Teenager narrates how she was gang raped by her 3 most trusted friends | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 20 June 2015

Teenager narrates how she was gang raped by her 3 most trusted friends

3 friends Habeeb Adisa (25), Kehinde Aderinoye (25) and Ilyas Ogundimu (27) raped one of their female neighbours, a young woman,who was a close friends. This incident happened in a neighbourhood in Iju area of Lagos.

The victim, 19-year-old Adenike (not real name), a hair stylist, said she summoned the courage to speak about her ordeal because she did not want the3 friends to go free and do the same to someone else.

Narrating how she was violated by the three men whom she trusted most in their neighbourhood, Adenike said that there was no way she could have suspected that within the 2 years she had known them, that those 3 could have ever done what they did to her.
Calmly, but with a lot of anger and pain showing in her eyes, Adenike said,
“I became friends with them as neighbours two years ago when my mother first rented an apartment in the area.
ADVERTISEMENT
“Kehinde began to make advances to me. But I told him we were friends and did not want to be in a relationship with him. I have always rejected his advances.
“Later he would tell Habeeb and Ilyas to approach me to appeal on his behalf to accept his proposal, but I made them to understand that I could not go out with him. But we still talked and sat together in the neighbourhood as friends.”
Adisa
Unknown to Adenike, the gentle disposition of her three friends was just a façade for the plan they had hatched on how to sexually assault her.
On Wednesday, June 17, 2015, an opportunity presented itself for the rapist friends to put their plan to work.
Adenike said,
“In the morning of that day, around 9.30am, I went over to Kehinde’s house like I usually did sometimes when I had nothing to do at home. I trusted them completely and usually went there to while away the time.
“Habeeb and Ilyas were there also. We were just talking when Habeeb suddenly came to me and picked me up. He threw me on the bed and I told him that I didn’t like that kind of play. I said, ‘If this is part of your playful habit I am not up for it.’
“But as he threw me on the bed, before I could stand up, he lay on me and pinned me down firmly. Kehinde quickly came over and started to remove my underwear. That was when I knew what they wanted to do. I struggled with them but they pinned me down and took turns to rape me.
“When I was screaming, one of them quickly went to the CD player, which was on at the time and turned on the music to maximum volume so that it would drown out my voice.”
When they finished, the three friends smiled at what they had done. They told Adenike to pretend that what happened to her was a mere sexual encounter.
“They told me to just forget what happened and keep it between the four of us. But I realised that if I was afraid of stigma and kept it to myself, they would walk free and even boast to their friends about what they did to me. They would surely do it to someone else,” Adenike said.
Bruised and battered, Adenike summoned the courage to approach someone she trusted in the neighbourhood and narrated what happened to her. She was immediately advised to go to the Iju Police Division and report the incident.
As soon as she reported, some landlords in the area rose in the men’s defence.
Adenike’s mother said that because the parents of the rapists are landlords in the area, they first threatened her that if she decided to make the issue a police case, she would lose.
But on Thursday, after the police had arrested the suspects, Punch correspondent witnessed as families of the culprits and other residents of the area came out to the police station to beg Adenike’s mother.
Adenike’s case highlights the increasing incidence of sexual offences in Nigeria, where majority of sexual offences go unreported.
On Friday, the spokesperson for the Lagos State Police Command, Mr. Kenneth Nwosu, said  that the suspects had been charged to court.

Source: Punch

128 comments:

Oh! Wht a shame...

To all our muslim brothers, and sisters on LIB, I pray all ur heart desires come to pass during dis period of Ramadhan.

Long live Linda Ikeji, and all LIB reader's.

Good.

I hope no one here will be foolish enough to say she didn't do the right thing.

Boys,men,NO MEANS NO!!

ogeee said...

Stupid boys raping a young lady like dat,well justice must prevail

Dis tins often happens frequently dat d innocent ladies fall victims to dis act committed by jobless heartless young men. Thank God she summoned courage to report d case.

