Farouk Lawan released on bail | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 16 June 2012

Farouk Lawan released on bail

Embattled lawmaker Farouk Lawan was this afternoon released on bail after being in police custody at the Force Headquarters, Abuja, for two days. He was released on the condition that he produces the alleged $620000 bribe he received before the end of next week.

His international passport was also seized by police to prevent him from traveling out.

54 comments:

baj007 said...

Hmmm just wondering how farouk got bail at the police station on a weekend.....if you there on a friday, u cnt get out till monday, thats what they always say sha.....!!!!

SCIS said...

Oleeee

Akuko uwa! Nini,MD USA

This guy fall my hand sha.With him little self,him come be BIG BARRAWO.Wetin I dey yarn sef,all 'f them r bitch ass thieves....

this man threw me so flat to the floor pitiless.i was even defending this man with the little strenght in me.who else should i look up to among these bunch of rouges up there.im finished.this man deserves no pity,he gave me heart ache.

can someone tell me who to look up to in this country's political office holderS again? i loved this crook called lawan soooo much that i always lookED foward to his next contribution in the house debate. he was so articulate ,outstanding,'smart',but im now soooo disappointed in him.my expectation from him when he was appointed the adhoc chairman for the investigation was met when i watched him reeling out the content of that report in the house.what gave him such confidence after all?can someone get a cold ice for my head that is almost exploding of ache.which way nigeria?SUNNY ADE, U ARE A PROPHET

When shall we hear DETAINED UNBAIL from this criminals

Lilspicer said...

I already knew dis wuld be the outcome i said it earlier...NAIJA WE HAIL THEE(OMO-IWO)SAY SO..VIA BLACKBERRYBOLD.5

olusegun said...

End of story & he is free to go spend d loot. ǦØD̶̲̥̅̊ is watching u all.

Hmmmmmmm. Lawan fall hin hanD.

this country is just like a mad man walking aimlessly. nothing will come out of this afterall no be today

barawouk lawan case is not a new story to me. Where is bank-ole' and others. Stealing govt money is a daily business with those in govt. NASS means- National Association of Stealers Senators. Abeg ha ga zuo ike

Pabz said...

VIDEO: NADIA BUHARI LURES AY IN A THREESOME http://bit.ly/L47LR4

scorpion said...

Shakespeare in the building...

Am still in very better pain since I heard of this Farouk guy's issue this is a guy that gave the youth soooooooo much hope that we stilll had hope in our elected officers there goes the last one my people to your tents o Nigerians

hhhhh

Ulom said...

@ baj my tots exactly!
na only for nigeria, them they change mouth, when it comes to "Politicians"
I don tire jare

The more u̶̲̥̅̊ luk, the less u̶̲̥̅̊ see! Kai!

-justme

I don't know this guy that much but I called my dad today and we talked about this Lawan fellow and my father who distrusts a lot of people actually said he had been defending the man and his heart is bleeding knowing now that the man is all smokes. Never put your trust in a politician,it takes a certain kind of person to be one in Naija and right now honesty isn't a policy they abide by. We prefer riches over hardwork, our women put so much pressure on the guys that we have lost our sense of being all in the name of belonging and satisfying our women. You know how much your spouse or bf gets paid but you don't question where all the money to London and Yankee comes from knowing that his salary can't do it but u fein ignorance when he is locked up or accused of thievery. For Naija parents when your Yahoo Yahoo son comes home with stuff you know u did not buy and cannot afford you turn a blind eye; when your daughter who doesn't have a job is giving you money, why don't you ever bother to ask where the money came from. When people call her a prostitute or she dies from some kinda deadly disease, u cry out loud saying I did not know she was selling her body. We worship money too much, I like money but I want to work for it and hopefully I will be a very successful individual. We are a very poor nation and yet things are so over priced that prople have to steal to afford the most basic things. We all know what the problem is let us as young one's form a get out the vote campaign, let us not endorse any candidate, but let us all come out and vote for who we want in 2015, we are more in number thanks to the mortality rate that is nothing to write home about. They are robbing us blind, let us take back our country!!!!!!!!!! I want to come back home but I want to be able to enjoy and pay for the most basic things without stealing to do it. Voting is your right, we can achieve if we dare to act!!!!!!

Amarachukwu said...

Linda there is one small problem. The guy has spent some few thousands from the money. He is finding it hard to borrow from his friends and even if he brings the whole money now its not the same marked by Otedola. What can he do? Please I need LIB readers to help with suggestions.

buzz said...

Lol....true!!!!Baj, ebi lik Say u sef don sleep 4 cell over weekend...do dey think siezing his passport wud stop him. Most politicians have numerous passports which cud b used in case anoda is siezed

And who the hell r u?Farouk Lawal himself or someone close to him?You want LIB readers to profer solutions?Pls dnt be ridiculous.
Who fucking cares if he has spent d mny or not?He shld just produce it,that's all.I'm sure he has billions in his account.

Amarachukwu, wetin be ur own, abi u follow am chop the money??? He ate alone, let him die alone joor!!!

Andrea said...

Why are u so angry? Is it ur money? Just enjoy the joke in Amara's comment instead of blowing hot air. The gist in Abuja is that the guy cannot produce the exact money thus making a fool of him...since he said he collected it to expose Otedola.

blunt said...

pls linda stop bringing this annoying news...i honestly wish i can bomb these nuisances out of existence so Naija can be rid of their corrupt asses

Am really really dumb founded

Ak said...

