Animal rights activist compares lab Chimpanzees to African American slaves | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 28 May 2015

Animal rights activist compares lab Chimpanzees to African American slaves

An animal rights activist in his quest to grant primates the same liberties enjoyed by humans​​shockingly ​compared ​their legal fight to the struggle of enslaved blacks in the US.

Steve Wise the lawyer 'representing these chimpanzees, Hercules and Leo said:
“We had a history of that for hundreds of years saying black people are not part of society and you can enslave them. That wasn’t right. It didn’t work,” said Steven Wise, head of the Nonhuman Rights Project.

His group is asking a Manhattan Supreme Court judge to grant a writ of habeas corpus to two chimpanzees living in a Stony Brook University lab in Suffolk County. If granted, the writ would free the 8-year-old chimps Hercules and Leo by declaring their confinement illegal.

Wise came before Justice Barbara Jaffee after losing their fight in three other state courts.

He extended the slavery comparison by saying that at one point in time courts didn’t recognize Native Americans as “legal persons” either.

Wise said chimps are “autonomous beings…they are self-conscious…they can understand what others are thinking…they plan for what their life is going to be like…they have language they have mathematics, they have material and social culture. They are the kinds of beings who can remember the past and plan for the future.” In a human, argued Wise, those capacities are grounds for the right to be free. .

“Arbitrarily condemning an autonomous being to a life of slavery could eat away at the rights that we humans thought we had,” Wise claimed.

He went on to make the startling claim that locking up chimps “may be even worse than imprisoning human beings” because “they don’t even know why they’re there.”

The DA said animals don't have the same legal rights as humans hence the Judge should dismiss the case because they have another location for the chimps that is safe for them.

Win or lose, Wise said at a press conference following the trial, the hearing itself was a victory. “Many human beings have these kinds of hearings,” he said. Chimpanzees “are now being treated like all the other autonomous beings of this world.” Whether they’ll continue to get that treatment will be up to Justice Jaffe.

37 comments:

@arkiss said...

Morn Peeps

Nothing wrong with the comparison. Its just a figurative statement. Linda take note!

Who so ever hav dis idea or propose dis "may be even worse than imprisoning human beings” is thinking wit his or her anus.

And someone in her right senses was cuddling this thing like wht I dnt know. Khloe come I have to check u for ebola...

Wee are all monkeys. Lindaobserve

Chai *smh

Just negodu

Oyibo people too mumu sha...them nor get work ni .....lolz

LOL him papa

Oshoma Lucky said...

This people keep compering humans and animals together

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Really?

My goodness!!! For those of you that worship the whites, here you have it...you are likened to a chimpanzee. Wow, there is really no limit to the whites degeneration of the blacks! Unfortunately we also help with their perception of us by acting uncivilised, disunited, show of hatred amongst ourselves and unprincipled! We need to change for the better!

BrendaN

What an insult 😒

andre kelvin said...

This man is stupid an crazy! its an animal (chimpanzee/Monkey) how can u compare a monkey to a Nigro (black man)... Am sure he's a white person. White ppl and der stupidity. Lol this shit is just like this movie "Rise Of The Planet Of Apes" is about to get real

They don't even know why they there..love that part

The Steve dude is insane!

Pls visit my blog nmaojike.com. Thanks

Yea. Have the chimps learnt ur language fluently? If the being has the ability to communicate, exchange words, etc, then he is equal to u. Black Africans and Native Americans have the ability to learn ur freakin English language and communicate with in virtually all capacities. Chimps can't. So y compare . Racists lawyers

Celine Oma said...

Dat man is higher dan an electric pole! Wat nonsense! I wanted to hit d man after reading this piece of crap!

he is a standard bastard.....

so black people are chimpanzees? ok oooo, God will judge

Mtchewwwwwww still animals regardless

What insult.

INDEED...TOMJERRYSWIT

Baskin said...

Jeez!!

Funny write up.

The ignorance is everywhere. Even some LIBers use African-Americans to make stupid points. You have a poster named ary who uses every opportunity to applaud police brutality against American blacks. Same for your favorite son Onyx. When you post about gays, he's here rebutting every comment. But let a post be about racial problems, particularly in the US, his response is to say blacks complain too much.

Legalisation of bestialism drawing close

Absolutely incomparable... Dis issue should b discarded, and doesn't worth listening to.

What are we 'blacks' really contributing to the growth of this planet? All black countries are garbage and all white countries are economically better than any african country...We blacks are the minorities of this world....Accept it...It's FACT!!!

You are a shallow minded fool! Where whites always this civilized? Didn't it take a process? Have the Chinese not caught up with & overtaken them? Get educated!

Amycool cyril said...

what an insult to blacks, mtcheeeeeew

The Han, Chan, Ming dynasties of China from a thousand years ago, had functioning systems of writing, functioning governments practices, architecture, sophisticated written languages in the form of pictographs, trade with the rest of the world.

Apart from the Yoruba civilization, what other African groups can we call civilized? Yorubas were wearing clothes, in Ondo there's evidence of written language dating over a millenia, metal working and lifelike bust reliefs that predated the iron age in the Western world. Sophisticated governmental systems. Trade and commerce, evidence of interactions with other groups of civilized people, including the Egyptians, Sudans, the Olmecs in the Americas and even links with Phoenicians known as seafarers and adepts of the Goddess Europa a contemporary of the Goddess Osun, links with Ancient Atlantians and Mesopotamians, the only African civilization to have organised religion with a sophisticated Pantheon of deities to rival those of the Norse, Greeks, Romans, Egyptians and Sumer, which was then the cradle of civilisation, where our forebear Nimrod (Lamurudu) who built the tower of Babel came from.

It is Yoruba civility that ensured the freedoms of all other black races, this is why Yoruba people, traditions, influence, language and culture, is a thriving the world over.

So when you say "We" it would do you well to remember that one group of black people ensured the rights you enjoy, even though people seem abuse the privilege.

Let these Chimpanzees, who are probably more intelligent than most black people be free!

There is no harm in saying they should be more than instruments in animal testing of human cosmetics and medicine, or game in animal reserves or zoo attractions... Or food.

this wise man should be shot!

some much infradignitatumious inferiority has eaten deep into the very fabric of some people's existence!!!imagine some people not seeing the submission of this whitish pink pig as non racially prejudiced?so what kind of chimpazees are your forefathers if its ok to compare his gay partner's incarceration to your forefather's slavery?you see why they say black means lack?u can justify a white asshole's insult and you crucify your fellow blackmen!OJU MA TIYIN NI!!ONIRANU DEDE!!

@11:10am, speak for yourself, low self esteem buddy. I contribute plenty to this planet and will not be turning up my face to be degraded by you. Nigeria would be light years ahead too if its foundations were built on free labor like western nations. Every industrialist's dream is no or low-overhead costs, and western nations had that for centuries. So of course they used those years to build their countries at an advantage that cannot be easily erased today.

got no words for him