all these, the Loudspeaker of the House of People said, let us inquire into the king’s claim that there be no money in the royal treasury. So they appointed Farcrook, son of Lawal.

3) And said unto him, gather ye now all the oil sellers, that we may know who stole from the kingdom. This did him with diligence, and came back with his report saying

4) Thieves abound in the land, and so have the oil sellers stole from the people, and gave them not oil, this they did with the help of Aliyaro the king’s mistress; and the amount he mentioned was unheard of in the land.

5) When the people heard this, they were dismayed, and sorrow gripped their hearts.

6) But the oil sellers went in unto the king in his chamber, and said; rememberest thou O king that the what we stole did we make available to thy campaign, and by thus did we make you king.

7) If thou deliver us unto the people that they may punish us, we will hold not our tongue to tell the people that thou art one of us.

8) And they said unto him, how else shall we destroy the message if not to destroy the messenger? Let us therefore implicate Farcrook the son of Lawal in this matter.

9) So they sent a certain rich man from the West by the name Otedollar, and he took Farcrook into his house and gave him some money, that he may alter the report which he had set before the people.

10) And it was that Otedollar went before an assembly of the people and said unto them, trust ye this man who said we stole from the treasury? Surely he is one of us, for he came unto me in the middle of the night, and he left with his pockets full of money.

Chapter 3

1) And the people where amazed, and their hearts bled, for Farcrook was a man in whom they had put their trust.

2) So Farcrook arose, and said; Otedollar is my briber, I did not request. He maketh me to sit down in his Maitama house; he leadeth me beside the chilled champagne.

3) He exploited my greed; he leadeth me in the path of marked dollars for subsidy’s sake.

4) Yea, even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of EFCC, I will fear no arrest: for bribes are with me; my loots and my kickbacks they comfort me.

5) Thou preparest the dollars before me, in the presence of the SSS: thou anointest my mouth with wine; my pocket runneth over.

6) Surely the shame and reproach shall follow me all the days of my life, but I will dwell in the house of PDP forever and ever.

7) And the people wept, but there was no one to console them.

Galore said...

Good for you.....You did d same for Etteh,,,,,Ntooor.....IN Ettehs Voice....*I am Laffin............chairman Intergrity Nonsenc........

This country is filled with jokers!!!!

CENT OKOH said...

Mtcheeeeeeeeeeew. . .na today? No be today yash begin de for back nah! After dd suspension wht next? Hmmmm. . .(in OBJ's voice) i de laugh! So he's d chaiirman of education committee too, little wonder there has been total collapse in the sector. smh for this country.

Please please show us the video where he is shown stashing dollar in cap..plsssss

Ahahahahh!

. Now they wil set a panel or committee 2 investigate the allegations n then again, money wd exchange hands n another bribe scandal gets 2 every headline n then again, another panel or committee n then another bribe scandal... Its a vicious circle, unfortunately.
-Justme

look at his useless wicked face and to think that he was being groomed to become kano state gov mehn he would have finished the whole treasury useless man and see me defending him before mschew make dem throway the key after police don catch am as in....

Ok they arrested him! How about Femi Otedola that gave bribe??? Shouldn't he also be detained?

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Ole..barawu..can't wait to see the CCTV video..capturing him taking the payments in installments..guess Odetola is off the hook again..and Diesel..Subsidy..chop money continue no doubt more sufferehead for the masses!!

Choi,dats why its not good to hv oju kokoro,do ur job and avoid bribery :p

Ole a ji bole! Naija is doomed I swear! Egigbigigbi

ole ? let the law him face the law. This is a thumb up for the reps.
This surely dividends of democracy?

Get access to the latest news by clicking here

www.naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

Enwereji Nancy Chioma said...

Kai! Dede Farouk! So this is how it ended??? This is just heartbreaking. Why didn't you resist? Bet maka why???

What a shame. And to think dat he had integrity. More of them shall be exposed in Jesus Name. Linda why is it dat u dont like uploading my comment.

blunt said...

na today!...abeg make we hear word!! Next thing now is 'he has no case to answer' or 'its a family affair'..God punish all these theives to their 5th generation!

maks said...

linda abeg bring dat zebbook's gospel according to saint farouk here for dissection. It's so hilarious and amazing.
$600=2.62trn naira. Chei! See money o..even im 10th generation for no suffer lie lie

hitnshit said...

na today. all these are distractions from the real issues. the time is coming

QF
Odetola shud also be arrested...d briber is as guilty as d bribed...on a second tot,wat gud will it do...arrest witout conviction. Hnds will still xchange moni.

jenny said...

Anon 7:25/7:26 VERY DRY!!!
*yawns*
Nxt tym pls spare us the humorless long ass posts. Wtf

He most b jailed

Yetinde said...

I'll miss him o,chei u let lagos boy otedola use u.God is watching all of u on plasma including all oda reps laughing @ him.

Well said,what more can we say,you have said it all

neke said...

Beautiful story...pls how can I reach you?

Jessica said...

i still like him tho. Saga......

omo jeje said...

Brilliant.......absolutely brilliant.

Ngozi P. said...

I knew Oteh was right. The problem was that she knew the Reps hands were not clean for them to hazzle her the way they did. They truly wanted bribe as she said. The wind has blown, the anus of the chicken exposed...... All of them....those who live in glass houses should not throw stones. I see a vicious circle of big fat gluttunous bellies being busted and their intestines gushing out for all to see. Greedy fools!

Am kinda confuse about this whole thing.. Is it that otedola is being justified for offering the bribe or what because everyone seems to focus on farouk now...

Ofilispeaks.com said...

You have to watch this video by Channels on the Farouk Lawan issue...crazy! Especially watch for minute 4:27 where the deputy speaker of the house starts to suspect something is fishy...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v7gzT5vd0vE

bee said...

Soon!!!Nigeria will v new BREED of LEADERS with no GREED...#hopeful#