Ronke Shonde's alleged killer husband tells his side of what happened, denies killing her | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 9 May 2016

Ronke Shonde's alleged killer husband tells his side of what happened, denies killing her

The man who allegedly killed his wife and mother of his 2 children, Ronke Shonde in Lagos on Friday, has given his side of the story while in hiding. Lkan Shonde spoke to PUNCH Metro over the phone line provided by his in-law, Bolatito, which was confirmed by the police spokesperson, Dolapo Badmos. Mr. Shonde told Punch correspondent that his wife, Ronke provoked him on Thursday when she described how her lover slept with her in a hotel in Abuja on Thursday night.

Lekan, a depot worker in the Apapa area of Lagos State, said his wife of eight years changed after she allegedly started dating the general manager of a publishing company she worked for.XX He said his late mother had warned him against marrying Ronke but he ignored his mother's warnings and still married Ronke, a decision he regrets.

He said the last time he beat his wife was three years ago after they had a disagreement, adding that he never touched her since then. He narrated...
“Since I married my wife eight years ago, she has never bought anything into the house. I gave her N5,000 on Saturdays and N3,000 on Tuesdays for soup. I also gave her money to make her hair. 
“She was working with GTB as a marketer, but she got sacked three years ago. For that period, I was the one feeding her and taking responsibility for everything in the family. I would wash her pants, bathe the children and buy foodstuffs in the house. She later got a job with a publishing company owned by her uncle. 
“But my wife changed sometime in March, when she started dating the general manger of a publishing company. My wife was going to the office from Monday to Sunday and she wasn’t going to church again, all because of this man. She called him ‘Eyitemi’ (My own). 
“Last week Friday, she went to Abuja and came back on Monday. She never told me that the lover was there with her. I learnt later that the lover was there and they slept together in the same room for four days. 
“When she came back, she didn’t know I was inside the house. She started talking with the man on the phone that he really had fun with him and I didn’t know how to make love. She again said her private parts were paining her.”

He said when he confronted his late wife about the affair and she confirmed that she was indeed dating the other man.

He said he got angry and told his late wife to leave the house but she refused to leave.

He said that particular Thursday night, they had an argument over money. He said:
“It was around 9pm on Thursday. We had paid our nanny N20,000. Then we needed to pay our children’s teachers N30,000. I discovered she had taken N20,000 and when I asked her to return my money, she said she had spent it.
“I was angry because for the past three months, she didn’t allow me to have sex with her. I pushed her hand away from me on the staircase and I left her. She never tumbled or fell. In fact that night, I bought the food that we both ate because she said she didn’t want to cook.
“I didn’t know anything had happened to her until Friday when I saw her on the staircase. I thought she was still pretending. I just left her and walked away.”
When he was asked why he locked his children in the house, he denied doing so, adding that it was his son who closed the gate after the he left the house.

Lekan also denied taking his late wife's phone, he said he left it on the bed.

He said he didn't kill his wife and that he had no motive to do so, stating that he had bought her two cars and always provided everything she needed.
He said:
“Jide, her family’s second child lived with me for three to four years. Their eldest daughter, Bolatito, has lived with me too.
“Although I am not a saint, I don’t drink, I don’t smoke. I am a responsible man. The problem with my wife was that she was temperamental. She shouted at me whenever she talked.
“I am a Lagos boy and I can be in this Lagos for the next 30 years and nobody would see me.”
The aunt of the victim, Bunmi, explained that the suspect, Lekan Shonde, has been threatening suicide since this crime took place, but they said they don't want him to do so because their mother has forgiven him.
She said,
“Mummy is very sad with this, but she has forgiven him and does not want him to commit suicide.”
A family source said that Lekan had always accused his late wife of extra-marital affairs and that the suspect had frequently abused her. Adding that the police had been involved on occasion.

He said:
“He always beat her because of his belief that she was into an extra-marital affair.
“The beating reduced a bit when the wife of her late brother who was one month pregnant before his death, moved into the house with them. She stayed for about eight months. She was like her saviour.”

Source: Punch

276 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 276 of 276

Don't marry insecure men!!! Those boys that refuse to grow up...In marriage/relationships, everything is negotiation. Nothing like na by force o. if your wife refuse to sleep with you, then make yourself fuckable, be sweet, be attractive, be nice!... respect the person you married, if not file for divorce rather than going all petty and killing them.

