Masquerade rapes undergraduate nursing mother | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 31 May 2012

Masquerade rapes undergraduate nursing mother

The victim, Ngozi Ugwu.                                 The masquerade

Tension mounts in Opi, Nsukka Local Government Area, Enugu State as masquerades took turn in the series of rape stories synonymous with the community.  The alleged rape of a female student, Ngozika Ugwu, presented mixed feelings and reactions to what may have bedevilled the community in the recent past.
Rape stories in Opi, a community in the university town of Nsukka, have occupied major national dailies, hitting banner headlines, from the three quarters that make up the community, Idi, Ogbozalla and Ibeku.
In 2011, the story of the rape of women between 70 and 80 years spread like wild fire in the country, raising eyebrows on the motive for such inhuman and barbaric act by, especially, youths of the community. Some of them  were fingered and allegedly arrested, interrogated by the police but could not be persecuted because of want of  evidence.

Following this development, Ada Enugu Women Organisation led by  Mrs. Kate Ezeofor stormed the community for a church service at St. Charles Catholic Church parish, Opi to cleanse the land and the old women that were defiled.

Few months later, Opi women took to the streets in protest of yet another rape at Ogbozalla–Opi. The protest attracted the quick intervention of the Chairman, Nsukka Local Government Council, Mr. Tony Ugwu who invited all the stakeholders in the community to discuss the ugly development and proffer solutions. Though it was later discovered that the protest had political undertone, the council boss brokered peace to the satisfaction of all.

Barely few months of enjoying peace in the area, masquerades took turn in the series of rape stories in the community by defiling a 28-year-old undergraduate nursing mother.  The victim told Crime Alert in tears that the trauma of the rape will forever live with her but stated that she had forgiven the rapists.

While narrating her ordeal, she appealed to local, state and federal governments to ensure that truth prevails in this country by fighting for the poor masses.  Ngozi, who dropped out from her NCE programme at the Enugu State College of Education (Technical)due to lack of funds after her ordeal, called on concerned Nigerians to come to her aid to enable her go back to school.

She also hinted that the release of one of the suspects on the flimsy excuse that he was going to write his JAMB examination was not encouraging, attributing it to the fact that her family is poor and helpless.

Her story:
It happened on March 21, 2012. There were three masquerades that day but two were spotted and people started running. I was going to fetch water and as people were running, I equally ran and hid somewhere until the two masquerades passed. After the masquerades passed, I came out and continued with my journey. Soon, I heard a child saying that another masquerade was coming. I didn’t see the masquerade but people were running and I ran to enter into someone’s house.

The masquerade emerged from a corner (apiam way) and pushed me into the building where I was running to. I tried to escape but could not. It caught up with me and started beating me. What surprised me was that the masquerade said it has been looking for me for long and had now caught up with me. I sought to know what I did to deserve such treatment and at the same time pleading for forgiveness but it continued with its threat.
This time, it swore to take me to a bigger masquerade inside the forest, saying it has been long I had been insulting them. My cries for help and that I was a nursing a baby fell on deaf ears. As the masquerade was dragging me along, a man with wrapper came and pleaded with the masquerade to leave me but it refused, saying that I have insulted them for too long. It insisted on taking me to the bigger masquerade which will compel my clan to bring a cow as sacrifice.
All my pleadings with the man who came to my rescue failed. The masquerade dragged me to a bush path,threw me on the ground fell on me. It held me on the neck to prevent me from shouting and blocked both my eyes and nose.  At this stage, I nearly lost consciousness until one man came and rescued me from its grip. He removed the face of the masquerade and that was how he was identified. As soon as he was identified, he ran away.
More people gathered there and helped to take me where I was given first aid treatment at a chemist before I was taken to St. Joseph Hospital, Opi. I didn’t know when I was taken to the hospital. When I started gaining consciousness, I did not see my pant and my bra was torn. It was then I realised that the masquerade raped me. Fear gripped me that the masquerade may have transmitted HIV/AIDS into me.
Doctor’s report altered
We went to Nsukka police station and reported the incident. I was surprised that police did not come to the scene of the incident to investigate my claims. What the police did was to take me to a police doctor, Mercy Clinic along University Market Road, Nsukka. It is surprising that a doctor will give evidence against me in a case of rape I reported. Later, police invited me to their office for interrogation.

