FG imposing more hardships on Nigeria with VAT increment - Fayose | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 10 April 2016

FG imposing more hardships on Nigeria with VAT increment - Fayose

Read the press statement below...
Ekiti State Governor, Mr Ayodele Fayose has said that the Federal Government was planning to impose more hardships on Nigerians by increasing Value Added Tax (VAT) from the current five per cent to 10 per cent, describing the move as insensitive to the plight of Nigerians who are suffering from the bad economic policies of the President Mohammadu Buhari led All Progressives Congress (APC) government.
Vice President Yemi Osinbajo had said on Thursday, in Lagos that the current five per cent VAT rate in the country was very low, and went on to add that the Federal Government would increase the taxpayer base this year. Reacting through his Special Assistant on Public Communications and New Media, Lere Olayinka, Governor Fayose said any increment in VAT or any other tax being paid by Nigerians at this time will further make life unbearable for the people.

“Nigerians are suffering and the little that they have, federal government is planning to take back through VAT increment, this is wickedness! “Under three months, electricity tariff was increased despite epileptic power supply, N50 stamp duty was imposed on bank customers for money received into their accounts via electronic transfer, cash and cheques; petrol is being sold for as high as N400 per litre and now they are talking about increasing VAT to 10 per cent, this is the height of insensitivity to the plight of Nigerians,” he said.

The governor, who lamented the increase in the cost of living of Nigerians, occasioned by the bad economic policies of the Federal Government, said “even recent figures from the National Bureau of Statistics (NBS) revealed that prices of food have hit a record high and inflation is worsening.

“How can government be considering 100 per cent increment in VAT when businesses are folding up, prices of essential commodities have skyrocketed, millions of Nigerians are losing their jobs and those who are still employed are no longer getting paid regularly? “For even contemplating the increment of VAT at this difficult time shows that the Buhari-led government does not care about the welfare of the citizens and only God will save the poor masses from the hands of this government.”

Governor Fayose said rather than imposing more hardships on Nigerians, President Buhari should seek help from experts on how best to revive the country’s economy, adding that; “As at today, the Buhari-led government is yet to show that it has any clue to the revival of the economy.”

103 comments:

Yemi said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

Always looking for ways to castigate the president..
Weldone oo

Enugu's shoe maker

Bia nwokem concentrate on governing your state. Linda take note!

I agree with fayose on this one

Just leave them

cutestlove said...

Thank you Governor Fayose he has spoken well...thank God we have people like u that can speak for us...it is well.

Wat sort of change is dis

It's well

God help us.. More Instagram followers for you

Wise words Mr governor,buhari No feel change, is only know how to travel all over the world,nigeria problem is not concern him for now, is busy for personal tourist

God why this??? No now

Wise words Mr governor,buhari No feel change, is only know how to travel all over the world,nigeria problem is not concern him for now, is busy for personal tourist

Fayose thunder fire u dere 4 trying to smear campaign against diz administration foolish tout

debz said...

Ok enough of this nonsense..... what is wrong with this new leadership?????? This man that is suppose to feel d sufferings of d people who voted for him will just sit in his airforce one jetting to only god knows where and think of a way to punish us. Do u even have a heart??? I bet u all don't know how pained Nigerians are in this short period u assumed power. This is sad and pathetic

debz said...

Ok enough of this nonsense..... what is wrong with this new leadership?????? This man that is suppose to feel d sufferings of d people who voted for him will just sit in his airforce one jetting to only god knows where and think of a way to punish us. Do u even have a heart??? I bet u all don't know how pained Nigerians are in this short period u assumed power. This is sad and pathetic

FAYOSE IS SUPER RIGHT.
I HOPE MR.CLUELESS HEED TO THIS PIECE OF ADVISE.

Una eye don dey clear abi....laffing in.....

May God punish fayose the basket mouth and freeborn.
Change is here,who know want am should shut up.

Hmmmm!#Lindangwanu#

Nawa oo! Where's this country going to?

May God save and deliver Nigeria from buharians.
This is true there is no lie in it but they will fail.
Terrorist buhari should take it easy make thick food be enough for garri o
What reason will they increase it when they are the cause of nigerian predicament.
Every word of my governor my governor fayose is truth he don't lie.

Fayose is right but u can criticize him if u like

This Fayose is up to something... What does he want sef..? Before GMB even finish one sentence, Fayose Don attack am with paragraph.... Haba, is he the only pdp governor or maybe he is their unofficial spokesman...
His own too much

Somebody should tell Fayose to face his job in Ekiti where he is needed most not to use the little resources Ekiti has on propaganda, should pls get busy he is not PDP Publicity Secretary. When GEJ what did Nigerians inherit - Boko Haram, Fuel Scarcity, Dasukigate, Kidnapping etc we beg u leave Buhari alone. Talkactive Governor

Strongly agreed😐😐

Only you and FFK we have so far

Hmmmmmmm

Linda pls I don't understand diz "prove u r not a robot" syndrome dat has been bugging me since yterday

Why will they increase the tax when we have not benefitted from the past taxes paid. What basic amenities and infrastructures has been put in place to improve the living standards of the average nigerian?? Now they want us to pay more??? Mschweee

PrettyChi said...

