Gloria Maduka sings US National Anthem at exhibition game | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 11 June 2012

Gloria Maduka sings US National Anthem at exhibition game

Gloria Maduka sings the US National Anthem at an International Exhibition match between Valencia FC (Spanish La Liga) and Portland Timbers (MLS) in front of 20,000 fans.

93 comments:

*Yawn*!!!!!!

ade said...

This is actually great, I mean nigerians are doin somefin greay outta dere, dis is a great milestone for her...@ peace and @lola of igbinedion university...go and start singing

Linda FGC Kano school is currently under attack this night!!!! Principal has been killed amongst others!! Info still coming in but we do not know yet if its BH or....its horrible!!!

nice performance her voice is wonderful.linda check out p square ft rick ross onyinye dey video is out.luv ya

Who is she?

Who is Gloria Maduka?

peter said...

wow! dat's nice. Good news for naija comes at right time wen the country is in confused state.

babeontop said...

Who is she pls? ...Very nice rendition.

She sang good but I have heard better.One Love Naija

pasuma and stevie wonder said...

Why she dey sings d dead ant em

Lol Linda you are funny wetin she sing abeg she just go mock herself... See how they were whoooing her. I pray america doesn't sue her for spoiling their anthem. If you like no post this comment as na igbo girl...

Just heard echoes,no one can beat Whitney....RIP

Hmmm I think she butchered it. Just my personal opinion. but congrats to her for getting such an opportunity. I wish her more.

very noisy background. but she has a great voice!

francajemeni said...

Thank God, some cheering news for Naija. God bless Gloria for singing and Linda for reporting. This is type of positive things we should be hearing about Nigerians.

This is nice, those kids are toooo ciyutteeee.

buzz said...

Wow, she's got a great voice, but are they not meant to b quiet during the National Anthem?

Kenneth Keme said...

Lol... Beautiful voice.. But the ''hurry up'' at the background as she sang was just very funny.

BLOGBABY said...

Ermmmmmm Linda dis is news because....BTW who's Gloria Maduka biko?

NIcely done :) !!!!

Hw is dis news*next*

Hus she?

Home of the brave!

So??? What does it mean?

Thumbs up for Gloria! Nice to hear this. Let's be proud of Nigeria. Nigerians should check out ongoing international scholarships & study abroad programmes. Visit www.afrischolarships.com

sakara said...

priceless!!!

BENJAMIN said...

Please Linda 4 me that don't know Who Gloria Maduka is can u explain Who she Is?

Omg! She fooled herself

chichi said...

Was it just me , or did i just hear HURRY UP" in da back ground.

NUBIAN QUEEN™ said...

at least she knows it i can count on one hand the number of Jand kids i know of African heritage who can sing the entire "God save the Queen"

The sage said...

Gloria is a full blooded nija. And for d person dat said "becos she's igbo", she actually half yoruba and igbo. Finished fggc oyo before going abroad.

The sage said...

And btw, she does have a great voice. Hope she won't chage d surname now dat she's married to an american tho.
Let's learn to help lift our hands up, not try to drag it down, no foreigner will help us do it, unless they have something to gain.

As in ehn.....no one..them never born d maga wey go tear that song apart and burn it like Whitney did... I still get goose bumps listening to it.

You people make me tired! I only listened half way,but I like what I heard....what's wrong wiv showing a lil appreciation? Is it suicidal to do that?

Yownda said...

d very reason nigeria will not prosper is written in a few of dese comments. make jealousy comot for people's hearts. what has igbo or yoruba gots to do with anything. some of you will not have dis kind of chance ever becos of your jealous heart.

β£Î±É±É±É¨É› Alhaji said...

My hairs stood from watching the footage. Just that awkward moment when your country-man reps another country, cos the opportunity came. I hope we could give our own such opportunities here too?

Nice one for her tho! CV Built!

bee said...

Nyce its good to see naija rep d stadium n sing d anthem...hope u all learn from it

Noisy people but she sabi sing. Nobody was whooing they were cheering. Everybody has to start from somewhere and she did great jere. Nigerians and major hatering. Can you sing like her. Your mad coz she fine and she sabi sing. Abeg make I hear word. Love will keep us together o.

linda pls disregard d info dat FGC Kano is being attacked...its a false and malicious rumour

Omodaddy said...

