Photos: Wife attempts to stab husband to death in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 26 May 2015

Photos: Wife attempts to stab husband to death in Lagos

As I received from a LIB reader. Read below...
"I want to share a real story with you which happened over the weekend about a couple that live in Olowora. Isheri, Lagos Mr and Mrs Funsho Makinde who on Friday night in their flat had a heated argument which lead to the wife stabbing the husband on the thigh and arm with a big knife on a vein that led to the artery (and apparently this is not the first time she's pulled a knife on him)
My grieve here is that this woman is still allowed to walk on the streets of Lagos. It's absurd even the police men who came to the crime scene and took pictures, visited the man at emergency room in the hospital (LASUTH) after collecting 6 pints of blood, they still did not arrest her even though I believe they had enough evidence to do so...
There are organisations that fight for domestic violence against women whether verbal or physical but are women completely justified to say that we are the only species that suffer some form of abuse?
If this were a man you and I know this man would probably be locked up by now. This story is for real and it happened please this man needs to get justice as the woman is still seen strutting and cruising in his car while her husband is languishing in agonising pain 
I need this woman to be rid of from our streets. I hope your platform can shed light to this case and hopefully bring justice to at least save his life.
His name Funsho Makinde - works at Vitaform
Her name Tayo Makinde. And they have been married for a year‎  
Sent pictures of proof

248 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 248 of 248

Exactly.... What does that mean? Leave the reporter, he/she is just a lay member of the public and you don't know the level of education he/she attained.

Enough reason to try to kill him? Nothing done to you in this world justifies taking another's life. I am sure the hubby is planning to flee after this encounter despite their exchanging smiles on his hospital bed!😜

Does that give her the permission to stab him with intent to kill? Even if it is a 1000 times that he has been caught cheating - carry your load and leave the guy, not kill him!

This is no longer a civil case! That is when 'you' can talk about not pressing charges!! Attempted murder is a criminal case and that is left to the prosecution service of the legislative arm to proceed with charging her to court if they have a strong case. She has not even be arrested!!😳 My Naija!!!!!!!!! Long way to go.... And I doubt we will get there.

Gbabeski!
Word!

E be like say u and David smoke too much yesterday.. u no see name?

@Royal Idiot...u r a very big fool

May u deserve to be killed by your partner...big fool

My thoughts exactly however I v a gut feeling dat dis reporter might b d cause of their fight like a side chic

If it is the man DAT did this now...u will be talking bullshit ooo. U nor dey think? If na ur brother ...u go talk all this bull...animal like u

Just like somtin cos an argument that led to Rihanna's beating ?

May your own partner find a good reason to kill oo. Idiot like u

Who are you and should we believe your post

You all should stop being hypocritical... A woman won't stab her husband without a reason. Learn to hear the true story from parties involved before judging them. You cannot tell if she acted in self defense.

@Linda Ikeji...stop character assassination.

Davido's driver u r very foolish and ode is better dan u.What does tribe have to do in dis matter.Tribalistic maga!!!

@anon 11:20 it is ur ppl that r dirty, ewu he/she goat. Whatever u r.

Like seriously? too bad

I dnt think u are ok.uf it were u,wld u like to rot in the hospital?dis a social media,try to compose urself b4 commenting on post.ok.
Cheers.

My dear it is only God that can help us in Dis country

@mzzmayor you be demon o nice attempt ke... LINDA IKEJA YOU BREED MURDERERS HERE O

He sure does

Lmaooo....gud fr u

Na high level gbege

Why does it become your business to send this link? Gbeborun

Thanks Donald Smith. Exactly my thought.

You definitely have brain Omalicha

They should really arrest the woman.. If she can do that to her husband, imagine what she will do to someone else

Thank you for shedding light to the fools who think they know it all. I know them too and I know she cares deeply for him. Though I do not support what she did. She has been by her husband side since the incident happened.
Guess whoever shared the story is the concubine or her relative.

She is not insane.

She needs to be arrested....

jogzy said...

@royal priesthood. What a senseless comment. You should think before commenting on a forum like this. You will rot in hell someday. Nonsense. People like you are the types that suffer silently from abuse. You come online and make some useless malignant masculine comments. Idiot!!

Poor Funsho, such a gentleman.

I know him because we grew up together. His nature endears all to him.
This woman needs help!
What if he was asleep? What if it was his heart that was stabbed? What if there was no help? What if it was late in the night? What if there was no fuel to power the hospital??? What if......
May the Lord deliver us.
Poor Funsho.

jogzy said...

@anonymous. All women who kill claim self defense. It reminds me of Jodi Arias case that spread like virus in the USA. Even cops who kill without reason claim self defense. This is shameless. Questions need to be asked here. Was she treated for a life threatening injury at a reputable hospital after the so-called strangulation. No matter what, why take a life you cannot create. Every killer gets taught on how to make the self defense case stand. I see the same here. If this was united states or any developed world, the state will investigate the matter. No need for family's consent like. This is attempted homicide until cleared by the court. Shame to Nigeria.

Dear Linda,

Like many fans, I read with horror the story of "the wife who attempts to stab husband in Lagos". But I read with even ‘bigger horror’ people’s comments on the story. As a gender and human rights activist and someone who continues to fight for fair and equal treatment for women and men through laws and policies I am deeply concerned and feel that majority of Nigerians still need enlightenment on several issues.

