Flood destroys 300 houses in Ibadan - NEMA | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 23 June 2017

Flood destroys 300 houses in Ibadan - NEMA

Mr Yakubu Sulieman, the South West Zonal Coordinator, National Emergency Management Agency, NEMA, has revealed that over 300 houses were affected in the heavy downpour of Tuesday June 20, 2017 in Ibadan, with property worth millions of naira destroyed.  

During the heavy downpour, many houses including a Celestial Church of Christ, Orogun, along UI-Ojoo Road were submerged and property destroyed.  Areas heavily affected by the rain include Olodo, Oki, Akobo, Onipepeye, Kute, Eleyele and Ariyo.  

NEMA said that it is still collating the number of families displaced and the means of livelihood destroyed.  The agency identified the major cause of the flood as indiscriminate dumping of refuse in rivers and erection of illegal structures on waterways and flood path. 

6 comments:

NAWA

NA WAOH

I thought Yoruba land was immuned from natural disaster. They were laghing at us that our land is full of erosion. It is well!

Ben said...

chai...my girlfriend's house was also affected.

Mobolaji Johnson said...

so sad.

All the natural waterways and low lands that should be passage for flood water have been sold for building. It's an expected outcome. Let the town planning guys up their game and stop selling due process for money. A lot is so wrong in Nigeria. We then resort to prayers when we get what we unwittingly planned for.