Olayode 'Toyo baby' Juliana finally opens up about her departure from Jenifa Diaries | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 22 June 2017

Olayode 'Toyo baby' Juliana finally opens up about her departure from Jenifa Diaries

In April 2017, LIB exclusively confirmed that Olayode Juliana, popularly known as 'Toyo Baby' in Funke Akindele-Bello's popular Television comic series, Jenifa's Diaries, has been cut from production. This was initially denied by Juliana during her reaction to our post on social media, but she has now come clean about their misunderstanding.
In a post on her website minutes ago, she opene up about their relationship, claiming that she was Funke's unofficial; Personal Assistant, Makeup artist, Caterer, Costumier, Driver, Cleaner, Washer woman, Masseur, Prayer partner and Script adviser. Read what she wrote after the cut...

The relationship between Jenifa and Toyo Baby UNCENSORED!
It hurts when people spread lies about you and you cannot do anything to defend yourself. But thank God for a platform like this. I would be saying a lot of things; it would be a long read but I promise you would enjoy reading. I would be stating in clear terms the relationship I had with Aunty Funke. I used ‘had’ and would be talking in past tense because like you know, I am presently not on the Jenifa’s Diary series. And guess what? The news just broke lately, but I have been off the series since May,2016 (last year); it’s been over a year already.

My post would be in two parts; who Aunty Funke was to me (Juliana), and then, who I was to her. These are things only few people know but I am ready to let the world know.

Yes! I will start with her. Why? She’s an amazing person and I can’t wait for you to know how lovely she is on a one-on-one basis. We all have our flaws but we choose rather to celebrate our strengths. Here goes!

Aunty Funke to Juliana!

COACH

Aunty Funke met me for the first time at the auditions of Jenifa’s Diary (she did not know me prior to that day). She saw my talent and believed in me. I worked with her for years; she trained me and helped me in becoming a better actress. She would not take anything short of excellence from her cast. I honestly have not seen anyone in Nollywood more hard working than Aunty Funke. And she made it a duty to correct me and coach me on being better.

BENEFACTOR

Aunty Funke helped pay my mum’s hospital bill for a fibroid surgery, two hundred and fifty thousand naira (N250,000), because I had no money at that time. She also gave to the ministry dear to my heart, MINE Teenage Ministry when we were preparing for an event, one hundred thousand naira (N100,000) and my pastor called to appreciate her. So apart from my pay as an actress on the series (which I won’t mention), that’s all I received from her money-wise, asides from change she gave me for transport when leaving set because as at then, I used to jump bus, ‘keke’ and bike to and fro set up until I left the series…lol. But in all, God used her to meet that major need in my life at that time.

BIG SISTER AND ADVISER

I fondly remember the times Aunty Funke would call me to her room while I was staying in her house (during set), and talk to me. She would take her time to advise me and encourage me as regards life in general. One particular day I treasure was the day she came to the room I stayed and told me, in a mother’s tone that I was beautiful and she warned me sternly never to bleach. I smile whenever I remember that. God bless her kind heart!p

CHEERLEADER AND ENCOURAGER

Aunty Funke never ceased to celebrate me. Knowing how excellent she is at what she does (acting), I was shocked, elated and excited all at once the day she told me I was a good actress. She told me I would be great and celebrated. She saw years ago what is happening today. I am thankful for her words.

Juliana to Aunty Funke!

UNOFFICIAL PA

I was privileged to be the one holding Aunty Funke’s bag while on set. I ‘kept’ the money we spent on day-to-day running and was required to balance account afterwards. I don’t like Mathematics, so that was a lot of work…lol. Money was never unaccounted for in my keep. I ran errands for Aunty Funke and made sure all that was needed was supplied.

UNOFFICIAL ASSISTANT MAKE-UP ARTIST

On set, on some occasions, when I was not acting, I was fanning and dabbing the faces of other actresses (including extras). So, this is for those that have accused me of being proud. Please ask those I fanned and dabbed while preparing to go on set later. On some occasions, I also did my own makeup and that of some other cast. All I wanted to do was SERVE; I wanted every set to be a success.