To all our muslim brothers, and sisters on LIB, I pray all ur heart desires come to pass during dis period of Ramadhan.

Stupid guys but the girl too dumb, how can u go to a guy's house after u did not accept his proposal

AQO said...

Hmmm. Trust no one.

Roman! said...

Sad..Why rape..its the most senseless thing a guy can do

They must not ho unpunished. ...

Adenike, such a pretty name. Continue to be brave. Get into counseling and the proper care to help you recover from the trauma.

YUSUF BUHARI BABE said...

O ga o.. Ds is a world in which u can trust nobody bt ur damn self!!! Even friend bcs enemies nd family bcms evil.. God save us

That babe will never have female frnds again thats a fact.....

Her case is one in a million cases of rape out there. I Hope the idiots are made to pay for their crimes.

this act of raping is increasing every day, if you're a rapist get ready for prison.

nonye said...

Wat an ordeal! Can't imagine d pain dis lady most hv gone thru not to mention the fear of infections.

beasts!!! look at their faces!!

MISSVEE

Yoruba people and rape. Na wah ooo

These guys shud be dealt with seriously...This is so wrong

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

Lovely end of story. This shld serve as warning 2 young girls who still insist on being very close friends to guys who hav made advances @ them. Pls know your limits cos strange things happen dis days. I almost was a victim of an ordeal like dis, but thanks to the mercies of God I escaped.

luvmybaby said...

Nice one,let dem pay for their 5mins madness

Stupid pple, let dem spend 14yrs in jail n may after dat der heads wl correct

Gosh......I read dis story word by Word, people are just terrible.....pls d lady should go for check up,to know weda dis sick lookin idiots has infected her with any diseases....pls we Ladies should be careful,cos dis same tin can happen to anyone

She did good by reporting them. No one should ever hide an abuse of any sort.

My dear, u did the right thing by takin the case to court..the rapist must definately pay for their crime they committed...

But why?

shybae said...

No need of court order has been passed ikoyi straight

elo tasha said...

wrong place to while your time away,pls ask God for mercy and healing....

elo tasha said...

wrong place to while your time away,pls ask God for mercy and healing....

The police better do somthing or she could have gone to de ministry of women affairs in Alausa block 18 2nd floor

Bosslady said...

Very good... Let them rot in jail... Bastards!!!

what a pity....those boys should be dealt with seriously.

Yes!!! The courage to speak out will set u free and d wicked will neva go unpunished

Adetunji Saka said...

God bless u Adenike for summoning courage to expose those useless godforsaken bastards. I have said it before let there be tough punishment like this, perhaps life imprisonment. This guys deserve to be behind bars for life...heartless.

"All lizards crawl, we dont know the one with stomach ache"

wendywendy said...

very lame niggahs

COLLIN said...

The first one looks lyk bovi's younger brother

Na wah! Evil, callous and wicked friends. So sad they betray their friendship with her. May the hands of the law fall heavily on them.

May their penis rot and fall off while they rot in jail and may the fleas of a thousand camels infect their armpit

No one is to be trusted.... God will heal your wound....m

Hmmmm nawah! Tins can hapun oO

*lib's namesake*

Life in prison. Play play Don turn rubbish. My daughter is not allowed to be too casual with boys that are not her family. Niggers think with their dicks.

Trendyify said...

Animals, thats what they are, ndi ofe nmanu, they should better rot in jail

it is well............

TONIA GREEN said...

Sorry young lady. If you want to preserve yourself, don't be in a room alone with him/them. Don't be too carefree to say you trust. You don't just trust blindly. Trust is earned.
Now see. . .

❤❤❤ THE PROPHETESS

Very good for them,idiots bastards.They will also rape their own daughters.

Faith Eze's Blog said...

Mumu girl,u carry urself enter lion's den in d name of I did not know,take back seat jor
#jstpassinsha#

See their stupid looking Yoruba faces.. Ur mates r doing things to change the world u guys are here rapid. Bastards

Amycool cyril said...

stone-hearted human beings, they should be brought to book.

