Unruly naked conductor charged to court for stabbing LASTMA Official | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 28 May 2012

Unruly naked conductor charged to court for stabbing LASTMA Official

Ibrahim
A conductor of a commercial bus identified simply as Ibrahim has been arraigned in a Lagos court for allegedly stabbing an official of the Lagos State Traffic Management Authority, Akingbohungbe Olalekan, in the hand.

The driver of a Volkswagen wagon with number plate LAGOS XB 990 AAA, on Wednesday around 3.10pm was obstructing the free flow of traffic by picking and allowing passengers to alight from his bus at an unauthorized place in Ojota area of the state. He was apprehended by Olalekan and another LASTMA official, Alabi Emmanuel, who attempted to impound his vehicle. Olalekan ended up getting stabbed. Continue...

PUNCH Metro learnt that Ibrahim and the driver descended on the officials, beat them up and tore their uniforms.
  It was learnt that Ibrahim later stripped himself naked and stood in front of the bus. Our correspondent gathered that a team of policemen and traffic enforcement agents later arrived at the scene.
But the driver reportedly fled while the 28-year-old conductor was arrested and arraigned at a special offences tribunal in Alausa on Wednesday.

At the tribunal, Ibrahim was charged with breach of public peace, obstructing state officers from carrying out their lawful duty, assault and traffic violation by picking passengers in places that were not bus stops.
When his plea was taken, he pleaded not guilty to all the charges.

Magistrate Yetunde Phinero admitted the accused to bail in the sum of N50,000 and two sureties in the like sum. She adjourned the case till June 21, 2012. But the accused was remanded as he could not meet the bail condition.
Meanwhile, the General Manager of LASTMA, Mr. Babatunde Edu, on Friday warned that the agency would prosecute traffic offenders, especially the violent ones.

Edu , who said prosecuting traffic offenders would serve as a deterrent to errant motorists, said the warning became imperative in view of the rising cases of attacks on LASTMA officials in recent times.
He said, “LASTMA officials have been trained to be civil in their approach and we do not tolerate act of indiscipline among our officials. But a situation where they are attacked while performing their official duties by errant drivers would no longer be condoned.

“The law is no respecter of anybody and it is necessary that motorists obey traffic rules and regulations to ensure sanity on our roads.

“Rather than take the laws into their hands, we implore motorists to report errant LASTMA officials and we assure them that we will carry out a thorough investigation and act accordingly. We do not condone any act of indiscipline among our officials and we do not cover them up if they erred.”

Culled from Punch

32 comments:

ONOME says.........
Naija o,I still dey hail

ETHAN said...

Boys re nt smiling.lol

Now here is the question...why did he strip?

AutoCars said...

His Jazzman probably said he should before his juju to disappear from the scene could work lol

Borderline madness . There are so many frustrated and maniacally depressed individuals in that country ...I can only urge all you sane people to refrain from arguments, confrontation etc cos these kind of individuals can snap a any slightest provocation. The conductor has had it and just snapped. These sort of built up aggression and frustrlation can lead to schizophrenia ...that's how people enter the market and they call them were

Him strip τ☺ shakara τ̲̅ђe Lastma offical na! Dats lasgidi 4 Y☺u.

Lmfao

Many are mad but few are roaming. He is obviously one of the few

hmmm good, i like wt the guy did to that stupid lastma dere wahala is 2much, some of dem r just trying to make money out of it nt wrkin.

awele said...

Guy's jst a nutcase!! //pls like d pic on dis page http://bit.ly/L8SqrP its 4 d mr universe nigeria pageant. Pretty pls

That's exactly my thought

Exactly, why did he hv to? Madness ni

He is fit!...see his nice abs...I dey play oo..no think say I don craze too:-)

I sincerely do not feel sorry for the LASTMA Dude. Their own dey their Body. He's lucky he wasn't stabbed to death, When you want to show working sometimes, you should consider the fact that many of the commercial bus drivers are not normal.

