One killed as new deadly disease surface in Nigeria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 13 May 2016

One killed as new deadly disease surface in Nigeria

A new deadly disease known as Stephen Johnson Syndrome (SJS), an unusual allergic reaction, has surfaced in Nigeria, according to the Minister of Health, Isaac Adewole.

According to Adewole, the disease has killed one person, while another is being treated at the National Hospital Abuja. The health minister announced the emergence of the new disease in Nigeria at a press briefing in Abuja earlier today...

A Senior Consultant Physician/Dermatologist at the National Hospital, Abuja, Dr. Olanrewaju Falodun  who spoke about the disease, said 
“Stephens Johnson Syndrome, is an immune complex mediated hypersensitivity reaction that typically involves the skin and mucous membranes and was first described in 1922 by Albert Stevens and Frank Johnson. SJS is a rare and unpredictable reaction, and is also a minor form of toxic epidermal necrolysis with less than 10 percent body surface area involvement. SJS is a rare but serious and potentially life-threatening contagious drug reaction. Incidence of SJS is estimated between 1.1 and 7.1 cases per million per year and is more prevalent in women than men. Incidence in Europe is two per million per year” he said.
He listed the symptoms of the SJS disease to include fever, sore throat, running nose, fatigue, general aches and pains, ulcers in mouth, genitals, anal regions as well as conjunctivitis.
According to him, the health complications of the disease includes pigmentation problems, skin scarring, scarred genitals, joint pains, lung diseases, obstructive disorders and eye complications, adhesions, ulcers, and blindness.
He said the cause of the disease has not yet been discovered in a quarter to half of cases but that self-medications appeared to be one of its causes. He advised Nigerians to avoid misuse of drugs, while individuals with previous drug reactions should always inform healthcare practitioners.

The Minister of Health says efforts are now being made to sensitize the public about the disease
“We have to find a means to communicate with Nigerians,so they should all be aware of this dangerous disease and it is the sole business of government to enlighten the society by trying to increase their awareness, knowledge and to improve their quality way of life.”
Source: Premium Times

130 comments:

Pray for Nigeria

God help us. More Instagram followers for you

Oh no, not again.

Doctor said...

Steven johnson is not new. Its been around for ages. Its not exactly deadly either. Not contagious either

Mo said...

It is well. Papa Adeboye has said it before. It will not come near my house in Jesus name. Amen

NIGERIA HAS SUFFERED. How many suffering don enter now...just as thet are talking of Fuel price increase, u carry dis one come.
MAY GOD SAVE NAIJA FROM THE HANDS OF BUHARI.

OMIDAN ABBY said...

OK so we got another thing to battle with..all in one nation *sigh
It is well!

God have mercy on us

Hmmmm Orisirisi

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

God help us! May this one pass away too.

This man is clueless. SJS has been happening to people all over the world including Nigeria from time immemorial. is that the first case of sjs in Nigeria the minister is hearing of?

Eyea RIP man #Sad

Steven Johnson syndrome is npt a disease. It is not contagious either. It os usually caused as a result of an allergic reaction to a medication on is taking. Nigerian government should look at the drugs those people took.
I am a nurse in the US and I have seen a lot of Steven Johnson syndrome

End time signs
Stephen Johnson syndrome loi.
Hmmm God's anger don full upon Nigeria oooooooooooo Nigeria has become a dump group for all kind of disease and infection hmmmmmm.
Why won't it happen when terrorist buhari is on power.
When ever a sinner is on power the righteous will suffer that is Nigeria problem now so the disease should start from north come end for yoruba.

Not again! We ve too many troubles at hand already

Tpy said...

Stephen Johnson syndrome is not new. Not even in Nigeria. It killed a friends mum far back 2000

cutestlove said...

This world is gradually coming to an end...God pls save your children in this trying time

PLEASE LET US NOT CREATE UNNECESSARY PANIC. IT IS NOT A NEW DISEASE BUT A SEVERE ALLERGIC REACTION TO DRUGS, CHEMICALS ETC. IT IS NOT NEW.
I AM ACTUALLY SHOCKED THAT YOU PUT THIS UP LINDA. ANYWAY YOU ARE NOT A DOCTOR SO IT IS UNDERSTANDABLE.
I THINK YOU BETTER BRING DOWN THIS POST, IT IS EMBARRASSING TO SOMEONE THAT KNOWS WHAT IT IS AS WE SEE THIS EVERY DAY IN THE HOSPITAL. THANKS

PLEASE LET US NOT CREATE UNNECESSARY PANIC. IT IS NOT A NEW DISEASE BUT A SEVERE ALLERGIC REACTION TO DRUGS, CHEMICALS ETC. IT IS NOT NEW.
I AM ACTUALLY SHOCKED THAT YOU PUT THIS UP LINDA. ANYWAY YOU ARE NOT A DOCTOR SO IT IS UNDERSTANDABLE.
I THINK YOU BETTER BRING DOWN THIS POST, IT IS EMBARRASSING TO SOMEONE THAT KNOWS WHAT IT IS AS WE SEE THIS EVERY DAY IN THE HOSPITAL. THANKS

Ifeoma1010 said...

