Family in Lagos loses 3 children to fire outbreak | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 14 June 2015

Family in Lagos loses 3 children to fire outbreak

Three children of the same parents died in an inferno that destroyed their three-room-self-contain apartment in Egbeda-Akowonjo area of Lagos state, on Saturday night. The incident caused by a candle-lit occurred around 10 pm at 20, Fakoya street Vulcaniser bus stop, Egbeda Akowonjo.

It left the three kids identified as: Ifeoma, 9; Emeka, 7; and Udeoma, 3 dead. Razak Fadipe, director of Lagos state fire service, confirmed this to NAN in Lagos today Sunday June 14th.

Fadipe said that the fire broke after the father of the children had gone to check his wife, the mother of the children, in the hospital, where she had just given birth to their fourth child. He said that the fire service was not called to the scene on time, and advised people to stop the use of candle to lit their house.
“We got a distress call and when we got there, we discovered that, it was a building that was on fire,” he said. “The building is located at No 20, Fakoya street, Vulcaniser bus stop, Egbeda Akowonjo, a suburb of Lagos. “The fire was caused by a candle, which was lit by their father, while he went to see his wife and the family’s new baby in the hospital.”
Fadipe said that the charred body of the dead children had been removed to a mortuary by the police from Shasha division. The fire service boss appealed to people in Lagos to desist from using candle in their homes, as it could be very dangerous.

Source: NAN

64 comments:

So sad

Tragic :( rip

Editor said...

Sad

Their father has no brain smh

Sorry to hear that, RIP

God v mercy, mafi kan gba kan lowo oluwa. RIP 2 dem

Oh GOD instend of joy now is saddness.pls help d family out

OMG!

What a strategy

Ka! Wht a tragic loss, and so sad. I pray God grant d family d fortitude to bear their loss. RIP.

I pray God save us frm tragic accidents, and untimely deaths.

This is bad
May their souls RIP αи∂ may God comfort their parents

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

jennykurt said...

Na wa oo

Omg!!! The sting of death is sharp and painful.
Comfort to the bereaved.

So sad, may their souls rest in peace. Linda take note!

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

may their souls rest in peace.

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix & my email address is (julie3er@gmail.com). Linda take note!

Diamond said...

This is soo sad

Tendency oby said...

Chai! RIP

Terrible and sad.
Rip.

May God grant the family the strength to bear the loss. If only we had a stable power supply in this country.

Allybrownny said...

So sad,it is well

allybrownny@gmail.com

MARVELOUS said...

jesus......MAY THERE SOUL REST IN PEACE

Adeyanju Best said...

Rip

Chinko Berry said...

Chinese rechargeable/battery lamps are relatively cheaper to the dangerous candles in circulation. People should just buy the lamps though it may seem more expensive at the beginning. IT IS SAFER. The death of those children is avoidable. RIP you young ones

Oh my God...so sad

to all Nigerians..either against-buhari or for-buhari...please you all should exercise patience...Nigeria has gotten to a critical stage where its problems can never be solved over-nyt...it needs de grace of God, we de people, to bring about De change we all have been clamouring for...we need to check our hearts n minds...deep down we all are the solution to Nigeria's issh...we should stand and fight for what we want, not jus sittdown n keep quiet n act like dummies we all have been until march 28th....let's all work with the present government, no matter what it takes..this is our country,we can't allow it to slip out of our fingers, we own the key to a successful country...help others, show love to ur neighbours, that the ultimate key to a glorified human...LOVE YOUR NEIGHBOUR AS YOURSELF.....give freely, show mercy, help the needy, show appreciation to every little thing given to yu...let us continue to live in peace and Harmony...so that we can live the life we all has planned and dreamed for, for this great NIGERIA ...even if twasnt done when you were there, remember, it could be done for your children...LIVE A LIFE THAT PLEASES YOUR FELLOW BROTHER SO THAT HE DOESNT GET JEALOUS OF YOUR SUCCESS...once again, let us all be patient...#shareWITHfriendsIFyouLOVEme...jideblaq..twitter: blaqcejay whatsapp 07037210981....

omg! dz just too sad..rip to those kids

Cheeiiii.....this is sad. Their parents would be devastated. Rest in Peace.

