Friday 1 June 2012

Etisalat Adopts another School for Life

Old Rabiatu School
New Rabiatu School
Do you live in Surulere, Lagos? Or did you attend Rabiatu Thompson Memorial School, Surulere? Seriously, could you have imagined that school would ever look this good?

On Friday last week, May 25th 2012, Etisalat Nigeria handed over a brand new fully re-constructed primary school with 3 blocks of 15 classrooms, modern (*tush*) toilets and administrative offices, to the Lagos state government. The biggest part for me is that, Etisalat Nigeria is adopting the Rabiatu Thompson Memorial School FOR LIFE! That means as long as Rabiatu Thompson Memorial School exists, Etisalat would take care of it! Continue...

Old Rabiatu toilet

New Rabiatu Toilet

Rabiatu Thompson is a public primary school in the heart of Surulere. Way back in 2011, Etisalat Nigeria demolished the school’s ‘vomitable’ (just coined that word; it means: dreadful!)  structure, re-designed and re-constructed it. Not kidding! Before you say Linda has come again, check out the before and after photos *pouting*.
Etisalat also inspected every stage of the construction work until the company was satisfied with the new environment which is more suitable for a child to learn in.

Etisalat, the fastest growing telecommunications company in Nigeria, made a decision three years back to make education one of its priority areas, and created the Adopt-a-School initiative as part of its Corporate Social Responsibility CSR to Nigeria.

Babatunde Fashola, the Lagos State governor, was represented at the re-commissioning of the school by the Honourable Commissioner for Education, Mrs. Olayinka Oladunjoye. The CEO, Etisalat Nigeria, Mr. Steven Evans was there also along with Board Member of the company, Mr. Kayode Sofola.
Etisalat Nigeria has now adopted three schools, namely: Akande Dahunsi Memorial High School, Ikoyi; Edward Blyden Primary School, Lagos Island and Rabiatu Thompson Memorial Primary School, Surulere. All these schools are in Lagos and all have been adopted for life.

67 comments:

Shaddy said...

Wow wow wow! This is so great. Etisalat thank you so very much

WOW!!

LALICIOUS said...

Dats so generous of dem,,,,,
MTN dos stingy telecom,hw I wish dey wll ban u guys,just eatin our money nd doin notin in return Mscheeeeeewwwww

Linda sorry to tell you but you didn't just 'coin' a word! vomitable actually is a word... *smh*

Deyinka Onabanjo said...

Good job.

Good Job ETISALAT

I WILL ALWAYS BE PROUD OF THIS NETWORK AND AM STILL LOOKING FOR SOME 1 THAT WILL BAD MOUTH ETISALAT IN TERMS OF BIS ODIA, CALLING RATE TOO BALM COMPARE TO YELLOW SMH, 080 NAIJA FOR LIFE DEM NO GIVE ME KOBO BUT I DEY ENJOY THEM WITH FREE CREDIT, CHEAP CALL RATE AND NOW THEY DID SOMETHING SMASHING IN MA AREA I TUA LEY ETISALAT OWO YIN AMA RE OKE OOOOO BLESS

BonkoINC said...

Arab money talkin....9ja 4life..

"Now we're talking"!!! This is what I call "maximum social responsibility project" isn't it better than enrishing a few wit cash? Kudos etisilat, I'll buy a sim today today!

thumbs up to them. They should come and adopt our feyingbole high schools in abeokuta too. Most of our schools here are, "vomitable".

TRUST ETISALAT very generous, if you are not on the network don't know the one you dey. load N100 credit den go dash you free credit to call all network, you and me nko e dey and many more ride on jare. GOD BLESS YOU RICHLY.

Etisalat has tried, it's better than the reality tv shows, if only more brands and churches will follow suit.

Linda, since you are on their payroll- can't we send schools that need this sort of renovation to you and they will shortlist.

bee007 said...

This is great! Talk about being socially responsible.

ok now its jus to practice maintenance culture pls. naija lik free tin but 2 maintain na wahala. good job Etisalat

ONOME says........
Nigeria,this is what I want to see:)WELLDONE ETISALAT,Welldone.The work is far from over o,Nigeria needs mooooooore.Don't forget the hospitals too.
I hoe the likes of others are seeing this,the churches and their pastors are not left out too.
Corporate responsibility!

Funmi said...

Great but we should also cultivate the habit of maintenance in Nigeria. Unfortunately its part of our big problem in Nigeria. If we start from our homes we all be get used to it in no time!

