NASS election: APC is unfortunately divided - Kwankwaso | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 16 June 2015

NASS election: APC is unfortunately divided - Kwankwaso

Former Kano state governor, Rabiu Kwankwaso says events that led to the emergence of Senator Bukola Saraki as the Senate President has unfortunately divided their party APC. Kwankwaso said the failure of the leaders of the party to do the right thing at the right time led the party to where it is now. Senator Kwankwaso said this while speaking to journalist in Abuja yesterday June 15th. All the things he said after the cut...

"I think the party, unfortunately, is divided but it is not too late to correct many things but the party should take certain steps to ensure that such things will never happen again in the party and I am one of those who advised or tried to advise my brother, Saraki that he should not go too far with that ambition under this circumstance. At this level and his level, people should be more careful and cautious in what they do and what they don’t do and especially that the situation is even worst than the case of Tambuwal during the House of Representatives election of principal officers in 2011. Of course, Tambuwal’s case was a case of going out of zoning but all the positions went to members of the party. But this time around, because of the ambition of our members, I think they went and connived with people who are not only opponents of the party but enemies of the party to fight the party after the people of this country have discarded these people. And now because of ambition, these people were made in a way relevant and I don’t think that is the best way to go. Members of the party should have certain limitations, they should know when to start and when to stop and I think this is going too far in romancing members of the PDP. As far as we are concerned, PDP was dead until recently when this ambition brought certain people to do what they should not do in democracy and party politics and how they are just about to create unnecessary life for them to the extent that some of them are servicing again and making all sorts of statements. On the issue of what went wrong, I think there were so many things having to do with time. This election had to do with time. We had so many weeks before the election to address this issue. This is not the time to say I told you or I told them, but many of us tried to tell our leaders to do the right thing at the right time. I think the party missed the crucial opportunity to address this challenge. I think time was crucial of which the party missed some important steps and therefore things went wrong. I told you the party missed some vital steps and gave an ample opportunity to Bukola Saraki’s group and they used it effectively and took all the advantages that had to do with the mistakes of our leaders"he said
Senator Kwankwaso said some members of the party acted out of anger because they believe one of their leaders Bola Tinubu was trying to take all the positions available.
"I am aware that members of the G-5/G-7 group were interested in seeing one of us occupying one of the strategic positions. I am also aware that there are some people in the party who believed Tinubu had taken so many things and it was time to take a break. They had a perception that Tinubu was trying to take it all. There are other groups that believed that Saraki had given them so many things and they had to pay him back. Many senators believed that they were supported by Saraki.”he said
He stated that the allegiance of Senate President Bukola Saraki with PDP Senator that resulted in the emergence of Senator Ike Ekweremadu as Deputy Senate President will cause problems for President Buhari.
"You see, first of all, the President will face a lot of irritations in the sense that these people must be very angry with themselves, they must be very angry with Nigerians and, therefore, will do everything possible to put all sorts of hurdles on the way of Mr. President. That is obvious. I can always read their mind. I was one of them, I was part of them, I was part of the party but we had to leave the party because of this attitude. So, in some of the books that I read, especially Islamic books,  there are things that we call Sadaqatuljariya (doing charitable deeds like building schools, hospital, throughout your life) and you will be getting reward and even after you die. These sorts of mistakes are what we call Musibatuljariya. It is so bad and it is a bad thing that will continue to occur until the system goes to end because they have their own agenda to tackle the APC, to tackle the APC government, they are angry with themselves, they are angry with the people and Nigeria because they feel Nigeria belongs to them and they wanted to take everything and Nigerians rejected them.”he said
He expressed his displeasure at Senator Ekweremadu's emergence as Senate Deputy President
"Just yesterday, I was reading, I don’t know whether it is true or not, that Ike Ekweremadu was talking rubbish, nonsense. It is like they have reasons to speak again and I think it is because of the mistakes of our members. I believe that at the end of the day, the party and members must get a way of coming together and behave well, I think that is the only way we can make progress. I don’t think I should be in a hurry to say that he should resign but all I know is that many things have gone wrong to the extent that the party has to put its acts together to make sure that things that are done in that way are stopped and from there, we will build the party again. It (Deputy President of the Senate) does not belong to them. I have been in PDP from 1999 until 2014 or so. You see, it was unthinkable in PDP for you to allow any other party to take any of those positions. They have done it five times and they never allowed any member of any party to go near those positions, so I think it was unfair and not correct and they took it shamelessly and I am sure our party will look at it and take what belongs to our party back. Maybe there are ways APC can accommodate the Southeast by way of appointment but certainly, we have not seen PDP in the five times that they had reasons to select leaders in the National Assembly, they never considered other parties in terms of giving them position but I am sure that our party had it in mind that it will carry the Southeast but not in the position of the Senate President. The Senate has Deputy Senate President; that position does not belong to the PDP and that is the mistake Ekweremadu is making. Now he said he was elected deputy Senate president, yet he reduced himself to a zone and a tribe, which is not good enough. We are not saying he should step down or stay; what I am saying is that what they have taken does not belong to them and all those who supported him and his party to get it have made a big mistake for themselves, the party and indeed for the country and they should be ashamed of themselves"he said.
Senator Kwankwaso said erring members of the party must be disciplined
“I don’t know, the party must be doing its own bit but if I were the national chairman, I would either write to these members individually a letter of displeasure or call them and tell them because there has to be discipline. It does not matter whether you are 10 or 20 or even 1,000, whatever your number is in a party, as long as there is no discipline, definitely there will be problem. I am one of the senior senators by any standard in this country but because of the consideration of the fact that Buhari is from the Northwest, of course not from Kano, you are not seeing me going round to say I want this position or that position. I have president in my zone and I have to be considerate in the sense that other zones should get it. It is not like you will come by all means and you must take it whether it favours the zoning, the party or not. So, all these things must be respected by the party and the members"he said.

