Australian senator breastfeeds baby while moving a motion in Parliament (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 22 June 2017

Australian senator breastfeeds baby while moving a motion in Parliament (photos)

An Australian MP addressed Parliament while breastfeeding her baby. It will be the first time ever such will happen in Australia. Larissa Waters, a Greens Party member from Queensland, Australia, stood to address the chamber, with her 14-week-old daughter, Alia Joy, latched onto her breast, while the mother spoke about black lung disease, a condition affecting coal miners.

This will not be the first time the MP is taking her baby with her to Parliament neither will it be the first time she's breastfed the infant in Parliament. Earlier on in May 2017, she had tweeted a photo of her breastfeeding her daughter in Australia's Parliament and since then, she regularly takes the child with her to the Australia's Senate, or Upper House. However, it is the first time Waters has ever breastfed while moving a motion in Parliament with all eyes on her.

The MP's decision to breastfeed while moving the motion was met with smiles from her colleagues. Soon after, she shared the photo on Twitter and wrote:

"First time I've had to move a Senate motion while breastfeeding! And my partner in crime moved her own motion just before mine, bless her."

There was, however, someone who did not agree with her and the person sent her a message which Larissa shared on her Twitter timeline.

"Not a good look you may think it's clever but trust me Waters will be remembered in Politics as the dumb Bitch with the big tits with and ego that was 5 feet in front of her brains all the best next time round she is a goner but she is already aware off that hence the exhibition Regards (sic)"

In 2009, Sarah Hanson-Young, a Greens MP, was forced to remove her two-year-old child from the chamber and afterwards, the toddler was heard crying just outside the chamber doors. Then in 2015, Kelly O’Dwyer, a Liberal MP and cabinet minister, was told by the government whip to express more milk to ensure she did not miss votes in Parliament.

However, Parliament changed its rules last year to allow mothers breastfeed in the chambers, Hence, Larissa Waters' freedom.

Below is the video of Ms Waters breastfeeding while addressing the Chamber.

16 comments:

Not appropriate since she's doing it now for attention not like she had no option or maybe under serious pressure from her baby. Soon she'll be changing diapers and bathing the baby there

O di mma

What's with all the attention seeking? It's surprising that somebody at her level still trips over cheap publicity.

Barnabas said...

A pround mother. Don't see anything bad at all.

I love this woman for breast feeding her baby in parliament.Do not mind what any body says about what you did.all every body knows is that you did the best for the baby.That is all.

Nice mother 🙌

This just dumb! What happens if u move the motion after or before u've breastfed ur kid? Why must we all see u breastfeeding an infant wen moving a motion!? Bitch will scream female rights next. Rubbish#

BJ Bonji said...

LOL....the men are looking on with envy
Many of them would gladly latch on to that succulent breast if given the chance
MOBOLAJI

I bet if it was some ho that brought out her titties for the world to see in the name of "slaying" it would have been socially acceptable. This madness we all promote as being trendy is coming to hunt humans as a race.
Kontinu

olivia said...

Even though the purpose is right but the timing is not ok. What exactly for? To show she's a dedicated mother or for her child to set the record she tweeted about. Motherhood rocks but let's not be obsessed with it

Not appropriate biko. What happened to d nanny or relatives. Period

Rita said...

I bet if it was some ho that brought out her titties for

click here now for penis enlargement

the world to see in the name of "slaying" it would have been socially acceptable. This madness we all promote as being trendy.

And what does this show exactly?? That you are a super mum abi. I am very sure she could have chosen to breast feed the baby afterwards. Wrong timing abeg!!

awww

Nony said...

Dis is d real women's right not fighting for women to go about street naked.I don't see anything wrong in what she did. She already has publicity rather she is raising awareness on working mothers and breastfeeding. I was raised by a full time working mum