Linda emeafu said...

God bless Etisalat in hundred folds,infact,i must buy a sim today for myself.

Now you are talking!

KOFOSHY said...

Nice one etisalat.....far better dan the eMpTyN mumu reality tv shows.

God bless Etisalat at least learning will be intresting for the children.

This is so Lovely,Good,Nice etc. May God bless them and Purnish our Wicked Politicians that make People to surfer in that Rich Country.God help our Children and Students in JNA.

Jaja said...

Wow! I'm switching to Etisalat today today!

This is sooo impressive and touching. Who owns this Etisilat by the way?

olumide said...

Just becoz of this, am getting an Etisalat sim next week. This is so so lovely !! that good-for-nothing MTN will giving millions of naira to useless causes : Family game show;who wants to be a millionaire etc mtscheeewww ... they won't go and build roads,schools,Libraries etc
God bless Etisalat and those great minds conceiving great initiatives like this in there. Shame on MTN and my present line(ZAIN) !!!

Why cant oil companies follow suit and man up to their own CSR especially in the niger delta for goodness sake ehn!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i hope the education minister is looking at this as it puts her to shame including jonathan

Ukbabe said...

Abeg am in uk, bet can someone send me etisalat sim ba...

All of una oil companies avioding your CSR GodIsWatchingYou on flat screen kmt

Dhayour Olorunwa said...

Commendable sure,but as the yoruba saying 'WON FI OWO AWE SE AWE LALEJO'

Stop being ignorant,MTN does as much CSR too. go check out the website of MTN foundation. Look out for persons they have sent out for for life saving surgeries, Dialysis machines (that the recipient hospitals have failed to maintain), etc.
MTN bad but dem dey try for CSR leave am.

the person complaining about oil companies in ND is very ignorant and should not be allowed to talk in public.

Arinze Jesse Egbuna said...

Who ask you.. Mumu

IMMEASURABLE WEALTH said...

KUDOS TO THEM, THIS IS WHAT NIGERIAN GOVERNMENT IS SUPPOSED TO DO! INVEST IN THE FUTURE, ESPECIALLY IN EDUCATION.
SHAME ON NIGERIAN GOVERNMENT OF TODAY! SHAME ON YOU!

HOPEFULLY, TOMORROW WILL BE BETTER, BUT THEN THE KIDS OF TODAY ARE THE HOPE OF TOMORROW.

ETISALAT, GOD BLESS YOU MORE AND MORE FOR JOB WELL-DONE.

Bee said...

True CSR.....this one no be publicity stunt as they don adopt FOR LIFE....

Thank you Etiselat for picking up where our govt has failed us.

sakara said...

this is what our oil companies should be doing o, telecom companies, globacom una don see, stop promoting dance on stage, best voice n Nig and so on, all our children cannot be street dancers.
for this am changing my network to Etisalat - GBAM
all u our polithievians pls instead of stashing our monies abroad, give some back to d society may be d curse on ur heads wl reduce and as for MTN i can never use my money to buy their recharge cards, they wl collect all d monies n Nig, change to rands and ferry everything back to their country to help and do projects for their less privilege, meanwhile d country where una make d money NADA #Godiswatching u o n 3dglasses

Gboza says:

Am impressed! On my way to buy etisalat recharge now.

Just Me said...

Omo menh!!! I rep this network sha. Great job and Weldone. Pls keep up the good work and dont allow those ogas 'sitting in government offices' break ur good spirit.

Oil companies can't ollow cos they are in JV with you tupid government. If NNPC no gree, the cant do jack. Pls stop displaying your ignorance by ontunously accuising oil monies to fund your neglected lives. I don't see anyone asking otedola, zennon oil or alakija FAMFA oil to build shools...but u victimize chevon, exxon and shell as if na dem swear for una die. Your locl oil execs own mansions in VGC and banana island...for nice hold those thieves accountable

Temitayo said...

Etisalat thank you o.0809ja for life

Great job etisalat,am not angry with the network again for deducting my one thousand naira for no just reason.Nwanne:)

MTN actually started this, CSR projects long before etisalat came on the scene. They have the Mtn Foundation which has equiped science labs, built libraries,funds healthcare services, helps small businesses, built low cost housing schemes, gives schorlaships et.al, just to mention a few in all regions of Nigeria. i guess its the Tv shows most of us get to hear about. You can check their website for info on their Foundation.

tuface's sister said...

great job, etisalat, great job!

what has jonathan got to do with this... i beg stick to the topic ...this school has been dilapidated for over 10 yrs including obasanjos and yaradua rule haba

Etisalat ! Una too much. M gonna get your sim card very soon. Okay !