UNOFFICIAL ASSISTANT CATERER

On set, there were different occasions I served cast and crew (plus extras) food and water. At some points, I joined in washing plates when the plates were not enough to go round. And times I was not acting, and I saw the ‘Mamas’ needed help, I joined them in washing plates. They are alive to bear witness.

UNOFFICIAL ASSISTANT COSTUMIER

I hardly forget things I memorised, so I knew the continuity of major characters on the set. Aunty Funke used to ask Costumiers to confirm costumes with me. On some occasions.I had to go to set earlier than others and leave later than others to sort out costumes, including wigs and other accessories. I looked forward to doing it and never once complained

UNOFFICIAL ASSISTANT DRIVER

I could not drive while on Jenifa’s Diary set, and I still cannot…lol but I woke up early on different occasions to wash Aunty Funke’s car. The times I didn’t wash, I dusted the car. She is a neat person, so I made sure the inside of the car and the boot were tidy and clean. For me, it was pleasure serving Aunty Funke.

UNOFFICIAL CLEANER

I lived with Aunty Funke while set was on, so I counted it my duty to clean the house. She lived in a duplex at Chevron at that time, so I cleaned the entire house. Sweeping and moping from room to room. Scrubbing bathroom after bathroom. I arranged wardrobe after wardrobe, laid one bed after another. You would not know any of these if I am not saying this. I did all this with joy. She was special to me and you serve those you love. 

UNOFFICIAL WASHER WOMAN

Aunty Funke is neat and very tidy and she does professional drycleaning. But there were times she needed a dress washed urgently and I helped her wash. Please don’t accuse me of being proud or rude to Aunty Funke again. I SERVED her WHOLEHEARTEDLY. 

UNOFFICIAL COOK

Some of my fond memories with Aunty Funke are the times I cooked for Aunty Funke. I enjoyed cooking for her. I followed someone who lived with her then (name withheld) to market on different occasions to buy things we used to cook. Please note, I had a home of my own. I stayed with Aunty Funke only when we were shooting except times she specifically asked me to come over.

UNOFFICIAL MASSUER

I learnt how to massage with Aunty Funke; I learnt on the job…lol. I knew she was usually tired when we got back so it was my pleasure to relieve her; she sometimes slept off while I massaged her. There was a day we were on location and we did not take the oil. Someone offered oil but as I held it, my spirit was not at peace. So, I bowed my head and prayed over the oil. I did not know Aunty Funke was watching me. When I opened my eyes, she asked what I did and I told her. Her response was “O se oko mi”, translated, “thank you my dear”.

PRAYER PARTNER

There were different times Aunty Funke called me to pray on location, and sometimes at home. There was a time I gave her a Word of Knowledge. I had a dream once, I told her, and it happened the next day. I fasted and prayed with Aunty Funke and her sister. She called me to pray with her at midnight at some points. She knew from the onset that I was a Christian and that I was committed to prayer. There were different times we both prayed and asked God to give us sponsors. So, for those that have accused me of being “holier-than-thou”, that is the real me o! Everybody on every set I have gone, including Jenifa’s Diary, know I am unapologetically sold out to Jesus. I am not ‘deceiving’ anybody. That is my ‘real face’…lol

SCRIPT ADVISER

I had the pleasure of sitting and gisting with Aunty Funke at different points, whether at home or in the car. We would talk about the script. She sometimes had inspirations in the car and she would ask me to write it down so she doesn’t forget, and she would ask my opinion. I treasure those moments. Interestingly,there was a day we were talking at the house and her husband was there. I talked about loving High School movies and Musicals. I said I wondered why we didn’t have such in Nigeria. Then, we all started talking. JJC Skills even ‘drafted’ me into it already but we were just talking lightly. It is my joy that “INDUSTREET” is a reality today!

Let me stop here! So, with these few points of mine, I hope I have been able to convince you and not confuse you that you shouldn’t believe everything you read until you hear from the source.

