Nigerian Idol judge, Charly Boy, Goes Looking for Talent on the Streets of Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 10 November 2011

Nigerian Idol judge, Charly Boy, Goes Looking for Talent on the Streets of Lagos

It was a spectacle never before seen under the bridge at Ikeja on Monday October 7th as a crowd of onlookers - mainly commercial motorcycle operators (okada) gathered to participate in what appeared to be a street talent show. Seated at the judges’ desk at a corner of the road and shouting orders was none other than the ‘Area Fada’ himself, Charles “Charly Boy” Oputa.

The Nigerian Idol judge was clearly in his elements as Area Fada as he went in search of what he called the first ever Street Idol in honour of “his people”. He was not disappointed. There was no shortage of talent waiting on the streets: from a dancing LAWMA official, to random singers and rappers and even a stripper Okada rider.

In that atmosphere of non-stop entertainment for a large crowd of onlookers, the down-to-earth star ensured that the crowd hailed every single person that performed and then joined a few of the performances. After making the first selection, Charly Boy let the crowd decide who the winners of the competition were for the music and dancing categories respectively. The three favourites in each of these categories received $100 (per category) from him as cheers went up among the crowd. True to form, after the unusual show, Mr. Oputa blazed off in dusty glory to cheers of ‘Area Fada!

Charly Boy was in Lagos as one of the judges on Season II of Nigerian Idol. Alongside Yinka Davies and international choreographer and artiste Jeffrey Daniels, they reviewed the thousands of young eager talent in an incredibly long line at the Dream Studios in Lagos.

15 comments:

Eme Achanga said...

attention seeking or what?anyway,good move.hope he kept the python at home?

Area Father himself!

@Emeh Achanga,what have u ever done for the masses.From the story I understand he gave out $100 of his own money to the winners,that is 16k,do u know how much that means to an okada rider or street hawker?Moves like this should be encouraged and not discouraged.

And so what if he got some attention from it?

Don`t just sit at home and criticise,make a move urself.

I can guarantee you he actions or stunt whatever u call it put some smiles on people`s faces and money in a few pockets.Gosh,I don`t anything wrong in that.

kyrs said...

Nice one!!!!!!!!!

sakara said...

I wld have loved to see those officers n their uniforms who r paid by tax payers hard earned money, leaving their duty posts to go dance alanta wt this area fada.....uhmn....na trouble e for be for them

sleekreek said...

@Emeh Achanga,,,,,,exactly what i had on my mind........after the $100,,what next???

Loudmouthed said...

@Emeh, lol.. I hope. He is trying to remain relevant at all cost. I am indifferent about him

I like the Title of this post. It's well thought out, well utilised, informative, keyword rich and search engine friendly.

@Emeh Achanga: Which one is "attention seeking"? Can`t people be who they are and not get unduely criticized. I understand though if being unduely critical is who you are.

Of course he's just an attention seeking prick trying to keep his 'Area-Fatherhood' alive. This guy stays in one of the poshest areas of Abuja. Why is he not staying closer to 'His People' in Ajegunle? He's older than my Grand Daddy's Grand Daddy. Hope he takes a nurse along for these patronising moves he makes. He can't still believe he was chosen for the Idol show. He's so excited!

tonto dike n wiz kid's sex tape is out! Go get ur! She'z a freak in d bed!

Eme Achanga said...

na wah ooo..sleeky thanks jare..i still hope his python was kept @ home....lol

An effort worthy of tonnes of compliments. Take the show to the people and not ask the people to come to the show and you will be amazed at the quantity and quality of talents you will find.

kdb

for show or for attention, some people went home with a windfall.
talk all you want

@Emeh Achanga; What have you done for humanity in your life?, the guy just parted with over 50k and put smiles in the faces of some people