Tee said...

Mr shonde,stop all dis ur silly talks.dont u cheat as well?plus we attend d same church and I see ha in church every Sunday with her oversized shoes.its u dat isn't regular with church.excuse us with dis freaking lies

Anuka Chy said...

U don talk ur own so who go talk for d lady u killed? Iruefi like u!

The husband is a liar !,liar liar!his defense does not hold water.

lawlah said...

This is not true.if you don't know she is dead. Why did u run away?

So many loopholes in the story. I'm not a lawyer, but if I were a Judge in a court of law and I was served this story by the accused, I don't need to hear the defendant's side. This is straight death sentence.

Baba ur story no add up. From sleepin with mr publisher to using the children's money. All this allegations on a dead person, u ought to b ashamed of ursef. U have played the music baba just begin dance to the thing.

WE "BELIEVE YOU "BUT CAN YOU PLEASE COME OUT FROM YOUR WHEVER YOU ARE HIDING TO EXPAIN FURTHER

He said she never fell nor tumbled when he pushed her hands off him on the staircase. He even bought the food they ate that night. So where is the pretense you claim she was showing coming from? Then your 6yrs old child locked up the gate after you left?

He is a stupid man,why are you hiding come out and face the law

funny

MR LIAR WHEN NEXT YOU WANT TO LIE CONSULT AN EXPERT

Black devil... You said U are a lagos boy, you can hide in dis lagos for 30years and nobody will see you. Kai... Walahi, make dem put matchete and broom for her corpse bury her nd see if in 30 seconds you won't be found. Animal. Pple like you suppose dey sambisa forest. Fool!!!

Kai, nawaooo what a case...yuh said u left her Nd wake away cos yuh taught she was still pretending. hmm .how comes ur phone was off for sum days..nd why did u nt return home that same day (evening? You re also having affair outside..cos for yuh not to make luv wth ur wife for 3months l mean for her to deprive u of having sex wth her for such 3mnths yuh re getting it outside too no delay abt it or else ur punishment will be increase. No man will stay without sex for that long. As for ur wife we all knw she is nt innocent too bt our pain is dat she dead wthout speaking on her own side of the story...yuh see! The thing is that once yuh starting giving ur body to another man, the first one will be irritating yuh that's d logic...lookin at the woman slf l knew she will likes sex a lot cos is showing on her body/face again she is the former GTB marketers hmm banker can flirt..."farewell Ronke"

....CYNTHIA commenting from my TOYOTA 2014

Oga Shonde....ds ur story just scatter scatter, e no add up at all. Just take a deep breath and listen to urself! How does ds ur story sound??? Wicked man, just apologize to d family and go face ur punishment. Big idiot. Even if she was cheating, can't u send her back to her parents? Why d beating n inhuman treatment? Wether mama forgives u or not, u must pay for ur crime, both physically n spiritually, hediot. U re there claiming Lagos boy! Police never get ur time, when they are ready for u, they will def fish u out. Agbaya.... Fight a man like u, u can't. na woman body ur type de get power, mtchewwwwwwww....

Prophecy by JM

@Kemi, what brought about your use of "a heavy Igbo smoker" in this case? Does Lekan Shonde sound like an Igbo name to you? Bush fowl!

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

I don't wanna read this cos I know they're all lies.

Duketundesblog said...

His Alibi doesn't hold water abeg..he's just a cold blooded murderer who deserve no pity..he should be smoked out ASAP, all those clown hiding him should be brought to book as well.

Nigerians beware, Don't stare at the sun today as Mercury pass..click my profile to read the dangers

The wages of sin is death, fellaz let's see this as a moral lesson not a court case.

Whether or not she is cheating, whether or not she deserve to be killed, the deed has been done. She just got served a meal she has been cooking and he will soon be served his for murder.

Let's learn to live right.. and leaave judgment for the almighty

Where I find funny is d part u said she came back 4rm abuja n was talking 2 d man u claim she's cheating with n nothing happened? As in he didn't touch her until she took ur 20k, and u stil brought food 2 d house then on Friday u saw her @d staircase n u thought she was pretending. Na wa d story confuse me

Linda u will neva post my comment, dis ur bro is it not open 2 all... Y is it always preference with u.... Mtchewwwwwwww if u like eat it... Wnt bother trying nxt tym

De woman no try at all if dis dude is saying de truth
Notin hurts like a wounded love
Divorce wld hv bin beta decision bro
Now she has put u in a mess

Linda don't take note!