Linda...Stephen Johnsons syndrome is not new. It is quite old...lolol.

Visit www.hyphenpharmacy.com

JESUS Christ of Nazareth protect your own

Danfella said...

God help ur children! It is well.

Is this the new minister of health? OK oo

Ebola, lassa now SJS, is allrai.. someone is doing ds in the health sector to cause confusion or in their own minds emphasize d importance of doctors..but people Are dying and dey cnt think!!

Who is to be blamed for this?

eunymz said...

Nawaoh......which kind of disease is this

EUNIQUE

Evil

Hiaaaaa nekwa johnson. We must survive even d name is lizzy

God please keep your children safe. Linda take note!

Linda Stephen Johnson isn't a new disease most especially in Nigeria

Brobuclassy Blog said...

Junior broda of Ebola..holy ghost fire ooooo where ever u come frm pack ur load n go

Doctor Who?

When will medical professionals learn to speak regular folks' English in situations like this? The specialist only succeeded in raising alarm rather than calm us down

Steven Johnson's syndrome is NOT a new disease at all. It's been in existence for ages and we were thought in school and have seen many cases over the years. I doubt the minister of health said it is a new disease. It is a kind of severe hypersensitivity reaction to some drugs by some individuals. It can be fatal. Nevertheless, it is very good the public is enlightened about it so as to avoid indiscriminate use of drugs.

Please stop alarming Nigerians, Steven Johnson Syndrome is not new and not infectious! It is just an advanced stage of a hypersensitivity state. Please google some information before publishing! It is also easily managed please!

Not our portion is ijn..amen....

hmmmmm

As if Subsidy removal is not enough...God is punishing Nigeria walahi

You are right. Don't mind him. The deceased is a relative who died last month.

KWEEN said...

As in, as if we are not suffering enough already.

All the bad bad things keep surfacing,,,, both old and new. Bokohari Holy Ghost Fiiiiiiiirrrrrreeee

Wait for the one your baba talked about. This is not new.

Emy said...

APC is jst a sham. Oga minister, abeg complete the back seat.

Sjs s not a disease..its an adverse reactn to drugs lyk sulphonamide whc can occur n some ple... and it s nt contagious too..dat minster of health no be doctor at all...

JOHN MILES said...

Yea dat True,it's not new, it been there for ages, actual cause not known but there are precipitating factors top on dat list are drugs like ARV, anticonvulsant,some disease like Herpes zoster, Aids Cox sackie viral infection, hepatitis e.t.c

SJS is not new in Nigeria.

Steven Johnson syndrome is not a disease o,it's a reaction to drugs...I recently lost a family member to dis allergic reaction

drs said...

Linda, try researching a bit before posting things and causing unnecessary panic. Steven johnson's syndrome isn't contagious and it isn't a new disease. Its an allergic reaction mainly to drugs and isn't common.

UC said...

SJS is not new, a family friend surfered from it some years ago and she's still alive. The health minister shouldn't creat fear. We have enough troubles already.

dt chic said...

Anonymous 9:54. Sjs is not a new deadly disease. Not contqgious either. Linda should have at least googled it before blogging ignorantly.

It is not stephens...it is not a new disease...we see it sometimes...it is a reaction to drugs(some are common),other chemicals etc...Abeg no mislead the public..

You want more likes for those killer IG pictures, contact us on bbm 7AE4B742

Oh God!! Heal our land

Olodo...google is your friend...no be disease. I have managed a person who had it from just taking in ibuprofen...Young people just blab these days without doing even little research before typing! Tomorrow's leaders? I see the traits.

Aunty Linda, it's Steven Johnson syndrome not Stephen's and it's a very bad side effect to some classes of drugs used in treating seizures/epilepsy.

Fucking slave! Idiotic zombie! This reaction don dey before them born your god Adeboye!

It might not be new but it's definitely new to nigeria...according to the reports at least.

Your mental laziness is unbelievable! Kai! I feel sorry for this generation!
When i dont know a thing about a condition, i look it up...before typing....