When I tried to give details of what happened, they shouted that I should shut up and go straight to speak on the doctor’s findings on the case. Surprisingly, the Police asked me to write a letter of apology claiming that the doctor’s report said I was not raped. I did not read the report nor see it. I was forced to write an apology by the police.
While all these were happening, no police officer came to the hospital to take my statement. All the time, nurses would remove drips from my hand so that I would go to the police station to honour their invitation. The masquerade was allegedly arrested and hurriedly released on the flimsy excuse that he was going to write JAMB exams.
Pleas for forgiveness
While I was still recuperating, the mother of the suspected person in the masquerade came and pleaded that his son should be forgiven.  I told his mother that I have forgiven him. What annoyed me most was that some of his relations which included a policeman that works in Enugu, returned home and instead of sympathizing with me, they took sides in favor of their brother.  At a stage, I was forced to go to the police station to close the case.
No refund of expenditure
The police said that I should not be paid what my family spent in the case and that the family of the suspect should only pay for my hospital bill. The rapist family paid the hospital bill grudgingly.  Later, the police invited us again and this time, they asked me to write that I was not raped and I was forced to write that I was not raped. The boy who raped me gave police his name as Asogwa Ifeanyi but people who knew him said, his real names are Ugwunshi Ifeanyi.
The police did not also make efforts to invite the witness in the case while the investigation was going on rather, after they concluded that I was not raped, they tried to invite him but he ignored them.
My Education
I dropped out from Enugu state college of education (Technical) due to lack of fund. I was a second year student when I dropped. I entered the tertiary institution in 2007/2008 session.  For now, it is very difficult to continue with my education after all I have gone through. My father is a mason (Brick layer) at Uzo-Uwani L.G.A, Enugu State. We are five children born to my father and mother.
I am the only daughter.
Police reacts when Crime Alert visited Nsukka Police station, it was gathered that the incumbent Divisional police officer had not assumed office when the matter was incidented but a senior police officer who pleaded anonymity disclosed that a case of assault, occasioning harm was reported at the station but not rape as claimed by the lady stating that the people of the area are very troublesome. “Any small thing in the area, they will term it rape and rush to the press. You can trace the lady to Opi and find out  from her, all that was reported is a case of assault occasioning harm.”
Police Doctor speaks
The police doctor, Dr. Ugwu who reportedly examined Ngozika told Crime Alert that he can’t remember such a matter any longer. “I meet different cases and patients on daily basis. Give me sometime to get across to the police to find out the very incident”.
Elders action
Investigations by Crime Alert revealed that the elders in the community, on hearing the rape story, took action by banning masquerades from operating in the area regretting that youths cashed on masquerade which are meant for entertainment to perpetuate all sorts of evil, painting the community in a bad public image. They also reportedly resolved that the family of the masquerade rapist must bring a cow to cleanse the land, or else they will be ostracized.

Culled from Vanguard

73 comments:

I don't know why this satanic masquerades think they can do anything they like

omalicha said...

this useless hungry creatures that cover up in d name of masquerade hurting pple the day u will be set ablaze by angry pple u will no dat kaki is not leather! jobless fools

One Questionj! where are her brothers?? one girl in a family of five and the miscreant is still walking on both legs? Bad!

Momen said...

This is very pathetic..though there is a line that made me laugh, that "the Masquerade was released on the flimsy excuse that he is writing Jamb." I never new that masquerades go to school.

wives' townhall connection said...

this is so inhuman... and to think that the mask is worn by a full blooded young man with five senses. A PITY.

YINOTINTO said...

nsogbu uwa. may God punish and disgrace d offender n d family members plus d police. na wa o. police now force ppl 2 write false statements

this is sad and annoying. He rape den say he no rape he go rape(incest) him mother and sisters before their eyes go clear. AND THE POLICE policee policeee unnunn unnn in Isoko tongue

wickedness.

sommyvals said...

God have mercy on some wicked Nigerians

This is pathetic. I hope the appropriate NGOs comes to her aid.