Hmm.
This venom is enough to invoke 'Thunder' on a sunny day.

U re a fool 4 believing coz she was a marketer. God punish u bastard. Say one word abt her cheating again nd face the consequence, idiot

Lekan,
In this life we face challenges what makes you a man is how you handle it unfortunately your not a man.U see the social media is ur greatest aily n ur doom if u had presented a credible story u might have gotten some sympathy but to lie when it's straight forward y bother.Even ur house help can't be lying on the floor n u pass her talk more of ur wife all the things u have done for ur wife who did u want to do it before if ur complaining y then won't she get another man to help her ur just an irresponsible man simple

U r indeed a man! Dats wat a man shld do, just walk away and not like an animal!

U re a fool

hummmn,when I left 4yrs ago,i was abused and crucified,i almost died,and the head injury almost killed me,i thank God for a second life ooo,but my advise to women is that they should pls excuse themselves at one instance of abuse...especially violence abuse...insecured men,men with inferiority complex,men with morbid jealousy.....let dem b,no b by force to be mrs abeg,now ronke is a late mrs sonde,leaving her kids behind...every abusive husband will always accuse his wife of infidelity.na their way jere

The point is when a man wants to discredit a woman he always pulls d infidelity card. He wants to tarnish her image bcos she is not alive. The same way teebillz did to towards. I don't know her so can't defend her. She may hav been guilty but there is no excuse on earth to beat a woman or ur spouse.even if she beats u walk away and leave or restrain her. It's obvious he is a coward that's y he is announcing his suicide. If he wants to kill himself he wld have done it long ago. In fact he shd go ahead. The children don't need a father who killed their mother. She died by his hands so he shd face d law period

May Almighty God deal with this murderer. It's very obvious that he's not speaking the truth. How will an housewife sleep with another man and boast about it to her husband. Stupid man. Lies upon upon lies. Come out if you are a man and face the wrath of man and God. Beast.

If she keeps on provoking you then end the marriage because u will appear on this blog soon...u don't know how evil women can be

God punish u uneducated bastard. Does dat story sound right 2 ur sick fetus brain? Useless goat

Weak brain

Mr. Lekan or whatever you are called. if you really know that you are innocent as claimed why are you hiding and why did you made that comment that you are a Lagos boy and you can hide nobody will see you. you are a bloody liar and you will never know peace in your life. Murderer, judgement awaits you.

hummmm,same was my case 4yrs back,but I was lucky I left alife though the consequences I am still facing healthwise,i almost deied,morbid men,men with inferiority complex,insecured men....pls let them be,to b mrs no b by force o,sure ronke is now late mrs sonde,we keep staying in abusive marriages all in the name of what will people say,if u are left paralysed or with a medical condition that will live u on wheel chair or half bodied for the rest of ur life,will u stil be mrs d animal...I took a walk after so much abuse...linda carry am,stella and d whole internet users commented,i almost lost my self pride,but today I better off a woman....thank God for a second life full of grace,so painful for ronke's loss,she was a colleque,very hardworking.....infidelity is always d song in the mouth of abusive husbands

Let me try to piece this together; the wife comes back home from a trip, husband causes her and she denies it. Husband beats her up as usual and the wife snaps, confirms his allegations and even gave him details of how good the lover was. Husband got angry and pushed her down the stairs, killing her in the process. Can this man be caught? Yes, but the police will need to act fast. They need to work with the banks to restrict the accused's access to funds, hence restricting him to lagos and neighbouring states. NeXT step will be to turn the heat on his friends and relatives. Vehicle registration agencies should be given the details of his car just in case the buyer (yes, he must have sold it already) decides to register the thing.

They need to investigate thoroughly, not torture, to come up with the truth. Though I believe he killed her, but the law presumes him innocent until proven otherwise. Why would you then torture an innocent man

Aanonymous. 9.24am..Igbo smoker in english is weedsmoker@ lekan shondes black weedigbosmoking lips. Thank me later

If you know u did not kill her then why did you run away no matter where you are hiding her blood will not let you rest

Re u ok to jus mk dt comment,whch sde hv u heard u ve nly heard hz sde, wil she dn wake up from d dead nd spk her side. Ope u re nt doin d same thng dz man did to hz wfe cuz ur evn a suspct

Lekan, you have said that she was having extra marital affairs. WHAT DID YOU DO ABOUT IT? Your version of what happened does not add up.

