Businessman: EFCC detained, tortured me for 80 days | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 20 June 2015

Businessman: EFCC detained, tortured me for 80 days

A businessman/politician and environmentalist, Alhaji Suleiman Yerima narrates how he was detained and tortured for 80 days by operatives of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) while he was incarcerated by them.

In a petition addressed to President Muhammadu Buhari, Yerima detailed the inhuman treatment he got in the hands of the EFCC operatives and how he and his friend, Mr. Uwem Antia were battered in a torture cell operated by the EFCC in Lagos in collaboration with the police. He said he survived the ordeal only by the grace of God.

He said his ordeal bagan on March 3 while he was out of Lagos on a business trip. He said EFCC operatives called him and invited him and his friend, Antia, who he claimed is currently in a critical condition as a result of the injuries he sustained during the series of torture they received while in the custody of EFCC operatives.

He said:
“I honoured the invitation by going to EFCC with Mr. Antia in company with my lawyers. On arrival, I was shown the petition. In the petition, the petitioner alleged that he gave me N120 million to source for dollars for him and that I have not given him the dollars,” Yerima explained.
He said he told the operatives that he had made the payments and had documented evidence to prove it. He said despite his attempt to explain and show evidence of transactions, he was detained along with Mr. Antia.
“While in detention, we were denied bail by Iliyasu Kwarbai, the Director of Operations of EFCC in Lagos. EFCC hurriedly rushed to a magistrate court in Lagos on March 12 and obtained a detention warrant for 30 days. This was nine days after our initial detention without any charges filed against us. Later, Mr. Antia was handcuffed and taken to their torture chambers. Antia later told me they blindfolded him and hung him from 11pm till the early hours of the morning.
“My life is in danger and these people are out to kill me. I want the whole world to know that. The president should set up a panel of enquiry and if I am found guilty, I am ready to go to jail. But this injustice must stop. EFCC officials are busy making money for themselves. They are more corrupt than the corrupt politicians. They are rotten. They give you bail conditions you cannot meet and then ask you to negotiate,” he alleged.
However, the EFCC, denied Yerima’s claims. The spokesman of the anti-graft agency, Mr. Wilson Uwujaren said the claims were unfounded and should therefore be disregarded by the public.

He said:
“Alhaji Suleiman Yerima and Mr. Uwen Antia were on March 6, 2015 arrested by operatives of the EFCC for allegedly stealing the sum of $2,250,000 (two million, two hundred and fifty thousand US dollars) from two bankers. Their arrest followed a petition by Aginwa Gladys and Ale Dennis on February 17, 2015
The suspects allegedly approached the bankers: Gladys Aginwa and Ale Dennis in February, 2015, offering to sell foreign exchange to the tune of $10,000,000 USD to them.
“After agreeing on the exchange rate, a sum of N672, 750, 000 was transferred from BlueBeam Capital Investment Limited and Capital Field Investment and Trust Limited into the account of one of the bankers: Smiles and Light Limited. It was from the banker’s account that the entire sum was moved into Antia’s account: Kafisto Oil and Gas Limited.
“Findings showed that the entire sum of N672, 750,000 actually hit Antia’s account. A Bureau de Change operator who changed the money into its dollar equivalent, told EFCC’s investigators that he went with Antia to his bank along Bourdillon Road, Ikoyi, Lagos, where the transaction was confirmed. The Bureau de Change operator further said that, Antia subsequently transferred the sum of N666, 250,000 into his own account. He said he worked out the dollar equivalent of the money, which was $3,127,000 (three million, one hundred and twenty-seven thousand dollars). He said he could only give $3,124,000 to Antia, leaving a balance of $3,000 which he promised to give him the next day.
“Immediately Antia collected the foreign exchange, he reportedly headed for No. 17A, Awolowo Road, Ikoyi, Lagos, where the two bankers and his accomplice, Suleiman were waiting for him. However, rather than hand over the entire foreign exchange to the bankers, he only gave them $1,000,000 (one million dollars), claiming that he could not source the entire amount. He allegedly promised to give them a balance of $2,250,000 (two million, two hundred and twenty-five thousand dollars) the next day. This balance would be the dollar equivalent of the entire sum of the transaction (N672, 750,000).
“The bankers said that since the day Antia and Suleiman gave them the initial $1,000,000, all efforts to reach them had proved abortive. ‘Their cell phones were turned off,’ they said. However, they lodged a complaint with the EFCC and operatives of the commission eventually arrested the two fraudsters.”

