'True winners never give up' Social media reacts to Leo Messi's retirement from Argentina after Copa America final loss | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 27 June 2016

'True winners never give up' Social media reacts to Leo Messi's retirement from Argentina after Copa America final loss

Early Monday morning Argentina played out a keenly contested match against Chile in the Copa America final and lost 4-2 on penalties. Argentina captain Lionel Messi was so heartbroken that he told a Spanish reporter that he'll be retiring from International duty.

Football fans took to twitter to express their thoughts on his retirement, some being critical saying he's bottled under failure while some praised him for his achievements. More tweets after the cut...

34 comments:

I feel he will change his mind

Poor messi

He probably didn't retire because he lost again. I guess he already made dt decision long ago

Hang on Messi.......better days ahead

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB

Olumide Abiodun said...

Well, its his life. He is the one that has to live through every decision he makes. He might have been contemplating retiring for a long time...this might just have been the trigger for him to make the decision.

Top 5 Oldest Presidents in the World

brainny said...

Lol Messi was prolly infuriated while saying that,y'all know this guy!he was born to play football#MESSI'THELEGEND

#SEAneverDRY

lol.... loser

Chai! I rally feel for the dude!

I don't know wat to say really. it's not good to take decision wen u re angry or happy. I think he should have waited for the heat to settle down b4 saying sometin. I guess he made his decision out of frustration.
Signed
#LibBadBoy

Then he should dust off his boots and try again.

It feels so bad, I really really wanted him and the Argentines to win, I want Ronaldo to win the world best trophy, but I just feel for Messi after losing two straight major finals with his country, so want him to win this one, at least for this once, sentiment aside, but it was never to be and now, I'm near tears.

Na him sabi

They shld leave him alone joor,he don try....maybe the fans shld strt thinking of taking his position,messi no get two head

He is such a sore loser!

Let him go and appease de gods of CR7

Na him sabi

Not such a fan of Football buh d tôt of mercy retiring is quite Sad

MAKE UNA LEAVE THE YOUNG MAN O

AUNTY LINDA....

Him problem

Lol Werey wetin Make C-Boi come do when u collect 3 world best Ahead him and he never loose hope. ...stupid Short Man....I never pray for hi. Either. .. Small Alao Seniyan

Ikr ..just when I was starting to like him.

Jide efcc said...

Awww! Messi Bánújè

What's even Linda's problem with Messi,I notice she praises Ronaldo,even wen he's a flop nd @every given opportunity hits on Messi.Nw lemme tell u! Ronaldo wll nt marry u!, nd bsides there cn NEVA be anoda! He's d BEAUTY of soccer nd no one else! No go lemme talk 2 u any hw cos of dis ur Messi hatin o! It's ur last warnin,if u cnt appreciate d best man.

I hope he changes his mind. Linda take note!

He is human...#onMYway...

Why is he retiring cos he lost 3 finals with Argentina? why didn't he retire at Barca after he'd also lost some finals. Messi shld go and sit down joor, he was just Frustrated by that loss to Chile, dats why he announced he's retired.

Messi is just too poor in international side

Goaldyn Boy said...

The most funny and sarcastic to me is the guy that tweeted that - "Look at the brightest side... Now Messi will now have time to file his tax returns"

Currentnaija.com said...

GOD OF FOOTBALL!!!

Chuck said...

There goes the major difference between Ronaldo and messi; Ronaldo has proven himself a survivor (one thing messi isn't). Ronaldo has gone from three leagues including the dreaded premier league and proven himself the best player in each league (messi cant). Ronaldo has played for a team like Portugal and hasn't won a thing with them but still stands strongly with his national team...and some idiot will tell me messi isn't only after personal glory.

He has his reasons

U are so on point, so he is giving up he lost, he is having it so easy in Bacar dats y he can't handle a loss. Shame to him!!!

Why can't he play for any other team except Barcelona? Such a one dimensional character; give me a microphone throwing Ronaldo for some excitement.

kingz said...

he simply left when the ovation is loud. abi na until him break leg before him go retire? haba sef, people would always make a case where there is none.