All thanks to d useless power supply in d country... dee

dotmond said...

That is great loss, may God heal The family,

dotmond said...

that is great loss, may God heal the family.

TONIA GREEN said...

What a tragedy. May their souls rest in peace. Better stay in darkness than use candle.

THE VOICE OF THE PROPHETESS

Terrible

This is sad! May God grant their souls eternal rest....

That is what happens When PHCN refuse power supply.
May their soul Rest in peace.

Ouch! That's so unfortunate!
My condolences to their parents.

God forgive me but like that new baby is cursed.

What a pity and horrible scene, God. Please accept there souls

Davido,s goat u lack senes,l think too much plessure from ur boss is really affecting this days,that is if at all u know who davido is,some one having u as his driver is a very big problem to him or her.ewu

OMG! Wht a tragic loss, and so sad. I pray God grant d family d fortitude to bear their loss. RIP.

Oh pls sharrap.. Enough

As long as it ends with (linda take note),it is u,loi

Joy C said...

What? What?? What???
Joy had suddenly turned to sorrow, God forbid.

What has this ur comment got to do with this post,buhari spoke man

If you check it, I think you are the one cursed for making such comment, what has the father's terrible mistake got to do with the new bundle of joy. DONKEY you are.

Uwa di egwu wat a gr8 lost,but ikeja or ikeji wat ever name u bear dat fire pics na d one for hell not egbeda own. Ekweme

Goodluck was the change we prayed for. Focus on the issue and stop asking for patience we didnt gibe Goodluck. He swam against the tide. He did well. We wait for buharis magic. Wake up. This is 2015

Jeez

Do people still use candles?

Allybrownny said...

So sad ,it is well

So unfortunate!

Innocentia Annie said...

What a Tragic Loss
RIP to the dead

kaunar Allah said...

Davido driver use ur brain here pls

So sad. May God gv them the fortitude to bear their loss.

stanloo! said...

Linda forgive me for not taken the pics it happens near my shop and wen I got d news I rushed there without my camera phone and it happens that it was who I know and the kids I do play with that it happens to so with shock and agrived heart I couldn't remember taken dose horrific pics and upload it to you,but I must address the story the way it happens :the father of the children says he never lit any candle that he left the children outside playing before he went to pick some food stuff for his wife who just delivered ,when I got the call dat house was on fire I quickly rush by getting there I found out that people from the house has refused to use their water to quench the fire all of them were busy packing load from other two rooms because is one room each not self contain as u said,they said they knew that d kids were inside d house but they couldn't save them saying that their parents was fond of fighting with everyone in the house then I wonder why that gotten yo do with the life of the innocent kids it was latter I learnt that d three kids were inside d house and they were shouting help help help and people of the compound refused to help ,it was just an act of wickedness because no candle was lit and how d fire engulf d house was only known by d people of house they need to be arrested and question ,all of them were Yoruba's and the man was an IBO man so there was this tribalism among them that exactly what took the life of this inocent kids ,may God remember them in new world to come where such hatred will be no more

This incident happened very close to my house.

stanloo! said...

Due to the enemity between the family and the parents of the children they refused to take part in quenching the fire it was pple from neiboring houses and street like alade,olatimpo and some fakoya pple dat rush in to put off the fire and one woman popularly called Iya sherubawon or Iya fakoya refused people from entering from her compound to put off the lite cause is only fence DAT demercate the house and her own it was when the fire wanted to enter her house that she let people enter and she refused using here water from tank too,such an act of wickedness,and linda it wasn't no 20,it was no 11 take note

Lord av mercy,.RIP to those kids

My Year Of Linda's 100k

so sad.. I wonder wat d little child will feel wen He learnt His siblings died just wen He was b born ..

stanloo! said...

Linda I just got information that the child is dead,he dies few hours ago because it was from operation he was born likewise three other kids ,just coming out from the scene now will send you the pics later

OMG! I pray God will give the parents the fortitude to bear the lost