Men volunteer to be trampled by cows in the belief it brings goodluck (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 25 January 2016

Men volunteer to be trampled by cows in the belief it brings goodluck (photos)

Despite the obvious risks, these men won't be put off from exercising their faith and beefing up their luck. They volunteered to be trampled upon by cows in the belief it brings good luck. The villagers are seen lying down on the streets of Ujjain, in Madhya, central India, to mark Ekadeshi, an auspicious day after the Hindu festival of Diwali.

The organisers claim no one has ever been killed in the centuries old tradition, those who are injured believe they'll have good luck as the wounds heal.

The cows, an animal considered sacred in Hinduism, are decorated in henna and colourful floral headdresses before they are let loose to storm through the city.

The cows stamp on the men's backs as they run through the narrow streets while spectators usher the animals towards the men, making sure that every one is stepped on. 

The belief is that the cows can help erase any problems and brings prosperity into their lives. 
One regular participant, Manoj Kumar, 27, said he is well aware of the dangers but is tempted by the prospects of improved fortunes.

He said: 'I know it can be fatal but cow is our mother and she would not kill anyone so there is no danger at all. Sometimes when the mother is angry she punishes us for our mistakes. 'Most of us are unhappy with something or other in our life. We all have problems whether at home or work. But we believe if we allow us to get crushed by cows, the almighty will appreciate our sacrifice and pain and solve all our issues and bless us with happiness.'

114 comments:

MAMA ENERGY💋💋 said...

Stupid belief... Yeye dey smell

Stupid belief....

imagine some people still bliv stuff like dis

God have mercy

PEPSI ADDICT

Latest mumu of 21century. Like seriously...!

Enter your comment...holy ghost fire.

INDIANS ARE VERY BIG FOOLS. If only you know how much I HATE THEM.

Na wa o.

Two things are infinite; the universe & human gullibility.I'm not sure of the former.
WTH!

Yeye people witout common sense
Linda dont take note!

Which kind madness be dis one?

ejike capable said...

Does it mean they don't eat beef,?

wat ignorance does. killer disease

Mrcollz A.k.a Sanity Says

In dis age and time?its absurd

Emmanuel said...

Ndi ara

These guys are learners..... Where i come from, some dumb fucks can kill their fellow humans for the sake of marrying a virgin in heaven

Ori won ope rara

Ignorance smh

Damolia.DEW

Chiisunshine(carolips) said...

In this time n age.. we need a change but definitely not buhari's

If you insult this people and you still believe Jesus is coming... Look in the mirror and say to your self... I'm no different than these people.

They should come and try it in Kano, Kebbi or Niger.. michewwww

Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities. - Voltaire

Mad pple ...

Lol Indians and their superstitious believe

Issorait.

Again Haters Just Leaked Nude videos of Blac Chyna's Mum,
(please be 18+)

Mad pple ...

Which one be stupid belief

"All mallam to he kettle"

Which one be stupid belief

"All mallam to he kettle"

Ngwanu jisienu ike.

Nke onye chirii ya Zelu.

Observed, suicide, with all humility and honesty I have feelings for Linda Ikeji and would sincerely wish to meet her in person this year as part of my resolution.

Indians en! What will we not hear from that country..

Stupid belief... Am not surprised, na aboki nah

Helena said...

Stupid Indians

To your tent oh israel.
"NeVeR SaY NeVeR"

make cow waka for my back...........hilaroius

OYO.odikwa very risky

Real Jewel said...

Indians don't believe in the true JEHOVAH-GOD.
They worship cows, so am I surprised? No.
I only feel sorry for them, rapists. juju people

Dis people ar mad. Committing suicide al in d name of religion

DAUGHTER _ OF _ A _ SOMEBODY... said...

Hehehe too many mad people in asia except isreal of course.

I didn't type this fa' it just popped out...

YOUNGBUHARI said...

Lmao.. Am deaded. Indians are something else

AMIJEZ said...

What a believe.

AMIJEZ said...

What a believe.

stelledee said...

As a matter of fact beaf is banned in bombay, because it is a crime to kill a cow. The animal is seen as their god and it's treated with reverence This Indians are so very stupid and foolish

Rubbish

I'm not surprised it's coming from India. Whish kain goodluck? Una go soon see Buhari.