SIGN UP AND BECOME AN ACTIVE MEMBER ON THE WORLD'S GREATEST PROFIT SHARING PHENOMENON FOR FREE AND EARN DEALPOINTS WHICH U WILL USE TO SHOP ON ONLINE STORES LIKE AMAZON, TMART, ALIEXPRESS ETC AT 80% DISCOUNT.
http://www.myperfectinternet.com/?refid=b379b

Boring and senselesss long story.
Dis is out of context but Linda dis is 4 u babes.
I read ur interviews u posted and I must say dey wr interesting but guess wat?? U tok abt MONEY way more dan u r supsd 2. U tok abt it as if its d 1st time u r seeing or handling a lot of money!! Plss babes reduce or don't talk all dis money talk...sounds so cheap. We don't have 2 know u make a lot of money..Everyoda thing u said was fine. Take it or leave it!!
I know some bloody idiots will say how does dis relate 2 d post...well if u bother wif dat bullshit den u better go sip on acid.
Dats my 2 cents
Incase u don't know me, I'm LADY Billie jean

Wetin we no go hear Ara Orun too dey Tourchlight?

Project Women Aid said...

So sad. Pls read "Spiritual Sex II" on www.awakeprograms.blogspot.com

I am really speechless, but if the girl account of the story is true the boy,the policemen, even the family members should be prosecuted.I dont want to sound harsh because it is very hard to know the truth since you cant judge from one person's account of a story.

Nekky said...

useless policemen!! imagine a policeman opening his mouth to say 'any small thing that happens,they will term it as rape'. as if rape is a dignifying thing or that d govt take stiff measures towards rapists. i'm not surprised tho,they are the chief rapists in this country. i wonder of what benefit it will to a nursing mother claiming rape if she wasn't really raped knowing how victims of rape are often stigmatised. God help us in this country cos dis corruption we are fighting is not just in d govt buh also in the grassroots.when cops that are supposed to protect us behave this way,i wonder what d plight of the common man will be.mscheeeeeew

Janded said...

It is because of the obnoxious fear of masquerades that Nigerians have that this kinda atrocious act can happen. the man who say her being dragged why was he begging instead of calling a mob to the bastard. I feel sad for you dear. May God restore you.

sugarbear said...

Craziness!!! He deserves 2 be injected 2 death.

Is this a rape case or a lady begging for help to finish her studies?. Ibo people and money, wetin concern being raped and asking for justice with pleading with Nigerians to help the lady go back to school. That is taking away from the gravity of the offense if she'd forgiven the offender but begging Nigerians to contribute money for her to go back to school.

BLOGLORD said...

Such a sad one. they r tryin to protect the stupid rapist image but wat about the poor gurl???

FAY said...

another pervert on the prowl....
shame

Lilspicer said...

NASO THUNDER GO HAMMER ALL OF DIS PEOPLE WEY DEY WATCH AND PLAY MASQUARADE DEVIL GO DEY POSSES UNA MUMU PEOPLE WEY NO GET HANDWORK-IBO BOIZ UNA DON SEE FIGHT UNA NO GO FIGHT DIS MASQURADE MTCHEEWW WWW.TWITTER.COM/LILSPICER (omo-iwo)

Injustice in d highest order. Indeed an ugly experience, may God help us!

honey masquerade

Hold up, aren't masquerades just boys in costume?

I have alwaays said that the average igbo man isn't home trained...

If it had happened in the North, your readers would have started raining insults all over the place. So who are the dogs now?

Imagine! shame on these ibo animals.

Omg! Omg!! Omg!!! What the hell is this world turning into? Am sorry to say but easterners just like northerners are extremists!!! (no offense meant)....and d police? That's just sad....the doctor??? How did he get around that? Omg! *disgusted*

Ibo people. ha!!!!

Where are all those people that abuse Northerners?? where dem dey??? See your own people ooo.Rapists!!!!!

I'm absolutely dumbfounded. Nigeria is really in distress!

I am so sowri but i laughed so hard when i saw the headline.Like Egungun dey get agro??lmao.Sad for the poor girl though.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Well women..need to take to the streets and get the damn thing passed into Law(more punitive)..with all the glaring evidence..still managed to get away with it!!

Bring a cow to cleanse the land? What sort of madness is this? It is incidents like this that almost make me certain that nigerians are beyond help. Someone got raped and the community is asking for a cow? To cleanse the land? Are we living in the dark ages or something? I'm just weak.

