Emmanuel Adebayor dropped as captain of Togolese national team | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 18 June 2015

Emmanuel Adebayor dropped as captain of Togolese national team

A lot of people have family issues...most don't go on the internet to expose themselves like footballer Emmanuel Adebayor did. That action seems to have repercussions because not only has his football club Tottemham given him compassionate leave to go sort himself out, he has now been dropped as captain of Togolese national football team. 

The captaincy of the former African Footballer of the Year was revoked by Togo manager Tom Saintfiet on the morning of their opening Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Liberia. Despite scoring at the match and helping them win, his captaincy has not been returned. Reacting, Emmanuel Adebayor said he is not sure of his future in the national team and says he may not play in the next match which is in September

'For now, I don't know if I'll play in September - I'll be here and I'll talk with the coach. I need to know whether he really needs me in the team or not. I have been the captain for seven or eight years and then one morning I'm told I won't be the captain - that means that we can go to Djibouti and he will put me in the stands." he said

66 comments:

Parrot somebody

Some things are better left unsaid.But No ,this dude kept washing his dirty linens outside.I saw this coming.

toh, trouble don start....

meenah_wakil on instagram

future is now. said...

Greater players have been dropped as captains and they still give 100% to their country.selfish monkey.

toh, trouble don start....

meenah_wakil on instagram

AQO said...

He overdid it, even when he was cautioned.

He's got issues, and I doubt if he's fit enough to lead a national team. The position of the coach is understandable.

Good for him

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

Apart from ur family ish.... u want to remain the captain forever? like is meant for u and u alone? Abegi park one side

Na them sabi abeg

Almost everybody have family issues, but we don't expose them on social media. Those people encouraging him to keep doing what he was doing on social media, are worst than his family, because his career is gradually going down the drain. Indeed, age is not wisdom! www.bunmisimplesblog.co

am sure his stupid brother and sisters would be happy now useless family members that cant work

Dr. TicTac said...

Good move by Coach Saintfiet...A skipper should be a role model and a positive influence, Adebayor has lost these.

He needs to clear his head and his country needs to protect her good image so?? Col 3:14

First time I'll ever agree with Davidos goat

Whatever

prettiyz said...

Eyah

He was clearly fustrated. But he didn't think twice before he acted. Bow he's facing d wrath. I hope he's forgiven.

Na dem sabi but it is not right for the coach to mix personal issues in career. Linda take note!

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix & my email address is (julie3er@gmail.com). Linda take note!

Jennykiss said...

P-Square, Toke, Omotola, ... and all you very lonely immature and "secretly" unhappy people I hope you learn something here?

We all got ishh we goin tru, so behind just wanting to be heard and noticed always,what other good does projecting your whole life in public do.

Please, if what your going through is too much for you to contain... see a shrink, at least you can afford good ones.

Adebayo I have no sympathy for you, I am only glad you work with people who arent hypocrites like Nigerians.

He better sort himself out before its too late.

That is what he brought upon himself.....running mouth

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB

Everybody has issues as long as it doesn't affect your work now it has affected..may /od give you grace cos you will have to forgive yourself for doing that

That is rubbish! If I where Adebayor I'll stop playing ball for the national team. I think their national coach is sick for his head.

This one get sense before?

pele oh

Nnaa ndo

Linda cogitate

Everyone needs to shut the fuck up!!!!!! Did the poor guy do anything wrong????? His family has been dragging him thru the fucking mud for YEARS!!!!!!!! All he did was defend himself!!! Leave him the fuck ALONE!!!!!!! FUCK!

His football career needs re-shaping.

Heyaaaaaaaaaaa...I feel pity for him. But his family went to the press first. Atimes when you keep silent over certain issues, it seems as if you're guilty, so am not against him speaking up. He must have battled it for a very long time before the uncontrollable outburst

eka said...

d aftermaths of yarning too much on social media

Ladun Liadi said...

A team leader should xhibit a certain degree of tact, Adebayor has been found wanting.