I suffered this Steven Johnson's reaction 8 yrs ago and that was as a result of severe allergy to sulfur. As described above, my skin peeled off except my hair. It came with A lot of pains but it's not contagious.

9japikin said...

Steven Johnson's disease isn't a pandemic disease na.. And there's nothing new about it.. Lots of pple know abt it cos it's just an allergic reaction. Reaction to sulphates /sulphur based substances.. Na wa o.. If he really gave a press conference for this, more wrk is needed to be added to his portfolio.

Lol, finally linda u no try, Wikipedia is your friend, try it sometimes.

Godwin said...

Nigerian problem is hit back-to-back. God help us

*NWA 042*

@stern y u no get sense now?

My brother may God save us in this country!

Person name disease

I can't help laughing, the minister must have been misquoted or misunderstood. He's managed many with this condition before he became minister just as I have. Like some have said here, its not a disease but a skin condition brought about mostly by an allergy to certain drugs especially sulphur containing drugs like our good old fansidar, septrin,etc. A particular HIV drug is also notoriously implicated.
Its possible there's been an upsurge in the number of people coming down with the condition that's why the minister spoke about it.
So all you calm down, I'm still laughing. Its not coming to get you if you especially don't abuse drugs and see your doctor immediately if any prescribed drugs irritates your skin.

There are 2 explanations to this post... either misinformation on linda's part or this health minister needs to be sacked.... sjs a new disease? what sort of unnecessary panic are they trying to create tho

Help us lord

There's nothing new in sjs, ignorant report. Anyway you just post anything to get traffic even though it reveals you as unintelligent.

Linda steven Johnson is not new in Nigeria. Its not a disease either. Its just an allergic reaction to drugs chemicals etc. Stop creating panic pls. If you are clueless, google is your friend.

Chima said...

They should try and keep it under control

Correct guy! My tots exactly. Its been since ages. Linda try get sense... a lil research will do

U are jus dumb! Money miss road. Do a lil research before posting rubbish. SJS is not new biko!

False alarm...

judkin said...

This post is so embarrassing to read. How can he say Steven Johnson is a new disease in Nigeria? Rare, Yes, but not new. And he is the Minister of Health??? OMG. Linda take down this post pls. It is an embarrassing one.

Na wa oh!what kind of archaic medicine is this man practicing? He could not even draw the connection to high rates of hiv, hepatitis, herpes, etc. Maybe he needs an assistant who can do google searches to inform his speeches

Thank you o. It occurs frequently as a drug reaction. For example some people react to sulphur containing drugs like septrin or fansidar. If such people take such drugs they can have Steven Johnson syndrome

Linda do your research before you post. Stop copy and paste! SJS is not new, neither is it contagious , it's an allergic reaction to some medications by some individuals and can be adequately managed. No need to create panic.

And my house aswell o. In Jesus Mighty name. Amen!

Wahala

Olaide Davies. said...

My colleague had sjs in 1993 and she survived it. So it's not new neither is it contagious.

Please lets get this right its not a new disease peolple dnt need to panic its been ard for ever but occurs in 1in a million people as a reaction to septrin

My sister suffered from Stephen Johnson's Syndrome 8 years ago and survived. She was reacting to some of the drugs given to her at the hospital while being treated after an accident.
It is not a new disease and it is certainly not contagious. Think of it as a severe allergic reaction to drugs. Anyone can Google it to get the facts straight.

Dr olaspecial said...

Please o,this is not new now.saw a case in my house job .a baby that was given phenytoin (anticonvulsant) cos the baby had severe convulsions.funny thing is the mum has d same reaction to septrin(in her teen days ) and avoids oyibo meds in general.baby made it but had brain issues cos of d status epilepticus.

MD said...

Please take this post down or rewrite it has other medical professionals have indicated. Premium time has withdrawn the article as well. No need to create unnecessary public alarm for a condition that is known in the medical circle.

Nawa o

God bless you. Making it look like its a new Ebola. I react to sulphonamide drugs, with hyperpigmentation, severe itching, and sometimes swelling and a doctor I consulted, called it Steven Johnson syndrome. It worthy though of public sensitization if the symptoms are extremely severe. If it is contagious like they say can they also list the causes of the allergy?

No mind am. Like say him don discover ebola's brother.

God bless you anytime I take any fansidar, septrin NA wahala be that oooo.

Oshe!

