Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie speaks about police killings in America. "I think I'm so emotionally exhausted by the murders" | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 30 September 2016

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie speaks about police killings in America. "I think I'm so emotionally exhausted by the murders"

Nigerian writer Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie on Wednesday, spoke about racial issues in America and the continual reports of black people killed by police.
In her novel Americanah, her protagonist, Ifemelu, starts a blog about race in America from her perspective as a Nigerian immigrant.
The blog, called “Raceteenth or Various Observations About American Blacks (Those Formerly Known as Negroes) by a Non-­American Black," is funny as well as insightful.
"The blog in Americanah—I wanted it to be funny. I wanted to poke fun, because I think many of the ways race manifests itself in this country are actually quite funny so I hoped that people would laugh," Adichie said at the Washington Ideas Forum, an event produced by The Aspen Institute and The Atlantic.
Her interviewer, Mary Louise Kelly, a contributing editor at The Atlantic, asked what Ifemelu might say about racial issues in America today.
"I think what’s going on now just doesn’t give me room for humor," Adichie said. "I think that I’m so emotionally exhausted by the murders that I don’t think I could find any space to wrap humor around what’s been happening in the past one year, two years."
"It’s not just that you shoot a man who’s unarmed, it’s that you handcuff him when he’s clearly dying," she said. "There’s something about it that’s so unforgivably inhumane and to think that his race is part of the reason ... I really do think that one of the terrible things about racism in this country, is there’s a sense that blackness isn’t really seen as fully human in many quarters. I think that’s why these things happen. I think that’s why a man who is dying is handcuffed, that’s why a boy who is dead is left on the street for hours. It makes me wonder: What’s happened to that part of us that is good?"
An earlier part of Adichie and Kelly’s conversation focused on the power of storytelling to humanize, so Kelly asked, "Do you think you’ll be able to find a way to write about that?
"Many times I 've wanted to and I 've started," Adichie said. "But I almost always feel that language has failed me. So I don't know."

Source: The Atlantic

25 comments:

Good of you to write /comment about America's issues...but we have issues at home here in Nigeria don't we? Serious issues at that...why not comment on that?

Racial abuse is far away from being controlled in america..

How does this help our ailing economy?

Cool talker.

baba said...

Godtakeover

Everyone is exhausted as well. Linda take note!

Hmmm... it's really emotionally exhausting..

It's quite unprofessional of dem.
Signed
LibBadBoy

It is well

Awww.... Mio WcE, speak on beau! #Luya

This is too bad

Her voice is need in the struggle

For window blinds, wallpapers and curtains please 08160856785.

It's Terrible

azn

Am glad celebrities are speaking up as regards this.

Dats bad

Then she shld come bck n talk abt naija own

Good that they are speaking out since many black american leaders like walter carrington etc are silent while their brethren and kids are being persecuted.These black leaders so called are simply portraying to the world that they are unfocussed. The black caucus in american senate or house is yet to make a case to AU or UN human rights commission. These stooges are not leaders at all by any definition!

augustyne alaribe said...

your mama born u well jare, fine geh

Good for her

SAD SAD SAD
WE AS A PEOPLE NO LONGER ATTACH IMPORTANCE TO HUMAN LIFE,A LOT HAS CHANGED ABOUT US,WE NO LONGER VALUE LIFE LIKE WE USE TO,AND I FIND IT DIFFICULT TO COMPREHEND THE REASON IS SO,IS IT CIVILIZATION OR WHAT?ONLY GOD KNOWS,MAY GOD HELP US.
MY PROJECT IN UNI WAS ABOUT THE CONCEPT OF LIFE,IT'S ENHANCEMENT AND PRESERVATION,THAT IS,HOW HUMAN LIFE CAN BE ENHANCED AND PRESERVED.
GOD HELP US,#BLACKLIFEMATTER

SAD SAD SAD
WE AS A PEOPLE NO LONGER ATTACH IMPORTANCE TO HUMAN LIFE,A LOT HAS CHANGED ABOUT US,WE NO LONGER VALUE LIFE LIKE WE USE TO,AND I FIND IT DIFFICULT TO COMPREHEND THE REASON IS SO,IS IT CIVILIZATION OR WHAT?ONLY GOD KNOWS,MAY GOD HELP US.
MY PROJECT IN UNI WAS ABOUT THE CONCEPT OF LIFE,IT'S ENHANCEMENT AND PRESERVATION,THAT IS,HOW HUMAN LIFE CAN BE ENHANCED AND PRESERVED.
GOD HELP US,#BLACKLIFEMATTER

Some commenters here are asking why Chimamanda isn't writing about Nigeria. While I do not intend to hold brief for her, I'll at the same time point out that already there are enough writings on our issues. The problem is the government does not listen, does not care and maybe completely clueless on the way out of our current predicaments. Until we all congregate and match to Aso Rock & the National Assembly and disrupt proceedings there, those holding power will not feel threatened enough to get up their fat behinds.

Lady YOU KNOW this plague is worse in Nigeria/Africa.