Permit me therefore to share what I can for the benefit of those who are interested.
1. It is true that husbands and wife argue/fight. In some cases it is just verbal and emotional. Sadly, in many, is gets physical and can be deadly (remember the case of the banker). FACT: this is called Domestic Abuse/Violence and thankfully in Lagos state there are laws against such. So it doesn’t matter whether it is the wife (female) or husband (male). They can and will be prosecuted should the offended party wish to press charges. Sadly, many do not!
2. I am not a marriage counsellor but I do think that what many Nigerian marriages/homes need is one. A professional (not a pastor) that can help many couples deal with some of the challenges that they are facing. God knows living in Nigeria is hard and frustrating enough.
3. Family or Intervention of others: I read somewhere that "don’t tell others your problems because 80% of them don’t care and the other 20% are happy you have them". The truth is that everyone is dealing with their own issues but that doesn’t mean that we should be inhumane to real dangers when we see one. In cases of domestic violence families are usually divided – many say stay and work it out arguably because of the stigma associated to being separated or divorced. The others say leave/go. But they also rarely take the time to sit to work out modalities associated with divorce. What happens if there are children? Finances? In this case (no children) what about feelings – feelings of love, betrayal etc. That is very real in most marriages – ‘You married this person for a reason’ and if things don’t work out how do you deal with that emotion especially if you’re the offended party. You have heard the saying that “Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned” – there was a reason for that.
4.Ultimately Violence is not the solution and the sooner we start to look critically at some of the causes of violence in marriages (dogmas, abuse, stereotypes etc) the more we avoid and limit such incidences.
5.Finally (and it bears repeating), there are specific laws against such matters. Where there aren’t any (in many of the Nigerian states) concerned citizens (like majority reading LIB) can do something about it. Read up on it. Look at places where it applies – agitate for laws/policies to be passed in places where they don’t exist. Most importantly, where they do exist agitate for enforcement.

I wish the couple involved in this – and others for that matter all the best (whatever they deem that to be). But some simple steps can help get there:
1. Get help – professional help. If indeed the story has some element of truth in it – both parties need counselling. Indeed after such an incidence you do need counselling (just seeing the amount of blood alone – I need counselling!!!!)
2. Be prepared to go through with it. It is not something that can happen overnight
3. Whatever the decision reached - be committed to it!
For those berating the lady who brought this on LIB think about this – If anyone of the couple was your brother or sister would you not want them to live and be happy? Sometimes a problem shared is a problem solved (think about that for a second).
Too many times we see things and say it is not our business or concern – I have my own. Ralph Emerdo Emerson puts it nicely “You cannot do a kindness too soon for you never know how soon it will be too late”. The UN says that many victims suffer or die because they and those around them keep silent. In case of domestic abuse, “Silence is NOT golden”

This is just Funsho's past catching up with him, the dude is an irresponsible asshole. I hope the wife knows he has a child outside the marriage that he has refused to take up responsibilities for. Funsho impregnated a girl wayyy back in the days and himself and family were talking trash and resfused to own up to his responsibility. Karma definitely is a bitch but I pray he pulls thru.

Really? That's something I guess

All you people automatically calling her evil.. Just shut up okay? Do you know what led to it or what the man was actually doing to her before she cut him with a knife. If the blog read dead wife, then your comments would be that she should have left. Instead of judging her, just pray that they are okay and God would intervene.

Let him retrace his steps then. Eleda abandoned kid ni o n torment life eh!

Any all of you blabbibf. Did you bother to ask wht the root of the problems. Wht if she was in the kitchen and was very angry at a forbidden sin, Wht if the Guy Held her at a choking point and that was all she could do to Escape. Pls Do not But ya mouth into husband and wife matter. Just pray for them. Amebos.

What sin could make one stab a husband. Doesn't she have someone she could have cried to.Your response is Pathetic. Nobody can give life and no should take one especially when the wife does not have single bruise.

May you be repaid in that way for your sins. Mr or miss saint who is judging right now.Let the mother of the abandoned kid do DNA na. The lady that does not know who has the kid and looking for who to push kid too. Nonsense

It is you that your speaking trash right now. Why did u have to wait till now to announce.

Hmmn. What a wicked soul

This is just too sad. God help our families. But this guy needs to run otherwise she will end up killing him.

I know this man very well. We grew up together. He is a very fine gentleman. This does not mean that he is not human and cannot make mistakes. Regardless of what this man may have done, nothing in the world should make a woman (or any human being) do this.
With this, we know for sure that her family is not safe, her kids are not and even her co-workers and neighbors are not safe.

Tribal/ ethnic sentiments should not come up here or anywhere else for that matter. This issue kills us as a nation. Please stop this complex. A human being is a human being.

Funsho really needs to be careful here.

Thank God he's alive. To God be the Glory.

Form those jumping into conclusions before hearing what led to the stabbing, here is a little hint. According to sources, the couple were going through a rough time with the wife mostly at the receiving end. The husband had turned her into a punchbag at the slightest provocation/misunderstanding. On that cursed day, the husband was somewhere in the house (probably the parlour) while the lady was in the kitchen doing some cooking while both exchanging very unpleasant words. The story went on that the husband rushed to the kitchen to batter his wife as usual but the wife 'defended' herself by using the knife with which she was slicing onions to stab her husband. The rest of the story you already know.
Whoever taught her husband to settle scores with his wife by physical abuse has not helped him in any way, provided the story I was told was true. See where it has landed him now ... and for the lady, you would have at best ended up with a life jail term had he died or even n been sentenced to death by hanging. Just continue thanking your star.
If you know you don't have patience, or won't be able to cope with marriage, don't marry. And if you are in No relationship that involves abuse (especially physically), take your leave before its too late.
A word they say is enough, but only for the wise nio. I submit

E ni a wi fun oba je O gbo

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 248 of 248   Newer› Newest»