55 comments:

Ooo

Politics wit its every day drama dat get exciting as d day goes on. I look forward to watching, and listening to d upcoming developments in Nigeria politics. Its well wit Nigeians.

Makes sense... He just spoke the truth anout PDP and this country as a whole..

Meenah_wakil on instagram

Lol. Story for d allahs sorry I mean for d gods

Bla bla bla u guys are all and d same. Just the way u guys crumbled PDP that's the same path u will tow to crumble APC (Association of Past Criminals).

COLLIN said...

U guys shud calm down....its called nemesis catching up

Foolish talk... his only saying jargons, if u are d one elected as d Senate president or deputy will u resign? Una wan carry all post, let d senate president rest for kingdom sake and leaves dem to enjoy d office or u wanna turn to Ekiti thug law maker, thou! Am nt suprise, Apc will neva accept defeat... go get a life

This man is talking from two side of the mouth, the president is from northwest, so u will allow odas to get sometime, we have other ways to accommodate southeast but not deputy senate president. Angry people,this is change: accept it cos it cannot be changed.

you guys will get more shocks.............. CHANGE is loading

NOW NA MORNIN....TOMJERRYSWIT

Kwack man close ur bucacavity, u talk shamelessly Ekweme

God bless you kwankwaso,well said

All this hypocrites people like Kwankwaso are the main reason why APC will never achieve anything in this dispensation

Nice One senator. U spoke my mind regarding PDP taking up some key positions in the house and i really wish those that made this compromise because of their selfish ambition could pay for it

He was making sense until he said "Ike Ekweremadu was talking rubbish, nonsense...." Really? Then I just lost respect for the fool.