Your question now is, what happened? Hmmm! We had a misunderstanding and I cannot disclose what happened without Aunty Funke’s permission. But if you read all I said in the post, you would gather that we were quite close. And when two people get that close, misunderstandings are bound to occur.

All I have said, you can confirm. 100% truth and UNCENSORED!!!

So, it is God, who saw my faithfulness and commitment, Who is rewarding me and announcing me to the world. Dear aspiring celeb, please SERVE and not seek to be served. 

Please do well to share this post on your social media platforms via the buttons beneath this post so we can spread the TRUTH of what went down. My name has been tarnished by liars and bloggers seeking traffic. God have mercy on them!

Whew!!! This was long! Thank you for reading and allowing me pour out my mind in love. I am just a human being who does not want to be maligned falsely!

God bless you.

89 comments:

Jefferson said...

And finally she speaks up to clear her name...

baba said...

That's true
Godtakeover

the issue is always about money. the producers are making

click here now for penis enlargement

decent money from the show but they just want to pay the other supporting actresses peanuts which is not good at all.

I will read it after my assignment

Love me some @TOYO baby

Please anyone with spare food stuff or money to give out please assist me as I keep praying to God for a job. Gracegracey45@gmail.com

My heart draws to this lady. Toyobaby

#Ilovejenniferdiary#

Juwency said...

Toyo baby, i love you, you are good on set. I love your carriage, your composure, your gesture. They way you react and handle situations in Jennifer's diary, especially when funke is being funke in the set. If friends have such understanding in life that same you you did understand funke's life both in movie and life, this world will be a better place. But im wondering if anyone can take that you post ooo.
You are good. Wish you the sky.
And hope you return to Jennifer in future act.

NICE TOYO BABY

WHATEVER IT IS .......PLEASE RE UNITE

GOD FORGIVES SO WHY WOULDN'T WE .....

ONE LOVE FUNKE AND TOYO BABY

Iamjulee said...

God bless u dear #linda my role model

Miracle Onuoha said...

Well she didn't say anything

Just read it

See as @AUNTY AUNTY full everywhere

Very distracting

Yoruba's Shaa. ...if you know call them @AUNTY, na wahala

Mtchewwww

So @Toyo, @Funke called you to her room.. She advised you all the time ?

I think you are not really truthful with this interview

You don't want to paint @Funke as a bad person... I understand

My own opinion... This looks like Two lesbians thay fell OUT

Too many unwarranted details. Smh
No wonder Nigerian movies dwell too much on inconsequential.

God bless you...

click here to see and download what happens when you concentrate so much on phone

HMM,dat shall judge.lesson of d story is always listen to both parties before judging anyone.i can relate to toyo babys side of d story and wiv her acting u can sure tell shes a really gud person.for me,i can tel d kind of person an actor & actresses re wen dey re on set.belive it 80% of dem is just d real dem wen acting.

Lol... dee

Toyo Baby...........no mind them jare!!! People will always talk without knowing what went down. I still hope you guys can sort your differences out dough.
Your write up obviously tells how respectful you are.
All the Best!!!

Don't even know her. Only watch when it's showing on tv. All the same, I pray she moves onto greater things.

Long live LIB

alandnid said...

@ Olayode,God bless you.you are a wise woman.The sky is your limit.sone people do not remember the good time the share with one another,but come out to pull down there benefactor once the have little misunderstanding.

Good luck to una biko

biola sidiq said...

I can really relate wiv toyo babay.moral of d story is always hear from both parties.wiv toyos acting no doubt shes a gud person.for me,i see tru actors & actresses while dey re on set.for me I can tel d kind of person dey re in most cases.80% of dem act exactly ow dey re in real life.just so u no dat bad things happens for so many gud reasons ma dear.

DULLA said...

Toyo baby,love u soo much

I believe you dear,right from jenifa 's diary days,I have always seen that good girl in you,everything happens for a reason,u were not destined to be all that you listed forever,so move on in peace,something bigger and better awaits you

This is an allegation until otherwise proven

What can I say...I prefer funke akindele on set but sincerely speaking,she is not so much a nice person
What she does to people is *nocomment*
I've never met anyone who loves to see people beg even on their right(she is wicked) seriously I prolly should post my encounter with her but a number of people wouldn't believe cos I'm no celeb. All I know is she would fade soon. God help us all. Funke nothing last forever

Funke is a wicked person tbh

I PERSONALLY AGREE WITH U....THAT'S LIFE EXPERIENCE.

