Press statement on the travails of Buruji Kashamu by PILL | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 25 May 2015

Press statement on the travails of Buruji Kashamu by PILL

The travails of Senator-elect Buruji Kashamu - being text of the press statement issued by the Public Interest Lawyers League. Read below...
The siege laid to the home of Buruji Kashamu by operatives of the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) and the Nigeria Police is nearing its fourth day. 
The facts leading to the siege are well too known that they don't bear repeating here. For the record, the Public Interest Lawyers League (PILL) frowns at the crude, gestapo-style manner that the NDLEA, Police and the AGF have conducted themselves since the news of the siege broke last Saturday morning. 
The dictates and the demands of the law are not too onerous to be complied with by statutory agencies and persons charged with the responsibility of protecting its sanctity, rather than the recourse to might, power and the bullying tactics reminiscent of the military that Buruji Kashamu is today experiencing at the behests of the afore-mentioned statutory authorities.

That Buruji Kashamu is wanted in the United States of America for drug related charges doesn't make him any less a citizen of Nigeria that must be hounded and stripped of the fundamental liberties guaranteed by Sections 34, 35, 37 and 41 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria,1999. Buruji Kashamu, whatever the substance of the criminal charge against him in the United States of America, is a Nigerian citizen and his rights must be defended against the totalizing power of the United States of America, the same way the United States of America consistently defended the likes of Dick Cheney who were fingered in the notorious Halliburton bribe scandal, acting through our own statutory agencies such as National Drug Law Enforcement Agency. If the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency, through the AGF, has any extradition request from the United States of America, the proper thing the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency should do is to secure a warrant of arrest against Buruji Kashamu and institute extradition proceedings before the High Court of Justice. We are at pain as to finding the legal basis for the current siege laid by narcotics and security operatives to the home of Buruji Kashamu, contrary to Section 37 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999. The statement credited to the Attorney-General of the Federation, which is to the effect that the United States of America's request for extradition of Buruji Kashamu makes the ongoing siege to the home of Buruji Kashamu legal, is utterly ludicrous. Extradition request does not serve as a warrant of arrest!

We note, based on what is already discernible from the public media space, that the government of the United States of America attempted twice to secure the extradition of Buruji Kashamu from the United Kingdom and twice it failed. We ask: does the government of the United States of America have new, fresh and compelling evidence to establish basis for its renewed extradition request to the Nigerian government? If it does, why have our narcotics and security operatives adopted the bullying, gestapo-style tactics that suggest the sinister motive of attempts to kidnap Citizen Kashamu by any means other than legal? If there are new, fresh and compelling facts and evidence, let the Attorney-General of the Federation present them to the scrutiny of our laws and our court. 

For us, we join other voices to condemn the actions of our narcotics and security operatives. Let it be known that we will join to defend the rights of Buruji Kashamu whenever and wherever extradition proceedings are instituted against him.

Abdul Mahmud, ESQ
PRESIDENT
Abuja
Monday 25th May, 2015

87 comments:

Burundi is in hot soup...no one can help him now

Wish him luck..

Same treatment he melted out on some of his workers is being done to him and he bribing all the lawyer in Nigeria to save him. Alh Esho Jinadu aka Buruji Kashamu, go answer your case for Anerica.
You should have jeje maintained your godfather status instead of rigging elections and making yourself senators.
All the blood you spilled is seriously hunting you

God wil surely put them to shame mostly those hater's dat don't want their fellow brothers progress.

This man face though...so funny.

AQO said...

#AintNobodyGotFuel 2 read that piece of shit.

D fact still remains that he is wanted in d united state..if he has no skeleton in his wardrobe let him be bold enuf to go to USA n clear himself...that's all.. its as simple as ABC

are u looking for a sugar mummy or daddy please call this line 09050085168 please be mature

I don't have any business with this man, I pray that whoever is behind this ill treatment will fail with his plan

Abeg Buruji ko gini bu aha' ya go & pay for your crime make person hear word. Linda take note!

How much were u pple paid....u r all a disgrace to the profession

Abdul Mahmud how much were you paid for this hatchet job, you are a disgrace to the law profession

Chop Chop said...

US will never give up until you are cleared

Latest Nigerian Politics said...

If Buruji Kashamu is found guilty of drug related offenses then he should be penalized. .. Latest Nigerian Politics

Oma said...

hmmm,what do these lawyers stand to gain from this man?just asking.

Correct ! Free Buruji!

Chop Chop said...

