Sad news! Prof. Dora Akunyili has passed on | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 7 June 2014

Sad news! Prof. Dora Akunyili has passed on

We've heard rumours of her death a few times before but unfortunately this time it's for real. Former Director General of NAFDAC and former Minister of Information Prof. Dora Akunyili has died. She died 10am today june 7th at the Indian hospital where she was taken to on May 11 to receive medical treatment after her health deteriorated.

Various reliable sources have confirmed her passing. She was only 59. So sad! May her soul rest in peace, Amen.

1,199 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 400 of 1199   Newer›   Newest»

R.I.P Ma, it was an honour working for you on your Governorship campaign O:)

rip ma, so sad

So sad. R.I.P madam

Shey THEY will rest now. May God grant her spirit n soul the eternal rest that THEY did not let her hv here on earth. God visit those pple! We've lost one of the few people that wanted a better Nigeria n worked towards it.

Oh my God she died at last God have mercy may her soul rest in peace

An icon is gone. She has done her bit , May her soul rest in peace . Adieu.

liberian gurl said...

Rip professor. May God grant her eternal peace.

chipsy said...

Rest in peace

xstacee said...

May her soul rest in perfect peace....... so sad

For makeup for all occasion add 7ae6798f

RIP Dora......smart says so

Rest in peace dear

blogger said...

Lord God almighty! This is so sad! Why do bad things happen to good people? Her problem started when she got into politics in anambra,just hope they didn't use jazz on her. What was the sickness all about sef? Nobody ever said what was wrong with her. This is so sad!

awwwww what a sad news to her family & nigerian nation, may her gentle soul RIP amen.#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY#

So sad. May her soul R.I.P. $£.

dis is real sad news,an icon gone, may her soul rest in peace n holy spirit console her family IJN.

Rip to mama Dora, so sad.. Bamiki mumsy mi oo... Third to comment... #Scampy#

cassie said...

Ma hrt bleeds rite now*sobs*Rip

folabab said...

advance stage of cancer, I'm sure . It kills the liver and you die within a month

Na wow R .I. P ma

Eyah,may her soul rest in peace.!!! Amen

Chica said...

OMG! This is so sad..... You fought the good fight Aunt Dora.... God knows best..... Rest in perfect peace in the Lord..... Nigerians will certainly miss.... Adieu Great Amazon.

Maheeda says Rihanna copied her “see-through sheer” look (Photo Evidence)

dis is real sad news,an icon gone, may her soul rest in peace n holy spirit console her family IJN. If u like linda post my coment cus u dont like postin each tym i send

jessicamor said...

An icon has fallen,may her soul rest in perfect peace,she was stil young,d enemies hav succeeded but der can neva take dat honor.live on

Awww!!! Nigeria, Africa and indeed the world has lost a great iconic personality. May her soul rest in perfect peace. Amen.

Its just bout tym plz let ha rest oh May ha soul RIP

Omg... I cried. God I m weak. Why? Death why? illness why?.. Rest in peace ma, may ur soul rest in peace. So much to think of

May her gentle soul rest in the bossom of the lord. AMEN......

jessicamor said...

An icon has fallen,may her soul rest in perfect peace,she was stil young,d enemies hav succeeded but der can neva take dat honor.live on

Another Iroko has fallen...RIP Ma

Sad men.. legend in our minds. Rip

RIP Ma,ur legacies will forever live on.

may u rip.....

lilyrose said...

Xoxo sad...may her gentle soul rest in peace.

RIP Ma!!! *sad* *tear*..... @iam_yakzloopy

May her rest in peace,but wait oo What is the nature of her sicknes she was just sliming down all of a sudden

onyi said...

Afo muru "queens" muru ezigbo nwa!! A rare gem. We'll miss you. Old girls queens school enugu will miss you. The sickness that killed dora will kill a dozen people on the road! You were a strong woman and you fought it. If there's rest over there go and rest in peace. Adieu my idol

May her soul find rest in the lord

So sorry.......may her soul rest in peace.

