Photos: UNIPORT students stage protest over increase in school fees | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 11 April 2016

Photos: UNIPORT students stage protest over increase in school fees

Students of the University of Port Harcourt, Rivers state are presently staging a protest over the hike in their fees by the school management. The students have blocked the busy East-West road preventing many travelers from using the road. 
Some students said the protest is because the school management has refused to allow those who haven't paid their school fees into the exams hall to write their papers. Their exams started today. More photos after the cut...

42 comments:

But why d increase in their sch fees wt all this s hardship in did country?stupid management.

Na so we go dey dey...? #UniqueGbogbo #AlmaM

cutestlove said...

This is not fair why is there school fees so high.

Na waoo

Useless state😣😣

Maybe Buhari increased the school fees!

Not cool

Nkemy said...

School fees increment on top this *chains or change* makes no sense..parents are finding it hard to even get daily bread for their children then this. It's not like these monies are used to upgrade quality of education or school infrastructures sef

HAba! Not fair! Increment everywhere!

I concur. Uniport mgt are Robbers. The school is too expensive, post graduate fees is the highest in the country and they won't even allow installments.

********************didos !!!!!!! Increament untop dis hard times !!!!!! ????????? Nnaa afo taakwaa ndia mmiri ooo !!!!!!

I'm a student of uniport and the cause of the protest is because students some students haven't paid their fees and they said if they don't pay their fees before exam they will not take their exams and they will repeat a whole year. That's why they are protesting so they can postpone the exam and allow them pay their fees

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Hmmmmmmm. Protests have shifted to Uniport frm Unilag. Oya RRS go and close down Uniport.

Aj Gabriel T said...

#Apc#Change#Chain#Buhari#Hardship #Thisisthebegining

Ordinary 45k dem de strike mbok they sud go nd plead so they can write their exam.they suud come to ogitech to confirm how much we re paying or they sud go to lasu to confirm how high their school fee got to b4 they protested

Na wa o

Nigeria is lost

Vela said...

Pls make dem protest well. Stupid government. Making tins hard 4 the pple.

Lilybabe said...

It's nt jst abt d high skul fee rate bt d fact dat if u dnt pay,u'll nt writ ur exams, dereby makin u to repeat a session

It all boils down to Buhari

That's unfair

Lol for their good

Government should definitely do something about dis to curb such irregularities

Ain't fair @ all#Lindangwanu#

Aunty linda not actually cos of school fees increament,management closed portal and insist student must loose an academic session prior failing to meet up the deadline for the fees payment.pls rephrase,fees has always being high in this part of the country...#BlackMondayUniport

mme-ng.com....Naija

This protest is long overdue.. Yeye management

come to UNN, and you will keep shut

margret said...

imsu is another wahala

PRESIDENT A said...

TOO BAD

SELFISH GOVERNMENT

Linda the protest is majorly because the management shut down the site for pyin skul fees and that those who hasn't paid will have to carry over the whole course! Such wickedness by LALE, a stupid new VC who has no regard for what the students are suffering! There will be no exam in Uniport till that site is reopened! Tomorrow more protest continues! We need professor AJEYINKA back as our vc not one stupid lale! #GreatestNigerianStudents!

If things continue like this, where lies the hope of the common man and poor masses?

The V.C should be sacked. That was how they increased post graduate fees and nobody talked about it. What goes up in Naija doesn't come down so they should stop it now.

Tenin said...

....but y na? With the hardship that has embedded the country? The school authorities should please reverse the school fees.

How many times will the site be reopened? Is it now they will reopen it that students will go to pay? Everyone heard about the portal and it been closed since. Why not adhere to the school's authority and stop making problems. Btw the increment of school fees isn't today's gist. Is it not in the PTA held that that amount was decided? Please go and pay your fees and stop complaining and breaking school properties. School is NOT FREE. You decided to go thru that journey. Keep breaking school's properties that you will still pay for somehow lol. Carry On! Unique my foot! No morals!

MrWap said...

University of nigeria , Nsukka N60k please add it....

Nigerians want quality education but does not want to pay for it. No wonder the system is turning out unemployable graduates these days. My little boy of two years in Nursery School pay over 100k per term and we all do the same for our wards and here are university undergraduates protesting 45k per session and yet we are supporting their useless protest. Where in the world is school fees this cheap? Yet we crave for quality education...

horladunnii said...

kwara State University #109,500. please add it

I really wonder what our students are turning into. They had since November to pay their fees. The Parents Forum, which was actually started by the so-called useless VC for the first time last year, asked for an extension which was granted by Mgt to March.They still extended the payment till first week in April.I have a friend in a private university who was sent back home because she had not paid her FULL fees. She had to come home and source for the rest. So if the University Mgt has said NO FEES, NO EXAMS, I don't see what the big deal is.There is no doubt we have some genuine cases who can't afford the fees, but I tell you they are barely 2% of the entire lot.

I'm a year1 management student of UNIPORT nd it baffles me wat d management of d school do with all such money,there are no classrooms nd we struggle 2 sit in d few available classes coz d seats are few,imagine students standing 2 receive lectures in congested classrooms with no fans,we even stand to write test nd dey expect us to b happy? D school has no reasonable working facility,d management are bunch of thieves.

Every one dat had pass an education system knows dat rule already.NO FEE NO EXAM.this student know dis as well so y stress theirself doin dis instead of lookin for way to plead so as to avoid extra year.they re jst delaying their self.i feel for d final year student cus dis ppl re delayin their graduation period.those properties they ruined weda they like it or not they will pay for it,i can attest to dat.same tin happened in my school Ogun state institute of technology Igbesa.we all paid 10k each for damages.even me dat went home wen d riot started nd didn't partake in ruining any school property

I just dy laugh am am in UST n closing of site is necessary for d best of d such.Firstly dy should ve done dis protest b4 dy started exam dat will give d VC more listening ear case study UST did dat.Secondly dy should ve written a letter to d VC collectively stating dere reasons y dy ve not paid it happens recently to students in UST n dy had to reopen d site for dem bcos all dis are experienced in UST dy should be logical sometimes bcos dy are reasons for closing of site next time dy should act wen it was increased b4 exam I remembered wen VC in UST increased indignes sch fees dy protested n dy had a meeting with d VC b4 it was reduced it is in d code of conduct in schs tnx