I ve seen the video , he actually put some money inside his cap lol

Pllsss wen r u coming bk o...

@Sholary

the National Assembly members are all criminals so i can exhonerate any of them from this mess, infact NASS is the den of myopic neanderthals of demographic ensemble... Thieves, rogue, criminals, scalewaz... Mcheewww so so annoying criminal we have in this country... Nopety Uki

Anon 10:29 what type of stupid fucking phd thesis did u just write? Next tym don't bother fucking commenting

This is such a shame. I always knew there was something fishy about this dude.. See the way he messed himself up.SMH...Meggy!

maks said...

too long,didnt bother reading to d end#anoda kola boof in d making# just dat ur a guy

And there ends the case. NEXT

So what they are saying in essence is that he is using the stolen money as bail! Does that make any sense??! And I had such high hopes in this man. I was even putting him in the class of somewhat younger progressive Nigerians like Amaechi, Fashola, et. al., that can turn Nigeria around. What an utter failure. THIEF!

I still believe this man was set up... How come Otedola wasn't placed behind bars too? Abi is giving bribe not a crime as grievous as collecting? GEJ just wants to use this saga in side tracking the masses from the real issue at hand regarding his wf (Allison)

la diva said...

i tire 4 dis country o.our judicial system is corrupt.he shld at least experience wat armed robbers go thru in prison.

PDP tinz

Vote! Who will u vote for. After voting for GEJ what is he doin. Nigeria is finished!

ebunma said...

How I wish it never happen to Lawan.......it means we have thieves as our leader.

Why are there so many retarded people here? Amarachukwu's comment was a joke! Awan ode!

Joy ojay said...

Hmmmmm "closes eyes to pray for Nigerians"

@ Amara Which one be sef, amebo Sabi Sabi, gbebaurun! You dey ask liers, na who them go ask ? If u wan help ask Otedola , friends? You don hear say thief get friend? beta go to assembly, plenty of Lawan mates still remain Dem will tell you how to strategize. MMM

Befoer nko? That's not unusual for 9ja naw! Abeg Linda, next gist.....any follow up for Kola Boof*winks* lukin for some pple's trouble sha :D

Fellow Nigerians,

Its a pity our president and his Gang in Government have decided to play us like football.

We all are in our different homes typing about farouk and otedela only. The fact remains that what we are hearing and facing now has been well arranged even before fuel price went up to 96 Naira. We all Learnt Farouk got 620K USD, as bribe but this morning we learnt he has been released by our so called police,So now we assume Farouk is not a criminal because he should have been charged to court with all the evidence against him. But lets not be surprised there is no evidence what so ever,lets forget all those stories. Its a packaged story.. Where is Emenalo who got 120k USD from the 620k ? ...

I am just trying to help us all understand the fact that,The subsidy probe report has just been murdered and buried as planned in January and let us all brace ourselves because the fuel will still shoot up to 141 Naira as stated in January.

Fellow Nigerians,Farouk got many millions in USD from the Government in January to play this role, deceiving Nigerians and its painful we all have been played again. I weep for my dear nation Nigeria.

I dont know the way forward,I really dont know but what i stated above is clearly as it is now and Fellow Nigerians we sure need to look for a way forward.. Lets forget this Farouk and otedola case...It is a no case.. If the Government want to show us they have our interest in heart,Let them get the subsidy gang arrested and have them prosecuted but i am sure that wont happen cos they are all involved. GEJ TOO>>>>>

God Help Nigeria..

yukiMarshal said...

God bless u for that statement!!! Nigeria ll always be corrupt & there'll be many more Farouks in the future.. Once the head is sick it won't take long for the body to begin to follow suite.. Our entire system is corrupt.

DAT his cap na CBN deposite office ooo, it can carry some millions around no shaking.

Am sure he has used some part of the money to fly first class to overseas. Na pple like dem make all dis airliners dey increase fare anyhow. Mtcheeew

Farouk! Farouk!! Farouk!!! The latest thief in Nigeria political system.

Haba anon 1.27am, why are u so mad. I did not mean to ruffle your light head with my write up; just incase u no understand wetin my whole talk be about. I dey try talk say let us get the vote out; we young one's plenty pass the older folks and if we all come out to vote we go change things, here in Yankee Old peeps no gree die and na dem vote pass, but because of the young one's na him make Obama win for 2008. I haff finished if you like make u abuse me, ur empty brain does not know any better so I would not be surprised. As for you wey say u did not bother to finish, I am sure u read every bit of it; go and hug transformer :)

Ignite Ideas said...

Always reas between the lines. The house ad hoc committee on fuel subsidy never intended to find a solution all they were doing was to create an avenue to make money. A real investigation would have meant not only the live questions and answers but detailed forensics on each of the companies that took part in the fuel subsidy scheme. It would have required looking at logs from NPA and other agencies to corroborate information that was provided. It is after they have put the information together then they should have invited all the stake holders for questions. Compare it to the UK probe into the activities of News of the World.

It is only we the people who can ensure we do not have the wrong people in the House of Assembly by voting credible people. Of course this is easier said than done.

God Bless Nigeria!

Which way nigeria

Dude,if u do this ur omo iwo blacberry stunt again,thunder waya ur two thumbs.

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Support-farouk-lawan/488555194494492