There Is Always Two Sides To A Story

I believe you jare. To hell with what anybody says. I have never met you before, but only watching you tells me your kind of person off screen.
However my dear let me advice you and everyone in your shoes to read up the centre of the Bible psm 118:8
It is better to Trust in the Lord than to put your Confidence in man. (Selah)
Take care and pls more videos from you. Thanks
Melvin

For window blinds wallpapers and curtains please call 08160856785.

but in all of this she did not still say anything about what the problem was, this girl is so smart and Godly I always see post her on instagram I wonder why funky will have issue with someone one like this

There Is Always Two Sides To A Story, The Truth Cant Be Hidden, It Will Definitely Surface.

The explanation is uncalled for and unnecessarily. If you are innocent and faithfully served her, believe me it will come out without this long epistle.

My opinion anyway.

Stephen Ikiyei said...

i always know that TOYO BABY is not proud!!!

Hannie said...

My own question for you is that
If you had not become celebrity DAT you are now
Wouldn't you still be doing all the things you were doing bfore

Jenifas dairy brought you out to where you are now

So it better to leave peacefully and not saying all the tins u did in her house

The truth is u got wat u wanted and d dànce step change
It can happen to anybody DAT is ungrateful
..am a huge fan

amblessed said...

Whatever that happened between both of you should be sorted out.
You guys have come along way.
I believe both funke and Juliana made mistake one way or the other.
We are all human so settle your differences and move on.
There is no point hunting who is wrong or who is right

Hmmmmm.....Just like in Apostle Suleman's case, I'll say, God knows it all. But Then I love Juliana so much especially because she is Godly and everyone who follows her or is around her knows it.

Like seriously toyobaby.. i av been a secret admirer and fan of urs from onset.. in alignment with your opinion which i agreed dat too much closeness or whataview can cause kasala.. we all av been waiting for yu ppls side of the matter.. Anty funke like u normally call her might av been provin maturity in this case by not coming out straight or atal to adres dis issue.. bla bla bla...
But to be sincere with yu, i follow you guys well to know that she ddnt respect ur birthday and it saddened me to the extent that i began to see its true u guys are not together again.. even sceneone ddnt recognizes dats day.. wil just stp at dat point but we shud always know dat everythin is clear to God and wateva we as celeb is prone to watch.. i as a psyco was able to decode som tins in yur explanatuons. Thanx toyobaby.
May the good Lord bless yu more.
Ig@iampreence

rachie said...

I pray they get settle and move on.

rachie said...

i pray they get settle and move on.

too much problem

code said...

Hmmmm... what can I say, Toyo baby, you did well by telling your one side of the story. this things happen when 2 pple get really close. I'm sure you both will sort it out sooner. if na guys, them for don resolve things already cos, truth be told, you both need each other.

too much problems

So what's the gist? Abeg Abeg Abeg we want to know why Toyo baby disappeared jor!

Hmmmm, I see humility and maturity. This girl will go far in life. God bless u. There are bound to be misunderstandings; but please let go of it for the sake of the good times you have shared together. And to Funke, God bless u too keep making us smile.

Enter your comment...ose ooo baddest,u pass them,if nobody talk about you then you are nobody

Kelechi Ogbuji said...

I believe you

I like her

hmm said...

I tried so hard to decipher what could have went wrong but can't still put my finger on it. She is obviously a somewhat humble girl and Funke is obviously are care free person who would take anyone she is working with as family so I cannot say who might be the guilty party here

It looks like she might have been a little too self rigteous and complained about something that did not sit well with Funke? it looks like she is well grounded and well brought up

yes said...