U will live long my Governor ( Fayose)

Hmmmmm!!!!!!! From frying pan to fire. Senseless buhari, clueless administration. God help us

God will punish him nd co.
I will pray for 4giveness leta.

God go punish buhari and his government

tsalz c.e.o said...

Chain! Chain!! Chain!!!

This gorilla won't face his state and quit worrying abt the federal government..all he does is attack buhari and his policies but for once buhari never responds to his accusations..isn't that message clearly sent that he is not relevant??

chommy said...

It's true o, he wan kill us. Linda observe!

Very true,buhari is so confused

Definition of Buhari. Means hardship, poverty, Hunger, difficulty, bad policy, unemployment , persecution, and death. Isisstandwithbuhari. Original comment from C. E. O.

For the very FIRST TIME I agree with fayose!

Fact in issue

Fayose, well said. The Hardship in the country is too much and Buhari needs a good economic team to be handle the Economic situation in this country. The masses are suffering and things have just gone haywire haywire in a twinkle of an eye. He should please do something fast before the masses begin to revoke and protest. Don't push them to the wall before you start doing something meaningful to the country. Enough is Enough, Burahi

Fayose shut up and face your state. Go and pay your workers salary. Idiot

Ekiti State Governor, Mr Ayodele Fayose, Please how do we generate fund for the provision of services, when una don chop all the money finish during PDP era? This man is talking nonsense.

May God,Almighty continue to bless you,Gov.fayose..buhari has really dealt wit us,may he never have peace for deceiving, Nigerians with his Negative change,

I dont listen to Fayose ever since he threatened to kill Aluko's wife and children and forced him in a video to pretend that all is well with them. Fayose you should actually be burying your ugly head in shame. Shameless tout.

Pity
-D great anonymous now a Vivian Reginalds

Nawa o,this APC govt na real scam, thank God I never voted for any of them.

is Nigeria now operating a one party system that PDP cannot oppose APC decisions, which is throwing the country into terrible hardship? why is PDP so silence - are they afraid of APC or is the PDP dead? Apart from Governor Fayose, no one from comments on the bad state of the nation. Mr. President, note that these are the Nigerians that vote you into power and another election will come again. APC do what you people like but note that you cannot fool us twice.

FAYOSE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!BASTARD

I think it's high time u kept quiet

Yetty k said...

Fayose can u just do without talkin 4 a day

I tire ooo

Adaobi said...

Buhari's government is synonymous with barrenness.. Ekwensu people

GBAM

no1nigeria said...

a good way of sucking peoples money

God have mercy!!!!! LLA

PomPom said...

Seriously i'm tired of this government. God Pls heal our land.

Am beginin to love fayose.. bbuhari is just clueless,in active and dumb. Am jst so mad at dis govt. Apc is my party but I no longer trust them. Scam of a party. Change my ass!

I support u fayose for once, this buhari government is a total wicked government. How can u increase vat, so who will buy the goods and services? They are bent on destroying this country if they increase vat, for once, I will consider relocating out of Nigeria

We don hear u... dee

Fayose for President come 2019.

#fuck this government!!! #clueless

Well said by the lion.

My president I voted for you the company I'm working with have closed down. And I'm doing nothing. God help my country Nigeria...

Hana said...

Hmmmm......
Na change we dey
Cursed be unto you Buhari
Since you came into office...its been hardship all the way
Do you realize there are poor mass n ur tryn to increase the number
Uv been busy traveln ur not payn attention to the needs of the nation
Addn more hardship with no result in developed nations its vice versa
If u knew u had no + plans why take position....u must die ooo..evil man
When Mama Peace cried they dint listen dey sud suffer in chains!!!!!
Bs....

Miss Freeborn!!

Safarigal said...

In Kenya we pay 16% VAT. 10 is nothing..

Na waoo

SMALL CHOPS EMPIRE 08031156936. said...

They should continue o, till Nigerians take to the street. This government is becoming inconsiderate. No increase in Salary and standard of living is high. What kind of a messed up country is this? Why do they think they deserve a penny (tax) from me? On infrastructure, Electricity, Water,Fuel and the list goes on and on. God please help Nigeria!

It is Well with Nigeria. To be better, one has to pass through fire, and hardship. Things will get better by God's grace

Every Buhari in ur life, die by fire! #Buharimustdie

Fayose,u talk too much.gosh

this guy called fayose is a noisemaker,, will u please shut that ur leaking mouth and face how ekiti is gonna be okey or do u think that's the best u can do for ur peeps? fool

Are u suggesting we pay it like d Kenyans ? Screw u😨

And Yetty K can't go a day without hating him for saying the truth.

Well said my governor. Buhari shuld resign ooo

You're a fool for saying that!

Hark you're nothing but a dick head!

It's so unfortunate that gullible Nigerians bought the Change scam of APC because the party is full of nothing but power drunk and greedy individuals.

