"Nigeria is the wrongest country to be depressed in" - Karen Eloke Young | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 28 April 2016

"Nigeria is the wrongest country to be depressed in" - Karen Eloke Young

Ex Beauty Queen & Journalist, Karen Eloke Young is giving an insight into depression from her own personal experience. She tweeted on how Nigerians have refused to see depression as a very important problem that exists and how lack of support from friends & loved ones can be terrible. She even shared a picture of a scar on her wrist. Good to see she overcame it. See more of her tweets after the cut...

60 comments:

She is right, to us there is nothing like depression

Hmm!

True deo.

Hmm!

True deo.

La face said...

Yeah that's true especially that go to church. Nigerians are too religious yet sin like devil himself

Arsenal said...

Do we need to ask the cause of the scar? I don't want to waste my time here.

mimi said...

na wa.

Really

linda ikeji's driver. said...

Hmmmmmmmmmm,all dis will now be linked to tiwa and tee bills saga.tank God for u

Pele

i totally agree with u 100%
Even the spirit of depression would so be depressed with the Nigeria wahala.
.... in other news, teebillz denies blasting his wife tiwa savage.
so in far more advanced news, Linda whr u hear the stoty abt teebillz tryin to commit suicide???

SCARFACE

i totally agree with u 100%
Even the spirit of depression would so be depressed with the Nigeria wahala.
.... in other news, teebillz denies blasting his wife tiwa savage.
so in far more advanced news, Linda whr u hear the stoty abt teebillz tryin to commit suicide???

SCARFACE

Ndi depression epiotewe!!! Mtchew! Why d driver no leave u kill yasef ? Make u kukuma give me ur own life to double mine as e no sweet u again, meanwhile where were u before today? Cos of tee billz abi? Iriputa bia iko tuuu here! Smh

Stay strong Karen. Totally understand....

You are survivor of your own shit. Nothing can be bad to the extent of you contemplating killing yourself.... People eat scrap from dustbins and are still finding reasons to be happy and hope, You thinking of killing yourself is being selfish

I hope we would all start thinking and seeing things differently in the nearest future. Linda take note!

With all d spots on ur body!
OK Good for u

Hmmmmmmm,honestly,depression is one bad disease we should not pray for

JEO said...

Honestly speaking depression is real. But wait a minute when you check why ppl get depressed... It just comes to lots of negative energy that has been building up for a long time either cuz they expected to be somewhere or some level at the time and nothing is coming forth,or the desire to want more and more and can't seem to get it. It's best for us all to live life one step at a time,I know it's hard but when you have come to terms to appreciating the littlest of things in your life like being able to breathe and be amongst the living whether money or no money you tend to live and see life in a different view then depression will run far far away from you. It's funny cuz we the living don't seems to appreciate what we have go ask the dead they will give anything just to be able to call one of the living. It takes divine grace and self awareness for one to let go of earthly temporary pursuit of happiness and value the internal gift we have and embrace who we are. Storms don't last forever...

Not that we don't care. We just have too many issues to take depression seriously...

Its real ooo but i still try to imagine why som1 will want to take his/her beautiful life. Odiegwu!

PURPLE said...

This talk on depression alone is depressing

Eyah sorry eh

obiora said...

Ok.

Thank God for her life...

Azn eh

Dee Tee said...

Hmm

I was depressed for years and my mother suggested suicide. Co-workers helped my situation. Now i cant wait to dance on my mother's grave.

True talk

Nigerians really don't understand these things are important and shouldn't be ignored.. Even after this you'll still find useless comments insulting people facing depression... It's low mentality, ignorance and most especially "I don't care" attitude that's killing us today..

Ego Igwe said...

Your sense of comprehension is poor. She wants you to see depression as a mental illness that needs treatment.

Dis is y I like Tyler Perry films. When Madeha talks sense to u depression go fly

Uchechi Igbo said...

thank God for you. tough country we live in.

@Wilhemina Moses, you sound really stupid...the likes of you are the kind she had in her life that couldn't help. You are really unintelligent n speak like a classless woman. May God give you the heart to love others...

Depression is very real but in this part of the world, it seems not to be. I have had my fair share of depression and I pulled through..May God give us all the heart to love others in their time of pain. @Karen, thank God you survived!!#Estee

Not every body has a strong mind. I pity evry one laughing at this gist.

Yetty k said...

Glad she survived it

almagelado@gmail.com said...

Yes we really have to take depression seriously here in Nigeria.
I know how many times I have fought with the thought of killing my self, You have no one to talk to,everyone is forming busy,when the person eventually dies they will say I was not aware.
Look at me feeling so depressed for a long time no friends to talk to,business have collapsed,no husband at my age,feeding is a problem,now landlord has asked me to leave the house at the end of the month,ask me where will I go to next,is it not to commit suicide and rest so I can have peace

She is lucky she had parents who understood and supported her. I am currently depressed which is caused by my husband and child hood memories of my mum's hatred. I am in the UK taking treatment and away from my wicked husband but you won't believe my parents still want me to return to that marriage.