If your hands clean no problem but if you trying to use ogboju my friend you already know the outcome meaning you ain't coming back soon.

oluwafemi samuel said...

God will vindicate you innocent senator kashamu

And how many innocent people jailed illegally have you spoken for?
Just because of his status you're giving us this epistle

Thank u PIll. This selling your own into slavery mentality must stop. That is how we get to where we are today. We sold our own into slavery before and we are still doing it today. The Brits shut down the plaintiff's case twice. That should end the case. This is all political crucification. Leave this man alone. This cruel and unusual punishment. He is going to stand trial for the same case thrice? Absolute nonsense.

The Editor said...

Why must a terrorist go scot free?

Next!

This AGF has zero knowledge of the law. He was saying that NDLEA without warrant by competent court can just on its own remand a person into house arrest. That can only be done thru the courts.

Too long mbok

obinna said...

I am totally against the action of the drug law enforcement agency. No matter what Buruji might have done, due process must be followed to prosecute him.

True talk.America can never send their citizens to other countries to face charges.only in Nigeria.black man and inferiority complex.

personally I think everyone deserves a second chance even though I don't like Buruji, I think he can be rude and arrogant but if NDLEA is not following the law then their actions should not be condoned, bullying is not fair. There is a very important point in PILL statement, does the US have new evidence to make their case against this man now since they could not get him from UK into US after trying twice

Abeg make unah free diz man nw..nah only him dey there?

Who are all these faceless lawyers looking for money from d drug baron? Anyway, lawyers must chop sha...get your dawned share of the orange is black blockbuster

Ok we don hear

brosjay said...

This is a wonderful submission... don't know why we are so bigoted and gullible in NIgeria. we always love dancing to d tunes of USA that does not have our interest at heart. what a hypocritical nation. sometimes been a nigerian sucks.. *hiss*

Dem say person na Drugee una dey talk rubbish. Keep grasping straws there. There are thousands of burujis that needs to be captured still. Including Oga Abdul Mahmud ESKUNK

I agree with you what then ndlea did was bullshit. No arrest warrant nothing. I don't think kashamu hands are clean if not, he should have sued them to court. They ( military, navy, police) will just be treating us anyhow because oyibo people said arrest him. O ga oooo.if it were their citizen will they treat their citizen like that( what ndlea did to kashamu)

How much did Kashamu pay dis guys

This is disappointing! Y are some lawyers treating us all as if are morons! Abeg am a lawyer too but my view are totally different! Pls d law must take it full course!

Chima C Chima said...

Buruj Kashamu should toe the line of President Uhuru Kenyatta who stripped himself of his powers and made himself available to the ICC. If he is sure that he is not the person wanted in the united states, he should go there and defend himself after which he will come back to take his seat in the senate.

Rubbish....... the end is here. Buruji Kashamu there is no hiding place......

Well said. Brilliant.

He shld be allowed to be and the constitution followed to the latter. .. American can't allow it's citizen go through such no mata what

I support your stand. The inferiority complex running in the blood of Nigerians is mind boggling. Our ability to destroy our own is wahoo. Get a warrant or let go.

Ok if my dad in his professional prowess, wrote this piece of garbage in Kasahmu's defense, I will be so ashamed, I will disown him. Are these people stupid or what? Defending a drug baron speaking of constitutional rights?

adik said...

I guess this group is also involved in drug activities.. Ndlea already told us they have powers of ingres,what other warrant are you looking for? Or maybe as a lawyer you still don't understand that English.. Go back to law school ooo

princess said...

Exactly! Extradition proceedings does not happen in a gestApo manner and can be appealed.. what is happening to Kashamu looks like a conspiracy and victimisation..

Rule of law must be followed in cases like this, America would not trample on d right of his citizen regardless of whatever d offence is

@ Bola, I Strongly doubt your legal prowess. Infact, you're a pocket lawyer.... Stop deceiving LIBs

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Same shit I jst said

Adedada09@gmail.com

this is what is wrong wit nigeria, defending a well know drug baron? dont be surprise the judge will rule in his favour after collecting money.

@Subomi, u r quite right but...

Thanks

@Bola Ogunjide you are a charge and bail lawyer. You must have passed through the law school with bribery. The work of lawyers is to defend and not condemn. Oloshi @amfestus

Mr. Yoruba Ronu said...

This is not a matter of faceless lawyers seeking money.... I do not support the accused. But, my view is let the legal process be followed. Not just to harass and Billy a Nigerian citizen because he is not liked by Obasanjo....