Well now you know gloria maduka ko. But nobody knows your own name. Ha this is a proud achievment for 9ja o. Dont reduce it with your cowardly comment. And she can singggggg. I read the comments before watching the performance.Americans love her unless you are deaf. If you carry microfone today will you get that kin of attention.

I did not hear it but the hurry up would be for children that were running at the end. Beautiful girl and sweet personality. God bless America and Nigeria. Hopefully we can find more talent and role models like her.

NICON said...

this is news because how many africans let alone nigerians have done this. *nuffsaid***

Very inspiring. Beautiful lady. Star quality. I want to be a star like her 1 day.

So lovely. Made my day. Thanks for posting Linda.

obiageli said...

ibo gals rule. but how did she mock herself and why will Americanz sue her. nigerians are so angry. stop being daft. if you did not like the news why watch it. at least put some thinking into your diss. not valid please. *next

omg pretttttyyyyyyyy pyt

Haba she fit sing gan jare. Ride on Missy.

sisiolomi said...

Nigeria Nigeria Nigeria how many times I call you. Stop the hate and congratulate. This is big girl tinz.

beauty and talent is all I see. and those children are funny.

Wole said...

who cares? I care o. wharris the babes number biko.

Hello Kitty said...

who the hell is she?

Dis is greattt for nigeria. Proud of you madam Gloria Maduka and all the nigerians abroad representing because the reputation is very bad. We are proud of you.

Some of you people commenting are the very same reason I have not gone home since 1997. Tofiakwa. So much division. The person that made the igbo reference your whole comment was uncalled for but maybe you needed a boost this evening. White people are better supporters and they were whooing her in support. SMDFH.

Bola said...

rock on diva. keep the green and white flying.

SOOOO gorgeous, mad props.

Maggie said...

good or bad comments are good pr. but we know her now. we do not know what level she is going to be on soon in america so let us embrace our own.

@ Sage hope she won't change the surname? Would u have said the same thing if she were married to a Nigerian? Nija sha. Hmmmmm I hail o

Waje would take this girl and her entire clan ANYDAY! She's just any other singer. Next!!!

FINE GAL NO PIMPLES WHATAGWAN

Linda you sef give us more gist on the babe biko. A little background or sumfin. This is awesome.

Gozie said...

I am proud to be a nigerian because of people like you. The haterrs make me ashamed of nigeria.

SA is in love with her. We love youuuu

dbanj4eva said...

free the babe she sabi sing walahi. make una go hug transformer.

Very cool voice!!

A 8er has no life and feelz good 4rm making others feel bad. Go go honey you have fans. GBOSA

WAJE KE. *hisses and rolls eyes* When there are better singers in jand alone you can compare her to.

Abebi said...

AT LAST! Refreshing!!! Her music is better than the rubbish we hear 24/7 in naija. I prefer music from abroad because naija music is one dimension. This is why we will not be blessed with good music unless we have better taste. dammmnnnn

Ignorant Nigerians with their ignorant opinions. Pscheeeeew. ROCK ON MADUKA!!! Omalicha.

Lolade S said...

I LOVE HERRRR. OH MY GOOOODNESS. Please stop talking about tribe. We are one nation.

why the whitney comparison. whitney was a mega mega star when she sang the anthem. you don't know if there were restrictions here. this is your own country people. show some love for a change. and do not I repeat do not make me diss waje. smh.

@Abebi thank you o. If she was putting pidgin and ngbatingbati inside her music everybody will be dancing. If Ms. Houston herself rose from the grave to sing Nigerians will still hate.

TOFE said...

Linda I trust you. You will not put just anything up. So she earned the right to be a star that she is. All other opinions are a reflection of envy but like someone said pr is pr.

So beautiful. For you that don't know who she is or do not care google is your friend.

Kemii said...

Congrats are in order for QUEEN GLORIA MADUKA

Frank Frank said...

Am I hallucinating or has the nonsense on the airwaves turned us deaf to real talent?

*Yaaaaaawwwwwwwnnn* Her voice isn't great, please.

Sola Olaniyan-Bright said...

This is just strange jare. And her voice is really just okay.

Frank Frank said...

