Soul fiesta at Shalamar Reunion! Nigerian Idol’s Jeffrey Daniels joins group at London’s O2 Arena | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 10 November 2011

Soul fiesta at Shalamar Reunion! Nigerian Idol’s Jeffrey Daniels joins group at London’s O2 Arena

On 29 October, Jeffrey Daniel led one of Soul’s biggest groups of all time Shalamar in a reunion concert to a large audience of fans at the O2 arena in London. Joining him were original member Howard Hewett and new member Carolyn Griffey who is also the daughter of Shalamar’s creator Richard Griffey. “We had a wonderful time,” says Jeffrey Daniel, “I enjoy doing my thing on stage and it is always an honour to perform as part of Shalamar."

At 17, Daniel, the smooth talking Nigerian Idol judge, was already lighting up the dance floor with his brilliant moves on American TV’s Soul Train. He soon joined dance partner Jody Watley and Howard Hewett to form the hugely popular Soul group Shalamar. Shalamar went on to sell 25 million copies worldwide releasing popular hits such as, 'Night to Remember, I Can Make You Feel Good, There It Is, Take it to The Bank, Make That Move, Friends, For the Lover In You, Uptown Festival and others. Jeffrey Daniel left the group to pursue a solo career as one of the highest profile choreographers and dancers in the business and also as a creative consultant, singer, writer and producer.

Adding a distinct Nigerian flavour Yeka Onka who is the first ever Nigerian Idol, also performed at the prestigious event – wowing the audience with her new single ‘Follow You’. “It was an amazing experience I cannot forget,” she says. “Having to perform to a predominantly foreign crowd who do not know you can be very challenging, I was very humbled that they warmed up to me and my music.” Also performing was Timi Dakolo, winner of West African Idol.

Daniels explains the motivation behind featuring Nigerian musicians at a high profile, predominantly foreign audience. “Nigerian music is blowing up outside the country now, we can see major audiences in the US and Europe open up to the new sound. We need more platforms where Nigerian music can be heard, the Shalamar reunion was a good opportunity to express my support for Nigerian music and as we can see, they loved them,” He said.

Daniels has since then returned to the set of the country’s biggest music reality show, Nigerian Idol where he reprises as the judge focused on technique.

6 comments:

I was wondering how they could've reunited. If you watched their TV One (U.S.)interviews for the show Unsung, or saw Jody Watley's lengthy Youtube videos addressing some issues brought up from the Unsung episode, it'd be a miracle if all three of them shared the stage together. I don't think they've collaborated together since Babyface remade "For the lover in you," with them and LL Cool J.

Sad ending to a really good group.

Dr. Chinedu DDS said...

Linda, did you say Nigeria's biggest music show?

I think it is yet to attain that.. just me thinking tho!

kemsugar said...

Nice...

kemsugar said...

Nice...

JD, Its great to see non-nigerians who believe in the Nigeria project and show this by giving support to upcoming nigerians..God bless you!

Segisonline said...

so Linda, Timi Dakolo did not make any impact abi? Hmmmm!