Dude your so wrong bro. Do a thorough research would see cases of beating that has nothing to do with cheating.
In fact let me tell you something. Do you know that immediately a man cheats on his wife he comes home aggressive trying to make her feel like she is the one cheating? Most men that beat their wives on matters of cheating have no proof but suspicion based on his own guilt. The difference between a man and cheating and women is that a woman who is cheating on her husband and I mean a man who has done nothing wrong. She will come home and even cook his favourite meal. She would be so cheerful each she cheats if you no sharp you no go notice at all.
But when a man cheats or is a conq cheat he will always be suspicious of every little thing the woman's does he feels naked like she can see through him and is going to return the favour. Assumption sets in and brutality begins. When she has indeed done nothing wrong. There other cases of domestics violence on women that has nothing to do with her cheating my man.

U are very stupid,very stupid too stupid for words. Wife beater I pity ur wife.ur here justifynin cheatn for men, if u go around d world nly 2% of men dont cheat nd d rst re cheats n grades, nd I suspct u do d same so if u suspct ur wfe iz cheatb bcuz her character changes u cn beat her to stupor. Thunder fire u nd ur generstions of women beaters. Cowards if u feel lk beatn sombody go nd fight ur fellow man.oloshe

You sef no even get sense the man clearly said he was the last person to see her both alive and dead. What nonsense are you saying. Omo you are surely with the this Mr killer na two of una they together right now. Or you must be plain foolish simple.

Fausta said...

Ashi ashi.
Ogbu Mmadu.
Oyo is ur own.
Just come out and prove ur Innocence

#onaluckyday

You be Goat walie you are no different from this HeHoat. No you be Nanny goat him na He goat

Lol!!

Mr Anonymous sure have realised how foolish you sound after you wrote this. Am Igbo but kemi meat "weed" smooker asin Egbo.. But your hush nature no let you see clearly

ODUNAYO KOLADE said...

QUIET UNFORTUNATE, I WANT ALL HUMAN RIGHT ACTIVIST,PASTORS AND ISLAMIC CLERICS TO START PREACHING "WALK AWAY IF IT DOESNT WORK", WE NEED TO LEAVE TO TELL THE STORY EITHER GOOD OR BAD, PEOPLE WHO LEKAN VERY WELL SAID HE WAS GENTLE, RCCG WHERE THE LATE WIFE WORSHIP SAID SHE WAS EASY GOING, IT MEANS THEY WERE LEAVING FAKE LIVES, PRETENDING EVERYTHIN WAS FINE WHEN IT WAS NOT

You've not hit the woman that will break your head. Weakling. Dnt your fellow men annoy you? Go and hit them out of annoyance now. Mstchew.

The lies dnt have part 2.

"so Nigerian police force a killer is on the loose even had the guts to call to tell his side of his story who nobody gives a fuck about and you guys cant trace his number, mtn be worrying us to re register sim yet the major reasons for that cant be utilized. Nigeria is a joke!"

Not just any type of joke, slapstick comedy joke.

Igbo smoker is weed smoker. Takit easy on the vulgar words.

Bukky said...

She can't defend herself cos she's dead, if you didn't kill her ,why did you run???

Igbo = the Herb, not the Tribe LMAO!!

Fcvk

U r so on point. Exactly my pt!

Cynthia you are the biggest fool in in this world... Rotten creature . how dare you utter such stupidity. Idiot!!!!

I just pity the kids, mum died, dad is accusing dead mum of furnication & dad being held responsible. What is left with the kids future.

Lekan Shonde, u r a bastard 4 even havin d gut to comment on dis blog! Omo ale jatijati! Of cos u sure look like an igbo smoker! Stupid idiot!

Moi!!!! said...

Wot a lame & unintelligent story! I knew he ll b somewhere fabricatin stories but if dis is all u can come up wit, den u r a disgrace to dis generation! Which sane man will buy his wife dinner afta confirmin dat she was wit a lover for d wkd? Wot has washin pant wen she didnt have a job got to do wit anytin? U tried so hard to paint urself so gud dat u started soundin like a moron. U claimed u gave her moni & bot her cars. B4 nko? Is dat not supposed to b d role of a husband. Mark my words, xcept God is not alive, dats wen u ll xcape bin caught in d next 48hrs!

