Oxford Alabama makes it illegal for transgender people to use any bathroom of their choice,defaulters face 6 months in jail | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 29 April 2016

Oxford Alabama makes it illegal for transgender people to use any bathroom of their choice,defaulters face 6 months in jail

Last month, North Carolina passed a religious bill which made it legal for businesses to decline services to others based on their religious belief. For example, Pastors couldn't be forced to marry LGBT people, bakers couldn't be forced to bake cakes for the LGBT community if they didn't want to etc. North Carolina is currently debating on a bathroom bill which asserts that people should only use public bathrooms based on the gender they were born with. Well this has caused a lot of problems for the Governor of the state, Governor Pat McCrory.
A lot of people have called him a bigot and so many other names while others including Ted Cruz and Donald Trump have applauded the idea. Artists have canceled their gigs in protest of what they call the 'Anti LGBT' bill. Coca-Cola, PayPal, Delta Airlines, The NFL and so many other companies have boycotted North Carolina.

Retail giant Target decided to get involved in the 'bathroom issue' and said everyone could use whatever bathroom they wanted, which meant transgender male could use the female bathroom and vice-versa, not everyone was thrilled with the idea.

Well, a small town in Oxford Alabama that has a population of about 20,000 took it a step further.

In Oxford, there is one Target department store, so on Tuesday, the City Council in the small Alabama town decided to take on retail giant’s new inclusive bathroom policy and made it illegal for anyone to use a public bathroom that doesn’t align with the gender they were born with.

The new law, approved unanimously by the council’s members, restricts a person’s use of public bathrooms and changing rooms to the facilities designated for use by those of the gender listed on his or her birth certificate. The law applies within both the city’s limits and police jurisdiction.

Anyone who is found to have violated the law would be fined $500, or sentenced to six months in jail.
Some people applauded the law while others condemned it. Some mixed reactions below..

Since Target announced it’s policy change on April 19th, the American Family Association has garnered over 900,000 signatures in favor of boycotting the business.

Source: The Anniston Star Alabama

28 comments:

Gbam!

Gbam... Thank God we still have some people in America with working brains.. The rest are walking dead.. 💀💀💀

I mean how can I allow my 12 years old daughter to use same washroom with a transgender, and perhaps he still has his penis intact... I mean how??? Biko tell me why I should share washroom with Caitlin Jenner who still has his penis in his pants.. Biko tell me maka why???

When your country/State has been able to reasonably tackle or solve her citizens' basic needs and fundamental problems to a good extent, these are the kinds of issues they now concern themselves with. In naija with all our many issues, who cares if you even use a toilet at all?

Dem never start. Linda take note!

Chuks Bruno said...

what's the noise about this rest room thing as for me i don't see why it is an issue for a transgender to used only toilet of their original sex. that was how they were given birth...

Good move....Godbless Oxford Alabama
Godbless america

Very gud

Very Good
If you're male go to male side and same with those of the females

Madam its "pastors could not be forced to wed LGBT people" not "forced to marry"

Yes o, they should go and get thier own rest room.

When common sense should take its toll.

Transgenders are fucked up assholes

Not interested in any rubish transgender stuff

Ok seen

abeg I concur, they wee b changing to female and refuse changing there eggplant, wannna destroy pple's children all in the name of TRANS. God punish devil.

*finito*

Their problem

See wetin ona don cause. If only u remained how God made you,we would have channelled the energy to discuss better subjects

Okay! I can the resulting confusion already is setting in. This is just the beginning for more issues pertaining to extreme liberality that will soon come to Yuessay.

Oh puhlease they should hush it jorr 😒😒
Will they allow a random man be in the same restroom with their daughters?? Transgender or not? If he "identifies" as a woman, that's his cup of tea.. God and his damned birth certificate identifies him as a man.. simples
Biko shift to the left and use the men's room Mbok... 😒 too many things happening in the world and you're crying over what bathroom to pee in.. toh go and pee outside.. kmt

that sounds good!

I really agree with this law. If you have decided to be confused about your gender ,pls Dont disturb my peace with it. You have no legal right to force me to accept you. Transgenders are another group of terrorist who have decided that they want to shove their confusion down our throats. Rather than force us to accept you,build your own bathrooms,bakeries, churches and live your lives free.

why cant trans people fund their own bathrooms since they feel so strongly about it? why should my daughter be forced to see free penises when theyre still so young? abeg

samsnead20

Great!

gbam. Its about time we flush out the weeds

Okay. .

Really? Now we're dragging God into the toilet, because of transgendered people? You think it's ok for Caitlin Jenner to share a bathroom with a man?

@joeydapoet said...

so someone like caitlyn jenner who still av a penis use a female restroom also? or all this families that have young teens identifying as an opposite gender: a boy identifying as a girl but still has a penis. should line alongside our daughters and be showing them free penises polluting their tender minds? we jst keep tipping the world over with our confusive indulgencies.