Yemi, this is not a case of whatever!!! Fayose is so damn right!!! This government is so insensitive!!!

Fayose is making a lot of sense.
Castigate ko, Castigate ni.... Fayose seems to be on of the few speaking out for the masses, unafraid of dictator Buhari.

Fayose is right!

Buhari clueless change

Governor by wuruwuru shut up. Life is not just about chicken and rice. Let's build a country Obama rebuilt US economy not by distributing stomach infrastructure. What alternative do you have stop being a Nigeria Republican party all about obstruction and no alternative.

akpa-ose said...

Well said fayose buhari is nothing but a dead brain

Shut up you goat. Do you realise the implications of increasing vat to 10%. If you had sense you won't even wait for Fayose to speak first.

FG PLANS TO INCREASE TAXPAYERS' VAT BASE AND NOT VAT RATE
A TAX BASE IS THE TOTAL AMOUNT OF REVENUE OR ASSET THAT A GOVT. CAN TAX. IT DEALS WITH THE COVERAGE AREA/SCOPE OF TAX. IT IS A MEASURE UPON WHICH THE ASSESSMENT OR DETERMINATION OF TAX LIABILITY IS BASED.
ON THE OTHER HAND, A TAX RATE IS SIMPLY THE PERCENTAGE WHICH AN INDIVIDUAL OR CORPORATION IS TAXED E.G 5%.
WHAT THE FG SIMPLY PLANS TO DO IS TO INCREASE THE SCOPE OF VAT AND NOT THE VAT RATE WHICH CURRENTLY STANDS AT 5%. THE IMPLICATION OF THAT ACTION IS THAT MORE ITEMS WILL NOW BE VATABLE AS AGAINST INCREASING THE VAT RATE AS ERRONEOUSLY, GLIBLY AND MISCHIEVOUSLY POSTULATED BY FAYOSE.
CHECK OUT THIS INTERESTING STATISTICS ABOUT TAX BASE :
IN YEAR 2014, NIGERIA WITH A POPULATION OF 170M PEOPLE & GDP OF $535B COLLECTED A TAX OF $26B. IN A SHARP CONTRAST, SOUTH AFRICA WITH A POPULATION OF 54M PPLE & GDP OF $350B RAKED IN $70B FROM TAXES. FROM THE FOREGOING, IT IS CRYSTAL CLEAR THAT IF ONLY WE CAN WIDEN OUR TAX BASE, WE DO NOT NEED TO INCREASE TAX RATE TO INCREASE OUR TAX REVENUES .
MY ADVICE TO FAYOSE
HE SEEMS TO BE THE MOST IDLE GOVERNOR IN NIGERIA. LITTLE WONDER, HE IS UNABLE TO PAY THE WORKERS IN EKITI STATE FOR ABOUT 4MTHS. IF HE FEELS HE CAN DO BETTER THAN THE EMBATTLED SPOKESPERSON OF PDP WHO IS CURRENTLY ON TRIAL AND UNSURE OF HIS FATE, HE CAN RESIGN HIS POSITION AS GOVERNOR AND VIE FOR THE POSITION OF THE PUBLICITY SECRETARY OF PDP IN THE FORTHCOMING CONVENTION. AFTERALL, HE HAS SPENT MORE TIME COMMENTING ON NATIONAL ISSUES ON WHICH HE HAS A WARPED LITTLE OR NO KNOWLEDGE ON, INSTEAD OF CONCENTRATING ON GOVERNANCE IN EKITI STATE

Same man �� who imposes tax on all non working,100% dependent kindergartens in all Ekiti private schools is taking.... Only hooligan like him listens to him.

Dick head hhmmmm nop ass hole he is

God bless you governor,fire on we dey ur back gidigba

the said Gov Ayodele Fayose is NAIVE, theren is different between incresing Tax BASE and Tax RATE, the vice president said they will increase the Tax Base And Not Tax Rate

King Deric said...

Well said. my opinion, I think Buhari has forgotten the main reason he was elected and with the way things are and the going rate of poverty crime will soon be the nest destination for the youth. How on earth will a visionary leader ever think of that at this time of economical crisis. Are we moving forward or years behind.

@michael adedoyin well said. Fayose is an illiterate fool. This is what happens when you vote a tout into government that knows nothing about governing a state not to talk of federal. He is a disgrace to Ekiti.

Fayose if you do not understand accounting terms, ask questions. They said they will increase tax base not tax rate. No wonder you have only OND. You are not even a graduate. Maybe you should go back to the motor park as a hoodlum where you belong. There many learnered charttered accounts from Ekiti state. Why not hire one to advise you on financial matters instead of coming to the public to expose your incompetence and disgrace your stupid self all the time. Ode

Well said fayose. Buhari doesnt have a sense of leadership. A true leader will want to revivehis country when things are going bad. All this northerners that keep supporting buhari very soon you will start drinking your blood as water when the hardship becomes very bad

Fayose for President...

#SajBabaFayo!!!

Shut up. You are equally as ignorant as your tout brother, Fayose. If you dont understand something, ask questions. They are talking about tax base here not tax rate. Ode