@anon 8:57 God bless u

Shut up

This is not true. This "Lagos Boy" can not tell me he pushed someone away at d stairs and didn't know if she died or not till the next morning.

ri_bae said...

Bros dis ur speech makes no sense, abeg do go sleep

MrGod's own child abi wetin u call ur self? Can u pls shut d fuck up and go read ur bible if u have nothing reasonable to contribute? Abeg no b by force to comment , You can preach to ur family if any of dem is caught up in dis kinda situation. We r talking about murder u dey talk rubbish. Abeg gerrarahere mehn

Zibah said...

His lawyer is involved in this now, so obvious.. there is still more to it, he can't tell me his. Saint that his not fucking someone too. Man u have a lot to say, I wish she could tell us her part of the story. But bro u r in deeeeeeeep shit,get readyto have new room mates screwing that ass of urs and while u get sick in the da cage..

Anon 9.24am, Kemi means igbo(weed), not Igbo as a tribe...take am easy.

Useless ugly beast!!!! Dat u wash her pants?! Who is supposed to feed her? U saw her lying on the floor & left her there. U had better not commit suicide oh! Cz it'l be too quick for you. Idiot

Mr Lekan I won't judge you in a rash manner but you ought to av checked your story with intellects before bringing it to Nigerians. N am sure most of them waited for your response with benefit of the doubts.
It's good you are responsible enough to feed your family n assist your wife with her chores. Some men wouldn't .
Now if she actually cheated on you which you yourself said started 'just' two months ago. There are ways around it; i) if you so heartbroken you could ask for a divorce like a civilised man, since she refused to leave your house you cld get a court order while waiting for marriage dissolution ii) Or you could av left her to wash her panties and plan a vacation spicing up ur sex life which is obviously boring for her to av become a cheater after 8years (or isn't dt how we ladies are counselled?).
One can get bored of a routine for eight years, humans differ in nature.

Resulting to battering isn't fair(if dt was wat happened o) Even if you met her on your bed with a man she still deserve to live and face the consequences of her actions.
Or leaving her after a fight for like 12hours without checking if she was alive or not was an act of wickedness,,,.
Who knows maybe she would av even benefited frm medical attention?
Or could it be that you took advantage of her petite stature to hurt her n leave her to die?
Would you have raised hands against another man as huge or more huge than you if you were in gay marriage?
So we all want to know who murdered this woman and the motive behind it. And as the closet person to her and most likely the last to see her alive you should av an idea.
Or would she av died from the soft manner you av removed her hands from you? Not at all.
So how?
Her death has brought grieve to so many Nigerian women and our single ladies develop phobia for marriage every day with stories of possible domestic violence like this.

What is hidden to man only God can reveal and that is what I pray for in this case.
Meanwhile I mourn with the family, friends & children of the deceased. May her soul RIP.

#Linda'spal

The Glow said...

It is unfortunate that you are as big a fool as the murderer above. There are plenty men that beat their spouses and the wife has never cheated. Cheating is not an excuse to beat somebody. If you are fed up then separate, simple and short. Please don't call yourself God's child while stating such rubbish. As a matter of fact it seems to me that it's the nice women that usually get beaten. The wicked ones usually have their husbands so discombobulated that they go free for the most part. I hope you're not married.

Don't mind the goat.

Here we go again, another case of slut shaming a woman. Why do we Africans have a mentality that once you accuse a woman of sleeping around that justifies any evil action or insult on her. This has got to stop! Wiz kid tries it with Linda, Tee Billz tried it with Tiwa now Mr Shonde is Slut-shaming his dead wife. Even if a woman has an argument with a bus conductor the next thing they call her Ashawo! Women don't slut shame or strangle men for infidelity. We are supposed to accept. Please make Mr Shonde a scape goat.

kaleta-zozoafrobeat said...

If to say she let the man do am after her return from Abuja we for have peace by now..Chai...

TUSYBALS said...

I hope u hv being delivered Brother. No level of provocation shld make u hit a woman, instead, walk away immediately.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 276 of 276   Newer› Newest»