Useless boys..May God punish dem.devilish souls.

Ziaman said...

You might want to make correction to this " a young woman,who was a close friends". First paragraph.

Charles White said...

Very disgusting and myopic comment. Must ethnicity always be a factor. If you lack an informed opinion, stfu

They should b lock up, and d keys thrown into d lagoon never to b seen again. I hope dis serve as deterrent to others.

Its so bad! Bt serious what our youths are feeding with their minds, its so bad, naked girls. Every where and easy access to porn movies! D media too isn't helping! Those boyz are evil

Golda Awosika said...

Wow, ppl she knew for close to 3yrs,im glad punishment for rape is nw life imprisonment. Since dey had d courage to rape, dey shud ve d mind for prison

This is bad! Instead of going to a friend's house to while away time as early as 9:30am, why not read your books....

I love that courage!

Useless animals...

As much as I admire the comments of many here shunning the inhuman and uncivilized acts by those 3 nut heads, some few block heads still amaze me when they post tribalistic and segregational comments when serious issues are laid on d table. Trust me, if they have better instruments than words to show hatred, they would use it without a second thought. Hmmmmmm! I pray n hope the law takes its normal course in dis matter.

Those guys should be castrated

Thank you Priest god Bless You sir

*LIBers Correction Master*

Ruby said...

Don't even start all that judgemental, high moral, self righteous bull crap talk..
..Dont !!!

She did the right thing reporting them, but she didn't do the right thing mingling with them and going to his house to stay and gist with the three of them despite the fact that she bruised his ego by rejecting his advances. Ladies wisen up! You don't visit men in private places. If you do, then pls don't complain when you find what you're looking for

Sarah said...

Trust nobody fa. See useless parents too!
I ll love to knw whn ds demons r sentenced to life in prison.

Dis. Ur gramma! What's ur main point! U be patrick ni

Ruby said...

Silence is the best answer for fools like you faithesco...

Dats it. ..dnt b afraid of d stigma dey shld pay 4 dier stupidity. ..

@Tosin did u read the story line Very Well???

I gess not . Plz kindly read tru again ad drop a beta reasnable comment .

*LIBers Correction Master*

Irresponsible animals!

Sorry dear. Be wiser next time. As for the guys, dey would meet their Waterloo soon. Linda take note!

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix & my email address is (julie3er@gmail.com). Linda take note!

They should luck the 3 shameless boys up for life.

Gud 4dem!
D saying goes ..never trust a damn person

Theresa urateh#password ish#

Life full of fake and devilish peoples,but before you judge them make sure you are not one of them...#ThinkAboutIt

LA' SUNSHINE said...

Even family members be very cafeful. I have a friend who was molested by her uncle but she couldn't say anything to her parent because she felt they won't believe her.

I wont jump into conclusion bt its nt fair 2 show dia faces unless if dey av be convicted or u hear d two parties side's story.. sorry to say our girls too can use dis medium 2 blackmail dis guys

what kind of girl stays alone in a room with three guys....let alone one whose proposal she turned down?..those guys should be dealt with ...but if you had been listening to your parents and our culture ...and not forming 'social babe' ..you probably wouldnt be in this situation #TheTruthIsBitter

Tri. said...

You're obviously an unsympathetic sadistic retarded numbskull. You should be sorry for yourself.

Nma said...

Tnk God that she ave the courage to report them. Buh next tym if u dnt need sm1 dnt go too close to them. If u reject sm1 reject him/her completely

frank said...

Keeping a girl as ur best friend is like keeping a chicken as ur pet, one day u will surly eat it

Y are yorubas always engaged in sex offences ... Thats an offence for weaklings ... if u wanna commit an offence like a man gather mind go carry drugs and stop causing pain to innocent pple ... Yoruba is a disgusting tribe

Jeremiah 17:5
it is a curse to trust ur fellow human being......................
As for the guys life imprisonment all the way

So so bad! But I wonder why You are always going to his Room?