Veronica said...

@ Anonymous May 28, 2012 9:46 AM

Apparently you do not reside in Lagos to witness what these 'touts' in uniform (who call themselves LASTMA official) are capable of doing. They act as 'lord' over these motorists and most times injure them, all in the name of 'law enforcement'. I am not in support of what the bus conductor did, but you shouldn't judge/support the LASTMA dudes based on this alone....

This world is obviously coming to an end soon/too many unexplainable things that are not making sense are happening>>>>

I conquor with u it Serves d LASTMA guy rite .its high time we ve street cameras on d street of lagos. Cos most of dis officials r nut well behaved

I don't get the stripping part o! Some weeks back in surulere I saw a bus conductor strip down completely because a passenger didn't pay the complete fare. It was so STRANGE! He was jumping around with his dick flying up and down threatening to beat her all because of 50 naira or so! I just couldn't make any sense of why he had to be butt naked in broad daylight.
Valerie.

Lol at what anonymous 10.02 said. Indeed many are mad but few are roaming. The average nigerian isn't happy with the govt. Of today. Those who can't control their anger,flare up like this conductor,when they are queried by the govt officials. That unnecessary display of anger has cost him his freedom today. In the spirit of the pentecost season we are in now,let's ask the Holy Spirit for more of His fruits in our lives. especially d fruit of love,self-control,knowledge $ peace. We will never get into trouble if we work daily with the Holy Spirit. Peace to all.

Chigurl says
This is pathetic!

DEEFLAMEZ said...

WHA'EVER MEHN...( '.')

*sips Alomo*

You did not even read the post, the guy was parked on the wrong place! How can you say you liked that the crazy man stabbed the official? Those stupid yellow bus drivers are the cause for 90% of traffic in Lagos today, the remaining 10% is because of bad roads.

Chrisilicious said...

Lastma official got what he deserved, he was prolly looking for bribe

Onyema Patrick said...

That LASTMA official got what he deserves. Seriously, these LASMA guys are no different from the erring motorists. Some of them lay siege and wait for you to make a mistake so they can rip you off. Those guyz are so damn annoying, even when you are oblivious of your crime, dem go just enter your car, carry your key begin give you price to pay. Those guys are just on the road to exploit unsuspecting motorists. I remember one wey try thesame rubbish with my Guy, enter homeboy car come tell am say make in park, my guy just carry the idiot zoom off, my home boy was driving crazy and told the LASMA guy say today im go meet im God, the official begin beg am to stop make im commot....my guy drive am from that Cele bustop area reach ojodu before im open im car tell am say make im get out then zoomed off.
Those guys do not have their job cut out for them well jare. They are a menace to motorist walahi.

OMG! Anytime I feel sad, I log on to LIB and everything is alright. The comments on here ........#faints#

iamfascinating said...

crazy!

Likas soap, Diana Stalder soaps, Neutrogena Visibly Even SPF 30, Collagen cream, Retinol cream even Wild Growth Hair Oil available at www.thestunninglady.blogspot.com

pears said...

Na wah ooh

Drugs

Insanity. Many in Nigeria are the "walking insane". That is why if anybody find my trouble, I act like I am a fool. You no know who nut don comot for im head.

Wasn't he charged for indecency as well??

i dont believed he stripped.

ive witnessed a situation wherr it was d guyz dat stripped d conductor to humiliate him.

so abeg, it cld be lies by d lasma ppl, making him look bad.

Truly there's no difference btween d unruly conductor and d so called lastma official. Most of d lastma officials are ex-conductors, and some are street boys. they are very unprofessional, u need 2 see some of them behave. They are not qualified 2 be public workers at all. They're only penalising who do not give them bribe cos there're many who go against d traffic rules in their presence and they'll do nothing. Edu, have u not heard about cases of Lastma officials killing drivers and conductors unnecessarily? what have u done to bring jutice?