Love what he said about PDP and their misplaced anger. Just as pissed they now have a voice! Smh Saraki should have thought of all these rubbish before going in with them. Nonsense

Lol.... People forget that what goes around comes around and that betrayal is a game of many players. His rants are very childish in the very least lacking in any merit what so ever

He must be influenced by all this local ogogoro..nonsence talk..mek he go sit down jare

May God help this country.this ppl always want to be relevant at all cost.just imàgine someone that has been in PDP since 1999-2014 according to him,but all of a sudden just few months before the elections realised PDP was doomed,discarded and cursed.
These are our leaders. These are the agents of the CHANGE we need.
#smh

Chai

Ladun Liadi said...

APC heavyweights need serious PR coaching, d tins dey say in public......

basil said...

Saint kwankwaso..Nigerian politicians r so shameless..thank God u said u wia in pdp from 1999 till 2014..and now u r blaming saraki,wia is intergrity,wia is loyalty,selfish individuals..d same ekweremadu dat was ur colleague dose years...I jst pray God help PMB to stir d affairs of dis nation well...if he follows all dis men of double standards he won't go anywia..i love wat his wife said..dat sycophants shld stay clear his husband..God bless niaja

Kwankwanso will always earn my respect any day and I pray he goes further than his present political status. A man with full integrity, disciplined and loyal to those who made him. In the real sense, this man ought to be the one demanding all considering his position in the APC Presidential primaries and the population he gave Buhari in the presidential election, how sad some persons are now trying to destroy the party cos of their selfish ambition at the expense of the love that bounds the party. However, they should remember you don't bite the fingers that feed you and Nigerians are watching and no longer gullible as they were.

sandra said...

You sound foolish Kwankwaso.What do you mean by he shamelessly took it? Did you and your other Governors not shamelessly leave pdp for APC? Did you not shamelessly give 2m votes to Buhari more than the accredited numbers. You are the shameless one acting as if power belongs to you but it doesn't .If you are in govt to emphasis more on party affairs,it goes a long way to show that you have no plan for Nigeria. PDP capitalized on your party's stupidity and foolishness to become relevant again, Didn't Apc do same? You will end up killing yourself if you are ready to fight the SE.We are ready for you especially your predecessor Thiefnubu whom everybody knows to be highly tribalistic.Apc is under our watch,you cannot even run the country,shame...

what goes around.....they say...comes around. It's interesting how you are trying to practice the same things that you claimed pushed you to APC, just putting a lipstick on a pig, does not make any difference. People of Kano state are looking to you to account for all the money that you borrowed and being a senator (or Senior as you refer to yourself) does not provide you any immunity.

Not my bizness.

As far as I am concern, Kwakwaso doesn't talk maturely. He is always arrogant and insultive while addressing national issues. Look at the way he was abusing Ekweremadu in this interview. So because APC is in power, people should not speak their mind. He should mind his language. Thank God he said their party leaders didn't do the right thing. So why blaming PDP for thrir woes?

Ladun Liadi said...

There's something about d way he spoke about d southeast that doesn't feel good, and he seemed to speak d party's mind.

sweetie said...

Well said sir, bukola saraki is bad egg in APC, who so ever want to stop change we demanded for may almighty GOD destroy them. PDP is dead and can never raise again in Nigerian. We don't want them,if they come out hundred times we shall kill them wit our vote

U must be a cow. stupid arrant nonsensical talk coming from KwaKwanso or Kulikuli or whatever your name is. You think only APC has the prerogative to appoint leaders? Matter of fact, it is better that the APC members think this way, because that is how your division will start. A party that is built on falsehood cannot stand.

The only thing that united APC was to oust Jonathan. Now that that purpose has been achieved, it is obvious to the eyes that they are not united at all.

Saraki is Senate president and Ikweremadu is the deputy, whether you, Kwakwanso like it or not. You can hit your head against Aso rock for all we care.

Wetin this wan dey talk? abeg shift

Have we not moved on from these crying APC babies spewing Ode talk from their mouth? Sai Saraki

Relishing the thought of Thiefnubu crying over this situation. Una never see anything.

Who be this?

Oga park well abeg

When things fall apart for APC, the centre (president) will not be able to hold them together.