Watched the whole thing over. Nigeria should tap pure talents. This girl can really sing so a few of the comments baffle me but the good is more than the bad. Good job lady!!!

Femiluv said...

Nice voice, great personality. Love her interaction with the kids.

who is she???

Nouvelle Training Services Abuja, Practical Communication, Enterprise Skills, Technical Skills and Advanced Technical Skills. Contact-08178139999

Whitneys was still the best

Nice rendition! Haters stop hating, not healthy for your soul at all.

Who noticed Busola Ayeni at the end of the video? The pretty lady that was on Ellen's show.

Who is she? And how is this news?

Another of Linda's family friends in US..

@ anonymous 10.53am. U no wan come Nija before abeg make we hear word. Schweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeew. Na comments go determine if you should visit your own country? D odas coming no dey hear comments abi dem deaf? Abeg park well jor

On the issue of LINDA IKEJI's BLOG - when I think of my countrymen I shiver in deep disgust and disappointment(NIGERIANS) at least at those on ground on Nigerian soil. The diasporians due to perhaps some foreign exposure are somewhat different and come across objective and remain civil - The worst National disaster created by an ineffective government could occur and my people would sit quietly in a corner like a child on "time out". Now I thank God that at least the subscribers here are able to disagree with a lot of stuff I post and also communicate it in such a way that sometimes I even change my opinion -we do "discourse" around here-for that I am grateful....how ever the dregs of humanity that were on Linda Ikeji's blog repulsed me- why she does not moderate rude comments on her blog and allow rude miscreants to take over the information exchange there is bothersome - we have a huge need for multiple protest on ground and online. There is even a lack of signatures for online petitions ....but when it comes to attacking a single individual these complacent fools come out with all their venom to attack her till she shut the blog down -why cant u communicate your disagreement without adding "DO NOT JUDGE" as your defense ???. To be honest only a courtroom judge and our creator at heaven's gate "CAN JUDGE" . What we do down here outside the courtroom is not judgment but rather offering a "difference of opinion".
A person that has nothing to add to an argument but the words "DO NOT JUDGE" is to me of a very "low IQ" !! Im sure the average person can answer a question on a topic with many examples/experiences without accusing the questioner of judging. I do ask questions sometimes out of a lack of understanding. Feedback is like a school -you learn something new and are opened to new information which in turn makes you wiser. Oh another annoying statement that I cant stand is "YOU ARE NOT PERFECT" well I know Im not perfect and to be honest I dont aspire to be perfect because I have traveled down that road to perfection and it cost me many precious moments. Perfection cannot be achieved because the standards of perfection are varied. So allow me to use my fingers to type and my voice to speak up ...and if I communicate information that is way off... I am not above receiving a different point of view but I will not accept "YOU ARE NOT PERFECT" OR "DO NOT JUDGE" as an opposing comment ...give me your personal take on the matter and throw in an example or two if possible .....Always focus on the message and not the messenger.....:)- yes in my opinion HE SHOULD HAVE CANCELLED THE WEDDING...now anyone that cant handle that information should hug transformer.

happy she's naija but she cld av sang better biko ...

She's adorable. That was lovely

Spot On! SPOT ON!!

Unity said...

I read the comments first, and when I saw the video, it made me know it's just pure hatred towards this woman for no reason.
This is so heartbreaking to see this much hatred from my own people. Nigerians, please let's unite especially West, East, south because we come from one place. Other race always supporting each other regardless if their okay because encouragement will make each other better. Whites, Asians will give each other A plus even if it's just a D performance, because of that, the person will strive for A performance next time.

Honestly, Gloria Maduka's personality alone makes her beautiful. Those girls love her, and kids don't lie. She has a good spirit about her. Her performance was good, I don't know what people are complaining about. Sigh.

Gloria, May God bless you. Continue to smile and shine.

Lovely girl. Yes Linda abeg moderate comments more. Linda every blog you have na so so rubbish comments from your audience especially when it is unecessary. Do not encourage your people to continue to tear each other down. You can encourage more building of ourselves in your own way. Spread love not hate. Be part of the solution for nija and don't encourage the problem. I love you girlfriend but you must do better.

Femi said...

honestly, IGBO girls/women rock!