Dey were never her friends den

Tribalistic bigot, you're one of the reasons Nigeria is stale minded, biko euthanize yourself and do your country a favour

that should serve as lesson to young ladies who pay unnecessary visits to young men, Islam forbids female to stay under a closed door with opposite sex, if that is observed those stupid guys will not hav suc unwarranted opportunity, ladies should avoid seclusion with men, even if the guy promises to marry u, so far u are not ready to hav sex with him. and if we suggest death sentence for this type of offence some ple even ladies will still make comment against it, may God save us, if any man or boy does this to my sister, I wiil matchet the person to death, I will not mind arrest or my death after this.

Noah snr said...

Plz next time frighten them that you r infected with HIV.......

that should serve as lesson to young ladies who pay unnecessary visits to young men, Islam forbids female to stay under a closed door with opposite sex, if that is observed those stupid guys will not hav suc unwarranted opportunity, ladies should avoid seclusion with men, even if the guy promises to marry u, so far u are not ready to hav sex with him. and if we suggest death sentence for this type of offence some ple even ladies will still make comment against it, may God save us, if any man or boy does this to my sister, I wiil matchet the person to death, I will not mind arrest or my death after this.

You must be very stupid for such statement....u re part of the problem we have in nigeria. How dare you make such comment about a whole culture, gosh!!! Igbo's r d most tribalistic pple ever.....When you go around and use your entire family for money rituals. Dont even start what you can't handle.

Y? Isn't dat a dumb statement? Did she ask to b raped?

Here u go again, another sick-minded Nigerian

Mr Isaiah can u speak English well? Can't it b a typographical error? Re u prefect? So upon all d whole story u still had time 4 typographical error,Ur a goat! & at d end of d Day d Olodo boy might nt b able 2 speak good English o

They must be punished!!!

You're just being silly and very unreasonable!
I have been waiting for a comment like yours.. blaming the girl for the animalistic behaviors of unfortunate people she trusted. No is No! Doesn't mean we should be enemies. Because a girl says No to you... shouldn't make you an animal ann your friends too. she had no fault. She went to visit a friend she had known for 2 yrs... his stupid friends happened to be there.. and they carried out their evil act. may they rot in jail. God bless you adenike for speaking out. You'll be fine dear! *hugs*

You're just being silly and very unreasonable!
I have been waiting for a comment like yours.. blaming the girl for the animalistic behaviors of unfortunate people she trusted. No is No! Doesn't mean we should be enemies. Because a girl says No to you... shouldn't make you an animal ann your friends too. she had no fault. She went to visit a friend she had known for 2 yrs... his stupid friends happened to be there.. and they carried out their evil act. may they rot in jail. God bless you adenike for speaking out. You'll be fine dear! *hugs*

I don't even know why men rape women.Real men don't rape,you toast women and they give it to you wholeheartedly.Sex is not worth it.I wish that this happened in a developed country and they will rot in jail

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Idiots like you are the ones who blame victims. Stop victimising the victims

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Never been more proud of my fellow naija babe. She did the right thing

Rape is a terrible thing.i was in a very similar situation almost 15years ago.i still had flashbacks 3 days ago.it traumatizes you for life.in my case,I couldn't get them charged and convicted but they got very good beatings.after a few months,I bumped into one of them who cried and begged for my forgiveness in public.i felt so sick just by looking at him and I just walked off and left him to battle with his conscience.that singular act changed my life,but instead of me to keep giving it power over my life,I decided to take charge and not let it drown me.i consider myself a strong woman and I trust in God to keep giving m d strength.Rape is a TERRIBLE thing!!! You would be suprised at d amount of beautiful successful women who are carrying baggage bcos of animals like these.they should be sent to prison for life!!