From some of her accounts, I can testify she is not lying. There was a time Funke posted a behind the scene footage on one of her social media pages, I think it was instagram and she had Toyo sorting costume and wigs and Funke looked a little irritated while Toyo had this scared puppy look, like she did not want to offend Funke. I was thinking to myself why would toyo be sorting clothes, dont they have costumiers on set? Funke must be tough to please and work with...And then I was like Toyo calls her by name in the show so why is she so scared of her... Anyways only God knows the truth. I wish them both success

I read it all.. She is brilliant! And I like brilliant people!

I get you points buh you have still not said anything. You jst made me wasted almost 5mins of my precious time reading this. Well you can like to take permission from ANTY Funke and let us know what happened period

ITK said...

Me I am the king of breaking down and reading between the lines. This is worapun- Although Juli tried to throw a lot of gist in the mix, the main reason is that Money miss and aunty Funke insisted that, Juli is the only one that had access to the money, she is the only one who knows combination and hidden doors or safe. How money come miss?, Now Juli got really offended as per she be omo Jesu and would not in a million years think anyone can ever accuse her of stealing money. Anyways Juli did not want to take that type of insult or stain so all respect she had for 'aunty funky' went out the window. Na so kasala buss. Aunty Funky say"you wan drag with who? how dare you talk back. I made you and I can unmake you", na hin Juli shout "you no be God o" Sister, you may have given me some breaks in life but you are not the end all"... And that is what happened folks...All of una thank me later...Chei i just love the way I do aproko

ITK said...

Me I am the king of breaking down and reading between the lines. This is worapun- Although Juli tried to throw a lot of gist in the mix, the main reason is that Money miss and aunty Funke insisted that, Juli is the only one that had access to the money, she is the only one who knows combination and hidden doors or safe. How money come miss?, Now Juli got really offended as per she be omo Jesu and would not in a million years think anyone can ever accuse her of stealing money. Anyways Juli did not want to take that type of insult or stain so all respect she had for 'aunty funky' went out the window. Na so kasala buss. Aunty Funky say"you wan drag with who? how dare you talk back. I made you and I can unmake you", na hin Juli shout "you no be God o" Sister, you may have given me some breaks in life but you are not the end all"... And that is what happened folks...All of una thank me later...Chei i just love the way I do aproko

oiza said...

Toyo fact is when you are too good, itk, over pleasing, people will use you more and later on dump you! I hope you learnt your lesson.. Beside I'm sure you are still pained you where dropped if not you won't release these epistle

This ur aproko be like truth o, well we still dey observe. It's good to listen to both sides of d story before judging period

I believe you.

Very touching and maturely presented. I believe her. Also not relating what happened was another sign of maturity. The onus is now on 'Aunty Funke'.Pls free this sister, she truly loves and respect you. You may not get anybody with this kind of heart.

It is well

Supermom said...

What is your issues with Yoruba and her calling Funke Aunty, abeg respect people's culture.

Intriguing

Need help with your essay, coursework or dissertation?? Get help from UK trained experts

Oya our producers cast our Toyo baby. She is a good actress. Toyo don't fail to go for auditions, the sky is your limit.

I can't believe I wasted my time reading all these.... If you were not going to disclose what really happened, then why did u waste our time?

She didn't clear anything. Except it is hidden somewhere in what she wrote. Na dem sabi.

So u guys didn't notice she indirectly said she is the one that thought about the idea "industreet" lol

Sister Juliana u havnt said anything ooo. After paying the 2,500 k, did u work for all that money or was it for free? If u know you offended her, call her and appologize mbok. Everyone cant be like us.
All these i wash plates, i massaged,clean shoes n all arnt neccesary if u did all of that out of pure love. I love u toyobabay but this your ezplanation no tell anything meaningful. Bkos from the explanation, u did nothing wrong. So wetin com make 'Aunty funky' vex?

Hahahahaha

I love it

@AmeboNaYourWork

Sod_records said...

All u have done is for your benefit... We do not need them...infact saying them publicly is a sign of pride! Go back and amend everything needed to be amended, do not leave again with misuderstanding but with understanding... that's my opinion (sunnydol)

Sod_records said...