RIP Ma'am

Akluv said...

May her soul Rest in Perfect Peace.We are glad she served her fatherland to best of her ability.

With all dis countless awards, vanity upon vanity.

Sad men.. legend in our minds. Rip

So sad..we have lost a rare gem in this country.*crying* why r all heros dead in this part of d world. Rest in peace

May Her Gentle Soul Rest In Peace

Is this true?

She was a woman after a brave man's heart. Indeed, she fought a gr8 fight for Nigeria in faithful and honesty until death calling. A rare gem, a virtuous woman, and one of the professionals who never lost her dignity after corruption in Nigeria. At least, we have someone we can point to as the spartan of our modern corrupt generation.
Adieu Professor Dora, adieu pacesetter. You shall always be remember for your good works.
Rest in peace madam.

nj said...

Rip

Mischievous said...

Her photographs during the National Conference was a sharp contrast to her usual self. It shows how fragile we are.

May her soul rest in peace.

Na wa o
,This life! With all her awards.
Aspire to makeheaven.Thats all life is about.

Socialetherapy said...

OH finally, she has passed on. may her soul rest in peace. rip mama. we're gona miss u.

last baby said...

Amen

May your soul rest in the Lord ma. Amen!

May her Gentle Soul Rest in Perfest Peace. Amen.

May her gentle soul rest in peace!!

I'm sure she's smiling in heaven. Ada ndi Igbo rest in peace! You've done your best.

Akluv said...

May she Rest in Perfect Peace.We as Nigerians are proud of her because she served her fatherland even to the point of deteriorating health.

Lost of words menh....... Blood of God! So sad,gud pple die quick datz al I kw.RIP

~@iamJbankz Olamide's PA~

Bazz said...

Chai!!! Dere is God ooo..R.I.P. Prof

I wnt 2 state dis dat her death is not ordinary. I think someone killed her spiritually. Like one of those fake drug dealers she dealt with. My thots though

Beautyfoch said...

RIP. God gives and He takes. Soooooo sad

Akluv said...

May her soul Rest in Perfect Peace.We are glad she served her fatherland to best of her ability.

Gifted Poetry Foundation said...

'' The Brave Lioness has been hewned down
By the dreaded wind of death.
The Mighty Crime Fighter has been defeated,
By the might of death.

Oh! Your memory shall ever remain green in our memory.

Adieu Dora.

I knew it.Once you get that skinny from cancer,its too late.i feel so bad that this amazon has gone,but im consoled that her legacy will live on.Such brilliance,such passion to do good,such intergrity!

God!!!! What a sad news. May her soul RIP. Crying!!!

Angelese said...

RIP Dora. U will be missed by everyone, so sad

Dear Dora, this is really touching! Did you have to leave this early? We are comforted by the fact yours was not a wasted life. We just hope the great lessons you taught on leadership are not lost on our political elite. Fare thee well great amazon.

Action woman! you will be missed. RIP

So sad, may her soul rest in peace...

RIP madam Dora, your legacy will. Live on. U came, U saw and U conquer

EBUTEX said...

MAMA DORA may ur gentle soul rest in peace amen........#SAD news indeed

Rip prof Dora. So sad

Amen oooo @last so sad

May her soul rest in peace.

CRYING SO BITTERLY, may her soul rest in perfect peace. go well maam.

so so early like my mum.

via official intercom

RIP...iron lady

Linda u don dy carry last 4 gist o chai.....Rip

Rest In peace Ma..so sad...

RIP ma. You have left your foot prints in the sand of time

Good people die n da terrible ones ar stl out dia!!!!R.I.P Ma....

Really Sad Linda.... I don't know why death is so cruel.. always taking away those valuable to us *tear* your Good fight will always keep your memories on the Spotlight Dora.. Rest in Peace....

Lekky. said...

May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace.

