The petition has over 17,000 signatures so far and claims that Azalea's win was invalid as her song "Fancy" did not meet eligibility requirements.
The petition started by Tennessee resident Christian Ferguson reads "The eligibility time period for nominations is March 10th, 2014 through March 2015. 'Fancy' was released on February 17th, 2014, nearly a month before the eligibility starting,". "This is unfair to the other nominees in these category, especially to 'Anaconda' by Nicki Minaj, who most likely would've won.
Billboard did not follow their own guidelines and should have to recalculate these nominations without 'Fancy' as a nominee."
"Fancy" was released last February and the nominees were chosen based on album and digital song sales, radio plays, streams, touring and social media engagement.
Azalea's song featuring Charli XCX made history when it remained at No. 1 on Billboard's Hot 100 chart for seven consecutive weeks.
The rapper and Billboard have yet to comment on the petition. Azalea beat out Big Sean, Nicki Minaj and Bobby Shmurda for the award.
48 comments:
Spilt milk
Who is she?
Phew! They should let the poor girl be.
Why always Iggy?
Their business
I agree. She isn`t a very good rapper. Maybe someone like Kanye or Jay Z should have won.
They shud let the matter rest joor.
pls must Nicki win all the time...
Dem. Isssh
PARENTAL ADVISORY!!!
Rubbish
visit.afomskyyy.blogspot.com the blog needs you
She is an individual that is better than your generation
The song doesn't deserve the win
Story 4 d gods after he many O'clock
Flip over!
»»»Be the change you desire
When you have enough people vexing for you, then something like this must happen.
Get the phone of your dreams at unbelievable discounts. Apple, Samsung, LG, Tecno, Infinix all included. Check it out.
Award shows these days don't know what Hip Hop/Rap music is. Fuck Billboard
Hot nigga by boobi should have won no doubt......
Billboard award management are anti black,imagine fancy wining the award instead of anaconda or hot nigga,racist
Linda that petition started more than a week ago not today
Not a good idea to me but they know best #onelovefromsnow#
Na dem sabi! I prefer fancy 2 anaconda, chikena!
They should let it be.
Mtcheew....Crazy people.
Make them free this girl joor
Mcheeeew mke dem try put toothpaste inside d pste holder back afta dem don press am out.
Abeg dey should free dis girl. Linda take note!
shes so gorgeous
seen but I don't know her
Ask Davido!!
I usually am as objective and open-minded as they come...Not because she is caucasian but Iggy Azeala's flow is garbage! Wiggidywiggidywack!
This lady and her dry songs.
I think Minag deserve it
I love iggy's rap let the haters keep hating. watch out for more
Iggy I love your rap keep it up
Linda u didn't put the link
Your aunty sir
They should let her enjoy her win
http://www.dobzifingers.com/?m=1
People should let this girl rest. Haba!
http://www.dobzifingers.com/?m=1
Abeggi it will be fruitless in the end...she shouldn't ve won it in the first place
I so agree, don't kNw wot d hell d girl raps, like seriously!!!!
Who are you?
Senseless, did you see kanye or jay in the nomination?
Most people don't rate her.
heard about enough petition going on to last me a year. yh yh i know we got to fix whats wrong but we also got to deal with more important issues
Was either of them nominated in that category?? Read before you comment. Itk
All i see is ass*...punchlines? ehrm..dont think so..she will make more morey at the strippers'