Look, it is a fact. ... This is very similar to what obasanjo did to Fela Anikulapo Kuti. Fela spoke out against him, he sent soldiers to burn his house which subsequently led to the death of Fela's mum....

YorubaRonu

This criminal Nigerian lawyers at it again?

Pls thiefnubu shud also not be left out as a drug kingpin

Such an idiot u r ..blogs have made a lot of people so foolish..all they just want to do is read headline and run to comment "like first to comment " .. If u read the full statement u will realize that Citizen Kashamu is not " in soup" as u hv foolishly commented..he is actually getting help here on behalf of PILL..and this is how is should be done to protect our citizens...some of u r still lost in d campaign episode Lolz..wake up since March already...One Nigeria

I join other voices to condemn the actions of our narcotics and security operatives.

Sincerely they r not b professional in discharge of their duties. God wil surely put them to shame mostly those dat r after their fellow brother progress.

@EDDY, u r a senseless fool and idiot if not u wouldn't make dis empty hand comment.

Which sch d u even attend? One of dis local nite sch I suppose. Wht a shame@EDDY.

U reason wit ur anuspEDDY.

He is a real pocket lawyer to the core!

NDELEA needs to publish the documents which i dont believe they have.

Nigeria (PILL) in this case will always support their corrupt leaders. if he was indicted by the NDLEA then the story would have been swept under the carpet but not an organised country like the US. please if he has not committed any crime then he should not be scared of any trials. and please his attempt on suicide is laughable abeg.

Ms_Oyinkansola BF said...

Eso jinadu might be guilty of a whole lot of things, rigging that senatorial election, isn't one of them. He won that election! I support APC anyday but on that seat dapo and the rest were not a match!

Rubbish! Awon ole.

Really hope this case doesn't go silent!

All I know is there's no smoke without fire.

What has the NDLEA done that is causing these lawyers to foam from the mouth? They have asked Kashamu to come out and he has not. They have not forced their way in or what not. The USA has asked Nigeria to extradite him, through a Nigerian the court as it should be. The process has been put in motion and cannot be stopped, because Nigeria has a treaty with the USA for such. If Nigeria wants a USA citizen they will do the same. It is left for Kashamu to fight the extradition in the court, as it should be. What is good is good, and what is bad has no other name. As at now, NDLEA considers Kashamu a flight risk and I am sure the court will determine that as well.

@ Eddy you are nothing but an empty headed parent money waste on education. What kind of parent would u become if all you read is headline. I am ashame for you.too bad.

Oskirin said...

tank u pill.my argument is, if ur hand dey clean,y nt go n clear ya name.as 4 NDLEA,una supose do d right tin b4 una do gra-gra go him house.i hope n pray d court will nt find merit in ds defence n tro out ds extradite case.

abujakenneth said...

Lets all be reminded that if there is no law, it will be chaos. Every body will be fighting every other person and it will amount to survival of the fittest. While law has in most cases not maintain proper justice it is still better than no law. The law even in USA is that an accused person is innocent until proved otherwise. We have not been told why Citizen Buruji's right to movement has been curtailed. We should try to maintain these small rule of law we have for about 8 years now from the time of Yaruadua. There is not competent court that has placed citizen Buruji under house arrest. USA must also condemn this act because it is against the tenets of rule of law and democracy. I have a feeling that this is a sign of what will expect in the next four years or so. I want to be proved wrong.

Abdul Mahmud, where has this your faceless group PILL been all this while, when the rights of the ordinary Nigerians 'innocent' citizens were trampled?!! You clowns are the ones killings this country but not for long. Lawyer 'my black hairy ass'!

You are the bigger disgrace to the law profession be here constituting Nuisance! You are guilty of Infamous conduct not compatible with the legal profession! You don't even know the law! The law states every citizen to be innocent until proven Guilty! He is wanted in the US is there any warrant of arrest as to that regard? If there be it should be Attested by the AG of the federation! And not been done illegally!

Yes he is Correct! When it has to do with the NDLEA where there is a reasonable suspicion they can arrest without warrant but that is within Nigeria and not taken someone out of the country! Without the consent of the AGF! Just like executing a warrant of arrest outside a jurisdiction of where the offence was committed without seeking the permission of the court in that jurisdiction where such arrest should be executed!

You shout STFU be ashamed of your father 4 all we care! What evidence do you have against him meet your father to teach you the law that's if he knows the law! ODE!

D'ANGELS said...