My heart goes out to the poor victim. I will continue on my mission to empower and educate our youth, as this is the only way we can combat this sort of tragedy.

Anyway, xxxo

D rapist should b dealt wit. Dats wickedness. I pray d Lord strengthens d girl. But der should b justice ooooo

julie said...

Na wah o!

julie said...

Na wah o!

OMG!!!
Wat kind of world re we in???
Hmmmm God we nid ur intervention

I jst tire for all dis rape story. Some Men re so evil mscheew. If ds happened abroad dat guy ll neva go free.some men re jst pussy mongers.

YK said...

So pathetic...... Which way NIGERIA !

Omare said...

Nigerian police force is a failure. All these traditional heads what are thie functions ppl need to let all these outdated barbaric customs DIE!!Any man that can do that to a woman is a sorry excuse for a human being issori tho Karma is a bitch

mims said...

Even the 'elders' are trying to cash in on the poor girl's ordeal. Disgusting, because a cow will help her abi, the cow will probably not go to her family anyways. Mscheww

some stories that makes me thank God for my proffession. Who'll try this with moi n get away freely?

IAmhairs said...

attimes wen i seat down and fink about events dat are occuring in our society i begging 2 shade tears...jst few months ago a student of oko poly was killed due 2 d fact dat he did nt give a masquerade money n he insisted on being on his way b4 what resulted 2 his death came up,also around last 2 weeks in my area a masqurade guard mercilessly floged a guy jst because he didnt have money 2 give dem,the dude jst stood thier finking abt his life nd jst yesterday i was stoped by a small boy who had all his body coverd wif rags in d name of masqurading n began harrassing me 4 not settling him,d rage i felt den was nt d fact dat he was harrassing me o...it was d fact dat dis boy ld be spending a month in d hospital if he didnt hv dose rags on...dis whole tin boils down 2 d fact dat d authorities aint doin what dey are aught 2 do by protecting citizens from such discompfort n insecurity....GOD BLESS NIGERIA,GOD BLESS LINDA,GOD BLESS THE BOYS IN D MASQURADES N GOD BLESS ME

awele said...

Dis is super painful! She's a nursing mother 4 crying out loud!!! And d police department,shame on you all. Its pple like u dat make nigeria a hateful and unsafe place 2 live in. I hope d poor woman recuperates well and is able 2 go back 2 skool. God is ur strength darling//LIB readers pls hit d "like" button on dis link http://bit.ly/L8SqrP its for d mr universe nigeria pageant. Thank you plenty

troublemaker said...

This is so funny and also not so funny.does that make any sense.

It would make a good nollywood movie.
'The Return of the raping masquerade' starring Jim Iyke as the rapist, Mercy Johnson as 'the rapee', Pete Edochie as the Igwe, Patience Ozokwo as ' mama rapist'

Hmm, na wah oh! So masqurade sabi fcuck? I thought they say those 'thingies' are spirits?

Wel,ur words wld av made more sense,if it wer gbagaun free.

Ada said...

There will NEVER be an excuse or justification for rape, and I hope dat someday our governments at all levels will give it its due attention.

That said, I read this story twice, I don't know if I missed some bit, but she said she was choked n 'almost lost consciousness' (so in essence she didn't), and later at the hospital she regained consciousness, but if she didn't lose it to begin with, how can she regain it? and when she regained consciousness on seeing her underwear torn, she realised she'd been raped... but at wat point did she lose consciousness, and is it possible to be conscious, be raped and need any reminder of wat happend?

Its an honest question, cos I've been conscious, sexually abused and I needed no reminder. So is dis a possibility?

This is Uwa mmebi

Ada said...

I have no idea why masquerades still exist! Nigeria needs to move on, cos we're to greedy a people to be allowed to roam behind masks! they will always take advantage of it! what happened to masquerade dancing n entertaining people, how did it even get to rape?

There will NEVER be an excuse or justification for rape, and I hope dat someday our governments at all levels will give it its due attention.

That said, I read this story twice, I don't know if I missed some bit, but she said she was choked n 'almost lost consciousness' (so in essence she didn't), and later at the hospital she regained consciousness, but if she didn't lose it to begin with, how can she regain it? and when she regained consciousness on seeing her underwear torn, she realised she'd been raped... but at wat point did she lose consciousness, and is it possible to be conscious, be raped and need any reminder of wat happend?

