Tearful mother returns to China to see the bodies of her children who comitted suicide | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 15 June 2015

Tearful mother returns to China to see the bodies of her children who comitted suicide

The mother of four children who committed suicide in China after they were abandoned by their parents for months spoke of her regret as she returned home over the weekend.

Ren Xifen's children, a 13-year-old boy and his younger sisters died after drinking pesticide. Police suspect one of them poisoned him or herself and the rest
"I did not shoulder my responsibility for them," 32-year-old Ren said, as she returned Friday to see their bodies at the family home in Bijie, in the remote southwestern province of Guizhou. "I had to come back for a final look at them," she added.
The children, the youngest aged five, were found by a villager while struggling with convulsions after taking the poison late Tuesday. They died soon after and police believe it was suicide, in a case highlighting the plight of rural children left behind by their parents who travel to the cities in search of work.
Ren told Xinhua she had not contacted her children since leaving home in March last year to work at a toy factory in the southern province of Guangdong. And also because she feared beatings from her husband.

She also described her only son as "very lovable" and said he was diligent.
"I am illiterate and cannot even write my own name. I wanted them to perform well in school, unlike me, living a hard life," she said.

The incident sparked widespread public sympathy and prompted Chinese Premier Li Keqiang on Friday to call for "an end to such tragedies", vowing to punish officials who are lax in providing due assistance to families with similar problems.

An investigation had been launched and several officials have been suspended or removed from their positions.

Source: Xinhua news agency

53 comments:

May their souls rip

nightmarish... how sad

why am i not also reading about her arrest

A.A said...

Omg!! So painful...

It is well o

Thatigbobabe(Lilyflower) said...

Terrible!
RIP to them.

It's really sad but regrets won't undo the deed. Linda take note!

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix & my email address is (julie3er@gmail.com). Linda take note!

I really feel 4 r o, take heart woman, God is ur strength

Such a sad story

CHERRY said...

So Sad!

so sad and painful.. but y did they have to abandon the kids... whats th true story behind dis mistery...

meenah_wakil on instagram

God help, and save us frm evil intentions to tak our lives. Dis act must b condemned, and shouldn't b acceptable thereof.

God own our lives, and we hav no right to take our lives.

so sad and painful.. but y did they have to abandon the kids... whats th true story behind dis mistery...

So sad..... May their gentle souls rest

in peace,Amen

iwyn said...

God will comfort her

ogeee said...

Na waoo dis woman wicked u abadoned ur children since last yr

That's good !

Sad, so sad.. may the Lord comfort her. You can help by praying for her. Psalm 118:17

SHYLA (Blessed ). said...

Feel for her though

WHY IS SHE BCK??LEAVIN ALL FOUR WASNT D BEST OPTION MADAM N UR HUSBAND TOO DINT DO WEL..DEY R SO YOUNG TO 13 CNT LUK AT OTHER THREE....TOMJERRYSWIT

So painful

Awwww! Very sad, pray God shud giv her d heart to bear d lost..

Wat should I say?..RIP to the dead.

Kponskii said...

So sad!!!!

Eyah, sorry oooo....d fact is just dt u abandoned ur kids..,and they relieved u of ur responsibilty...

Gozman said...

May their soul rest in peace

shuga bae said...

Eyah wat a pity...rip 2 de death

Crying over a spilled milk.
Why did you abandon them at first.
Live with it, you caused their deaths.

May their souls rest in peace

God help, and save us frm evil intentions to tak our lives. Dis act must b condemned, and shouldn't b acceptable thereof.

God own our lives, and we hav no right to take our lives. Pls desist frm dis act.

So sad may their souls R.I.P

Chai wht a sad story

Ooo noooo,too sad....

Innocentia Annie said...

Its quiet a pity
RIP to the dead

Ooo noooo,too sad....

TC said...

Corruption and mismanagement of funds in government. It took the loss of these little ones for them to swing into action. It's a shame.

Too bad. This calls for a solemn assembly. Mothers shld stick to their children food or no food. Education or no education.

You have to start all over again nah. Sorry about your loss

Sad and heartbreaking!
RIP.

Why is it always when it is too late.

Aww. What domestic violence causes. If d man wasn't beating her she wouldn't have left and d kids wouldn't have committed suicide. Well, too late now. Rest on kids!

ALL I CAN SAY IS THAT POVERTY IS A DISEASE

Eagle Eyes Media said...

She wanted to be free of them, now she has the eternal freedom.

Its just unfortunate. Rest in Peace little ones.

Wicked children, especially to the very 1 that poisoned the rest. Do you have to leave your mother so heart broken because she was in search of a brighter future for you. Some women abandon their kids as early as 1 or 2 years and go after other Men and kids still survive but in your mother's case, it's not so. She only wanted to better your lots though she should have been calling or visiting.

RIP to dem

idiot arrest her for what? stop making ignorant comments if you don't have full facts...it is a common problem in rural china for parents who leave children behind in villages to seek greener pastures...Africa is not the nly place where poverty reigns...the parents work in such strict work conditions...where do you think they produce all the cheap made in china things we see all around the world? these rich people take advantage of poor people and use cheap labour to mass produce a lot of things for the world....when they go to work in these factories they live like they are in dormitories and almost work round the clock....its a pity this woman's children could not handle the stress of being "abandoned" by their parents...

Your children should be more important to u than for u to fear ur husband. The man can marry another wife & still gives birth. So, what is your gain as a mother?