Tanzania President ban teenage mothers from going back to school | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 24 June 2017

Tanzania President ban teenage mothers from going back to school

Tanzania’s President John Magufuli has placed a ban restricting school girls who get impregnated from going back to school. The President made this known while addressing Bagamoyo District residents during his three-day-tour of Coast Region on Thursday.
Magufuli accused some of the nongovernmental organisations (NGOs), which have been urging the Tanzanian government to allow teen mothers back to school, of being used by foreign agents.
“There are many things that girls, who are impregnated can do after delivery; they can join VETA (Vocational Education Training Authority centres), they can learn sewing but they can’t go back to school,” said President Magufuli.
According to him,  if such girls were to be allowed back to school, then they would encourage other girls to engage in sex.
“If we were to allow them back to school, one day we will find all girls who are in Standard One have babies,” said President Magufuli.
It's understood that for some months now Magufuli's administration has been pressured by some NGOs to allow teen mothers back to school but the President is giving no room to grant such decision.

The NGOs advocating for girls’ rights to education, are said to be urging the government to formulate a legal framework that would allow teenage mothers to resume studies after giving birth.

47 comments:

this guy has got to be kidding!!! this is taking the continent of Africa 10,000 years backward. Hopefully this doesn't see the light of day.

Seriously! What rubbish...

Petterson said...

Africa has to many fools ruling, how can you give such excuse for ruin someone's life? What happen to the boys that impregnated them

Wicked ignoramus!

nah them sabi

Sigh! Till his daughter gets pregnant..power drunk fool!

Same with the boys that impregnated them? I don't think so

Y are Africans cursed? God,why? Cn u imagine ds.

Good idea, d girls should zip up and face their studies. Period!

He is not that wrong.

Enter your comment...when an educated illiterate is a president.

Samray said...

This is not right.

Lost for words. What an asshole

I support it 100%.there should be sort of consequence for opening your leg at that age.

Prince lexton said...

What a President!!! Disgusting!!!

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm

No tym to talk abt nonsense!!

mr 100%... What then will happen to the boy who impregnated him.

Makes no sense, what happens if accidentally his teenage daughter turn out to be pregnant. Will the law also be applicable.

Asampokoto said...

You are an animal
What then happens to the boys who got them pregnant?
We are too unrealistic in Africa.
People will have sex... what we should do instead is educate them.. as opposed to acting like sex is a taboo. Where has that gotten us really?
I'm sure a lot of these girls were also abused by older men.

Asampokoti said...

You are disgusting. To deprive them of a future for opening legs that aren't even yours?
May your child never get pregnant.
Imagine if ireti Doyle was deprived of an education?
Africans can be shameful wow
This is why we are backwards and will continue to remain here

Jeni_zee said...

That is an infringement on human right, how can u say he is not that wrong? This can only happen in Africa the backward continent!! My God!

Jeni_zee said...

Only happens in Africa

Idiotic president

Eeyore said...

See why Africa will remain stuck in poverty and under development. So you do this to a pregnant school girl. What about the boys (and teachers, in some cases) who got the girls pregnant? Of course, they are allowed to go ahead in school, pursuing their dreams and still getting other girls pregnant along the way. You don't allow the girls back in school because you don't want others to get pregnant too. Yeah, it's girls that get girls pregnant, not boys and male teachers. How dumb.

I am surprised and speechless that we still have people like you and the Tanzania President alive. Because she made a mistake of getting pregnant,you decided to deprive her of education. You can not think of any penalty but education. Did she got herself pregnant? What about the man? SMH. You need help

Eeyore said...

You're a big disgrace to the Ezeorji family

Eeyore said...

What is the consequence for sticking your preek between opened legs, please?

I can understand and agree with Teenage Pregnant Girls (In Primary and Post Primary Schools) being restricted from going to school while pregnant, but being restricted after delivery sounds sick

This man is a complete IDIOTTTTTTTT!!

I support this. What's a teenager doing with sex at that age when they should concentrate more on their studies? If they can handle sex , they should be able to handle the repercussions that come with it.

Long live LIB

You are not in Tanzania. So u won't understand what this president is saying. Vocational opportunities are the best options fornhem. You have millions of female graduate looking for job. This y go through lots of assault

THAT'S NOT RIGHT!

Cv said...

I also support it. It's a good idea.

Cv said...

@Eeyore, you are a big disgrace to the world. I support the president on this. It will reduce teenage pregnancy and death if you don't know.

Cv said...

Are you guys okay at all? I support the president 100%. If the boy is stupid the girl shouldn't be. Besides the president didn't say no school forever. There are vocational jobs to do

Stimulus Blog said...

It means denying them of their future. He is sleeping on a bicycle.

Create a school for young teens mothers then, and give them the training they deserve.

Teenage mums can now seek asylum....Very easy to enter yankee or Jand and not go back home. Just save this!!! There's always a way out of every mess...

Agbomen said...

For me this is neither here nor there. Yes, to an extent this will call on these young girls to show more restraint if you truly want an education. It hopefully will serve as a check. But on the other hand what of those who hv made this mistake already but really want an education, why kill their dreams because of one silly mistake?? A girl who will open her legs to hv sex may not necessarily need encouragement from anyone. I think it's a policy that needs fine tuning really. It helps somewhat and yet hurts. Preventing these girls from getting an education just takes their society backwards.

Your comment is vicious. It's very unfair and you have no conscience. You claim to be a Christian but you you don't act like one.

This plan is ill adviced. Preventing teenage mothers from going back to school will increase female poverty and all the problems that go with it. Why should they spend their lives paying for a mistake made by 2.

Joseph Owo said...

What does pregnancy has to do with education, women get pregnant and go back to school all the time. I dont understand and i dont see any correlation.once again old men making policy that will keep many people in poverty that will last beyond one generation. For me I believe that girls education is most important than anything else. I also hope the boys that get them pregnant will also be banned.

David said...

How can this come out from the mouth of a whole president of a country? Look for other punishment to give them but don't deprive them of education because education is key in the development of a country. What if most of the girls were raped and got pregnant? What if they were manipulated and lured by the men to have sex with them because of their innocent nature at that tender age? Its sad that some Africans still have backward mentality. Civilisation is still very far from them. This is what happens when you have educated illiterates as leaders of a country.

David said...

How can this come out from the mouth of a whole president of a country? Look for other punishment to give them but don't deprive them of education because education is key in the development of a country. What if most of the girls were raped and got pregnant? What if they were manipulated and lured by the men to have sex with them because of their innocent nature at that tender age? Its sad that some Africans still have backward mentality. Civilisation is still very far from them. This is what happens when you have educated illiterates as leaders of a country.