Mocherry said...

Beautiful woman with a beautiful heart... U saved souls during ur time as DG of NAFDAC. Rest on in d bossom of d Lord *tear*

Razzy said...

There is absolutely nothing in this life! May her soul rest in peace!

Lekky. said...

May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace.

geraldopino90 said...

Eyah! This is really sad hoo may her soul rest in perfect peace

Admin said...

May her soul Rest in Peace.

mz mimi lee @DAVIDO ny concern said...

Sad sad sad. Vanity upon vanity. God ave mercy. May her gently soul RIP

Rest in the bossom of d Lord, woman wit a heart of gold.

Admin said...

May Her soul rest in Peace.

Rest in peace mama, we luv u buh God luvs u more

VIZAVI MEDIA said...

She indeed trampled on toes, from vicious drug dealers to animalistic politicians. She occasioned the enthronement of GEJ as acting president by being the first cabinet minister to speak up against her ailing boss-Yar Adua(of blessed memory). She did all she could to re-brand Nigeria's battered image through "Nigeria. Great people, great nation" against the wish of some wicked souls in and out of govt. Several times she escaped death while serving as the DG of NAFDAC, now she is finally dead. Hope her antagonist go wild in jubilation now. What a wicked world we live in.
DORA HAS HELPED NIGERIA IN SEVRAL AREAS.
MAY HER SOUL REST IN PEACE.

REST IN PEACE MOMMA

linda ur late bella naija carried the news first.

R.I.P great woman of honour.

Rip. Great woman.

She truly would be missed... She fought for a better Nigeria.... May her soul rest in perfect peace.

ik1881 said...

Rip my prof,good things doesn't last...

oh My God

The Igbo race have lost another legend...R.I.P ma'am!!!

Ada Ndi Igbo! Great lioness! Great woman! RIP. You will never be forgotten.
Chy

Rip Dora ur legacy lives o,but Linda abeg fill us in about dat gist dat a popular yoruba married actress whose name has an O slept with a Niger delta militant 4 2 million. Bring d gist on abeg

Mimi said...

May the Good lord bless her soul. Rest in peace dora. you fought a good fight. May your soul rest in the bossom of the lord. Nigerians will never forget you.

May her gentle soul find eternal peace...... Rest on ma.

We must strive to Live d best of life, thereby making impact in d world! Rip Dora..your Legacy lives on.

This is such a great loss. RIP Dora Akunyili

How sad! She will always be remembered of her great deeds to our nation. Rest in peace ma'am!

So sad to hear dis may her gentle soul R.I.P(what a pity)

May her soul rest in peace. May God comfort her family.

May her soul rest in peace & may God give her family 4 fortitude to bear this great loss.
Nigeria has lost a great one

Rest in perfect peace prof dora. you were a fighter, we will pray 4 u.

Sooo sad, I love this woman soo much, may her soul rest in perfect peace

Sleek Braimah said...

Rest In Peace Professor Dora Akunyili. Out of many, she was one extraordinary act of bravery and outstanding character. Too Sad.

I just hope this sickness they didn't send it oo

R.i.p ma.God bless ur soul.we will miss you.

Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji'un (: Ø¥ِÙ†َّا Ù„ِÙ„ّÙ‡ِ ÙˆَØ¥ِÙ†َّـا Ø¥ِÙ„َÙŠْÙ‡ِ رَاجِعونَ‎) "Surely we belong to Allah and to Him shall we return". GONE TOO SOON DORA! RIP

Life expectancy in Nigeria is very low about 55 years until standard of living is improved so that people can afford to do yearly medical check up. this type of death at young age will be happening. R.I.P

Rest in peace...Nigeria will always remember your good works...