Hmmmmmm.... #Lindatakenote

God Abeg we dey suffer b4 oh

Its not a new disease and also not contagious.Dr.samba

Wow. Bulshit journalism in Nigeria. Firsrly, SJS is not new in Nigeria. It's not even that rare. It is a drug reaction which some people have.Secondly, SJS is NOT contagious. Pls stop spreading panic all over the country

CrazyHornyWife said...

I was shocked at the head line too. Please Nigerians don't panic,it's not contagious.

CrazyHornyWife said...

As a dentist, we saw few cases in Lagos!!! Why will govt come and spew trash????

Well the honourable minister will scare Nigerians with SJS to create another avenue for looting, Zika we don't hear about anymore because they've looted and don't want people to notice so SJS looting here they come again.

CrazyHornyWife said...

Very embarrasing

olawale29 said...

Curiously, how old are you? Because I am concerned about your child(ren), they might unfortunately come across your comments and realised how dumb and stupid their father is.

Na wash-wash. This government wants 2 divert our attention from the fuel subsidy palaver to this SJS.

if the stephen johnson syndrome is not different from steven johnson syndrome then is not new. Its a drug reaction.

How can SJS which is an allergic reaction be contagious at the same time? Is it a way to put panic in us to emphasise his importance? I doubt that the minister can be this ignorant about SJS.

Ode

Vivian said...

Thank you, I am a doctor aswell and was simply disgusted when I saw this post, this certainly shouldn't mk d news n if it would, certainly not in this manner, now non medics are all panicked. This doesn't speak well of the honourable minister, he should know better.

End time has started in Nigeria#Lindangwanu#

Gbam!!!! D head line is absolutely mis leading and d 1 dt most ppl failed reading and comprehension won't even undastand d write up. This is how u bloggers spread panic

This man should go and rest.

SJS is not contagious please. It's better to tell us what drug the patient took before the reaction. Even at that, not everyone who takes the same drug will come down with SJS.
Don't create unnecessary panic please

like the hardship isn't enough, deadly diease join hand too.
GOD HELP US ALL.

SCARFACE

What Nonsense! Linda u need to verify your information before publishing it. Steven Johnson syndrome is not a new disease and is not as deadly as make it sound. Its a hypersensitivity reaction. I as a doctor have seen about 4 cases even in just my one year of practice. There have been several cases in Nigerian and other parts if the world.

Pearlie said...

God na for your hands I dey

Did they say ignorance is bliss??
Get informed...

anonymous said...

Exactly! Steven Johnson has been around since!! who is this minister of health and has he been living under a rock?

joanne said...

Why do people like cultivating fear in other people's hearts? Please SJS is not new, it's not contagious, it's not so common in this part of the world and it's treatable. Please let's learn to check up things ourselves. It's not every thing we panic about and start saying this is punishment from God

I never knew stern was this Dumb asf.continue making a fool of yourself.keep wasting away.not even a single light at the end of your tunnel.Delusional mofo

It's a severe allergic reaction to some drugs that occurs in a few individuals who probably have a family history of such,its not new either.Linda there are Drs. here you know!.Dr. samba

I wonder why dey r trying to cause panic in Nigeria.SJS isn't as rare as stated.we have managed patients who had it and dey survived.nothing new about it

My dear i tire oo. The write up is so disappointing. Linda should be doing some background check before posting stuffs. But if it's coming from minister of health, he should go back to medical school.

Sorry blogger, this is a hypersensitive reaction to medication not a disease.

Sometimes I wonder how incompetent buffoons like the Minister of Health and State Minister of Petroleum got appointed in the first place.
Clueless!

Im a doctor too and this iss some bullshit. Its not deadly and not new! Do your research Linda and stop misleading people cos you cant wait to publish "news".

LINDA PLEASE CHANGE THE HEADLINE TO AVOID PANIC. ITS NOT NEW OR CONTAGIOUS

Young Tune said...

AB-SOUL of the Black HIPPY clan that includes Kendrick Lamar, Jay Rock and Schoolboy Q has/had Steven Johnson's syndrome that's why he wears dark shades .. he's hypersensitive to light.. bad but it ain't a new disease tho

Yeah! I was going to say the same thing SJS is not new and not contagious. It's kind of a personal hypersensitivity to a particular drug. Nigeria has a lot on her plate right now, so please don't spread panic.

Thanks to all the medical people that wrote in to enlighten us - before we start drinking salt to ward it off!

Why do Nigerians like sounding like fools ehnnnn? Please SJS is not even a disease not to talk of being new. Stop all these rash display of ignorance please.

God help us

Trying to divert funds by bamboozling Nigerians and preying on their fears, the last paragraph summarizes the whole intent.