Wow ,that's lovely.. Am sure other network will start doin thiers also.. And it wil turn into a malicious competition.. Buh good job ETI

Awwww dis is really nice cos I grew up in rabiatu thompson crescent so I knw d sch wella bt its been a long time I went there so I'm really impressed. Great job etisalat!

So na only lagos pple dey use etisalat. Or why re dey takn over schools in lagos state only.

it is such a shame that the Nigerian government does nothing about the state of the schools in nigeria. Yet, the lagos state governor even had the effontery to attend ! Thank you Etisalat !

Your body too dey hot,haba! Don't worry,I'l make it go round

How Much do they make, How much are they spending,
I was expecting that they would give the students that come to the school scholarship till PHD level.

This is a case of one eyed man among the blind,
Abeg they should do something better jare.

U are the ignorant one. Go to ND and see people suffering ode buruku

Ur stupid. Oil companies make more than etisalat. U fool why wont u talk when u dont live on ND and see what pple are facing kmt idiot

LINDA this is not really special or equal to the proceeds they make from Nigerians. A lot of companies are involved in CSR projects and do far more, Oando (especially in terms of school adoption, GTB and Guiness i know for example. They ar emerely giving back a minute fraction to the society. It's worthy of note though but shouldn't be seen as a priveledge. They all should be urged to do more cos Nigerians have fattened their account books and we are also exposed to the environmental dirts and harm they cause to our environment.

They should be talked and pressured into doing more.

Kind Regards

Lol, its obvious that those asking us to go to mtn website and see the mtn foundation are mtn workers! ‎​​​​​=))º°˚˚˚°ºнaĦaнaº°˚˚˚°º‎​=))

I was,am n will alwaiz b an etisalat fan. I rili luv dis ntwork n wud b honoured 2 work wit dem sumday,as far as I'm concerned mtn is d most exploitative network in 9ja,dia call rates r unreasonable n dey giv u promo wit dia left hand n collect it 4rm dia ryt.Etisalat call rates r vry reasonable n dia service is excellent,luv em....Uzoamaka

Nyc work buh etisalat pls spread ur tentacles 2 oda states n nt jus lagos....Uzoamaka

It is great that Etislat has keyed into the adopt a school programme which is a government initiative that indigenous brands have embraced and have been doing awesome work on, long before the Telcos. Etislat did not create adopt the adopt a school school in Nigeria, let us not deceive people. It was started by the government to seek private partnership to develop public schools. Companies like banks and oil companies, to mention a few have been adopting schools for life before the telco licences were issued. Alot of people have made unsavoury remarks about other telcos. 3 schools in Lagos compared to what others have done pales into insignificance. Every company that has adopted a school do so for life. Etislat, good job for getting Linda to blow this out of proportion...knowing Linda's antecendents this comment may not make it to the Dashboard as i was surprised nobody has corrected the inherent fallacies so far. MTN needs to advertise on this blog too.

i love this network. they are the best and truly naija!!!!1

deekay said...

Very commendable.

Benuegirl said...

Good to see a company in Nig taking its corporate social responsibility seriously. MTN, Glo and the one that keeps changing its name should be held accountable. #gbam

roziette said...

AWWWW this is lovely. i attended the school in 1980 -86 then it was called rabiatu thompson crescent pry school.
Etisalat thank you so much for bringing the school back to life.
0809ja 4 life

roziette said...

AWWWW this is lovely. i attended the school in 1980 -86 then it was called rabiatu thompson crescent pry school.
Etisalat thank you so much for bringing the school back to life.
0809ja 4 life

big ups to etisalat 9ja!

Hi, this weekend is nice in favor of me, because this point in time i am reading this impressive informative paragraph here at my home.

Take a look at my blog :: Kredit Ohne schufa

Hey! Do you know if theу make anу
plugіns to proteсt agаinst hackers?
I'm kinda paranoid about losing everything I've worκed harԁ on.
Anу tips?

Stop by my weblog: get bigger boobs

Ηmm is аnyone elsе exρeriencing prоblеms with
the imаges on thіs blog loadіng? I'm trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it's the
blog. Any feеdbaсk wоuld be grеatlу appгeciated.

Feel free to visit my web pagе razor scooter