Health Minister warns pregnant Nigerian women against traveling to Latin America over outbreak of Zika Virus | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 29 January 2016

Health Minister warns pregnant Nigerian women against traveling to Latin America over outbreak of Zika Virus

The Minister of Health, Professor Isaac Adewole has warned pregnant Nigerian women against traveling to Latin America over the recent outbreak of a strange viral disease known as Zika which is transmitted by a certain class of Mosquito. The strange disease causes babies to have abnormally small heads and growth difficulties.

The spokesperson of the Federal Ministry of Health, Boade Akinola, in a statement released today, said that there is no recorded case of the disease in Nigeria.
“The Honourable Minister of Health, Professor Isaac Folorunso Adewole is intimating Nigerians on the recent outbreak of. Zika virus infection, which was first discovered in Brazil in 2014. The virus is transmitted by a bite of mosquito vector. The manifestation of Zika virus infection include: mild fever, rash (mostly maculo-papular), headaches, joint pain (arthralgia), muscle pain (myalgia), loss of weight (asthenia), and non-purulent conjunctivitis. The virus is also associated with higher risk of congenital malformations in newborn when pregnant women are affected. The disease usually occurs about three (3) to twelve (12) days after the mosquito vector bite. The World Health Organisation has raised a global alert because the disease has affected about 23 countries in Americas especially in Latin America. At the moment, there is no cure or vaccine for Zika virus infection. The federal ministry of health hereby advises a travel restriction especially by pregnant women to Latin America for now until situation improves. In addition, the honourable minister of health has directed Nigeria Center for Disease Control (NCDC) to include Zika virus diagnosis as part of ongoing effort to manage Lassa Fever outbreak in the country. Prof Adewole, therefore urges Nigerians to be vigilant and report promptly any case of unexplained fever that is more than 48 hours, especially in those with recent travels to Latin America, to health care professionals. He also enjoined those working at various port of entry into the country to interview anyone coming from any of the Latin American countries for evidence Zika virus symptoms. In conclusion, the minister assures Nigerian that there is no single case of Zika virus infection in the country and there is no need to panic. The federal ministry of health will continue to monitor the situation and update Nigerians of any other developments. Women in Brazil have already been advised not to get pregnant in the next two years"the statement read

65 comments:

I hope they listen

Alright

I HOPE THEY LISTEN?

MEENAH_WAKIL ON INSTAGRAM

I HOPE THEY LISTEN?

MEENAH_WAKIL ON INSTAGRAM

S L I M M Z said...

Na wa o.

Nawa

May God help us... This situation of new diseases unavailing from animals is becoming unbearable.

Owk

PEPSI ADDICT

Goggleboy said...

God save us

Call me goggle boi

baba said...

Enter your comment...ok na

Odikwa very serious ooooo, noted

Andy sneh said...

A word is enough for the wise.

I pray we never experience such in ds country where the mosquitoes are more than the humans in it.

Lady with class#

Thanks for the info

expectant mothers take note

that Imo boy

UNBELIEVABLE!!! SEE WHAT THIS
FEMALE UNIVERSITY GRADUATE IS
DOING TO HER SELF CLICK HERE TO
WATCH VIDEO NOW!

Hmmmm God will save

Noted...Aunty Linda next

Milez

DISEASES HERE AND THERE. BABA GOD DO PROTECT UR CHILDREN.

Oooooooooooo!! Everyday another story.. End of the system of things.Chineke zoputa umu gi ooo#Lindangwanu#

JAYZSBOSS said...

Lord help us

For their own good

Nawa o

WOOW THANKS FOR THE NOTICE.

I MISSED YOU AUNTY LINDA....

DBANJ CRUSH said...

Zika pls stay where ever u are we dnt nid u here in nig,,aunty lassa is enof

LINDA NOTIFY DBANJ

I pray they listen oh.They shouldn't spoil our chances of getting correct pregnancy when the time is due abeg.
Nigerian immigration @ airports must wake up.Every woman coming into the country be it Nigerian, black and white must be properly screened.We dunno the tour the did before they decided to come into our country .A repeat of Patrick sawyer must never happen mbok

ok

all manner of evil ailment on face of the earth,Lord have mercy

Ok...it's well

SolangeD said...

the virus is really bad can cause congenital anomalies

God help us all. Linda take note!

Noted !!!
% Linda your Greatest Fan %

Serious matter shah....

Ebola,lassa,zika na wa

Ozoooooeeeeeemeeeennnnaaaa

Ozoemena

Hia! This sh**t is scary mehn! Please ladies don't travel to those places o, before you go born monster.

God have mercy.

May it not happen again ooo

Nothing wey person no go hear.

kween Bee said...

Ok! I will tell somebody that knows somebody that knows somebody and that somebody finally knows one somebody so that they will be aware.. God abeg ooo!!

swaag said...

he he he... Just imagine that your stingy and rude, rich aunty travelling to LAtin America to go born and coming back with this kind of baby... shuu..

swaag... but why

OMG God help us!!!

Hehehe not to get pregnant in d next two yrs ke can brazillians contain dat? Anywayz tanks for d info

God save us 4rm all dis sickness

Enter your comment...end time diseases. Jay-b

QUI OO. said...

WHICH KIND OF A THING IS THIS.

make in hear oh

moss said...

Don't bring zika here again o. Asap

D world is coming to an end.....endtime zika

Nkemy said...

Na wa oo...as if someone is unleashing diseases across the globe. God help us!

take note....angelmakiz@yahoo.com

GOOD ONE FROM THE MINISTER. THAT VIRUS HAS BEEN SAID TO BE EASILY CONTRACTED BY TRAVELERS. SO EVEN TRAVELING RIGHT NOW IS DISCOURAGED

Hmm, God should help us oo with all these diseases everywhere.

nah wa ooo

OK....thanks u sir

Awwww

gold said...

Disaster everywhere... now is d time to get closer to God than ever

Oloriawhy

Oloriawhy

Na wa o

EKIN ROYALE [LORD PLS PICK UP MY CALL] said...

It is well o.
Linda Abeg o

This is end time things ooooo.may God protect us

God abeg oooo no let dis zika virus enter Nigeria cos nobody go survive oooo,this one mosquito full everywhere in 9ja

God abeg oooo no let dis zika virus enter Nigeria cos nobody go survive oooo. This one mosquito full everywhere in 9ja