"Even squatters have rights!" writes Ada Osakwe, owner of juice store demolished at Rumens road, Ikoyi | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 2 September 2016

"Even squatters have rights!" writes Ada Osakwe, owner of juice store demolished at Rumens road, Ikoyi

The founder of Nuli Juice Company, Ada Osakwe, a Tony Elumelu Foundation Fellow, moved into her store six weeks ago. She shared a video on her Instagram page describing how the shops were demolished yesterday by the Lagos State government over non-payment of permits to the tune of N40 million...

"Even Squatters have rights!! How do you show up at 8.30am with bulldozers and armed police to terrorize shop owners, and then proceed to level their stores and property to the ground!!! With NO PRIOR NOTICE!!! Was told that the landlord did not have his paperwork. And was given notice in March. Okay then, so why didnt you raise it to the ground then? Why did you wait for businesses like @nulijuice to move in in July, only 6 weeks ago, only to show up and destroy them!!! @nulijuice has paid all LASAA fees, all LASG fees for food safety, etc and ALL taxes!!! You didnt seal up the shops and inform the tenants. NO, you demolished them in grand style.

46 comments:

Dis is just too sad

Yahaya bagudu said...

Just passing by... Stop wasting money on data. Get free browsing cheats on all network @ Techgeez.com

This is total wickedness...I can imagine how much she spent on dis shop

Too bad... The landlord should be made to pay through his nose

Just look at all those property and talents,just demolished in a twinkle of an eye,al cos of another man's selfishness! Take heart Ada darlings,may God replenish all that was lost,same goes to every other person affected by that cruel demolition.

I dont know y there are complaining. If the landlords fails to disclose this to them, The take it up with the landlord and sue that a** for all their damages

The landlord that didn't inform his tenants about the imminent demolition of the shops but kept collecting the rents is very WICKED! and the state government that demolished the shops upon all the hardship we are experiencing nowadays is very, very WICKED! God is watching!

what kind of rights, if enterpreneurs who makes profit on business refused to pay his tax and other obligations what else does such expects government to do or deliver their mandates; abeg mek her go sleep with human rights; she should get her priorities right first before crying injustice; who is unjust here?

This is sadder than sad!

well...

You and idiot.its either you are ito yahoo yahoo or you are among those that steal our money cos u dont know what it means or value of hard earned money , just to loose it in a twinkle of an eye

The government should have sealed d shops or d building not demolishing this is unfair to d ppl that voted change! Ambode I know u will come back o but not by voting is going to be by ringing that is d only way for APC candidates in d whole Nigeria

Saidat said...

ehn that's the fault of the landlord, they should fight him not the government

What sort of permit will amount to 40mill? Na witch hunt? how much will I make out of the biness or rent? Its funny that the government can put in so much effort to frustrate citizens. you get employed by them, they refuse to pay your salary, frustrate and sack you. you decide to start your own business and they still follow you. Its crazy mehn! shey if a property refuses to pay or obtain a permit the building will be demolished even before its roofed. but when they wait for you to grow then come like bees, its evil mehn. Sad even

Bimpeforever said...

You are a very bitter person, someone's livelihood is razed to the Ground, dis is the only thing u can say *smh*

******************************finally sef*********dix Ambode too do sef ********oginidi ********whatevr **********demolishing the building isn't d best thing to do

They can actually sue instead of all this long talk!

Is this babe complaining or advertising.. """Why did you wait for businesses like @nulijuice to move in in July, only 6 weeks ago,"""

qwuest said...

There are normally tree steps involved before a demolishion like this. 2 notices are given, then the house to be demolished is marked with a red cross. The notices are usually posted in prominent positions on the property, so both tenants and landlords are aware. LASG claim that the landlord was informed is just a means of being ingenous by passing the blame.

You're a maggot!!! Did you not read the she paid all dues and taxes?

