The spokesperson of the Federal Ministry of Health, Boade Akinola, in a statement released today, said that there is no recorded case of the disease in Nigeria.
“The Honourable Minister of Health, Professor Isaac Folorunso Adewole is intimating Nigerians on the recent outbreak of. Zika virus infection, which was first discovered in Brazil in 2014. The virus is transmitted by a bite of mosquito vector. The manifestation of Zika virus infection include: mild fever, rash (mostly maculo-papular), headaches, joint pain (arthralgia), muscle pain (myalgia), loss of weight (asthenia), and non-purulent conjunctivitis. The virus is also associated with higher risk of congenital malformations in newborn when pregnant women are affected. The disease usually occurs about three (3) to twelve (12) days after the mosquito vector bite. The World Health Organisation has raised a global alert because the disease has affected about 23 countries in Americas especially in Latin America. At the moment, there is no cure or vaccine for Zika virus infection. The federal ministry of health hereby advises a travel restriction especially by pregnant women to Latin America for now until situation improves. In addition, the honourable minister of health has directed Nigeria Center for Disease Control (NCDC) to include Zika virus diagnosis as part of ongoing effort to manage Lassa Fever outbreak in the country. Prof Adewole, therefore urges Nigerians to be vigilant and report promptly any case of unexplained fever that is more than 48 hours, especially in those with recent travels to Latin America, to health care professionals. He also enjoined those working at various port of entry into the country to interview anyone coming from any of the Latin American countries for evidence Zika virus symptoms. In conclusion, the minister assures Nigerian that there is no single case of Zika virus infection in the country and there is no need to panic. The federal ministry of health will continue to monitor the situation and update Nigerians of any other developments. Women in Brazil have already been advised not to get pregnant in the next two years"the statement read
65 comments:
I hope they listen
Alright
I HOPE THEY LISTEN?
MEENAH_WAKIL ON INSTAGRAM
I HOPE THEY LISTEN?
MEENAH_WAKIL ON INSTAGRAM
Na wa o.
Nawa
May God help us... This situation of new diseases unavailing from animals is becoming unbearable.
Owk
PEPSI ADDICT
God save us
Call me goggle boi
Enter your comment...ok na
Odikwa very serious ooooo, noted
A word is enough for the wise.
I pray we never experience such in ds country where the mosquitoes are more than the humans in it.
Lady with class#
Thanks for the info
expectant mothers take note
that Imo boy
UNBELIEVABLE!!! SEE WHAT THIS
FEMALE UNIVERSITY GRADUATE IS
DOING TO HER SELF CLICK HERE TO
WATCH VIDEO NOW!
Hmmmm God will save
Noted...Aunty Linda next
Milez
DISEASES HERE AND THERE. BABA GOD DO PROTECT UR CHILDREN.
Oooooooooooo!! Everyday another story.. End of the system of things.Chineke zoputa umu gi ooo#Lindangwanu#
Lord help us
For their own good
Nawa o
WOOW THANKS FOR THE NOTICE.
I MISSED YOU AUNTY LINDA....
Zika pls stay where ever u are we dnt nid u here in nig,,aunty lassa is enof
LINDA NOTIFY DBANJ
I pray they listen oh.They shouldn't spoil our chances of getting correct pregnancy when the time is due abeg.
Nigerian immigration @ airports must wake up.Every woman coming into the country be it Nigerian, black and white must be properly screened.We dunno the tour the did before they decided to come into our country .A repeat of Patrick sawyer must never happen mbok
ok
all manner of evil ailment on face of the earth,Lord have mercy
Ok...it's well
the virus is really bad can cause congenital anomalies
God help us all. Linda take note!
Noted !!!
% Linda your Greatest Fan %
Serious matter shah....
Ebola,lassa,zika na wa
Ozoooooeeeeeemeeeennnnaaaa
Ozoemena
Hia! This sh**t is scary mehn! Please ladies don't travel to those places o, before you go born monster.
God have mercy.
May it not happen again ooo
Nothing wey person no go hear.
Ok! I will tell somebody that knows somebody that knows somebody and that somebody finally knows one somebody so that they will be aware.. God abeg ooo!!
he he he... Just imagine that your stingy and rude, rich aunty travelling to LAtin America to go born and coming back with this kind of baby... shuu..
swaag... but why
OMG God help us!!!
Hehehe not to get pregnant in d next two yrs ke can brazillians contain dat? Anywayz tanks for d info
God save us 4rm all dis sickness
Enter your comment...end time diseases. Jay-b
WHICH KIND OF A THING IS THIS.
make in hear oh
Don't bring zika here again o. Asap
D world is coming to an end.....endtime zika
Na wa oo...as if someone is unleashing diseases across the globe. God help us!
take note....angelmakiz@yahoo.com
GOOD ONE FROM THE MINISTER. THAT VIRUS HAS BEEN SAID TO BE EASILY CONTRACTED BY TRAVELERS. SO EVEN TRAVELING RIGHT NOW IS DISCOURAGED
Hmm, God should help us oo with all these diseases everywhere.
nah wa ooo
OK....thanks u sir
Awwww
Disaster everywhere... now is d time to get closer to God than ever
Oloriawhy
Oloriawhy
Na wa o
It is well o.
Linda Abeg o
This is end time things ooooo.may God protect us
God abeg oooo no let dis zika virus enter Nigeria cos nobody go survive oooo,this one mosquito full everywhere in 9ja
God abeg oooo no let dis zika virus enter Nigeria cos nobody go survive oooo. This one mosquito full everywhere in 9ja