GTBank MD, Tayo Aderinokun gravely ill | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 19 April 2011

GTBank MD, Tayo Aderinokun gravely ill

One of the founding partners and current Managing Director of Guaranty Trust Bank, Mr Tayo Aderinokun was rumoured to have died last week, but it's been confirmed that he was actually only in a coma in a hospital in London. The seasoned banker is said to have been diagnosed with cancer of the lungs, an ailment he's been battling with for many years now. He's been MIA in the Lagos social scene and many people have been wondering as to his whereabouts. Close associates say Tayo has been getting treatment for many months now in an undisclosed hospital in the UK.
Hope he makes it through, IJN.

18 comments:

Amb Caleb said...

Cancer is really killing lots of people, please God Let him live in Jesus Name

www.su2c9ja.blogspot.com

ikhuoria2k said...

This is one of Nigeria's brightest banker. I pray he survives this

brown said...

hmm na wa o
people money aint everything
a lot of people stress themselves too much
a young man in coma.Lord have mercy
we dont want another young person dying o
pls say a word of prayer for him

Kai, this is very sad news.. have never heard of him, but for the fact that he is a GTB MD my heart is sad. May God grant him healing, and continue to comfort his loved ones in this trying time.

SOLA said...

sob sob sob.... please Lord don't take Tayo yet, heal him and make him very well. Let us rejoice over that which only you can do in Jesus name (amen)....

Get well Tayo.... Love you #gtbcustomer

Tunde said...

for a blog that people look at fr information, i think it is proper that you educate us, your followers very well especially when it relates to things like this that can affect an organisation's share price. As a seasoned stockbroker, i know the bank had released a statement to the Nigerian Stock exchange last week notifying them that the MD is proceeding on medical leave while also assuring stakeholders that their corporate governace structure ensures things go smoothly even in the absence of a principal officer... that's what you should have been showing us not trying to be sentimental by sharing stale rumours... im sure you can get a copy of that statement from the floor of the NSE or from the Bank itself...

@ Tunde, pls linda learn from his statements, when steve jobs went on medical leave, it's the same, but then again, you are a blog.. and meant for gossip.

I am worried abt myself.

olalekan said...

which should we believe oh .... this is a story debunking that he is in a coma
http://tribune.com.ng/sat/index.php/high-society-gist/3856-friends-families-debunk-rumour-on-tayo-aderinokun.html

Tayo will be ok, am so convinced. i worked in GTB and know how nice the guy is, he is the human face of GTB unlike the current DMD. God will heal him IJN.

Chilling said...

Tunde, this story is in this week's City People. I don't see anything wrong with Linda putting it here.

Comparing Steve Jobs to Tayo Aderinokun is a joke please! I'm not trying to denigrate the GTB MD, but there shouldn't be a comparison.

I wish him a speedy recovery.

Anon April 19, 2011 5:05 PM; which DMD? Segun Agbaje? I thought he was very okay? City People said the succession is between Mr. Agbaje and Mr. Ogundare. Mmmmmmm!!

Him never die, them don dey fight to replace am.
abi na dem arrange something for am?

God save me and my family o!
Cancer came our way once, we prevailed it will not know us again IJN. Lord please heal Mr. Aderinokun.Do for him what money can'r do.

Tunde, are you high on something?
Linda did not create the news (rumour),it is already in public domain and she is just transcribing it.This is a gossip and entertainment blog in case you missed it.It is like an American going to Perez Hilton for information or a South African going to Justcurious.That is what proper broadsheets like NYT, Washington post and Mail & Guardian are for in those countries.
You want Linda to post NSE press releases?Next thing you would be looking for stock prices here.
Please this is where we come to unwind.
Linda baby, carry go.
Mr. Aderinokun, i will say a prayer for you this night.

Abike said...

It is well with him in Jesus name.

SOLA said...

Thanks a bunch ANON April 19, 2011 10:25 PM!

I don't know why some people will not just leave Linda to do her thAng! OverSabiPeople.... Advanced Degree on Aprokoism! Tunde & co

Get well soon Mr Aderinokun. I know how painful it is to go through cancer. I hope the Almighty God cures him. Please we should put him and others battling cancer in our prayers. its a very traumatic illness. its one year now since my own father passed away after battling cancer of the bone marrow for over a year and a half, i watched him pass away slowly and all i could do was pray... Money comes in handy but trust me, in cases like this, money has its limits.. you spend almost all you have and the person still passes away. Lets forget about what NSE and GTB bank are debunking... There is no harm in praying and wishing someone well... it is not today that press releases were 'released' to allay Nigerians fears and sometimes lie to us.

mike said...

The Lord said my people perish for lack of knowledge. When Jesus died on the cross,he took not only our sins but also infirmities including CANCER from Mr. Aderinokun and all of us. Lord I pray Mr. Aderinokun knows and accepts that through Jesus Stripes, we have all been healed.
...i have witnessed people tesify the defeat of cancer and even HIV in their lives,God did it for them and has already done it for Mr. Aderinokun. The moment he starts to speak and confess God's word through his mouth, the healing anionting through Christ will begin to manifest in his body. Jesus has already defeated cancer and all form of sickness, the reason why people still die of this sickness is because they have not come to the realization that Jesus has already taken their sickness from them,once they accept this and have FAITH,they will give their testimonies.satan will only inflict infirmities on you when you still don't know your inheritance through Christ Jesus which includes good health
we all can intercede and pray for Mr. Aderinokun health today,God bless

I heard lung cancer is caused by excess smoking. Educate me if am wrong pls. Was he a smoker? I pray he find healing ind Lord.

Chilling said...

Linda dear, he's dead now. He passed away today and it's all over the news. May he RIP.

jov said...

may his gentle n kind soul nd d souls of all d departed rest in perfect peace Amen. dis is heartbreaking. nigeria has lost a rare gem