The landlord should have disclosed what was going on to his tenants . The government could also have told the tenants to pay their rents to the Lagos state government instead of this. Within 3 to 4 years they would have paid off the 40 millions. ( with proper arrangement ) Times are hard enough for Nigerians already. APC show some empathy!!

I have written on BellaNaija and I am writing in LIB now... Demolition is only an option where the structural integrity of a building is compromised. But it is very ridiculous to hear that a building was demolished because of non-payment of NGN40M permit by the Landlord... So now that building is gone, has LASG collected the revenue? It is highly unacceptable for a progressive government in this modern times to administer jungle justice in collection of revenue. There are so many ways to collect outstanding revenues. if FIRS/EKEDC etc should start demolition of Debtors properties, how many Companies/buildings will stand even Aso rock? I find this action of LASG very amusing and childish. First and foremost, the LASG should compensate Nuli Juice for the damage to her property and collateral losses. Same for Landlord. A company that has paid signage Fees to LASAA and paid taxes to LASG... There is a very big collaboration gap between Government Agencies or rather lack of team work. A lot of energy is wasted in negative thinking and actions in Nigeria.... We need 10% of the energy devoted to hatred,tribalism etc to be channeled to positive actions and technology advancement and there will be a great change in our collective behaviour.

They should have sealed the place that way the tenants will know what is up and either pressurize the landlord to pay the fee or refund their rents. In this sinking economy, every legitimate business that will employ labor, pay tax (revenue generation for the govt.) etc. should be encouraged.

How do you make your landlord give you his building permit before you rent his place?

This is wickedness on the part of the Landlord and Government itself. No human feeling of what the person will loss from the business on government part it means that government don't keep laws too.Can government try that in American? Ambode will have been sued if it was oversee.Anyway Ambode should prepare himself to welcome more thieves in Lagos,if he don't consider small scale business before crashing and destroying them just because of another person issue.Big Fool.

Too bad! Linda take note!

The landlord should be made to pay for all damages

Maye73 said...

This is just too bad.#sad.

Please enough of this blame on govt. Who is the landlord? Why are these people not calling him out? Govt gave him notice since March but he still collected rent from tenants in July... isn't that the height of wickedness! Please they should sue the landlord and leave govt out of this.

So, so sad.
Pls be your brothers keeper. my husband is out of job, my children's school fees, my landlord is on our neck as the house rent need renew. Is like my word as collapse. school will soon resume.

CUTTRED MEATLOAF said...

Its a new dawn in LAGOS STATE...YOU ARE ADVISED TO PAY YOUR TAXES!!! ENOUGH SAID.

So, so sad.
Pls be your brothers keeper. my husband is out of job, my children's school fees, my landlord is on our neck as the house rent need renew. Is like my word as collapse. school will soon resume.

Nseabasi Ekpo, please inform yourself before you expose your foolishness. If you actually read her post, you would see that she paid rent, taxes and levies. It was her landlord who did not pay for his own permit. You need to let go of all this bitterness in your life, it will not get you very far.

Enter your reply...Ekpo right? That is ur so called name.it is easy to wag tongue and talk trash when such injustice is shown to people far from u..trust u will singe songs of praise for lagos govt when similer thing happens to you or ur family member.Don't talk befor u think rather think first befor comenting.

Nseabassi nseabassi nseabassi how many times did i call you o o 5million naria is not ikpankuku o o if na you you no go talk like that .

Lagos state government is becoming so wicked, and even the so called yerobas....

Eyahhh

e no easy to dey chill wit governor ambode...... things falling apart chinua Achebe.

Tinubu get interest for dinner land

Too sad

Really sad but how come nobody is saying anything against the greedy landlord. The one who collected rent and refused to pay the levies for his building, and by so doing put all the businesses at risk. The owners of the shops there should quickly sue the landlord for damages. He really should pay for all these

ziko2010 said...

My dear your comment doesn't make sense at all

This is terrible...#onMYway...

Nothing good can come out of APC government. It is evil government full of evil and wicked people. They don't even care about the suffering in the country and are rendering more people unemployed.

Ugly mofo