Nigerian-British boxer Anthony Oluwafemi is the IBF heavyweight champion of the world! | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 10 April 2016

Nigerian-British boxer Anthony Oluwafemi is the IBF heavyweight champion of the world!

British boxer Anthony Joshua won the IBF world heavyweight title on Saturday with a sensational second round knockout of American rival. Charles Martin.

Taking to his twitter account after the victory, the new champion wrote: "An unforgettable night!"

Olympic champion Joshua, 26, had Martin on the canvas twice in the second round to record his 16th knockout in all 16 professional fights he has contested.

Joshua becomes the sixth British fighter to win a world heavyweight title.

"There 'll probably be some negativity about how easy it is. But two days ago Charles Martin was a big, dangerous southpaw and he had the confidence to come over here and fight in the lion's den," said the new champion.

"All the hype is good for boxing, let's keep on pushing this sport. Keep on supporting us because it won't last forever."

Joshua needed only one minute and 32 seconds of the second round to end the defence of the American who was widely jeered when he entered the ring wearing a crown and velvet robes.

It was a fast and powerful right hand which delivered the final blow as Martin was left clearly dazed. He was up on his feet but off them again soon after, with the hapless American failing to make the count.

"I've got people like David Haye and Tyson Fury calling me out so I need to keep improving. Every fight gets better and better. I want to give value for money and I appreciate the ongoing support of the fans," added Joshua.

Source: AFP/Anthony Joshua/Twitter

54 comments:

The guy is tall

Congrats to him

Stella said...

Congratulations

Hmm, you need to see this leaked video & pics of UNILAG sex orgy party circulating online

Congrats.
Knew u would win!

Congrats.

Dope.
Luv seeing Brothers Dominating.

fashioncrip said...

Congrat ma crush as in candy crush

Demmy said...

Congrats to him, bt am not a fan of dat game. Period!

Nigerians will say -Nigerian British, Britain will say -British. But when it's a bad thing,Nigerians will say- British, Britain will say -Nigerian! Lol!what a mess

Congratulations to him,he really tried, it's not easy atall.

Luciana Chinda said...

Congrats man

TYSON FURY WILL KILL YOU. Better don't go there

Yoruba blood making us proud

Congrats to him but make him no try me o bcos I go knack am blue black
Signed
#LibBadBoy

Wow...more blessings

Congratulations d Nigerians making us proud

Louis ojibe said...

Nice 1

That's my BOY, Go Joshua Go Joshua!!

Eyes of the gods said...

Congrats champ!

Louis ojibe said...

Nice 1

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

This is good news. Keep making us proud. Train well o, David Haye n Tyson fury are wicked boxers.

Louisojibe said...

Nice 1

Congrats brother. Linda take note!

HOT!!! Free Browsing: Get Free 4.5GB From MTN – Hurry Up!!!

Congrats. More Instagram followers for you

Congratulations bro #RawStrength

Linda this is not fair. You did not announce it when wiz kid won his championship title fight against dammy crane. Only when e born pickin

Victor Kachi said...

Kindly checkout my blog for Latest working free browsing cheat on all networks.. Entclass.com

Good you called Him Nigerian British,Very important we know share in the victory,only posting Negative news of our people when they fall short won't help the young adults out there.

Wow congrats to him.. Wish he last longer in the game!

Nyce blow

VIBEbrown consulting said...

That's my yoruba brother doing gud abroad, we are proud of u, so Igbo guys learn and stop trafficking drugs for God sake.

Congrats to them!

Buzz-Off u weak flea.

Gosh! And the guy is hot on top of everything else... Oh lala

The last time I check, ur popularity ends on lib. Learn to celebrate successful people

He's not your brother bitch

Adaobi said...

@Vibe brown consulting, you are an Ass! as in 'Ike agadi nwanyi' if you don't have anything to say, jee nodu Ana Na dustbin fool

Mumu.

Davido driver,NA dis kain guy go fuck ur oga babe n if ur oga complain,dat one mean say NA 1blow 7die be dat...NA d babe go help am rearrange him skull out of pity

So we keep having good brains and skills represent the orgnised world because our systems are malfunction all in spheres of endeavours..

optimisticlady said...

Naija I hail.
You don kukuma claim Nigerian for the guy whether he like am or not

Fine guy
-D great anonymous now a Vivian Reginalds

Congratulations to him

chommy said...

Who b us? Don't go and make ur self proud. Linda observe!

Linda's got a whole lotta note...take note!

Congrats bro!

Only naija dudes re cute,strong,black and chubby. Lol. Well done boy. #clownNation

no1nigeria said...

crazy G...who tell u say igbo guys are drug traffickers?

Ele Blessing said...

Omo Yoruba to the core mehn,congrat to you .Now I can see how coward Yoruba' people are ,and don't forget Ola Afolabi Cruiseweight champion also Yoruba brother performing wonders with the right hook on the world stage... Maybe all the tribalist bigot can be silenced now and go about their drug business

Congratulations. ..Nigerians keep representing around the world!