Outrage after Charleston judge tells relatives of murdered churchgoers that the killer's family are also victims | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 20 June 2015

Outrage after Charleston judge tells relatives of murdered churchgoers that the killer's family are also victims

The judge who arraigned Dylann Roof sparked outrage when he referred to the 21-year-old's family as 'victims' and urged the community to 'rally round them'. Charleston County Magistrate James Gosnell Jr told the court on Friday:
 'We have victims - nine of them. But we also have victims on the other side. There are victims on this young man's side of the family.'
The bizarre statement prompted outcry from the victims' families in the public gallery, and a torrent of complaints branding him 'insensitive' and 'racist'.

And it has since emerged that the judge was reprimanded in 2003 for using the n-word in court, when he told a black defendant: 'There are four kinds of people in this world - black people, white people, red necks, and n---rs.'

Gosnell was hauled before the Supreme Court for using the n-word in a bond reduction hearing, and two days later unlawfully ordered the release of a fellow judge caught drunk driving. For both, he was merely reprimanded and has remained Chief Magistrate ever since.
He opened the court yesterday with his appeal for people to support Roof's family, adding: 'Nobody would have ever thrown them into the whirlwind of events that they are being thrown into. We must find it in our heart at some point in time not only to help those that are victims but to also help his family as well.' 
He then charged Roof, whose grandfather C Joseph Roof is a prominent lawyer in North Carolina, with nine counts of murder. 

Reacting to Gosnell's statement on Friday, Twitter users erupted in rage at his 'insensitive' and even 'racist' approach to the case.

Mia Farrow, the actress, tweeted: 'Judge James Gosnell of #Charleston is obviously part of the problem. Jesus Christ!!!!'
A user called MiMi wrote: 'Judge Gosnell DONE lost his mind. Right now, who gives a damn! His family bought the murder weapon! #DylannRoof'
And one named Elizabeth said: 'Watching Judge James Gosnell lecture the families of victims in court re: sympathy for Roof family made me sick. Racism not thinly veiled.'
The Daily beast

70 comments:

No comment

What?

Hmmmmm

Evil boy!

Hmmmmm

I hate america die

Now this is the height of racism.... no wonder Nicki Minaj is angry about it and posted it on IG

I swear this judge need slap.... Foolish fool...

Just imagine....

mira cookie said...

Damn, wtf is happening? Obama shud try do sumfin 4his black ppl b4 stepping down, instead of stickin his nose on d gay laws.

I pray he looses that seat.....

F**k his racist rotten maggot mouth....

But its the truth naa..just look @ that face, so much evil!

Mr Obot said...

New!!!
Good at writing and it just ends up in your closet???
Never to worry, illash network now gives you a platform to get your articles seen by the world. With Various channels that host your different categories of writing, your articles are easily classified for easier access by the audience. Register now and signup as a publisher in the network or Click here to know more about the illash network.

OMG! Did the judge just said that? I hope the case is taking beyond here. Justice must take its full cause #say no to this beast called racism.

Are u kidding me? This is pure bull crap! Lord goodness! He is actually defending d roof abi na zinc guy... I give up !

Racism will never end. Such racist should never be judges.

See life...on 21st fucking Dere is still racism!

bastard baby

Everybody know old white people are complete n outright racists. They still dont get y black pple r moving around freely cos they were brought up in a time wn slavery was rife

Racism is as old as man.As long as we seperate white clothes from black,racism can never stop.However it doesnt mean those found guilty should not be condemned.This is a big shame.The judge belongs in prison with the psycho.What rubbish!

That's quite insensitive of him,
Well I'm not suprised since he seem
to share the same school of tought
with the young lad

He is so insensitive for saying that rubbish. Dis case is a sensitive issue so he should mind what he says. Linda take note!

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix & my email address is (julie3er@gmail.com). Linda take note!

Hmmm what a world full of racial segregation.

Yeye racist judge.

Racism is rife in the US, imagine if it were a black or Arabian guy that committed this crime.

Adetunji Saka said...

But y procrastinating...sentence dis boy to death already.

"Slow and steady wins the race"

Hmmmm! Speechless

Roman! said...

This Oyinbos sha..victim indeed

Racism must be fought with all our might. What in d hell makes Dylan's relatives victims? Even when its obvious he has no remorse for his actions, these white folks will still find ways to exonerate him. Crazy arse people

Discrimination against blacks in the western world will always remain.if the shooting had been by a black,the news would have been report of terrorist attack.unsurprisingly,d shooting is tagged 'hate crime',n the court is still investigating if if its more of domestic violence.#thetruthstaresatus

The Retarded Judge just made a Stupid Sense.

hmmm too bad

Slim Down Your Tummy, Discover shocking nigerian meals that help you trim fat. click here to find out

Am so sure if it ws 2 b a black dat committed d crime, d stupid judge wl close his eyes 2gv his judgement bt cos is white racistism as set in

andre kelvin said...

Bastard! Bastard!! Bastard!!!

Desmond 2 d G said...

Like play like play u all will see him walk away a free man.........

Ladun Liadi said...

DAMN RIGHT @his family bought d murder. Racism didn't just spring out of nowhere into his mind either.

At 21, Roof comes straight out of his parents' house with his hate full heart. I blame them for doing something to plant racial hatred in him. No, they aren't victims. They started this.

benny said...