May Her Soul Rest In Peace, We have Lost a Great Daughter. May God in His Infinite Mercy Grant Her Enternal Rest. Amen

May her soul rest in peace Amen

Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji'un (: Ø¥ِÙ†َّا Ù„ِÙ„ّÙ‡ِ ÙˆَØ¥ِÙ†َّـا Ø¥ِÙ„َÙŠْÙ‡ِ رَاجِعونَ‎) "Surely we belong to Allah and to Him shall we return". GONE TOO SOON! RIP PROF. DORA

so sad dora.dnt wori God nos best although pple don use mout kil u sins bt na nw u kon gree die.stainlesskc

Rip dora

H S C said...

Sad. So what killed her? And why do all the reports keep saying 'undisclosed illness'??

May her gentle soul RIP..Amen

May her soul RIP, I heart it early hours of 2day, its indeed a great loss, S̶̲̥̅Æ ̴̴̴̴͡ sad.

RIP madam Dora, those evil people make sure say dem follow u reach grave..but ur gud work still leaves on...may ur soul rest in perfect peace...DSB

Blessing said...

Oh my LORD! is this true? Pls Dear LORD comfort her family member.

Bimmy said...

Sad and Painful. Rest in Peace Dora, May God give her family the fortitude to bear the loss.

RIP madam Dora, those evil people make sure say dem follow u reach grave..but ur gud work still leaves on...may ur soul rest in perfect peace...DSB

A titan has gone to glory. I Knew this was coming when I saw your pictures. May the Lord receive you.

Sleep well ma.

Until dey killed her, wicked ppl

IBK said...

RIP to a Strong Woman.

I feel so sad. May her beautiful soul rest in peace.

Life is realy vanity.. Wif the awards and all.. We jus av to always be good and b closer to God days d most important fin.. May her soul rest in peace!!!

She came, she conquered.

May her soul rest in perfect peace.. What a great loss

She lived a life worthy of emulation. Rest in peace..

exciting lifestyle consult blog said...

Oh! Yes! Good news for my Fam. Now they will release my brother inlaw she lockedup since d past 13yrs for no just cause. May she recieve eternal rest though

R.I.P

Ohhh so sad!!! RIP dora
#AnonymouslyMe#

May her soul rest in the bossom of the Lord.

so sad.........ripp momma,ur names in d book of life,dt am sure........lord joel king

OMG she ws a great woman, n was bold to standup 4 wt she believed in. May God comfort those she left behind

Hmmmmm, sad one! Her killers av won! But If she reconciled wit her creator b4 death. I'm sure she's a greater WINNER. RIP Dora. Brave and great! (Derriz God oOooooo!)

All I ever hear about from Nigeria is how great people have died. So sad. It had to be cancer by her appearance. Can lives be saved from her passing? Is there a teachable moment here?

Abejide said...

She was a one in a million, may her soul rest in peace

May ha gentle soul rest in perfect peace

Sad News and a blow to the nation as a whole and to pro-feminists.. A woman who stood shoulder to shoulder with her male contemporaries.. I'll remember her for the zeal she put in her Job as NAFDAC chair and her efforts to rebrand Nigeria.. Rest in Peace Madam..

so sad....Rest in peace...

give urselves brain said...

@list she left a legacy,something alot of our leaders alive now cant achieve...its a shame,death shld have taken a better candidate...R.I.P a great woman,who has left her prints in d sands of time..i wld miss u...

It a pity she couldn't survive this RIP dora......naija strong oO!!!
Breezy P.

omosoft said...

What a sad story,RIP

Rest in peace great citizen.

yooh said...

Aawwww...may her soul R.I.P

May her soul rest in peace..So sad!!

TayO said...

Sad news indeed.dnt even know what to say now.So after all the rumours,she stil left us.Great Loss to our Nation.Great Loss to us.keep Resting Mama.God bless you even in death for all your positive contributions.Sleep On 4 u are loved!!!..

Dental news said...

