FG denies removing CRK from Secondary School Curriculum | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 20 June 2017

FG denies removing CRK from Secondary School Curriculum

The Federal Ministry of Education has denied reports that Christian Religious Knowledge, CRK, has been removed as a subject of study from the curriculum of public secondary schools in Nigeria while Islamic Religious Studies, IRS, has been reintroduced.

Director of Press, Federal Ministry of Education, Mrs. Chinenye Ihuoma, who denied the report, said the Ministry had only designed a new subject which merged Civic Education, IRS, CRK and Social Studies into “Religion and National Values.”

“The alternation is not from the minister, this is purely from the National Council on Education. It is just as the council has said that History should be a subject of its own at the basic level in the first nine years. Now, a new subject has been introduced, called Religion and National Values. It is a fusion of religion and civics. I have not seen the details but in a case where you have subject combinations in the same period, everyone will attend lectures that correspond with their own religion. Arabic and Islamic Studies are not standing alone. Islamic Religious Study and Christian Religious Study as well as national values will be taught under a new subject.”she said

28 comments:

Peter said...

they are denying it now because some christians from CAN protested on why it should be

want to get a bigger penis? click here now

scrapped, at the end of the day this civic education would consist mostly of islamic studies.

I ask, but why?

Why not leave CRK just like you met it?

OK.. Make una no worry

We go know how far come 2019

Confused state and confused people.

And reno amokri was tweeting his ignorance

End time people see their faces. Mtchwww

It still doesn't make much sense.

"I have not seen the details " Why then are you outrightly denying an issue which details you have not seen. Those who raised the alarm must have seen the details.

Neka Fred said...

They should be careful to avoid the wrath of God. Jesus is the creator and the owner of the universe. On the judgement day, na dat day we go no how far.

Where is Reno and his accusations? Lol Bakare totally ignored him LMAO

Thank u very much! ... I tot dis day will neva come!!! ... Datz exactly wat Nigeria needs to combat dis religious intolerance pls ... Let d children know about the religion of others n not be fed with hatred n one sided reasoning ... I just hope the teachers will not be biased!! ... I know some pple must complain!!!

Love you big sid linda you've been so inspiring love you muah

You are a true human being
Religion is one of our biggest problems after ethnicity. Nigerians should be reasonable and stop listening to people who live and feed on religion.

Apologist Azolike Nonso Afamefuna said...

This is a bullshit. The motive was to weather down CRK and introduce other components subject that would make it seems expendable. What values can you teach a child with an Islamic terrorist religion?

Ike Louisa said...

👏

Noni you are absolutely right. But a lot of ignorant and intolerable people in Nigeria today. Unfortunately the loud voices of the agitators of unrest is louder than that of common sense. May we not see war in this country. Just take a look at the war torn regions. War is not child's play. And everybody will suffer. Stop trying to cause unrest. Nothing is ever solved by war or violence. But Alas, the human race never learns!

The day the angel of God will land this people slap ehh, it will be to them like unto Herod. Let them keep,trying to islamize Nigeria, it will soon happen.

Nonny fpr your mind you be sharp guy abi? U never know muslims ..your own best friend will carve out your intestines with sickle after jumaat service where they r asked to kill infidels

Noni, hmmmm. I love ur comment. One of our basic problem in nig is religion. Gettin this kids to kno alot abt religion at their early stage wld do us a lot of good in dis nation. I hop dey dnt get biased sha.

Dear Director of Press, Federal Ministry of Education, Mrs. Chinenye Ihuoma,
Say what you know and forget about what you don't know.May you not be a tool in the hands of the evil one.
It is better we fight for it now before it is too late. CRK has been and it has really added values to the lives of millions of Christians "Why remove it now".
Dear Minister and all the councils involve watch yourself before it will be too late.

Mr Man, she said she has not seen the details , but she can come out here to outrightly deny it.. The agitators have obviously seen d details .. The curriculum could give favour to Islamic studies as against Christian Religious Knowledge and everything else..
So Oga, you just tweeted your ignorance

Islam is a religion of terrorism,killing,bombing,beheading and hatred.it should be completely removed...bokoharam and Fulani herdsmen are still killing nigerians and their activities are birth from islam.beware!!!!

BETTER
MY PEOPLE, REPENT AND TURN FROM YOUR EVIL WAYS, THE KINGDOM OF GOD IS AT HAND.
WHERE DO YOU WANT TO SPEND YOUR ETERNITY, HEAVEN OR HELL?
CHOOSE WISELY, CHOOSE LIFE.
ONLY JESUS IS THE WAY!

Ifeoma said...

Good explanation, she should explain the option of FRENCH or ARABIC language.

very funny silly merging!
Jus jisike and be using ENGLISH LANGUAGE to confuse the ignorant lot.

First of all this copy and paste that was done on this blog isn't detailed and is twisted. Subjects are categorized e.g igbo, hausa, Yoruba end up in the language category. These are individual subjects by the way. It's the same as irs and crs being placed under religion (this has been the norm at least when I was in school with everyone separating when it's time for religious studies. It was on the time table as crs/irs) . The other subjects civic education, social studies blah blah are under national values (new comers minus social studies). The combination of all these subjects is under the category called religion and national values. No subject was taken away. Each subject under this category has it's own curriculum per academic year. French is compulsory from grade 4 and above in primary schools. Arabic is optional, has always been. Can we please allow sleeping dogs lie? Or research this for ourselves and not rely on hearsay from either politicians who are looking for a way to get back into power by winning favours from gullible masses or clergies that raised dust without proper research.
Thank you.

optimisticlady said...

Just leave CRK alone....
There are some subjects that could've been merged...

Most of the stuff in that combined subject are from Islam. You tell kids that Jesus is not the son of God. GOD does not have children. Muhammed is the only prophet. How does this work. Leave the subjects as they are. No need to mix it. And the lady is just tweeting her foolishness. She doea not even know what the details are but she is talking about it.by the way who is chairman of that council?.your guess is as good as mine