Poor teenage boy offers to carry groceries for food and you wont believe what happened to him | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 27 June 2016

Poor teenage boy offers to carry groceries for food and you wont believe what happened to him

A Facebook user Matt White in Memphis, Tennessee narrated something unique that happened to him and a 16 year old boy on June 10. He said he went to a Kroger store to buy groceries and met a 16 year old boy, Chauncy Jones Black, who asked him if he needed help with his groceries. He said the boy looked dejected and tired but willing to help him with his groceries in exchange for food.

He took the boy back into the grocery store and bought food and all sorts of things for him and the boy's mother. After the incident, he took to Facebook to talk about the encounter, a lot of people said they'd like to pitch in to help the boy and his mother. The post was shared over 13,000 times and a GoFundMe account which was opened for him has generated over $270,000. Read the full post after the cut...

I just met the most inspiring person ever. His name is Chauncy Jones. He's a 16 year old from Memphis. He had taken the bus at 9:00 at night to get to the "rich people's Kroger" on Highland as he called it. He approached me while I was shopping for produce asking if he could help me carry my grocery bags to my car in exchange for buying him a pack of glazed donuts. This kid looked like he had been turned down 100 times. He looked ashamed, hungry and broken. In my heart I screamed a loud "yes!", but to him I just chuckled and said, "yeah dude, we'll get you some donuts". I asked him if he was by himself and he said that he had come all the way out here with the hopes of someone buying him something to eat because he and his mother had nothing at home. He had no phone, a bus pass, and he was depending on the graces of a stranger to feed him within the hour before the bus left. So, needless to say, he and I went on a shopping spree. We had so much fun! We got cereal and chips and frozen veggies, pizzas, Cheetos, melons and pasta, peanut butter, milk, soap, tooth brushes, just a little bit of everything. All the while we talked and he told me how he makes straight A's in school and is trying to get a job to help his mom pay rent. This kid was amazing. Chauncy kept calling himself poor, but he told me that one day he was gonna be wealthy and own his own businesses so that he could help other people in his neighborhood and buy them groceries like me. I was in awe. I gave him a ride home so that he didn't have to take the bus and when we got to his house I was truly humbled. He wasn't kidding. He and his mom had nothing. They didn't even have beds or furniture. They were sleeping on pads made out of sleeping bags, they had two lamps and nothing in their fridge. Nothing. His mother was so sweet but very fragile. I couldn't tell what it was, but she had some sort of physical and/ or mental disability that made her shake and made walking difficult. I thought I was going to cry. As we unpacked the food into their kitchen, you could see the hope coming back into Chauncy's eyes. He knew he wasn't going to be hungry. He looked like a kid again. As I was leaving I gave him a hug and told him how much God loved him and that he was going to grow up to be an incredible man. I'll never forget that hug. It meant more to me than any possession I have. Our God is an awesome God, and we can never be thankful enough for the blessings we have.
(Edit) I never thought in my wildest dreams that this single post would create such a tidal wave of kindness and encouragement from everyone. So, I decided to create a page for Chauncy and his mom with lists of things they need here: https://www.gofundme.com/293uu9x3
Thank you so so much to everyone who has taken he time to donate, reach out and overall just show that they care. It means the world.

Chauncy and his mother have received all kinds of gifts from people on social media and all the funds from the GoFundMe account will go to Chauncy and his mother.

64 comments:

NEXT PLS?

There is this thing about giving, its so refreshing. May God bless everyone who helped them.

Do you have a heart at all?

Stern,You are definitely made of stone.

Wooooooow! There are still good people in the world. Linda take note!

Stern why you gotta be so mean??

Wow! I'm truly humbled by this story. Social media has become a platform where the seemingly impossible happens. I also got my own miracle via it.
I'm happy for his poor child and his mum

A hole!

Idiot

Mama said...

Rejoice with those who rejoice!!!
That is why people like you never find favour!!!

You are very annoying. Go get a life idiot

@linda Ikeji's driver. you have lost the message completely. how sad :(

EyaHhhhh really touching...good morning libers

LIB REP (中华人民共和国) said...

So touching...I pray God reward this man for his good deed, also Chauncy and mom stay blessed forever.

Ehyaaa...really touching!

So touching, God bless ur kind soul

victoria said...

Imagine..Next Pls? Cos there's nothing 4 u 2 criticise on..Foolish Stern

That's nice

$270,000....that's a lot of money,,, happy for them

Esther Dangana said...