Its an honest question, cos I've been conscious, sexually abused and I needed no reminder. So is dis a possibility?

As for the Nigerian Police...dats talk for another day.

Yetinde said...

Seriously,aren't d masquerades suppose 2be in a pure state?na wa o.Eyo beta pass dem den....lol.rape ke?omo,all dis 1 na story,d babe shld take her destiny in2 her own hands jo.police ko,police ni,d boy mama go lose im son,dat i promise dem,if na me o,na die d boy dey so.....

Asampokoto said...

but wait. am i the only one who noticed she wasn't raped? she said she almost passed out (but didnt pass out) and didnt notice her underwear was torn till she arrived at the hospital. meaning she was till conscious to have even identified the guy. so how on earth would she not have known she was being raped? :S .. doesnt make too much sense now does it?

Daniel Akobi said...

Even the traditional institution has also joined the fray. Like the Political institution, like the Church, like the traditional institution. Nigeria needs a revolution that ll change our values.

@ Asampokoto said... you are very wicked, maybe you are also a rapist. mother fucker

I have to comment on this story. I graduated from University of Nigeria,Nsukka and dis masquredes(Ori Okpa) terrorized our lives den,I remembered my own incident,I went to the market to braid my hair and boarded a bike 2 go back 2 campus and den a masquerede appeared and started chasing us on d bike and as d bike man tried to dodge him we fell inside a gutter and the masquerede seeing the accident left us,the people around dere said we should thank God we fell inside the gutter

That falling inside the gutter was better than what the masquerede would have done if we didn't fall inside, just imagine that,in dis day and age,just harassing people for nothing!!

EUDORAH said...

Boys that have issues with some women are hiding under the cover of masquerade to punish the women. God is watching all.

Asampokoto said...

LAWL! at maybe im a rapist cool. i'm a female sha but ok! yes there was assault. but from that story, i see no place where she clearly states he raped her :S . Same way the police and the doctors said the same thing

kween said...

It's really sad.. look at the way the so called police took the matter. And people wonder why women who αя̲̅e victims of rape prefer to keep quiet.. It's a pity for this country!

All these people shouting Ibo people rapist, is it you King that is being prosecuted for raping an Ibo Corper.

Ocuppy me said...

Anon 31st May 2.56pm
You are a DOG ! people like you are selfish. Similar incidents happen everyday i pray it never happens to you or any one close to you.

yahoo said...

The captured masquerade that was responsible for raping another man's wife should be de-masqueraded and de-masked. He should be made to pay maximally for the sin he knowingly committed.

All eyes are now opened. Gone were those days, where mere humans are frightened by men in mask!

Raping is evil and barbaric. Those few men that are involved in the blind act should change for the better.

I wondering

AWARENESS IS NOT WITNESSED IN THIS STORY; it’s pretty unfortunate that even an undergraduate does not know her right at 28. Please, when has police become the decider of cases like this, is this not a punishable offense? Where is the law suit here, where have the lawyers debated on this issue, why writing apology and counter signing when you know that you were dishonored by this hooligan. We need to know our rights, it’s very important.

Bibi said...

Lol! Irumole to je salad!misery world.

Is the girls's character unquestionable? Just saying. I'm hearin only her side of the story. But still, the man assaulted her. He should be jailed for that one

Rape story up and down. Eleven year old sex four year old. Big baba rape small girl. Traditional Yoruba Ruler rape igbo corper. Masquerade rape nursing mother. Ahn ahn. Na wa oh. Na becos of all this kine news na why i no dey like blog

USELESS CULTURES WITH NO RESTRAINT

deekay said...

Knowing the stigma she will have to live with why would she make it up?? But even if she did, the guy needs to be punished more for his crime. And they need to check his history; maybe it's not the first time he's done something like this. I know it's part of our art and culture but if it cannot be regulated then they should call it a day and ban it.

jbabe said...

masquerade on HEAT....yeye culture.....na cow dem fit collect what abt the babe involved.....?it is well

nonsense,y did she close de case,dnt she hv family dat would hv back her up in de case?