I felt disappointed by Ade for making public his family issues. It's one thing to discuss with a select group of friends that genuinely have your interest at heart and another to put up everything on social media with lots of plastic and virtual beings. How many of them really cares about you? I think it's the right thing to strip him of the captaincy but hopefully he plays. The captain is expected to live up to that position which unfortunately, you've fallen short of. I still like you though. #SEA

"Don't Mess with Free Will"

eddie000 said...

You guys talk sh*t atimes... His career remains steady by God's grace, we all gat problem and family problems is one of the biggest threat to handle as a man, it takes wisdom and understand to handle family stalkers, some families are just pain in the arse (mostly African Parents) imagine you dey abroad when dey difficult cos of bills and your mama dey call you @ the wee hours telling you the $500 you sent last week has finished on what mama??? na cry go follow am say she suffer for you na like this you wan treat am? Seriously, if you gat the money you need to be conservative as well. As for me they need to be dealt with anyhow anyway, when the family was dragging him to TV stations and posting/sending letters to his club sides to torment him una shut up abi or do you know the effect when families sends blast email/letter to your employers? If it happens to you I swear you will even pray make that mama and siblings die to give you rest of mind... Same Linda that will blame the family sometimes ago now come here to blast him. There's no price to be a captain its just like a leader with no pay, the award and pay given is respect. The reason for stripping the band from him is to control is emotion and fix his present issue, nothing attached, it has happened to John Terry before so he stopped playing and not earning his pay? He will overcome it with time.

Hmmmmmmmmm

ifeomalinda said...

He ova did it washing ur dirty linings outside dats bad, hope he learns frm it.

Too damn bad, everything is crumbling around him!

Ok we don hear

They're taking this too far, everybody have their own family problems.

Linda he was dropped bcos he refused to play an earlier friendly game against Ghana immediately he returned to Togo saying he needed to rest, bt will be available for the game against Liberia. the coach felt he wasn't committed enof and stripped him of his captain armband. nt cos of family issues.

This guy needs to keep his sh*ts together b4
he loses it all.

That is our problem,everybody wants to protect family name,they keep protecting untill the thing choke them to death,that's why u see some peope commits suicide,becos they can't say it out

Pulchritude said...

Adebayor, learn to make family affair family not public. No family is perfect, not even the Clitons, Otedolas, Dangotes.

Timi Da Uyi said...

His problem is gross indiscipline. He joined the present camp late and refuse to travel with the team and joined on a latter date and wants to be captain? A captain leads by example wonder what he thinks he's trying to impact on the younger players

Vry unfortunate! Learn 4rm yr mistakes

LoL

Lmao! Serious one.

Good for him, he never see anything yet dis is de beginning of his downfall, is there any one who does not have family issue, how u manage it matter most someone like him is not fit to be the captain of a whole national team. Someone that can not manage his immediate family. Am sure his eyes will open now. He will realise is not every matter that bother u that u will share on social media.

Shut!

Those whom the gods wants to kill they first make them mad!he is just going through his own stage!

Real parrot crashing his career

Learn now b4 it's too late

Good for him....
He'd better come to terms with himself..

henrietta lucky said...

See what you are about to get in return.

Sensitive decisions ain't not be taken especially when angry. Emmanuel on another note you can't be captain for ever okay.

OREO GRANDE

This is the big hole you dug with your wide mouth. Your ability to crawl out of it will show the rest of the world that there's more to you than your family drama and social media brouhaha.

How fit are you? Mr doctor? When you were abusing yourself and Libr with vaseline nko?.
like patience ozokwo would say in one of her movies "Eddy I nyaka sigo ka akwa" .

Whatever! If he refuses to play, others will. No one is indispensable. He should have kept quite, but no, he wouldn't. Instead, he kept taking his family to the mud, season by season. This is one of the result of his actions.

Na only der family waka come?

He's a stupid man and is good for him

I
K
P
O
N
W
A

ROFLMAO.... @anon, u'r so so sick! Hehehehe

Please, what's this one saying? Have u eaten? Have several seats jare

I just knew it

Hmmm...mouths sealed

Mtchew,who is his replacement?...Togo sef dey form discipline...OSI rata ma ra iyo

Togolese people are far more disciplined than Nigerians, they were colonized by the Germans and also the French. So don't say rubbish!!!!