Italy earthquake: Mass funeral held for 35 victims amidst tears and anguish as death toll rises to 291 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 28 August 2016

Italy earthquake: Mass funeral held for 35 victims amidst tears and anguish as death toll rises to 291

Survivors, family, friends consumed by grief bury the first 35 victims of the earthquake in Ascoli Piceno, the capital of the Marche region.  Italian President Sergio Mattarella, Senate President Pietro Grasso, Lower Chamber President Laura Boldrini and Italian Premier Matteo Renzi also attended the funeral service.

Dozens of flower-covered caskets were lined up in a gymnasium as people bid farewell to loved ones, kneeling, crying inconsolably and placing their hands on the caskets. Hundreds more stood silently outside, others hugged each other as Giovanni D'Ercole, the Bishop of Ascoli, implored them not to lose faith.
"Don't be afraid to scream your suffering, but do not lose courage. Together we will rebuild our houses and churches. together, above all, we will give life back to our communities...the village bells will ring once again."
 The death toll in the 6.2-magnitude earthquake stands at 291 people as worst-hit town, Amatrice had a total of 230 residents and tourists dead. At least 387 people are in hospital. Three more bodies were pulled from the town's Hotel Roma overnight and there are fears yet more bodies will be recovered.
Italian magistrates have opened investigations into some of the incidents.
"What happened cannot just be considered fate,' said prosecutor Giuseppe Saieva, who is leading the probe. 'If these buildings had been constructed like they are in Japan then they would not have collapsed," he told La Repubblica Newspaper.
At least 16 foreigners died, 10 Romanians, 3 Britons and one each from Canada, El Salvador and Spain.

More photos...  

Source and photo credit: News agencies

29 comments:

My heart reaches out to them in such a sad moment. #Courage

Chai

291 dead Chai!
Did u say earthquake or Islam attack huh? FREEBORN WEPT WITH UNA OOOOO my people please please make una take heart oooo na Islam and end time cause am.
See how people were crying as tomorrow no dey eww FREEBORN WEPT AGAIN.

I pray God comforts them. 291? Wow

Long Live LIB

291 lets say 300 dead Chai!
Did u say earthquake or Islam attack huh? FREEBORN WEPT WITH UNA OOOOO my people please please make una take heart oooo na Islam and end time cause am.
See how people were crying as tomorrow no dey eww FREEBORN WEPT AGAIN.

May their soul rip

Oh dear I feel dere plight..so devastating..my heart goes to d family affected..may d souls of d departed Rip

CHAII, THIS IS REALLY PAINFUL

It is well o

Sadness all over, may their soul rest in peace. AMEN.

OMG watch this leaked video and you will be surprised with the people in it

May the lost souls rest in peace and may God give the families they left behind, solace to bear their losses.

BEAUTY said...

Sad,,,RIP 2 dem,,,bt God knows best,,HE is our Return nd verily unto HIM we shall all return...notin in dis world is permanent..

Ha! Cant hold bck my tears,its so bad....see d luk on dat lady on glasses its lyk she cnt believe its real n @ dsame tym shes cryin n holdin bck nt 2 flair up

Is there any way earthquake can be avoided? May God grant the families the strength to bear the loss

Ohh God.May their souls rest in peace.

PrettyChi said...

Its pathetic

PrettyChi said...

Its pathetic

Ayochukwu said...

Sorry for their loss. May thier soul rest in peace.

So sad! My condolences to the grieving families...

feke said...

hope say my guy no dey among them oo....I got a lot of guys in Italy ooo...RIP to the dead...(feke)

Just feel like crying.....may there souls rest in perfect peace

Omg! Dis is so sad...signs of end time

Oh dear! It is well. May they rip

sad .i sympathize with them.

This is so sad.. RIP to all the souls..

Pls. Who is this freeborn

So sorrowful

U are very senseless!

DADDYSWIFE said...

Very sad.eyah.may their beautiful souls rest in thy Lord in Jesus name.amen!
#nothankyoui'dratherbeselfmade