Chai! Adaobi, u are brilliant and sane.
I asked PILL d same question,.
All this jargon LIB responses baffles me.
Let me tell u Buruji Kashamu can only be likened to Late Fidel Castro of Cuba.
I beg we don't want such in Buhari's team.

By the special grace of God no weapon fashioned against Buruji Kashamu shall prosper. ....I am a graduate of oou,this man is the nicest man I have met outside my family...he has not given me a dim before,but his giving attitude makes me fall in love with him...he has help so many people and he has helped to elevate poverty in ogun state...what Ibikunle couldn't do for the people in his first tenure as Ogun state governor this man did everything willing...I wish our past politicians were or are like him,maybe poverty would have been elevated in this country.if the NDLEA,NPF,and the law enforcement agencies in Nigeria will watch and let this man be carried off to the USA,and would let him do is tenure as the senator of Ogun,then I can tell you that the people in government presently are all illiterate.

Shame on all you commenters who support NDLEA My Oga, My Chairman, The CEO KASMAL GROUP OF COMPANIES, BESTWESTERN THE ISLAND HOTEL, HOTEL THE ISLAND to mention but a few has been vindicated. The stupid NDLEA has been ordered to get the hell out of his house, The Ogun state people can attest to his kindhearted ways, his workers can attest too. Buharia, Obusonjo, Tinibi,Ole Bode George leave him a alone. The only solution, Bureau de change go on to Abuja cos you are the man of the people, we your staff loves you. Much respect Sir

Shame to the dapo and Sia group that wanted to bring the nicest man in Nigeria down

By the special grace of God no weapon fashioned against Buruji Kashamu shall prosper. ....I am a graduate of oou,this man is the nicest man I have met outside my family...he has not given me a dim before,but his giving attitude makes me fall in love with him...he has help so many people and he has helped to elevate poverty in ogun state...what Ibikunle couldn't do for the people in his first tenure as Ogun state governor this man did everything willing...I wish our past politicians were or are like him,maybe poverty would have been elevated in this country.if the NDLEA,NPF,and the law enforcement agencies in Nigeria will watch and let this man be carried off to the USA,and would not let him do is tenure as the senator of Ogun,then I can tell you that the people in government presently are all illiterate.

By the special grace of God no weapon fashioned against Buruji Kashamu shall prosper. ....I am a graduate of oou,this man is the nicest man I have met outside my family...he has not given me a dim before,but his giving attitude makes me fall in love with him...he has help so many people and he has helped to elevate poverty in ogun state...what Ibikunle couldn't do for the people in his first tenure as Ogun state governor this man did everything willing...I wish our past politicians were or are like him,maybe poverty would have been elevated in this country.if the NDLEA,NPF,and the law enforcement agencies in Nigeria will watch and let this man be carried off to the USA,and wouldn't let him do is tenure as the senator of Ogun,then I can tell you that the people in government presently are all illiterate.

By the special grace of God no weapon fashioned against Buruji Kashamu shall prosper. ....I am a graduate of oou,this man is the nicest man I have met outside my family...he has not given me a dim before,but his giving attitude makes me fall in love with him...he has help so many people and he has helped to elevate poverty in ogun state...what Ibikunle couldn't do for the people in his first tenure as Ogun state governor this man did everything willing...I wish our past politicians were or are like him,maybe poverty would have been elevated in this country.if the NDLEA,NPF,and the law enforcement agencies in Nigeria will watch and let this man be carried off to the USA,and would not let him do is tenure as the senator of Ogun,then I can tell you that the people in government presently are all illiterate.I can tell you that this is a planed work of Dapo and Sia,thinking that will give them the opportunity to have it all in ogun state.I am totally disappointed in Obasanjo for the first time,cos he gave the above names the guilts to do what they have done.the head of NDLEA should be sacked for collecting bribe from dapo and Sia in other to unsettle and unseat the man of the people and the only solution for ogun north east...feel free to locate me...I can go to jail for Buruji Kashamu if worse comes.he has to be in Abuja for the ogun solution agenda.love u Kashamu for been helping hands to the poor.we are praying for u.

This man is accused of a serious crime. In his shoes, if am not guilty, I will rise and challenge it. Has he said he did not do it? This is awful. A senator of the federal republic hiding like a Nokia 3310 thief. He should shed his senator-elect regalia or whatever, buy his plane ticket, fly straight to the US court and clear his damned name. Why wait for NDLEA to come for him. He wants to go make laws with a serious charge hanging on his neck. God forbid!