Looking at the suspect pictures, you can see that he is saddest, but for judge James gosnell he should be investigated. He is a racist, not remosful

benny said...

Judge James is a racist , no doubt Analyse his comments

benny said...

Looking at the suspect pictures, you can see that he is saddest, but for judge James gosnell he should be investigated. He is a racist, not remosful

benny said...

The state Judiciary shudnt hav apointd a man wit questionable character to a sensitiv nd of dis high magnitude if U ask me.. Showin sympathy to d families of a Murderer hu has givn dia son a poor orientation nd upbringin wit regards to race is absolutly dumb sort of like anada Donald Trump#26247C63

I dont think the Judge would have made this reckless statement if it was a black man that slaughtered white worshippers.

imagine this buffoon! The killer of nine people has sympathizer for his family. What bizarre justice is this. Why talk about the family of a killer at all? Thsi judge might as well talk about the family of OBL and show his sympathy after the navy seals

imagine this buffoon! A racist judge no doubt who regrets sentencing a fellow white to the gallows. The killer of nine people has sympathizer for his family. What bizarre justice is this. What kind of judge is this? Why talk about the family of a killer at all? This judge might as well call the family of OBL victims and show his sympathy to them after the navy seals pumped bullets in to him.

Racism in an open sense.

ella J said...

Dis is racism of d highest order dat judge needs to b taught a lesson.

Amy said...

Useless judge. Since its like this, the blacks will be very stupid to vote the chief racist in as their next president. I mean Donald Trump. Cow he will surely drive them to extinction.

Dis is d highest order of b insensitive. He wil hav done well to shut up his mouth.

To all our muslim brothers, and sisters on LIB, I pray all ur heart desires come to pass during dis period of Ramadhan.

Long live Linda Ikeji, and all LIB reader's.

WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!…REALLY???!!!

The judge is right.Afterall he is sentencing the maggot to death shebi?His family will also cry and still suffer disdain all their lives

So true. People don't think!
How is it racist?
This family will suffer the castigation for life.
This guy was once a baby, someone carried him. Someone rejoiced over his birth. Someone bathed him and took him to school and probably though he will be great. See what he"s turned to be. He will be on deathrow soon. His family must be hurting.
Maybe they didn't train him this way.
Maybe he's schrizophrenic.
The judge is preaching unity and not hatred(forget his history). Don't hate the family, they too suffer. Don't hate them cos they're white too. This is what Jesus will say. We all are victims(though I know his words were wrongly timed)

'btw his words about black peopl, white people and niggers is trite. Chris Rock says it, it's just a proverb. Meaning a balck guy is different frm a nigger. Nigger is d dreg of d society, hood rats. Same as white trash is a junkie, a druggie, hippie diff frm a responsible white.
People are too sensitive pls.

I just knew this was going to happen. Racist! If this dylan psycho was a black I'm sure those bunch of racist cops would have shot him and claim self defense. Tsheww

Rubbish

Yes, the judge's remark was highly insensitive and unwarranted on this case. However, this case and many others like it, should be a reminder to all those small-minded folks who undermine a fellow Naija's progress, by words/and actions, simply bcos the other is from a different tribe or culture.

9ja Boy said...

Oyibo people are always surpassing them. Imagine if it was a black boy that killed white people. Yahoo-Boys deal with these foolsssssss. That's the only way blacks pay whites for their evil deeds.

Eeeeeeeem madam the engine is running......

Kim is pregnant.

Americans seem to live under the same delusions some Nigerians have suffered from, race and tribalism will continue to plague both countries and everyday incidences happen that reinforces that fear. So both countries should forget the seeming strides made on the contrary, all those are just cover. Race will continue to be a problem no matter what and the Igbos will never be forgiven for the Biafra war. The sooner we realize that the better.

And the blacks are like Nigerians; complain for a little while, and continue their normal day or merriment and celebration of nothing!
The blacks in US long lost focus of the likes of Martin Luther King Jr.

His Love said...

Hmmm, to think that this is the America of our dreams .

Sunshine said...

I see nothing wrong with what he said

Ary, Stfu, moron. The judge has been reassigned by the South Carolina supreme court because the court heard and concede to the validity of the public outcry. You don't always have to be a good slave and accept the scraps you're given. Sometimes you have to speak up to be heard to get what you need. That's what the calls for the judge's removal achieved. Learn from it and stop telling others to give up on their cause.

I see nothing wrong with what he said. In a situation like this, there are always primary and secondary victims. The Nine people killed are the primary victims while the secondary victims are both the families of the deceased and that of the boy that commited the heinous crime. Do you think of the shock and awe the family of the perpetrator are into to learn that their son commited murder of innocent nine people IN THE CHURCH. Pls let's look at this objectively and not put HATE in our mind just because we are not their parents. Obviously their family are also secondary victims and we shouldn't crucify the Judge for saying so.

Omon said...

But the boy's family are victims too na. Forever in history they will be associated with the tragedy and they have lost a son. D boy is very likely to get the death penalty. So d judge isn't wrong. You all are just really upset.

Hmn. Eye opener.

imagine this buffoon! A racist judge no doubt who regrets sentencing a fellow white to the gallows. The killer of nine people has sympathizer for his family. What bizarre justice is this. What kind of judge is this? Why talk about the family of a killer at all? This judge might as well call the family of OBL victims and show his sympathy to them after the navy seals pumped bullets in to him.