Gwyneth Paltrow says she's worried about her daughter wearing very short skirts and makeup | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 26 June 2016

Gwyneth Paltrow says she's worried about her daughter wearing very short skirts and makeup

Speaking at the China Exchange in London, the 43-year-old actress opened up on her struggles raising an adolescent child and her fears her daughter could be brainwashed into seeing provocativeness as empowering.
'It is concerning because I think there is a very denigrating set of imagery and behaviours happening. Women are so powerful and so capable and to have it inferred that you have to generate yourself in any way to be likeable is abhorrent to me. With my daughter I try to find a balance of being an example for her as a woman who ... works and tries not to go out in public naked.'I am her mum but at the same time I want her to express herself. Sometimes it is hard when she is wearing something really, really short and a lot of make-up and I have to resist the instinct as I want her to experiment and find her own identity.
'It is an interesting balance right now being a mother of a coming-of-age girl as there are a lot of conflicting messages in our culture.'

37 comments:

So true

Oh.. She buys her own clothes?? Wow mom!

junia said...

Wonder what i'd do wit dis info

*********************************dont buy her skimpy skirts den............. onye nke a ka na ekwu ka onye uche ys foro. ..........echekwam ma evry oyibo ogbapuru ara de same year

OBA'S BLOG said...

I love dis woman. Bk was here!!

Oscar Lee said...

Boy that skirt is too short. Jeez See How they striped, Assaulted and Raped innocent girl in public, make sure you Watch this

She will soon find wat she's looking for.
Signed
#LibBadBoy

Nice one,Just teach her wat u no is good...

This woman is making sense
However do what you have to do n ignore that rubbish about finding her identity

Follow me at instagram @hanaokafor

Miss Freeborn!!

This woman is making sense
However do what you have to do n ignore that rubbish about finding her identity

Follow me at instagram @hanaokafor

Miss Freeborn!!

But u v d power and love to correct her

As a mum u sure v d power and love to change her

No be only to worry, she should do something about it. Linda take note!

Leaving her to herown responsibility is good but dn't allow it all bcus she's still young n dat's why u'r there to give her direction on the path to go n not make mistakes.

Hmmmmm Toh

The society is sending the wrong message and alot of people are getting naked in the name of fashion

When better prick enter her body she go rest, just leave her for now

Very Normal

Oh well...

I wish she can start by teaching her about the words of God. Probably that's the last thing on her mind

KWEEN said...

But this picture right here though, the girl's thighs are practically naked. Come on!

Victor Spane5 said...

Good mum

Lolly said...

Getting them to know God while young has also proven to be a great tool...

BETTER START CORRECTING HER MISTAKES BEFORE IT'S LATE

AUNTY LINDA....

Is she working who buys the clothes for her?

Noted

It's normal,just make her ur best friend

she go find her identity inside teenage pregnancy

She must be ashamed of herself for saying that she cannot control her daughter.... Na wah ohhhh!!! Its the hand you give your child she will follow....

Dan said...

Water will find its level

I understand her dilemma. Here in Africa we are free to correct as we deem fit. But over there when you correct your child too much it becomes a problem.

Ermmmm miss? Who buys her clothes? Try changing her wardrobe gradually.

LIB JUDGE

Genny's Blog said...

We hear u! better do something about it now.

THE NAIJAGRAPHY BLOG said...

Look who's talking.Gwyneth that has appeared naked and done sex scenes in several Hollywood movies.

Damm too short...she could be raped or molested

Who bought her those things?