Source: The Daily Sun

34 comments:

See what they did to a common citizen but they can't try this on Ex governor Ohakim and the rest of govt criminals... Nonsense organization!... EFCC thinks we are stupid!. Poor man steal Maggie they wanna exercise muscle, rich man steal millions, he's out of interrogation in few minutes..

This yoruba man is lying. The yorubas are very dishonest. I believe the EFCC. There is no smoke without fire

JUST ME said...

Let EFCC.be probed abeg, For the fact they are fighting corruption doesn't give thm the right to disrespect human rights

Biko who r we to believe bcos they almost got me in btw. They should b evidence of all dis transactions if not its all cock, and bull stories.

To all our muslim brothers, and sisters on LIB, I pray all ur heart desires come to pass during dis period of Ramadhan.

Long live Linda Ikeji, and all LIB reader's.

ogeee said...

Best known to them

At this stage only God knows who is telling the whole truth, and nothing but the truth. Until the mater is properly investigated by an independent and unbiased panel, the truth may not be established

They pamper the corrupt governors who looted billions of naira and release them same day, while they maltreat the common men. The efcc, police force should be re-organised.

Linda,MUST u repeat and old story/news that uve shared with us b4 or u r being paid for this?Smh

U v given us dis news b4 madam

Govt should banish EFCC, hw can u torture a citizen like this. The man has asked d govt to investigate n if found guilty should be jailed. Nobody citizen should be tortured like this, detain, investigate n if found guilty u take to court n send to prison or free if not guilty. Abeg this EFCC is a scam to negotiate with peeps over stolen money.

U v given us dis news b4 madam

But why evil....

MR EDDY said this heat wan kill person o.

This is sheer wickedness
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~

Effcc self is not trusted

They went too far....

TONIA GREEN said...

All animals are equal but some are more equal than the others.

❤❤❤ THE PROPHETESS

If it's the NPF, you'll see 500 comments. Nigerians and their judgemental attitude. Here from both sides first.

Exactly my thoughts. Speedy recovery man. Linda take note!

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix & my email address is (julie3er@gmail.com). Linda take note!

Sue their ass....seek justice and don't let 'em
go unpunished. What nonsense!

Old story

Biko who r we to believe bcos they almost got me in btw. They should b evidence of all dis transactions if not its all cock, and bull stories.

To all our muslim brothers, and sisters on LIB, I pray all ur heart desires come to pass during dis period of Ramadhan.

Long live Linda Ikeji, and all LIB reader's.

Haba Linda...is alhaji payin u for this publicity? This story has been published b4. Yerima is cryin foul after he has committed a lot of atrocities. Alhaji and his accomplices have duped so many people in d past, several cases are still pending in d court. He should b prosecuted and punished this time. Every day for the thief,one day for d owner. Justice must prevail. Linda b careful O!

Yerima and Anita are criminals they have been defrauding people for long time now. There are other evidence against them that shows they have such cases against them in court. The EfCC is only doing their job to ensure justice is served.

Nigerians shld investigate Linda on this matter if she has been paid for her job by these criminals,why do we like to embrace criminals,Yerima and Anita has done bad things to an innocent soul,on this matter justice must be done.Alot of people have lost their jobs because of their act,God has exposed them this time around.

What could he possibly ve done to deserve dis kinda treatment?

This man is a bg lair.

Linda shld take a step further n investigate this matter very well,do not encourage criminals as this is change we are asking for, we can't continue to discredit EFCC,they have done well on this matter,Yerima is a big time 419,he has cases of such,end time has come to them,why his friend is Runing up and down.Justice must be done.

Oh, and this tribalistic bigot stupid machine is back, I thought u had drowned in your pool of foolishness, Abeg just kill yourself and do Nigeria a favour, hateful people like u don't deserve to exist! FYI, he's an hausa man, I just can't understand why pple like u have such animosity against others! #DylanRoof in making!

Plp refuse to comment because they re scared of EFCC. Lolz wat a country. Oga Mk u pray, if u re saying the truth, den God will act for you. Thank God man no be God.

