My regret as INEC chairman – Prof. Jega | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 16 June 2015

My regret as INEC chairman – Prof. Jega

The Chairman, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof. Attahiru Jega, on Monday reviewed his tenure as the boss of the electoral body and concluded that his only regret was that he was unable to create a separate salary structure for INEC workers.
Jega spoke in Abuja during a retreat  titled, “2015 general elections: Lessons and the way forward.” which was organised for the electoral officers of the commission where the report of the 2015 elections was reviewed.

He said apart from the special salary issue, the commission under his leadership performed well.
He said,
“We have done our best as a commission under very difficult circumstances and the major regret as I have always acknowledged is that a major undertaking we made when we first resumed at the commission is to have a separate salary structure for the members of staff of the commission but we have not been able to achieve this
“And obviously this is one area where we still have to do a lot of work and put in a lot of efforts as we move towards the future and to improve.
“But apart from that, I don’t think we have done badly in terms of promoting the welfare and the wellbeing of the members of staff.
“We have ensured that salaries were paid regularly, we have ensured that there are a lot of opportunities for self improvement through the organisation of seminar and workshop with our partners.”
“Again as I said, we could not have satisfied the expectations of everybody, we believe that we have done our best. I must say that not all of you are happy with some of the measures that we have introduced as a commission.
“The restructuring and reorganisation certainly could not have satisfied everybody because it required trimming down the size of the commission and also redefining schedule of responsibilities and putting square pegs in square holes as we called it at that time.”
Jega, who had insisted that he would leave INEC after the expiration of his tenure, said that the 2015 general elections were better than those of 2011.
He added that there was a lot of room for improvement and that as the country prepares for future elections, the commission must begin to reflect on what areas of further reforms it should focus its attention on.

Punch

53 comments:

Aww Jega man of the year..

mira cookie said...

Awwwn! Fine Man,God bless you tho

H!o

Ok..

He has said well..good job

ogeee said...

Wayo man, u removed oủr Goodluck and placed ur Oga there. Its unfair

He has done well, and may God bless him abundantly. Thumbs up to him.

U did well.. God bless you

What's he saying again?

Faith Eze's Blog said...

Well done sir#who nor go nor knw#jstpassinsha#

U've done well sir and posterity will always speak well of you.

Go and sit down. Next Biko

Emmanuel Fan said...

Anumanu! You've accomplished your mission so bye bye jegari

*Linda's best friend*

Damilola said...

I still luv you.

Do u need a 2nd chance to amend ur mistakes? Definitely NO.

COLLIN said...

Mumu thief....am sorry 4 ur miserable life

And all dis took place at my place of work yeterday... Such a humble man...

Meenah_wakil on instagram

Ok, ur regret Mr Jega wasn't that election in some states wasn't done in democratic way? Its some useless salary ish ur regretting okwaya?
Pls take several seats at d back biko

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

AFTA AL DT YRS???NAWAH...TOMJERRYSWIT

All i can say is "Thank you and God bless you Jega".I remember the 2011 general elections and how you stood for transparency and fairness and declare GEJ the winner.Your life was threatened,your family ridiculed and even an insulting song was composed just for you but it never deterred you from doing your job.Yoy're my true hero.Wishing u God's blessings after INEC days is over.Thank u sir!

Wahid Priyono said...

thanks for your information, Great article and chairman well leadership be oke.. nice to meet you linda ikeji..

Jega did well, performed to expectations.

u did well

Prof Jega did well but there is still room for improvement

Job well done...
God bless you all

Congratulations sir
*iyawo Obama

Joseph's blog said...

I think he has done his best.

Yinka said...

Misleading Title

Adetunji Saka said...

No one would hv done better. U tried baba Jega.

idoit

You finished the northern agenda

God punish u monkey

U shld nt Ave any regret sir

What has Jega got to say about the massive rigging that took place in the north via under age voting?

He can as well go back and create it,
then resign again.

Noted! I will do that when I emerge the INEC chairman!

fine bobo b lyk ! jega shatap

You did enough

Ladun Liadi said...

JEGA WELL DONE

He did well jare

Hmmmmm!

Why wouldn't the 2015 elections be better when you helped to used under aged children to thumbprint your fellow northenan into power. You have achieved your ultimate objective, now fak off our faces. Ewu gambia

Abeg Wateva I dnt like this man, na who tie ur hand from doing it. Smmmhhh pack up and free space for some one else abeg

I like dis our jega o, his bold eyes and his sexy face, pls can som1 tell him am admiring him?

TC said...

Linda please tell INEC to pay the Adhoc Staff who worked in the last concluded elections both Governoship and Presidential. They are yet to be paid.

literacy.tina@gmail.com

He's a man of honour n integrity, thank u sir

Jega our man. We appreciate your good work.

JEGA "ve done well and naija youths are proud of u especially in dz 2015 election,u did nt allow mama peace to hve her way.no nEed to have regrets PMB is on board so relax

I wish you will be the chairman of inec again.

Prof you need not say much. I am a witness to all the reforms you did in INEC. God bless you. Linda take note!

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix & my email address is (julie3er@gmail.com). Linda take note!

ibeakwadalam said...

Hahahahaha Prof. leave story. We know what happened. It does not explain why you are hated by your staff at INEC.
On the elections, Elections only took place in Lagos and few places in the East (where he insisted on a non working authentication process so as to suppress the numbers). The rest was equal opportunity rigging, Imo, Abia, Rivers, Akwa Ibom and Delta. With APC controlling both INEC and the Press. The powers that be wanted Jona out. So they made sure that he was out. Thank God! Kano casting 2.1 million votes in how many hours? Nullifying any ballot stuffing you got in the SE states. Then they come add Kaduna? Katsina? Kebbi just to make sure?

Anyway, all of you shouting for change don get am. But the numbers Jega gave you shows that you can win elections in Kano, Kaduna, Kebbi and Katsina. So even after he is gone it will be difficult for all of you mugus who accepted the result to change anything. The precedent has been set. Na to rotate the president from one Aboki to another.

Anyway, Thank God for Jona. If he was as violent and as desperate as General Buhari Nigeria for don burn like it did in previous elections.

Very 'smart' people don fall mugu. And Maga must pay.

ABEG DRESS SMALL MAKE WE SIDON DEY WITNESS CHANGE!

Only southeast indigenes posting rubbish. Jega was wonderful. May God bless him. If you saw the election in Kano we saw what happened in rivers, abia,, akwaibom, Enugu, and co. Jona had no choice than to throw in the towel. It was obvious, it was glare ring . He is over praised for giving up. What could he have done. Even madam peace supported his action. Jona isa nice guy but madam loved the power and command