And that's exactly what she's talking about. Depression is real oga! Just pray to God never to experience it. Your mind can never comprehend the things you would do when you are depressed. stop sounding ignorant.

Teebillz is still in d hospital its just his people trying to clear Tiwas nam

This bae , I like how you dey mix Igbo language with grammar. I dey sweet me gaan . Always looking forward to your comments 👍

Thank you Wilhelmina ! Is that the right place to slit wrist? She cut her hand say na wrist. Next time go a little lower then you would get it well. All these attention seeking wannabes. You haven't heard tiwas story yet. I hate women who bash women. Suicide attempt ko. Bleachi bleachi. Mtchreeeewww.

Concerned human said...

Seriously who hurt you that you have to be so bitter? Theres help out there if you need it. I honestly recomend seeing a psychologist. I have never heard any nice comments coming from you.

Concerned nigerian said...

Obviously you know little about depression. Depression is a psychiatric condition. It has nothing to do with a persons material wealth. Even very rich people get depression. The same way people have malaria or tyhoid is the same way people get depression excpet this time the problem is in the brain. Lese educate yourself before making awful comments like this. This is so insensitive.

Signed: a medical doctor

Folasade said...

I totally agree with you,l had a nasty experience regarding this. 2011-3013 to be precise l noticed things were getting destroyed by me , plates,phone etc were slipings out of my hands and won't make any effort to safe them, l lost most of my kitchen utensils and 2 phone then decided to share what am going through with my husband who couldn't do anything to help or l should say he didn't understand how serious my case is,one day l discussed with a nurse that suggest l see a Dr at Yaba left,lol.that was when l know the name of what I was passing through. Thank God today

matte skin said...

C00152C04 Join this BBM channel for lovely lingerie

eka said...

My dear
D hardship in this country makes depression seem like a child'S play
Well, been so- religious in this country has made us seem immune 2 somethings. So d next time u are depressed; sing praises 2 God & let him take control. Then d negativity will disperse 4rm ur life...
Everybody get wahala 4 this country 4rm Boko haram-Mad Fulani herdsmen-APC/PDP-hiked fuel & food prices-kidnapping-election violence.......d list goes on. But we still smile @ d end of d day😩

Gud for you.

True talk. Ppl go thru a lot if dey confide in u, try not to put dem down. Am happy she's happy now.

Committing suicide is the coward's way out. Thinking abt the effect on ur parents, friends and family should be enough to make you think twice. Suicide is plain selfishness!

Thank you so much! You really understand what life is all about...

SOrry Karen. Glad you overcame. Does not help that mental health is not something on our radar. So what is all that craw craw on your hands? Is that why you wanted to kill yourself? A disease? Sorry

akpa-ose said...

You make sense NNE because am once a victim.

Dats d spirit

Deeply ignorant, to say the least. You need to have your consciousness raised on matters concerning mental health. Being "selfish" is the last thing on the mind of a suicidal person, rather it is ignorant folks like you who foolishly choose not to help that are the selfish ones. You think you're better because it hasn't happened to you. On the contrary, you are a completely blind and inconsiderate member of society. Rethink your existence bro.

Your life is sad.

Depression is real, like a black hole it just keeps sucking you in. i used to wet the bed til i was in jss2, my mother, being a naturally unhappy person, taunted and mocked everything i did. i insisted on going to boarding school, just to get away from her, but then life there was just harsh, trouble with seniors, i was falling ill, all that worsened the case. i changed schools, it was till ss1 when i joined a clique of friends that my mood began to improve. but anytime i come home there she is with her foul words. i entered university, thank God, although i was never good at making a lot of friends, but the few i had helped. in a bid to be accepted and feel loved i have done regrettable things, but i thank God for where i am today. i am now working, just began a healthy relationship, mother moved out on her own a few years ago, taking her negativity with her. if you notice anyone around you who always seems sad please open up and talk to them. because of my supposed looks and positive exterior people will never believe all this has happened. sometimes we just need to pull ourselves out of it and make our own happiness, with the help of God.

Mr complete said...

Nice piece bro. You see depression stems from different reasons which can be biological via chemical imbalance in the brain(low serotonin secretion)......but you highlighted some very important cause which is cognitive. You see our thinking patterns,beliefs and perception plays a very vital role. If you decide to try therapy as a psychologist or psychiatrist I can boldly predict you doing well Zoe. (A graduate of psychology)

Thank God you overcame.