Sad! This is on the lip of all of us.Let us remember that we all will fulfil this so called "sad event" .How prepared are we because it can creep in at any time.No amount of awards are needed where mama NAFDAC has gone rather how faithful she was to her creator.All the hustle and bustle of life legitimately and illegitimately (popular with Nigerian leaders) are not the reason we are created rather to worship God while we earn a descent living for survival.To U all creatures out there,especially those who have made Nigeria miserable for us to live in either directly or indirectly,remember U will return like mama NAFDAC has returned to God,ask yourself what U are taking along to the grave and what U will present on the last day.Pls let us all be our brothers keeper,let Nigeria not be for a few while the rest of us languish in poverty.To mama NAFDAC,I hope and pray that where U are is better for U than being with us,may God overlook ur shortcomings on earth ,grant U eternal rest and your family fortitude to bear the loss.RIP MAMA NAFDAC.

Chaiiii. So All Dis Onisha Boys Later Do Juju For Her. Really Sad News..

iamfreakkysmiles said...

If its for real this time.. May her soul find perfect peace in the lords Bossom

R.I.P abeg na only she park all dose awards?

Enyi Joan said...

So sad! May her soul rest in pefect peace. She was indeed a role model to every Nigerian woman.

May her soul rest in peace. Amen!

So sad indeed, RIP Prof. Dora

Honsylglobal.com : UK Global Online Financial Advisers said...

A truly Nigerian AMAZON (Madam Nafdac) is GONE. What will you be remembered for? Is it for Chartered Jet Probe, Outrageously priced Bullet Proof Cars or for Diaris God ooo.Mrs Okonjo Iweala, Mrs Ezekwesili and some others are busy writing their names in Gold. So you can see that Nigerians appreciate their real leaders because nobody remembered her stint at the Ministry of Information.

Jesus Reigns said...

Really sad news, rest her soul

NGIGE said it after the senatorial election in anambra....that she wont live to see the next election...she was an opponent..she was told to step down bt she refused....now the deadly men have struck... Rip dora...

She did her best bt un4tunately.It doesn't matter in dis Nigeria we are IN.

ubi said...

My heart bleeds I don't know why good people don't last.....so pathetic.

This is so sad. May she RIP and may God console her grieving family and friends.

Sooooo sad. May her soul rest in peace

May her soul rest in peace...

Really sad.

Uhmnnn... how sad! may her soul rest in perfect peace!

We live in a wicked world... and for her to have done all she did when she was DG-NAFDAC.... I knew there would be serious consequences if she didn't hold firm!

But all in all... we thank God for the life she lived. She brought a revolution to NAFDAC! Saved thousands of lives if not millions.... the Lord would keep all the loved ones she left behind.

RIP Dora Akunyili... :(

diamondblinqZ said...

Rest on Prof Dora!!! #Sad

I don't want to believe this ! Its too sad.

Ms Keke said...

RIP Dr.....God rest your soul.

Youmeanit *Idonbelieveit*

omalichaspeaks.blogspot.com said...

Oh dear! RIP Ma. This is really sad. May god comfort her family.

may her soul rest in perfect peace.. Amen

R.I.P rare gem

Oh very bad indeed rest in peace #GreatWoman#

CHAI.....CHAI

DORA. Gone Too Soon. RIP

a great icon who saved many from fake drugs. she will never be forgotten. RIP Dora

Ola lib

May her soul rest In peace

General Bucho said...

Is so sad but we don't have anything 2 do, the Good ones are just going. May there souls rest in perfect peace

What was d nature of her sickness n Linda abeg u are always late on information dis days its bin everywie n u re jst postin it now? RIP Ma

Rip ma'am …………Adios

Signed --- 9jablower

sleep well ma'am.

May herr soul rest in peace. At last you posted something 2day since morning no news.

RIP ma

Amen.

R I P ma .....

so sad

She remained triumphant even in death.Sleep on Prof...Nigeria will miss you & l'll miss you a lot.BTW the govt needs to declare a public coz of her,am yet to see a legend in our time that has touched so much lives like her.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 400 of 1199   Newer› Newest»