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Stupid. There's no way of ever knowing. A lot of people have turned down make advances and proceeded to be Jst friends and haven't been raped. She was Jst unfortunate to have kept animals as friends

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Mercy for what exactly?

Real men don't rape women,they toast them and they submit.I wish that this happened in a sane/developed country,life jail straight

ASAMPOKOTO said...

#stopvictimblaming.

ASAMPOKOTO said...

She could have easily been raped on the road, at a party, in church. Anywhere

ASAMPOKOTO said...

fucking idiot. Hopefully you don't get raped. Be you a man or woman, may they not penetrate you forcefully. Ewu!

Must you comment?

So it's her fault now? What an idiot

They raped u without pointing a weapon at u or u enjoyed it?

eberechris said...

animals!

So an evil act is now associated with a tribe? What an un intelligent mind

Just as disgusting as you are. You are obviously a being with a low self esteem and a low IQ. When did a crime become tribal et.al? You are one who will cry nuts about whites being racist. You need to build up your self esteem.

So sad. The guys should be punished. The lesson for other young ladies out there, Dogs do not fraternize with leopards.

Really, U think committing a higher level of crime is an option? what a stupid way of thinking......

Stupid boys!

i dey believe u bro ... If u carry drugs and get caught thats ur own life u hv ruined and u will face the consequences, no man will carry ur cross just u .. but raping an innocent girl 4 bois for that matter .. damn for me thats a higher crime , who knows if they aint infected plus the trauma they hv caused the girl ... Boys who rape are weak

@ anon 3.08 ... U are stupid for calling drugs a higher crime ... If it were ur sis or mother will u still refer drugs as a higher crime.. am pretty sure u are a rapist idiot

Tribalistic or not, yes the crime of selling drugs as a hustling businessman is nowhere near as depraved or lowly as rape. @Anon 3:08
This is a fact. Only weaklings and mentally challenged people assault and rape women. So this cannot be compared to doing risky business. Just as all sins are equal in god's eyes, but human beings give out 4 year sentence for theft and 21 year sentence for murder. So there are levels. Get that straight.

Adigun did the commenter tell you he was ibo? You are even more stupid and tribalistic.

Why

I dunno o. Rape happens everywhere and it's nt a tribal thing. For ibos remember the abia state rape. It's something that should be condemned not attributed to tribes. And some people r even baffling me the more by blaming the girl.

I'm ibo and I dnt like when people talk like this. We all know deep within us that rape happens everywhere. If an ibo man is brought to justice nw, d backlash will be more cos you guys r tribalising the whole thing. How about we just remove tribe and blame just the men.

Castration should be the penalty for rape in Nigeria, so people can think twice before going into it.

The girl did d right thing but having male friends is good but getting too close isn't. Cuz guys r weirdos and unpredictable.

tribalistic bigot yes he/she is... But anon 3.08 how is doing drugs a higher level of crime compared to rape .. are u a rapist?

Teacher said...

Please what useful thing have you brought to this discussion eh? Nothing!

Ntoooo! Una prick don send una to life imprisonment.( Nga afor agwu agwu)

An ideal mind is a devils workshop.. Seven years in prison

I
K
P
OIKPONWA
N
W
A

When did this become us?!

TONIA GREEN said...

In whatever one does in life, it's always good to take precautions. A simple sure precaution would've averted this.
Cursing or blaming those boys wouldn't change a thing now. The did has been done.
Am writing for young girls or women who read this blog. I urge them to be more careful when it comes to relationship with the opposite sex. If you have have no one to guide you on relationship ethics, please read good books. No need for medicine after death. Prevention is better than cure.
Beware
Be warned
Don't fall a victim.

❤❤❤ THE PROPHETESS

So sorry young lady. The truth to all the ladys out there never keep any young guy as ur best friend. Must especially if guy as ask u out for once. That's the reason we always have boys and girls rooms seperate even of the same parent. Be careful

How I wish I'm rich now, I wud ve taken up dis case nd make sure diz evil doers rot in jail