We never grind bean, moi-moi don dey smell!!!

Dis 1 na Epistle si awon ara Nigeria

Story...

Adetunji Saka said...

Politics...sweet game

Kwankwaso should go back to sleep, what Nigerians want is good governance, good opposition. the emergence of deputy president is good for the polity whether APC likes it or not. You were sleeping when PDP took the position by voting and not by selection.

The thing about life: You do not ask for fairness
and honest in one area and not in others. Somebody questioned the population figures and wanted to do a credible national census but you made sure the person was removed from office. And today,your position is for some wrong to be correct because did not go your way. I thought you abhor such procedural correctness.

The thing about life: You do not ask for fairness
and honest in one area and not in others. Somebody questioned the population figures and wanted to do a credible national census but you made sure the person was removed from office. And today,your position is for some wrong to be correct because did not go your way. I thought you abhor such procedural correctness.

I'm not a politician, but this act of Saraki due to personal ambition really saddens me . Its like he has quenched the hope Nigerians felt this administration will give them by bring and giving a lease of life to PDP. His corrupt past, seems to indicate that it will be business as usual.

Shut your mouth you desperate, greedy and power thirsty old man. What did you expect? After you all dumped PDP and ran under the covering of APC ( association of past criminals) with the tag "change ". Just like the leopard, you'll never lose your spots. Sooner than later, Nigerians will come to realize who truly are the corrupt ones. Shame!

All these politicians talking from different sides of their mouths have no career, they're all touts, taking advantage of innocent vulnerable Nigerians who are following them sheepishly, look at a man who have been shamelessly switching parties for his own selfish interest, opening his political mouth and disturbing my morning. Please Kwankwanso or whatever they call you, go and address Tinubu and stop disturbing our peace, let us have our peace, since you and your like won't let us enjoy our God given natural resources as a result of looting, please keep quite and continue with your looting of national treasure. Linda use this comment fry egg ok.

kwankwanso is an enemy of nigeria,he is northern rabies, his hatred for the ibo man is evident with the disdain with which he referred to ekweremadu,people should watch o, he cannot and should not be allowed to hold any office of a national nature,he will bare his fangs and gouge out ibo eyes.

ahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha kwakwawkwakwakwakwa changi !!!

BLUNT said...

Nice one Fred, we know him, we know of all his rants about Igbo people. I've always kept my eyes on this efuluefu. We have the DSP, he can do his worse. In between, this guy feels threatened by Saraki's ascension because both of them have eyes on 2019. Buhari may not contest again. He's only beefing Saraki, and then bashing Igbos on the sideline like every other moron does. Not to forget, this idiot is a Yoruba man. We know his lineage. Only an honest Kano man will confirm this to you. His grandies migrated to Kano long ago.

True and to the point. Ewe remade is even boosting that given the opportunity again his people will vote the same way they voted. Why do they want to reap where they did not sow.? Am from south east and we should be ashamed . I agree with kwankwaso kweremadu shamelessly accepted with two hands what didn't belong to them. Pep will not under any circumstances give it to apc. The victory they snatched from lions jaws they handed to thieves. I would have loved Sarahi to win but not the rouge style he used. Meleye and co inflicted major pain on their party and hard fought battle. We feel the disappointment.

You are a FOOL! The Senate Chambers is for Nigerians and not any Political party. And Nigerians have been elected into the various positions, If u can't deal with de fact that Ike Ekweremadu is the DSP, Go hug a Transformer. Mumu!

This kwankwaso is a very big fool and hes hatred for the Igbo people is tragic. The senate is not for any party but for all Nigerians and if they where duly elected, then trying to remove ekweremadu will also mean that saraki has to go simple. Anyway clearly he was aware of what they wanted to do in the first place, cos the north does not share power with anybody and am sure by now, it ha become very clear to the great jagaban, who has just handed over the executive, the legislature and the judiciary to the hausa Fulani.