You are such a retard bastard....

The banker in this story is a friend of mine. Its a true story...... The fraudster's are trying to manoeuvre their way from the EFCC custody. That was why they made up the story about being tortured. In my opinion, they should even be tortured. Cos my friend has not recovered from this ordeal.

Plsssss I have been there before... They are the real criminals we are looking for.. I can call there names!!! EFCC is more corrupt than any other govt agency in this country, believe it or not.. It can be anyone's turn tomorrow. We must either cry out and stop all this bulshit !! Visit EFCC, Linda conduct an independent investigation and find out how they operate.. You can do a nice story about there modus operandi.. It's part of professional journalism. There cell have more than 30 people at every point in time.. Stupid cases!!! People are busy looting billions, they are busy following up on most stupid cases. Most people detained are disenfranchised. If you like don't publish this post.. The last time I commented on this issue it wasn't published but I don't care... Hausa language is there official language in EFCC.. Am surprised this is happening to Yerima because ordinarily Hausa people don't spend more than 2 to 3 days in there cell.. Go and check and confirm!! Pls write via freedom of information for all the records of detention and release for the last 1year.. Check for names and how long time the spent!! The commission is filled with illiterates.. People who could barely speak English language so you will begin to wonder what kind of investigation that they carry out, no wonder they can't win any crime case in court. PEOPLE DONT BE SCARED ABOUT EFCC, THEY CANT WIN YOU IN COURT.. The threaten Judges, conspiracy theory is there strategy, an attempt to frustrate you is what they do best, that's why they call up cases of 2000 & 2001 and beyond, still they can't win....Listen Oga Uwajen, before you defend Lagos pls carry out internal audit and investigation.. Your commission is ruptured and not even feared among the upper class in Lagos because you haven't achieved nothing either than gather yahoo boys and take them to court, beat them up and threaten them to make confessions. What did the law say? Even if it's true that Yerima defrauded someone, did the law say that you should torture him????? Is it allowed for civilians to be torturing civilians?? Some folks are here chatting shit without knowing that it could be your turn tomorrow. The northerners in EFCC should be relocated to Northen units of the agency.. After all there are loads of crime out there including the war of insurgency which all and sundry should join hands to fight.. Looting of funds happens more often in the North also.. You are not posted to Lagos to burst into people's houses in the name of EFCC while your folks who are the real criminals are busy killing your brothers.. Go home and save them. Lagos is a cosmopolitan city as such certain threats are allowed to balance the gap between the upper and medium class. Same in New York and most cities.. YES!!! This is no encouragement for anyone but let's be real, we can never live in a crime free state. This is reality!!! Cases should not be personalized out of poverty mentality. We must all play by the laws of the land either both ways!!! Linda if you like don't post this message but trust me EFCC should be investigated and if found guilty convicted; especially all of them in Lagos both Awolowo road and Okotie Eboh Str. Thank you!!!

@Making Money Machine; Your father is Mad for insulting yoruba people!!! BASTARD..

Linda, you are doing a great job,the story of Yerima should be taken seriously by all right thinking Nigerians, some people may chose to support EFCC in this matter but the real question we should ask is, Who owns this money? are bankers permitted by law to source for dollars in black market? if the intention of Yerima and Uwem Antia was to defraud why do they give Gladys and Denis usd one million the day after they collected the funds? why didn't take the whole amount and face the consequences? is it logical for EFCC not to investigate the source of the funds, Yerima said Mbu acknowledged that the money is owned by former First Lady Patience Jonathan, could that be the reason EFCC refused to tell Nigerians who owns this money? Standard Chartered Bank do not owns this money, Denis and Gladys working with the bank do not own this money. Now the truth of torture is glaringly clear when we notice the fact that both Mbu and EFCC never mention or question the source of the fund but are busy concealing the fact.There is corruption in EFCC, we Nigerians are not fools, same corruption is in the Police. How on earth can we believe Mbu, that said his boys were bribed 50 million naira and they refused, if that was the case, why not collect that money and use it as exhibit against the accuse? Mbu and EFCC are too far from the truth. This act of human right abuse will see Mbu, and Lamode/Kwarbai face justice soon.