If you look at other people's plight, then you will say yours is a joke. God bless this man for showing kindness to this boy and his mother. God will continue to enlarge your coast.

Oh God bless this man more for me

You no get heart o...

Good deeds last so well.

Tears came to my eyes as I read this. There are so many like Chauncy in Nigeria here.But who would be willing to be kind enough like this man? Ive met a boy in traffic before who looked so dejected. All he wanted to do was to clean my windscreen so that he could have money to buy food to eat. I believe God gives to you so that you can in turn give to others who don't have.

Rily? At stern? Af neva commented hre bfre,but God forbid,dis cud b u,at least pray 4d boy and hiss mother...

Wowwwwwwwwwwww, people are nice sha

Rily? At stern? Af neva commented hre bfre,but God forbid,dis cud b u,at least pray 4d boy and hiss mother...

My guy dis ur NEXT PLS be like se dis story no touch u at all or u they vex for the guy? Instead of u to comment sweet comment u they there de provoke abeg take am easy .

Useless idiot

giano said...

This is so touching.what an amazing God we serve,we need more people like this to make the world a better place.

ADeSeWa said...

Awwww.. thats so touching

I cried.

Hembafan said...

Why read it in the first place?

Thanks for dz kind gesture, making yourself serve as a channel of blessing

So touching, this what we need in our society.

Idiot!

amanda uzo said...

This really brought tears to my eyes. May God bless this guy.We complain of having nothing while some people don't even know if there is hope for something. Forgive me Lord.

You are heartless and disgusting!!!

Stern, you are not intelligent...obviously.

David said...

That's awesome.it's usually fun to help people in need. Atleast the little boy's prayer has been answered.

U r a pathetic piece of filth!

oloriburuku oshi, always commenting so people will notcue you, with your dirty looking picture, get a life. loser!!!!!

chai

Oh! God bless you for helping him

Woooooooooow!!! God lives in humans...whoever u are, God will keep blessing u!!!

Asampokoto said...

You are beyond dense

DADDYSWIFE said...

Eyah.dt is so nice of u.kindness still exist on earth.i thank God
#nothankyoui'dratherbeselfmade

klenty said...

God will bless this guy... Please let's try and reach out to the poor/needy near us...

Marshall said...

And that's my gospel! No More preaching needed... I'm indeed touched by ur act of kindness n generosity. The world will be a better place if ur kind multiply.

@Stern u obviously did not read de message if Linda post Maheedas nude pic ur comment will be all over de place I HV always called u a thick Skull and dats wat u r foolish man.

if you're privileged, kindly help the needy.

Wen will u people learn in this life that we all 're entitled to our opinion in one way or other n let just stop fooling ourselves....of course the story touches the heart buh he choose to ignore it n not interested in it cos that's it choice .haba .

Wow... Who Says social media isn't a great channel? Congrats boy! #Kindness

Eyaa,so touching.

@ linda honestly u should screen pples comments cos so many bad enery here. Starting wit Stern

lucky him

Aww, so kind of the guy..

Stern you need psychiatric evaluation

WOMANENOUGH said...

@stern, may u taste poverty nd knw wat it taste like, good people rily exist, went for classes on saturdai, had no moni to buy my text books for the 3 courses I study, I neva knew that a woman heard me complaining, and after lectures she called me out of the tuition hall and gave me a wopin amount of 15k to buy the 3 text books, I rilly didn't know wat to do, jst noticed tears dropin from ma eyes nd I knew dat nice people stil exist in port-harcort. God is INDEED GOOD!!!!!

He did well by helping the boy
I don't really like this trend of announcing to the whole world when someone does something good

Lady G said...

This is such a beautiful heart touching story.

Lady G
www.gabychronicles.com
XOXO

THIS STORY READS A LITTLE FALSE THOUGH. THE KID LOOKS WELL FED. WHY IS HE ASKING FOR DOUGHNUTS? THATS A TREAT NOT A REQUIRED FOOD GROUP. AND NO FOOD STAMPS FOR MAMA? THATS A WEIRD DESCRIPTION OF HER PHYSICAL AILMENT. AMD I REALLY WOULD NOT GIVE THAT AMOUNT OF MONEY TO THEM. HOW ABOUT PUTTING IT IN A TRUST SO THE GUY WILL NOT HAVE TO GO BEGGING FOR DOUGHNUTS AGAIN.

MAMA IFU

Ollie 78 said...

This is a good man and there are extremely very few of them. Stern take note.