All you've done is for ur own benefit...We do not need them. All u need to do is to go back and amend everything needed to...do not leave again with misuderstanding but with understanding. Thanks

I like the way she presented her side of the story. You need to read in between the lines to really know what happened. She stated how Funke was to her and she stated how she was to Funke. One would draw a conclusion that Funke has a way of using people. Jul was smart not to paint a bad picture but gave us the opportunity to figure out what could have been the reason behind their fall out. She presented a case with such wisdom without hurting anyone. Funke would not give her the permission to state what really happened. No one should expect that.

She's told u wat she had to do..... Maybe you should ask all those top actress what they did before they could even get a lead role.... U should be grateful you went through this process,,,,, it was a training ground,,,,,,, some of this top actress did more than that nd it took dem a long time before they were even given supporting role let alone a lead role..... Be grateful for the opportunity to serve nd how that role has made u skip some dues u would have paid if it was in the days of old nollywood.... Ask people like liz Benson, zack orbi etc how they started and how many movies they had to feature in before finally becoming a household name

Kiki will soon come and write her own... just wait

And indirectly saying she was her "slave"

Too much eulogy. What happened. Nothing. So shut up .Trash explanation

I think u are proud, cause u are just painting yourself d way u want people to c u. She helped u become what u are today and its no big deal doing all that, or sitting her down to say your opinion..was it a crime drawing you close to her? Habba! Its not this difficult and really I doubt your christianity. Smh

So ungrateful!!! Smh

Shut up. They are not lesbians. Okay.calling her aunty is the ideal thing it's our culture. Eating peppery food and oily stew is not a crime and we are not complaining. Igbos should learn to mind their business. You guys complain too much only what Igbo do is perfect in your delusion

Shut up and face your useless Biafra agitation Ndiara

You watch on tv and you don't even know her.huh?Jeolosy go kill you

I can relate but my dear Finke akindele mercy Aigbe Toyin Aimaku and the rest too have been through a lot before fame. Even when they produce movie with story line and hardwork the marketer will pocket all their money most of their boss want them on bed.The hustle is real but persistent made them who they are. Finke is rude arrogant a snub though hardworking @least she's not forcing people to go to bed with her.Bear with her one day you will get there

Magnificent

THIS IS A RUBBISH ACCOUNT OF EVENTS. A good person won't recount all there deeds. This girl sound calculative and evil. Hiding behind christianity SMH

Say you fucked up and apologize instead of writing long story because this beggie beggie Aunty wey you day do no get you on Jenifa's diary o. Move along

THIS ONE NA CV O. Anybody looking a Cleaner, Driver, Cook, Masseuse, Pa, scriptwriter/ actress Juliana is looking for a job o. E be like say this past year no job enter, because we no see you anywhere.

Busy painting herself perfect!! Oh plizz...u shldnt hav mentioned all dz to d public...wen u said u did it out of love!

MissVee

God bless you! I figured that out from how many things Funke was to her versus how many things she was to Funke! We are all human...being used isn't fun for anybody paid or unpaid!

Smh, I can't see beyond the 'paying 250k for your mum's surgery' and you open your mouth to say that's all you've gotten moneywise apart from what she pays you and the 'change' for transport. You are not who you say you are, but an ungrateful being. So please tell me, who would sweep and clean before after accommodating you???. She gave you a platform on a gold platter and built you with all the love in her heart and you threw it back in her face. So you were a costumier?? And so? To whose benefit?. The knowledge you acquired while doing all these things don't come easy and you used to use keke???. You should have told us the kind of car you were using before you met her now while you couldn't afford hospital bills and co. This is beyond annoying. And industreet was your idea..something that looks like they copied empire.. highschool musical kor. You should start your own production and we shall see how many people you will dash free money, house and all.

wow! am glad u finally came out to clear the air. tnk u for pouring out ur heart and tnk u for not slandering Jenifa. i love her so much and i was getting ready to lash out at u but waited till the end of d post to realize u didn't say anything negative about Funke. I like seeing u guys togeda tho and I wish u wud come back togeda but God knows best.God bless u and promote u