I'm not a robot!
Je ne suis pas un Robot!
Abughi m Igwe obula!
Nye manyi robot debu!
Mi O yi Sé Irin!

Rubbish uncivilized people

Ignorance is too bad

Iberibe of the highest order. Linda take note!

Ara ndi india

AJ MAIN BOY...

Golda Awosika said...

We still don't have civilization in places where dey wear clothes

Luciana Chinda said...

People eh!

That is their faith and you cant condemn them for what they belief in

Most beautiful gal on linda ikeji's blog

owakah (A.K.A. Innosometin) said...

My ppl perish bcos of lack of knowledge

lots of belief on earth.
...hope it works for them.

#XENO-FABIAN

BOXY (A.K.A) common sense said...

Is only in India things like dis happen yeye believe

Wot r u saying ewu how can u compare d coming of Jesus wit this rubbish I believe u r a Muslim cos no reasonable xtain will say such.

Only in India....

Retards.

mira cookie said...

Offcourse it's stupid

Madness.

That's wah dey bliv....its all good

How dare you mention Jesus into this, you useless Muslim that kill your fellow human to marry virgins when you die, better accept christ into your life now before it is too late for you.

Dwight said...

Yes they don't

tosisochukwu said...

I don't understand pls

!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere

Always Indians....Wuna wahala plenty..have heard of any prominent indian...who trased his wealth to bn trampled on by cows...yeye people

SongsOfSUSSAN said...

Only when they come out alive.

Only in India, not surprised...

Lol he said cow is their mother

Nobe India? Mtschew

POPULAR LIB READER!

Graciejay said...

These cows are just animals, they would have done more than trample on them.

Indians and deir bizarre belief!!!

#somebody must to love me tonyt!!!

Auspicious day... How i miss Zee world. I need to go home and out of this location

Ignorance at play.

Chineke see dis mad pippo wit deir stupid belief.

Twakky said...

Lesser animal trample on higher animal brings goodluck? Ignorance of the highest order. I dey vex
Linda take note

ignorance is idea a disease

Indians and their abnormal belief...

Asaii

Without reading the story,I knew it can only be India.

Azudialo Cosmos said...

Prople and belief, na war o.

Uche said...

hmm

Temitope said...

Wat a belief

In this present world? Indians they make me laugh

hope they don't get serious injury

kemisiwealth said...

Jeezez! Mbok wat if dey die nko,Is is goodluck too?

ITz D KELV said...

At this age some people are still blind spiritually.....

Wow some people really lack common sense because of one yeye belief only in India you will see and hear the unthinkable. ..

Lily of Nigeria said...

"My people perish for lack of knowledge."

www.lilyofnigeria.blogspot.com

This is crazy mehn

what a weird world we live in!

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Hmmmmm. Their choice, their life, their belief.

Yaneez Deeyah said...

Belif diff 4rm belif

Rubbish,Ndi ihoriho.jumbo

Empress said...

Only Indians do weird things, anyway what you believe in works for you#eyesopened

cow???huh their mother..can someone just help me tell dem dis is an high level of insanity..ignorance big one sef coupled with stupid tinking..

Uzosafetyblog said...

Extremely madness. #IRepLIB

Gods own1 said...

Wonders shall never end

Jesus is Lord!

nonsense.

General said...

All in the name of a religion...

sanrock said...

I knew it must be India.....the ppl ehhhh....

sanrock said...

Seems these ppl are very lazy.....cos they like luck too much

maureen Donatus said...

Whatever they believe should work for them.....IJEGO

These are calf not real cow if Berta cow match enh

Whao....johnkoledoye@gmail.com

Damilola said...

People perish for lack of knowledge. God help us all!

I suppose this is what Christianity teaches right? Insulting people. I'm not a Muslim either, just someone that uses his head and not believe in fantasies. Goes to show how gullible you religious folks are. Peace

I suppose this is what Christianity teaches right? Insulting people. I'm not a Muslim either, just someone that uses his head and not believe in fantasies. Shows how gullible you "religious" folks are. I'll be fine without Christ. Peace

Rubbish tradition

what tradition?....angelmakiz@yahoo.com

what a tradition